القائمة

كيف نساعد الفقراء

تشير التقديرات إلى أن حوالي 800 مليون شخص يعيشون في فقر حول العالم. كيف يمكننا مساعدة هؤلاء الناس وما الذي يمكنك فعله لإحداث تغيير حقيقي؟

ما هي أنواع الفقر الثلاثة؟

يحدث الفقر عندما لا يمتلك الناس الممتلكات المادية أو الدخل اللازم لتلبية احتياجات حياتهم الأساسية. يمكن أن يشمل الفقر عوامل اجتماعية أو اقتصادية أو سياسية خارجة عن سيطرة الشخص.

1. الفقر المطلق

الفقر المدقع هو الحالة التي لا يكسب فيها الشخص الحد الأدنى من الدخل لتغطية الحد الأدنى من متطلباته كإنسان على مدى فترة طويلة. 

تتضمن هذه المتطلبات الأساسية:

  • مواد غذائية
  • المياه الصالحة للشرب
  • مرافق الصرف الصحي
  • رعاية صحية كافية
  • مأوى
  • تعليم 
  • الوصول إلى المعلومات (كمبيوتر ، هاتف محمول ، تلفزيون ، راديو ، إلخ.)
  • الوصول إلى الخدمات (المدارس والمستشفيات وما إلى ذلك)

تعتبر الحياة في فقر مدقع خطرة على الفرد لأنه يفتقر إلى الظروف المعيشية الأساسية التي تساهم في صحة ذلك الشخص وتعليمه وفي النهاية البقاء على قيد الحياة.

نوم بلا مأوى

 2. الفقر النسبي

يحدث الفقر النسبي عندما لا يحصل الشخص على الدخل المطلوب للحفاظ على متوسط ​​مستوى المعيشة للمجتمع الذي يعيش فيه. على سبيل المثال ، يُعتقد أن 40 مليون شخص يعيشون في فقر نسبي في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، وهي واحدة من أغنى البلدان على هذا الكوكب.

يستخدم الفقر النسبي للمساعدة في قياس مستوى الفقر في كل بلد. إذا كان الناس داخل بلدهم غير قادرين على مواكبة متوسط ​​مستوى المعيشة الذي يحدده مجتمعهم ، فسيتم اعتبارهم فقراء. نظرًا لأنه نسبي ، فإنه يتغير بمرور الوقت ، ويتكيف مع اقتصاد البلد ومستوى المعيشة.

مساعدة_الفقر

تشمل الأسباب الرئيسية للفقر النسبي ما يلي:

  • البطالة
  • سوء التعليم
  • صحة سيئة

يمكن أن تكون الحياة في فقر نسبي معنوية ومدمرة للغاية للفرد وأسرته. بدون الدعم ، يمكن أن يصبحوا بلا مأوى. 

3. الفقر الثانوي

الفقر الثانوي هو نتيجة شخص لديه دخل كافٍ لضروريات الحياة ولكنه ينفق هذا الدخل على أشياء أخرى مثل القمار أو التبغ أو إدمان الكحول والمخدرات. 

يمكن مساعدة الفقر الثانوي عن طريق الحد من نشاط صناعة القمار ، وفرض قوانين جديدة تمنع الناس من إنفاق أموالهم على غير الضروريات ، وتحسين التعليم المحيط بهذه العوامل.

لكل بلد في العالم أناس يعانون من الفقر الثانوي.

بلا مأوى

كيف يمكننا المساعدة في القضاء على الفقر؟

هناك العديد من الأشياء التي يمكننا القيام بها للمساعدة في إنهاء الفقر في الوقت الحالي. يحتاج الأشخاص والجمعيات الخيرية والمنظمات إلى دعمك وتصميمك ، ومن أجل التعبير عن مخاوفك. 

فيما يلي العديد من الأشياء التي يمكننا القيام بها للمساعدة في القضاء على الفقر.

