据估计,全球约有800亿人生活在贫困中。 我们如何才能帮助这些人?您将如何做才能真正改变?

贫困的三种类型是什么?

当人们没有满足其基本生活需求所需的物质财产或收入时,就会出现贫困。 贫困可能包括个人无法控制的社会、经济或政治因素。

1.绝对贫困

绝对贫困是指一个人在很长一段时间内无法赚取最低收入来满足其作为人类的最低要求。 

这些基本要求包括:

  • 食品
  • 安全的饮用水
  • 卫生设施
  • 足够的保健
  • 庇护
  • 教育培训 
  • 信息访问(计算机,手机,电视,广播等)
  • 获得服务(学校,医院等)

绝对贫困的生活对个人来说是危险的,因为他们没有有助于个人健康、教育和最终生存的基本生活条件。

无家可归

 2.相对贫困

当一个人无法获得维持其所居住社会的平均生活水平所需的收入时,就会出现相对贫困。 例如,据认为美国是地球上最富有的国家之一,有 40 万人生活在相对贫困中。

相对贫困用于帮助衡量每个国家的贫困水平。 如果本国人民无法跟上社会决定的平均生活水平,他们就被视为贫困。 由于它是相对的,它会随着时间的推移而变化,以适应国家的经济和生活水平。

help_poverty

相对贫困的主要原因包括:

  • 失业
  • 教育不良
  • 健康状况不佳

处于相对贫困中的生活可能对个人及其家庭造成极大的挫败和破坏。 没有支持,他们可能会无家可归。 

3.二次贫困

继发性贫困是由于一个人有足够的收入来维持生活的必需品,但将这些收入用于赌博、烟草或酗酒和吸毒等其他事情上。 

可以通过限制赌博业的活动,实施新的法律以阻止人们将钱花在不必要的东西上以及改善围绕这些因素的教育来帮助继发贫困。

世界上每个国家都有遭受二次贫困之苦的人们。

无家可归的人

我们如何帮助消除贫困?

现在,我们都可以做很多事情来帮助消除贫困。 人员,慈善机构和组织需要您的支持,决心和支持,以表达您的关注。 

以下是我们可以做的各种事情来帮助消除贫困。

创建意识

每个社区都存在贫困,因此了解问题所在至关重要。 找出哪些资源已经可以访问,哪些资源仍然需要。 执行这项工作的当地组织可以使用您的帮助; 然后,您可以通过宣传和向这些社区专家学习如何帮助您的社区消除贫困来做出贡献。

双城互助地图,例如,是明尼阿波利斯的绝佳资源。 这张地图描绘了双城地区广泛的团体和互助活动,这些团体和互助活动接受了捐款和其他资源。

进行金钱和时间捐赠

向旨在消除这些经济差距的团体捐款是帮助您镇上消除贫困的最基本方法之一。 没有小额或巨额的钱。 随着资金的积累,团体可以用它们来解决住房不平等、教育差距、 粮食不安稳,以及其他问题。

世界上大多数人没有可支配收入的特权。 您可以通过向世界各地的众多慈善机构之一捐款来充分利用您的一些,为您关心的原因提供解决方案,例如 世界饥饿, 贫穷, 或 教育.

寻找志愿者机会

你的钱有帮助,但你的时间也同样重要。 无论您是为社区中的无家可归者提供汤,还是帮助在埃塞俄比亚建立一所学校,或者 协调灾区救灾工作,您的时间很宝贵。

与通过贡献时间造福社区的当地团体合作是另一个有用的选择。 有很多方法可以在不花钱的情况下产生影响,无论是在食品储藏室做志愿者还是在放学后帮助学生完成作业。

签署请愿书以提高认识

有成千上万的人和组织通过旨在帮助有需要的人的请愿书进行真正的积极改变。 他们所需要的只是您的签名,以得到政府,世界领导人和大公司的正式听取。

参加游行和集会是提高认识和帮助您所在社区与贫困作斗争的另一种方法。 这些可能是街区聚会、游行或任何其他引起社区关注与系统性贫困作斗争的和平活动。 有些团体定期举办活动以提高认识并与受贫困影响的人团结一致,您可以通过加入他们的努力来学习如何成为有效的支持者。