خلق الوعي

الفقر موجود في كل مجتمع ، لذلك من الضروري أن تفهم بنفسك أين تكمن المشاكل. اكتشف ما هي الموارد التي يمكن الوصول إليها بالفعل وما هي الموارد التي لا تزال بحاجة إليها. هناك منظمات محلية تؤدي هذه الوظيفة يمكنها الاستفادة من مساعدتك ؛ يمكنك بعد ذلك المساهمة من خلال نشر الكلمة والتعلم من هؤلاء الخبراء المجتمعيين فيما يتعلق بكيفية المساعدة في مكافحة الفقر في منطقتك.

خريطة المدن التوأم المساعدة المتبادلة، على سبيل المثال ، مورد رائع في مينيابوليس. تُصور هذه الخريطة مجموعة كبيرة من المجموعات وأنشطة المساعدة المتبادلة في منطقة المدن التوأم التي تتلقى التبرعات والموارد الأخرى.

التبرع بالمال والوقت

يعد التبرع بالمساهمات للمجموعات التي تهدف إلى القضاء على هذه الفجوات الاقتصادية أحد الأساليب الأساسية للمساعدة في مكافحة الفقر في مدينتك. لا يوجد شيء مثل مبلغ صغير أو ضخم من المال. مع تراكم الأموال ، يمكن للمجموعات استخدامها لمعالجة عدم المساواة في الإسكان والفجوات التعليمية ، انعدام الأمن الغذائي، ومسائل أخرى.

لا يتمتع معظم الناس في العالم بميزة الدخل المتاح. يمكنك الاستفادة من بعض ما لديك من خلال التبرع لإحدى المؤسسات الخيرية العديدة في جميع أنحاء العالم التي تقدم حلولًا لأسباب تهتم بها مثل الجوع العالمأو الفقر أو تعليم.

ابحث عن فرص التطوع

أموالك تساعد ولكن وقتك يمكن أن يكون بنفس الأهمية. سواء كنت تقدم الحساء للمشردين في مجتمعك أو تساعد في بناء مدرسة في إثيوبيا ، أو تنسيق جهود الإغاثة في مناطق الكوارث، وقتك ثمين.

تعد الشراكة مع المجموعات المحلية التي تفيد المجتمع من خلال المساهمة بالوقت خيارًا مفيدًا آخر. هناك طرق لإحداث تأثير دون إنفاق المال ، سواء كان ذلك بالتطوع في مخزن للطعام أو مساعدة الطلاب بعد المدرسة على إنهاء واجباتهم المدرسية.

التوقيع على عرائض للتوعية

هناك الآلاف من الأشخاص والمنظمات الذين يقومون بتغيير إيجابي حقيقي من خلال الالتماسات التي تهدف إلى مساعدة المحتاجين. كل ما يحتاجونه هو توقيعك لتستمع إليه رسميًا الحكومات وقادة العالم والشركات الكبرى.

إن حضور المسيرات والتجمعات هو نهج آخر لزيادة الوعي والمساعدة في المعركة ضد الفقر في منطقتك. قد تكون هذه أحزابًا جماعية أو مسيرات أو أي حدث سلمي آخر يلفت انتباه المجتمع إلى النضال ضد الفقر الممنهج. هناك مجموعات تستضيف الأنشطة بانتظام لتعزيز الوعي والوقوف مع أولئك المتأثرين بالفقر ، وقد تتعلم كيف تكون داعمًا فعالًا من خلال الانضمام إلى جهودهم.

دعم زيادات الحد الأدنى للأجور

لا يؤدي النمو الاقتصادي الدائم دائمًا إلى ارتفاع الأجور للطبقة العاملة ، مما يعني أن العديد من الناس يقعون ضحية للفقر النسبي. يمكنك المساعدة من خلال دعم زيادة الحد الأدنى للأجور في بلدك.

الحد الأدنى للأجور الوطني البالغ 7.25 دولارًا للساعة في عام 2015 يعادل 15,080،52 دولارًا سنويًا للعمل بدوام كامل على مدار 20,090 أسبوعًا. لأسرة مكونة من ثلاثة أفراد فقط ، فإن خط الفقر الفيدرالي هو 10.10،1968 دولارًا (حاول العيش على ذلك!). سيستفيد عشرون في المائة من أطفال أمريكا إذا تم رفع الحد الأدنى للأجور إلى XNUMX دولارات في الساعة (أقل بالعملة الحقيقية من الحد الأدنى للأجور لعام XNUMX). تقود المدن والولايات زمام المبادرة لرفع الحد الأدنى للأجور إلى مستوى أجر المعيشة. وفقًا للأبحاث المختلفة ، فإن تعزيز حقوق النقابات والمفاوضة الجماعية من شأنه أن يزيد من ضغط الأجور في جميع المجالات.

خلق فرص عمل

ابحث عن الأماكن التي قد تستخدم فيها شركتك أو مجموعتك المجتمعية بعض المساعدة. قد يفتقر العديد من الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الفقر إلى الحصول على تعليم جيد أو أوراق اعتماد متخصصة ، لكن هذا لا يستبعد احتمال أن يكون لديهم أي شيء يعطونه. تتمثل إحدى طرق مساعدة الجيران الذين يعيشون تحت خط الفقر في منطقتك في تحديد مجالات الفرص داخل شركتك أو مجموعتك ، وتوسيع نطاق التوظيف ، وتقديم أجر لائق.

هناك قدر هائل من العمل الذي يتعين القيام به في الولايات المتحدة ، لكن معظمه لن يكون مربحًا. هذا هو المكان الذي يمكن للحكومة أن تساعد فيه. إن نفقات البنية التحتية ، مثل إصلاح الجسور القديمة ، وتطوير النقل الجماعي ، والتحول إلى مصادر الطاقة المتجددة ، فضلاً عن الاستثمارات في الخدمات الحيوية مثل المدارس ، والرعاية النهارية ، ورعاية المسنين ، تنتج فوائد عامة وتوظيفًا.

قواعد التوظيف المحلية للشركات الكبرى في الأحياء ذات الدخل المنخفض لها نفس التأثير. يخلق بناء المنازل منخفض التكلفة وظائف عن طريق زيادة الدخل المتاح عن طريق خفض نفقات الإسكان. يمكن تدريب المزيد من الأفراد إذا كانت كليات المجتمع مجانية. وإذا شعرت أنه يجب توظيف أي شخص حريص على العمل ، فيمكن للحكومة أن تكون بمثابة صاحب العمل الملاذ الأخير.

كسر المحرمات

سواء كانت لديك معتقدات مسبقة حول الفقر في منطقتك أو كفكرة بشكل عام ، فمن المهم أن تستجوبها حتى لا تنقل عن غير قصد تصورات مسبقة ضارة. من أفضل الطرق لمحاربة الفقر تحطيم سوء التفاهم حوله.

من سوء الفهم السائد أن الأشخاص الذين لا مأوى لهم يختارون عدم العمل. إن سوء الفهم هذا ضار للغاية لأنه يتجاهل العوامل العديدة الخارجة عن السيطرة والنظامية التي قد تساهم في انعدام الأمن السكني أو الفقر. في الواقع ، هناك العديد من القضايا التي تجعل من الصعب على الناس الحصول على عمل ، بما في ذلك فقدان المنازل بأسعار معقولة ، وعدم المساواة في الوصول إلى المعرفة والمعدات ، والقضايا العقلية.