支持最低工资上涨

持续的经济增长并不总是会导致工人阶级的工资提高,这意味着许多人成为相对贫困的受害者。 您可以通过支持 增加最低工资 在你的国家。

7.25 年全国最低工资为每小时 2015 美元,相当于 15,080 周的全职工作每年 52 美元。 对于一个三口之家来说,联邦贫困线是 20,090 美元(尝试以此为生!)。 如果最低工资提高到 10.10 美元/小时(实际货币低于 1968 年的最低工资),XNUMX% 的美国儿童将受益。 城市和州正在带头将最低工资提高到生活工资水平。 根据各种研究,促进工会和集体谈判权将全面增加工资压力。

创建工作

寻找您的社区公司或团体可能需要帮助的地方。 许多贫困人口可能无法获得优质教育或专业证书,但这并不排除他们可以给予任何东西的可能性。 帮助生活在附近贫困线以下的邻居的一种方法是确定公司或集团内的机会领域,扩大招聘范围,并提供体面的工资。

在美国有大量的工作要做,但大部分都不会盈利。 这是政府可以提供帮助的地方。 基础设施支出,例如修复过时的桥梁、发展公共交通和改用可再生能源,以及对学校、日托和老年人护理等关键服务的投资,既能产生公共利益,也能产生就业。

低收入社区的大公司的当地雇佣规则也有同样的效果。 低成本房屋建设通过减少住房开支来增加可支配收入来创造就业机会。 如果社区大学是免费的,更多的人可以接受培训。 而且,如果你觉得任何渴望工作的人都应该被雇用,政府可以作为最后的雇主。

打破禁忌

无论您对附近的贫困有先入为主的看法,还是作为一个普遍的想法,质疑它们至关重要,这样您就不会在不知不觉中传播有害的先入之见。 与贫困作斗争的最好方法之一就是打破对贫困的误解。

一种普遍的误解是无家可归的人选择不工作。 这种误解是极其有害的,因为它忽略了可能导致住房不安全或贫困的众多不受控制的系统性因素。 实际上,有几个问题使人们难以找到工作,包括失去经济适用房、获取知识和设备的不平等以及精神问题。

支持带薪病假

如果您在您的城镇经营企业,请提供带薪家庭假期和病假。 尽管这是对您的承诺,但时不时地无薪休假可能对您的某些员工有害,尤其是在他们很穷的情况下。 您的员工会不时生病; 提供带薪病假,让他们高枕无忧。 考虑为收入低于该地区中位数工资的员工提供托儿津贴,或者提供现场日托替代方案,以营造一种工薪阶层不必在金钱和托儿服务之间做出选择的氛围。 作为雇主,如果你提供带薪休假,你将帮助那些为你工作的人,这也会让他们感到被欣赏,他们会更加努力地工作。

终结贫困税

贫困社区的低收入居民为几乎所有东西支付更高的价格,从杂货到汽车贷款,并且由于许多银行拒绝为他们提供服务,他们依赖高息“发薪日贷款”。 贫困家庭无法为省钱而大量购买。 低收入人群无法储蓄足够的资金用于教育和专业培训,因为他们无法获得资金。

为气候变化行动而战

贫困与气候变化深深 交织. 如果气候专家的预测得到证实,首先受到影响的将是世界上最贫穷的国家。 自然灾害、水资源短缺、粮食短缺、停电和经济衰退都对最脆弱的人构成严重风险。 我们协调组织了广泛的 紧急救济赈灾 行动以帮助有需要的人。

悲惨的人

贫困有哪些例子?

绝对贫困

一个生活在绝对贫困中的家庭可能没有足够的收入来适当地养活自己或庇护自己。 他们可能无法接受教育,大部分时间都在寻找可以从周围土地获得的任何食物。 这个家庭将不断为养活自己而奋斗,并经常生病并遭受极度饥饿。 

相对贫困

四口之家1990年居住在美国,年收入低于 $12,100 将生活在相对贫困中。 与2010年相比,他们必须收入低于$ 22,050才能生活在美国的相对贫困中。

二次贫困

遭受二次贫困的家庭可能有一个或多个家庭成员将大部分收入花在不必要的事情上,例如赌博、购买酒精、香烟和/或毒品。 通常,严重成瘾的人会定期将钱花在所有这四件事上。  

由于上瘾而产生的这种不必要的支出使家庭处于危险之中,几乎没有钱支付食品,教育,保健和家庭开支等必需品。  

无家可归

我们如何定义贫困?