دعم الأيام المرضية المدفوعة

إذا كنت تدير شركة في بلدتك ، فقدم إجازة مدفوعة الأجر وأيام مرضية للعائلة. على الرغم من أنه التزام بالنسبة لك ، إلا أن الحصول على يوم عطلة بدون أجر بين الحين والآخر يمكن أن يضر ببعض موظفيك ، خاصة إذا كانوا فقراء. سوف يمرض موظفوك من وقت لآخر ؛ امنحهم راحة البال من خلال منحهم إجازة مرضية مدفوعة الأجر. ضع في اعتبارك تقديم رواتب رعاية الأطفال أو ربما بديل للرعاية النهارية في الموقع للموظفين الذين يتقاضون أقل من متوسط ​​الراتب في المنطقة لخلق جو لا يضطر فيه أفراد الطبقة العاملة إلى الاختيار بين المال ورعاية الأطفال. بصفتك صاحب عمل ، إذا قدمت إجازة مدفوعة الأجر ، فستساعد أولئك الذين يعملون لديك وستجعلهم أيضًا يشعرون بالتقدير وسيعملون بجد أكبر.

ضريبة إنهاء الفقر

يدفع السكان ذوو الدخل المنخفض في المجتمعات الفقيرة أسعارًا أعلى مقابل كل شيء تقريبًا ، من البقالة إلى قروض السيارات ، ويعتمدون على "قروض يوم الدفع" ذات الفائدة المرتفعة لأن العديد من البنوك ترفض خدمتهم. لا تستطيع الأسر الفقيرة شراء كميات كبيرة لتوفير المال. لا يستطيع الأشخاص ذوو الدخل المنخفض ادخار ما يكفي للإنفاق على تعليمهم وتدريبهم المهني نظرًا لعدم تمكنهم من الوصول إلى رأس المال.

الكفاح من أجل العمل بشأن تغير المناخ

الفقر وتغير المناخ عميقان تتشابك. إذا تكشفت تنبؤات خبراء المناخ ، فستكون أفقر دول العالم هي المتأثرة أولاً. تشكل الكوارث الطبيعية ، ونقص المياه ، ونقص الغذاء ، وانقطاع التيار الكهربائي ، وفشل الاقتصادات ، مخاطر جسيمة على الفئات الأكثر ضعفاً. قمنا بالتنسيق والتنظيم على نطاق واسع انقاذ في حالة الطوارئ و الإغاثة في حالات الكوارث عمليات لمساعدة المحتاجين.

رجل فقير

ما هي بعض الأمثلة على الفقر؟

ارجو ارفاق سيرتك الذاتية مع الرسالة

قد لا تكسب الأسرة التي تعيش في فقر مدقع ما يكفي لإطعام أو إيواء نفسها بشكل صحيح. قد لا يتمكنون من الوصول إلى التعليم ويقضون معظم وقتهم في العثور على أي طعام يمكنهم الحصول عليه من الأرض المحيطة. ستكافح الأسرة باستمرار لإطعام نفسها وتتعرض بانتظام للأمراض وتعاني من الجوع الشديد. 

الفقر النسبي

عائلة مكونة من أربعة أشخاص يعيشون في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية عام 1990 بدخل سنوي أقل من $12,100 سيعيشون في فقر نسبي. قارن هذا بعام 2010 ، سيكون لديهم دخل أقل من 22,050،XNUMX دولارًا ليظلوا يعيشون في فقر نسبي في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

الفقر الثانوي

قد يكون للعائلة التي تعاني من فقر ثانوي واحد أو أكثر من أفراد الأسرة الذين ينفقون معظم دخلهم على أشياء غير ضرورية مثل فعل القمار و / أو شراء الكحول و / أو السجائر و / أو المخدرات. في كثير من الأحيان ، ينفق الأشخاص الذين يعانون من إدمان خطير أموالهم على هذه الأشياء الأربعة بانتظام.  

هذه النفقات غير الضرورية من خلال الإدمان تعرض الأسرة للخطر مع القليل من المال المتبقي لتغطية الضروريات مثل الغذاء والتعليم والرعاية الصحية ونفقات الأسرة.  

مشرد

كيف نحدد الفقر؟

ببساطة ، الفقر لا يعني وجود المال الكافي لدعم الاحتياجات المعيشية الأساسية للفرد. يمكننا جميعًا المساعدة في تغيير حالة الفقر من خلال العمل مع مجتمعاتنا والحكومات المحلية والشركات وقادة العالم والمنظمات العالمية. 

برامج تعليمية

إن التعلم عن الفقر ضروري للمساعدة في محاربته. إذا لم نفهم القضايا وكيف يتم خلق الفقر ، لا يمكننا تحديد الحلول التي ستكون فعالة بشكل صحيح. 

لذلك فإن البرامج التعليمية حيوية في مكافحة الفقر. يمكنهم المساعدة في نشر الوعي بالقضايا الرئيسية وإعلام الناس والمجتمعات والحكومة حول كيفية المساعدة في إحداث تغيير في حياة الأشخاص المتأثرين بالفقر.  

مواد غذائية

إحدى أفضل الطرق للمساعدة في القضاء على الفقر هي من خلال إنشاء ودعم قنوات الإمدادات الغذائية لتلك المجتمعات المحتاجة. يمكن أن يكون هذا أي شيء من مطبخ حساء عادي في وسط مدينة مانهاتن إلى قطرات إمدادات الطعام المنتظمة في قلب مجتمع يعيش في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية.

Food For Life Global تم توزيعها وجبات نباتية لبعض أكثر المجتمعات يأسًا في العالم منذ أكثر من 40 عامًا. تساعدنا مشاريعنا في تقديم أكثر من مليوني وجبة نباتية يوميًا في أكثر من 2 دولة مختلفة حول العالم. حتى الآن ، لقد خدمنا أكثر 7 مليار وجبة كجزء من مهمتنا للقضاء على الجوع في العالم. 

التبرعات

جعل بسيطة هبة بانتظام يمكن أن تساعد في دعم العمل الشاق للجمعيات الخيرية مثل Food for Life Global في مهمتهم لمساعدة أولئك الذين يعانون الفقر المدقع

دعم العائلات المحلية

يعتمد القضاء على الفقر على تكاتف المجتمعات ودعم بعضها البعض. هذا يعني الاحتفاظ بمطبخك المحلي للفقراء ، ومساعدة العائلات المحلية بالتبرعات ، وتزويدهم بالضروريات ، وإيجاد فرص عمل أفضل لهم ، والارتقاء بهم بأي طريقة ممكنة. 

تحسين المجتمع

نحن بحاجة إلى مساعدة بعضنا البعض من خلال طلب المزيد من حكوماتنا المحلية ، ومطالبتهم بدعم المحتاجين من خلال إنشاء مبادرات ترفعهم. لسوء الحظ ، نادرًا ما تكون مساعدة الأشخاص الأكثر احتياجًا أولوية ونحتاج إلى المجتمعات للعمل معًا للمطالبة ببذل المزيد من الجهد.

بلا مأوى مع الكلب

معا يمكننا المساعدة في إنهاء الفقر.

ساعدنا في مهمتنا لمساعدة المحتاجين من خلال تقديم مساهمة مالية إلى Food for Life Global. تبرعك يمكن أن يقطع شوطا طويلا لإحداث فرق.

 

تبرع الآن

https://ffl.org/app/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

دعم العمل الهام Food for Life Global لخدمة شبكتها الدولية التي تضم أكثر من 200 شركة تابعة في 60 دولة.
Food for Life Global هي منظمة خيرية 501 (c) (3) ، EIN 36-4887167. تعتبر جميع التبرعات معفاة من الضرائب في غياب أي قيود على الخصم تنطبق على دافع ضرائب معين. لم يتم تقديم أي سلع أو خدمات في مقابل مساهمتك.

Food For Life Global’s المهمة الأساسية هي تحقيق السلام والازدهار في العالم من خلال التوزيع الليبرالي للوجبات النباتية النقية التي أعدت بنية محبة.