简而言之,贫困是没有足够的钱来支持一个人的基本生活需求。 通过与我们的社区、地方政府、企业、世界领导人和世界组织合作,我们都可以帮助改变贫困状态。 

教育计划

了解贫困对于帮助抗击贫困至关重要。 如果我们不了解问题以及贫穷的根源,我们将无法正确确定有效的解决方案。 

因此,教育计划对消除贫困至关重要。 他们可以帮助传播对关键问题的认识,并告知人们、社区和政府如何帮助改变受贫困影响的人们的生活。  

食品

消除贫困的最好方法之一是为有需要的社区创造和支持粮食供应渠道。 从曼哈顿市中心的常规汤场到位于刚果民主共和国的社区中心的常规食品供应下降,这可能是什么。

Food For Life Global 一直在分发 植物餐 40 多年来,一直在世界上一些最绝望的社区。 我们的项目帮助我们在全球 2 多个不同国家/地区每天提供超过 60 万份植物性膳食。 到目前为止,我们已经服务过 7亿餐 作为我们结束世界饥饿使命的一部分。 

捐款

做一个简单的 捐款 定期可以帮助支持慈善机构的辛勤工作,例如 Food for Life Global 他们的使命是帮助那些遭受苦难的人 极端贫困

支持当地家庭

消除贫困依赖于社区的团结和相互支持。 这意味着保留您当地的施粥所,帮助当地家庭捐款,为他们提供必需品,为他们找到更好的工作,并尽我们所能提升他们。 

社区改善

我们需要互相帮助,要求我们的地方政府提供更多帮助,要求他们通过制定促进他们发展的倡议来支持有需要的人。 不幸的是,很少需要帮助那些最需要帮助的人,我们需要社区团结起来要求他们做更多的事情。

与狗无家可归

我们可以共同帮助消除贫困。

帮助我们完成帮助有需要的人的使命 Food for Life Global. 您的捐款可以大有帮助。

 

网上捐赠

https://ffl.org/app/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。

Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。

保罗·特纳

保罗·特纳

保罗·特纳共同创立 Food for Life Global 1995 年,他曾是僧侣、世界银行资深人士、企业家、整体生活教练、素食厨师,着有 6 本书,其中包括《FOOD YOGA》、《灵魂幸福的 7 条格言》。

先生。 在过去的 72 年里,特纳走遍了 35 个国家,帮助建立“生命之粮”项目、培训志愿者并记录他们的成功。

如何产生影响

捐赠

帮助他人

加密货币

捐赠加密货币

动物

帮助动物

募捐

募捐筹款

项目

志愿者机会
成为一名倡导者
开始你自己的项目
紧急救援

志工
机遇

成为
宣传倡导

开始你的
自己的项目

紧急
RELIEF

最新动态 abc

How to help people in poverty

Last updated on October 15, 2022
Paul Rodney TurnerPaul Rodney Turner

It’s estimated that around 800 million people live in poverty around the globe. How can we help these people and what can YOU do to make real change?

What are the 3 types of poverty?

Poverty occurs when people do not have the material possessions or income required to fulfill their basic life needs. Poverty can include social, economic, or political factors outside of a person’s control.

1. Absolute Poverty

Absolute poverty is the condition in which a person does not earn the minimum amount of income to cover their minimum requirements as a human being over an extended period. 

These basic requirements include:

  • Food
  • Safe drinking water
  • Sanitation facilities
  • Adequate health care
  • Shelter
  • Education 
  • Access to information (computer, mobile phone, television, radio, etc.)
  • Access to services (schools, hospitals, etc.)

Life in absolute poverty is dangerous for an individual as they are without the essential living conditions that contribute to that person’s health, education, and ultimately, survival.

homeless_sleeps

 2. Relative Poverty

Relative poverty occurs when a person does not get the income required to maintain the average standard of living for the society they live within. For example, it’s thought that 40 million people live in relative poverty in the United States of America, one of the wealthiest countries on the planet.

Relative poverty is used to help measure the level of poverty in each country. If people within their own country are unable to keep up with the average standard of living determined by their society, they are deemed impoverished. As it is relative, it changes over time, adjusting to the country’s economy and standard of living.

helping_poverty

The main causes of relative poverty include:

  • Unemployment
  • Poor Education
  • Poor Health

Life in relative poverty can be extremely demoralizing and destructive to an individual and their family. Without support, they could become homeless. 