بول تيرنر

بول تيرنر

شارك بول تيرنر في التأسيس Food for Life Global في عام 1995. هو راهب سابق ، وخبير مخضرم في البنك الدولي ، ورجل أعمال ، ومدرب شامل للحياة ، وطاهي نباتي ، ومؤلف 6 كتب ، بما في ذلك ، FOOD YOGA ، 7 ثوابت عن سعادة الروح.

السيد. سافر تيرنر إلى 72 دولة على مدار الـ 35 عامًا الماضية للمساعدة في إنشاء مشاريع الغذاء من أجل الحياة ، وتدريب المتطوعين ، وتوثيق نجاحهم.

كيفية إحداث تأثير

يتبرعون

مساعدة الناس

العملات التشفير

تبرع بالعملات المشفرة

أنيمال

الحيوانات مساعدة

جمع التبرعات

جمع التبرعات

المشاريع

فرص التطوع
كن داعية
ابدأ مشروعك الخاص
انقاذ في حالة الطوارئ

متطوع
الفرص

تصبح
محام

بدء الخاص بك
مشروع خاص

حالة طوارئ
ارتياح

How to help people in poverty

Last updated on October 15, 2022
Paul Rodney TurnerPaul Rodney Turner

It’s estimated that around 800 million people live in poverty around the globe. How can we help these people and what can YOU do to make real change?

What are the 3 types of poverty?

Poverty occurs when people do not have the material possessions or income required to fulfill their basic life needs. Poverty can include social, economic, or political factors outside of a person’s control.

1. Absolute Poverty

Absolute poverty is the condition in which a person does not earn the minimum amount of income to cover their minimum requirements as a human being over an extended period. 

These basic requirements include:

  • Food
  • Safe drinking water
  • Sanitation facilities
  • Adequate health care
  • Shelter
  • Education 
  • Access to information (computer, mobile phone, television, radio, etc.)
  • Access to services (schools, hospitals, etc.)

Life in absolute poverty is dangerous for an individual as they are without the essential living conditions that contribute to that person’s health, education, and ultimately, survival.

homeless_sleeps

 2. Relative Poverty

Relative poverty occurs when a person does not get the income required to maintain the average standard of living for the society they live within. For example, it’s thought that 40 million people live in relative poverty in the United States of America, one of the wealthiest countries on the planet.

Relative poverty is used to help measure the level of poverty in each country. If people within their own country are unable to keep up with the average standard of living determined by their society, they are deemed impoverished. As it is relative, it changes over time, adjusting to the country’s economy and standard of living.

helping_poverty

The main causes of relative poverty include:

  • Unemployment
  • Poor Education
  • Poor Health

Life in relative poverty can be extremely demoralizing and destructive to an individual and their family. Without support, they could become homeless. 

3. Secondary Poverty

Secondary poverty is the result of a person who has sufficient income for the necessities of life but spends that income on other things such as gambling, tobacco, or alcohol and drug addiction. 

Secondary poverty can be helped by limiting the gambling industry’s activity, enforcing new laws that deter people from spending their money on non-necessities, and improving education surrounding these factors.

Every country in the world has people who suffer from secondary poverty.

homeless_man

How Can We Help End Poverty?

There are many things that we can all do to help end poverty right now. People, charities, and organizations need your support, determination, and for you to voice your concern. 

Here are various things we can do to help end poverty.

Create awareness

Poverty exists in every community, therefore it’s crucial to understand where the problems are on your own. Find out what resources are already accessible and what resources are still needed. There are local organizations performing this job that could use your assistance; you can then contribute by spreading the word and learning from these community experts regarding how you can help combat poverty in your neighborhood.

The Twin Cities Mutual Aid Map, for example, is a fantastic resource in Minneapolis. This map depicts a wide range of groups and mutual help activities in the Twin Cities region that take donations and other resources.

Make monetary and time donations

Donating contributions to groups whose aim is to eliminate these economic gaps is one of the most basic methods to help combat poverty in your town. There is no such thing as a tiny or huge sum of money. As the money accumulates, groups can use them to address housing inequities, educational gaps, food insecurity, and other issues.

Most people in the world do not have the privilege of disposable income. You can put some of yours to good use by donating to one of the many charities across the world providing solutions to causes you care about like world hunger, poverty, or schooling.

Find Volunteer Opportunities

Your money helps but your time can be just as important. Whether you serve soup to the homeless in your community or help build a school in Ethiopia, or co-ordinate relief efforts in disaster-zones, your time is valuable.

Partnering with local groups that benefit the community by contributing time is another useful option. There are ways to make an effect without spending money, whether it’s volunteering at a food pantry or assisting students after school to finish their homework.

Sign Petitions to Raise Awareness

There are thousands of people and organizations making real positive change through petitions that aim to help those in need. All they require is your signature to be heard officially by governments, world leaders, and big corporations.

Attending marches and rallies is another approach to raise awareness and aid in the battle against poverty in your neighborhood. These might be block parties, marches, or any other peaceful event that draws the attention of the community to the struggle against systemic poverty. There are groups that host activities regularly to promote awareness and stand united with those impacted by poverty, and you may learn how to be an effective supporter by joining their efforts.

Support Minimum Wage Increases

Perpetual economic growth doesn’t always result in higher wages for the working class, meaning many people fall victim to relative poverty. You can help by supporting an increase in the minimum wage in your country.

The national minimum wage of $7.25 per hour in 2015 equates to $15,080 per year for full-time employment over 52 weeks. For just a family of three, the federal poverty line is $20,090 (try living on that!). Twenty percent of America’s children would benefit if the minimum wage were raised to $10.10/hour (smaller in real currency than the 1968 minimum wage). Cities and states are leading the charge to raise the minimum wage to a living pay rate. According to various research, boosting unions and collective bargaining rights would increase wage pressure across the board.

Create Jobs

Look for places where your community-based company or group may use some assistance. Numerous people in poverty might lack access to quality education or specialty credentials, but that does not rule out the possibility that they have anything to give. One method to aid neighbors living below the poverty line in your neighborhood is to identify areas of opportunity within your company or group, extend your recruitment pool, and offer a decent wage.

There is a tremendous amount of work to be undertaken in the United States, but most of it will not be profitable. This is where the government can help. Infrastructure expenditures, such as repairing outdated bridges, developing mass transportation, and switching to renewable energy sources, as well as investments in critical services like schools, daycare, and elder care, produce both public benefits and employment.

Local employment rules for major firms in low-income neighborhoods have the same effect. Low-cost home construction creates jobs by increasing disposable income by cutting housing expenses. More individuals could be trained if community colleges were free. And, if you feel that anybody eager to work should be employed, the government can serve as the last resort employer.

Break Down Taboos

Whether you have preconceived beliefs about poverty in your neighborhood or as an idea in general, it’s critical to question them so you don’t unknowingly transmit detrimental preconceptions. One of the best ways to fight poverty is to break down the misunderstanding about it.

One prevalent misunderstanding is that people who are homeless choose not to work. This misunderstanding is extremely detrimental because it ignores the numerous uncontrolled and systemic factors that might contribute to housing insecurity or poverty. In actuality, several issues make it difficult for people to obtain work, including the loss of affordable homes, unequal access to knowledge and equipment, and mental issues.

Support Paid Sick days

If you operate a business in your town, provide paid family vacation and sick days. Although it is a commitment for you, having a day off without pay every now and again can be detrimental to some of your staff, particularly if they are poor. Your employees will become ill from time to time; give them peace of mind by providing paid sick leave. Consider providing childcare stipends or perhaps an on-site daycare alternative for employees who make less than the region’s median salary to create an atmosphere where working-class people don’t have to pick between money and childcare. As an employer, if you provide paid leave you’ll be helping those who work for you and it will also make them feel appreciated and they will work harder.