3. Secondary Poverty

Secondary poverty is the result of a person who has sufficient income for the necessities of life but spends that income on other things such as gambling, tobacco, or alcohol and drug addiction. 

Secondary poverty can be helped by limiting the gambling industry’s activity, enforcing new laws that deter people from spending their money on non-necessities, and improving education surrounding these factors.

Every country in the world has people who suffer from secondary poverty.

homeless_man

How Can We Help End Poverty?

There are many things that we can all do to help end poverty right now. People, charities, and organizations need your support, determination, and for you to voice your concern. 

Here are various things we can do to help end poverty.

Create awareness

Poverty exists in every community, therefore it’s crucial to understand where the problems are on your own. Find out what resources are already accessible and what resources are still needed. There are local organizations performing this job that could use your assistance; you can then contribute by spreading the word and learning from these community experts regarding how you can help combat poverty in your neighborhood.

The Twin Cities Mutual Aid Map, for example, is a fantastic resource in Minneapolis. This map depicts a wide range of groups and mutual help activities in the Twin Cities region that take donations and other resources.

Make monetary and time donations

Donating contributions to groups whose aim is to eliminate these economic gaps is one of the most basic methods to help combat poverty in your town. There is no such thing as a tiny or huge sum of money. As the money accumulates, groups can use them to address housing inequities, educational gaps, food insecurity, and other issues.

Most people in the world do not have the privilege of disposable income. You can put some of yours to good use by donating to one of the many charities across the world providing solutions to causes you care about like world hunger, poverty, or schooling.

Find Volunteer Opportunities

Your money helps but your time can be just as important. Whether you serve soup to the homeless in your community or help build a school in Ethiopia, or co-ordinate relief efforts in disaster-zones, your time is valuable.

Partnering with local groups that benefit the community by contributing time is another useful option. There are ways to make an effect without spending money, whether it’s volunteering at a food pantry or assisting students after school to finish their homework.

Sign Petitions to Raise Awareness

There are thousands of people and organizations making real positive change through petitions that aim to help those in need. All they require is your signature to be heard officially by governments, world leaders, and big corporations.

Attending marches and rallies is another approach to raise awareness and aid in the battle against poverty in your neighborhood. These might be block parties, marches, or any other peaceful event that draws the attention of the community to the struggle against systemic poverty. There are groups that host activities regularly to promote awareness and stand united with those impacted by poverty, and you may learn how to be an effective supporter by joining their efforts.

Support Minimum Wage Increases

Perpetual economic growth doesn’t always result in higher wages for the working class, meaning many people fall victim to relative poverty. You can help by supporting an increase in the minimum wage in your country.

The national minimum wage of $7.25 per hour in 2015 equates to $15,080 per year for full-time employment over 52 weeks. For just a family of three, the federal poverty line is $20,090 (try living on that!). Twenty percent of America’s children would benefit if the minimum wage were raised to $10.10/hour (smaller in real currency than the 1968 minimum wage). Cities and states are leading the charge to raise the minimum wage to a living pay rate. According to various research, boosting unions and collective bargaining rights would increase wage pressure across the board.

Create Jobs

Look for places where your community-based company or group may use some assistance. Numerous people in poverty might lack access to quality education or specialty credentials, but that does not rule out the possibility that they have anything to give. One method to aid neighbors living below the poverty line in your neighborhood is to identify areas of opportunity within your company or group, extend your recruitment pool, and offer a decent wage.

There is a tremendous amount of work to be undertaken in the United States, but most of it will not be profitable. This is where the government can help. Infrastructure expenditures, such as repairing outdated bridges, developing mass transportation, and switching to renewable energy sources, as well as investments in critical services like schools, daycare, and elder care, produce both public benefits and employment.

Local employment rules for major firms in low-income neighborhoods have the same effect. Low-cost home construction creates jobs by increasing disposable income by cutting housing expenses. More individuals could be trained if community colleges were free. And, if you feel that anybody eager to work should be employed, the government can serve as the last resort employer.

Break Down Taboos

Whether you have preconceived beliefs about poverty in your neighborhood or as an idea in general, it’s critical to question them so you don’t unknowingly transmit detrimental preconceptions. One of the best ways to fight poverty is to break down the misunderstanding about it.

One prevalent misunderstanding is that people who are homeless choose not to work. This misunderstanding is extremely detrimental because it ignores the numerous uncontrolled and systemic factors that might contribute to housing insecurity or poverty. In actuality, several issues make it difficult for people to obtain work, including the loss of affordable homes, unequal access to knowledge and equipment, and mental issues.

Support Paid Sick days

If you operate a business in your town, provide paid family vacation and sick days. Although it is a commitment for you, having a day off without pay every now and again can be detrimental to some of your staff, particularly if they are poor. Your employees will become ill from time to time; give them peace of mind by providing paid sick leave. Consider providing childcare stipends or perhaps an on-site daycare alternative for employees who make less than the region’s median salary to create an atmosphere where working-class people don’t have to pick between money and childcare. As an employer, if you provide paid leave you’ll be helping those who work for you and it will also make them feel appreciated and they will work harder.

End Poverty Tax

Low-income residents in poor communities pay higher prices for almost everything, from groceries to vehicle loans, and are reliant on high-interest “pay-day loans” since many banks refuse to service them. Poor families cannot afford to buy in bulk to save money. Low-income folks can’t save enough to spend on their education and professional training since they don’t have access to capital.

Fight for Action on Climate Change

Poverty and climate change are deeply intertwined. If climate experts’ predictions unfold, it will be the poorest countries in the world that are affected first. Natural disasters, water shortages, food shortages, power outages, and failing economies all pose serious risks to those that are the most vulnerable. We have coordinated and organized extensive emergency relief and disaster relief operations to help those in need.

poor_man

What Are Some Examples of Poverty?

Absolute Poverty

A family living in absolute poverty may not be earning enough to feed or shelter themselves properly. They may have no access to education and spend most of their time finding whatever food they can get from the surrounding land. The family would be in a constant struggle to feed themselves and regularly incur disease and suffer extreme hunger. 

Relative Poverty

A family of four people living in the USA in 1990 with a yearly income of less than $12,100 would be living in relative poverty. Compare this to 2010, they would have to have an income of less than $22,050 to still be living in relative poverty in the USA.

Secondary Poverty

A family suffering from secondary poverty may have one or more people in the family who spend most of their income on unnecessary things such as the act of gambling, buying alcohol, cigarettes, and/or drugs. Often, people with serious addictions spend their money on all four of these things regularly.  

This unnecessary expense through addiction puts the family at risk with little money left to cover necessities such as food, education, healthcare, and household expenses.  

homeless

How Do We Define Poverty?

Put simply, poverty is not having enough money to support a person’s basic living needs. We can all help change the state of poverty by working together with our communities, local governments, corporations, world leaders, and world organizations. 

Educational Programs

Learning about poverty is essential in helping the fight against it. If we don’t understand the issues and how poverty is created, we can not properly identify solutions that will be effective. 

Educational programs are therefore vital in the fight against poverty. They can help to spread awareness of the key issues and inform people, communities, and the government on how to help make a change to people’s lives affected by poverty.  

Food

One of the best ways to help end poverty is by creating and supporting channels of food supplies for those communities in need. This could be anything from a regular soup kitchen in downtown Manhattan to regular food supply drops in the heart of a community living in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Food For Life Global has been distributing plant-based meals to some of the most desperate communities in the world for over 40 years. Our projects help us to serve over 2 million plant-based meals every day in over 60 different countries around the world. So far, we’ve served over 7 billion meals as part of our mission to end world hunger. 

Donations

Making a simple donation regularly can help support the hard work of charities like Food for Life Global in their mission to help those that are suffering in extreme poverty

Support Local Families

Ending poverty relies on communities to come together and support each other. This means keeping your local soup kitchen, helping local families with donations, providing them with necessities, finding them better employment, and uplifting them in any way we can. 

Community Improvement

We need to help each other by demanding more from our local governments, asking them to support those in need by creating initiatives that uplift them. Unfortunately, helping those most in need is rarely a priority and we need communities to come together to demand that they do more.

homeless with dog

Together, we can help end poverty.

Help us in our mission to help those in need by making a monetary contribution to Food for Life Global. Your donation can go a long way to making a difference.

 

Donate Now

https://ffl.org/app/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.

Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.

How To Make An Impact

donate

Help People

Crypto Currency

Donate Crypto

Animal

Help Animals

fundraise

Fundraise

Projects

Volunteer Opportunities
Become an advocate
start your own project
EMERGENCY RELIEF

VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Become an
Advocate

Start Your
Own Project

EMERGENCY
RELIEF

Recent Posts