End Poverty Tax

Low-income residents in poor communities pay higher prices for almost everything, from groceries to vehicle loans, and are reliant on high-interest “pay-day loans” since many banks refuse to service them. Poor families cannot afford to buy in bulk to save money. Low-income folks can’t save enough to spend on their education and professional training since they don’t have access to capital.

Fight for Action on Climate Change

Poverty and climate change are deeply intertwined. If climate experts’ predictions unfold, it will be the poorest countries in the world that are affected first. Natural disasters, water shortages, food shortages, power outages, and failing economies all pose serious risks to those that are the most vulnerable. We have coordinated and organized extensive emergency relief and disaster relief operations to help those in need.

poor_man

What Are Some Examples of Poverty?

Absolute Poverty

A family living in absolute poverty may not be earning enough to feed or shelter themselves properly. They may have no access to education and spend most of their time finding whatever food they can get from the surrounding land. The family would be in a constant struggle to feed themselves and regularly incur disease and suffer extreme hunger. 

Relative Poverty

A family of four people living in the USA in 1990 with a yearly income of less than $12,100 would be living in relative poverty. Compare this to 2010, they would have to have an income of less than $22,050 to still be living in relative poverty in the USA.

Secondary Poverty

A family suffering from secondary poverty may have one or more people in the family who spend most of their income on unnecessary things such as the act of gambling, buying alcohol, cigarettes, and/or drugs. Often, people with serious addictions spend their money on all four of these things regularly.  

This unnecessary expense through addiction puts the family at risk with little money left to cover necessities such as food, education, healthcare, and household expenses.  

homeless

How Do We Define Poverty?

Put simply, poverty is not having enough money to support a person’s basic living needs. We can all help change the state of poverty by working together with our communities, local governments, corporations, world leaders, and world organizations. 

Educational Programs

Learning about poverty is essential in helping the fight against it. If we don’t understand the issues and how poverty is created, we can not properly identify solutions that will be effective. 

Educational programs are therefore vital in the fight against poverty. They can help to spread awareness of the key issues and inform people, communities, and the government on how to help make a change to people’s lives affected by poverty.  

Food

One of the best ways to help end poverty is by creating and supporting channels of food supplies for those communities in need. This could be anything from a regular soup kitchen in downtown Manhattan to regular food supply drops in the heart of a community living in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Food For Life Global has been distributing plant-based meals to some of the most desperate communities in the world for over 40 years. Our projects help us to serve over 2 million plant-based meals every day in over 60 different countries around the world. So far, we’ve served over 7 billion meals as part of our mission to end world hunger. 

Donations

Making a simple donation regularly can help support the hard work of charities like Food for Life Global in their mission to help those that are suffering in extreme poverty

Support Local Families

Ending poverty relies on communities to come together and support each other. This means keeping your local soup kitchen, helping local families with donations, providing them with necessities, finding them better employment, and uplifting them in any way we can. 

Community Improvement

We need to help each other by demanding more from our local governments, asking them to support those in need by creating initiatives that uplift them. Unfortunately, helping those most in need is rarely a priority and we need communities to come together to demand that they do more.

homeless with dog

Together, we can help end poverty.

Help us in our mission to help those in need by making a monetary contribution to Food for Life Global. Your donation can go a long way to making a difference.

 

Donate Now

https://ffl.org/app/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.

Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.

How To Make An Impact

donate

Help People

Crypto Currency

Donate Crypto

Animal

Help Animals

fundraise

Fundraise

Projects

Volunteer Opportunities
Become an advocate
start your own project
EMERGENCY RELIEF

VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Become an
Advocate

Start Your
Own Project

EMERGENCY
RELIEF

Recent Posts