Comment aider les personnes en situation de pauvreté

Dernière mise à jour en octobre 15, 2022
Paul Rodney TurnerPaul Rodney Turner

On estime qu'environ 800 millions de personnes vivent dans la pauvreté dans le monde. Comment pouvons-nous aider ces personnes et que pouvez-VOUS faire pour apporter un réel changement?

Quels sont les 3 types de pauvreté?

La pauvreté survient lorsque les gens n'ont pas les biens matériels ou les revenus nécessaires pour satisfaire leurs besoins vitaux fondamentaux. La pauvreté peut inclure des facteurs sociaux, économiques ou politiques indépendants de la volonté d'une personne.

1. Pauvreté absolue

La pauvreté absolue est la condition dans laquelle une personne ne gagne pas le montant minimum de revenu pour couvrir ses besoins minimaux en tant qu'être humain sur une période prolongée. 

Ces exigences de base comprennent:

  • pure
  • De l'eau potable salubre
  • Installations sanitaires
  • Soins de santé adéquats
  • Abri
  • Éducation 
  • Accès à l'information (ordinateur, téléphone portable, télévision, radio, etc.)
  • Accès aux services (écoles, hôpitaux, etc.)

La vie dans la pauvreté absolue est dangereuse pour un individu car il est privé des conditions de vie essentielles qui contribuent à la santé, à l'éducation et, en fin de compte, à la survie de cette personne.

sans-abri

 2. Pauvreté relative

La pauvreté relative se produit lorsqu'une personne ne reçoit pas le revenu nécessaire pour maintenir le niveau de vie moyen de la société dans laquelle elle vit. Par exemple, on pense que 40 millions de personnes vivent dans une pauvreté relative aux États-Unis d'Amérique, l'un des pays les plus riches de la planète.

La pauvreté relative est utilisée pour aider à mesurer le niveau de pauvreté dans chaque pays. Si les habitants de leur propre pays sont incapables de suivre le niveau de vie moyen déterminé par leur société, ils sont considérés comme appauvris. Comme il est relatif, il évolue dans le temps, s'adaptant à l'économie et au niveau de vie du pays.

aider_la pauvreté

Les principales causes de la pauvreté relative comprennent:

  • Chômage
  • Mauvaise éducation
  • Mauvaise santé

La vie dans une pauvreté relative peut être extrêmement démoralisante et destructrice pour un individu et sa famille. Sans soutien, ils pourraient devenir sans abri. 

3. Pauvreté secondaire

La pauvreté secondaire est le résultat d'une personne qui a un revenu suffisant pour les nécessités de la vie mais qui dépense ce revenu pour d'autres choses comme le jeu, le tabac ou l'alcoolisme et la toxicomanie. 

La pauvreté secondaire peut être aidée en limitant l'activité de l'industrie du jeu, en appliquant de nouvelles lois qui dissuadent les gens de dépenser leur argent pour des articles non nécessaires et en améliorant l'éducation autour de ces facteurs.

Chaque pays du monde compte des personnes qui souffrent de pauvreté secondaire.

un sans-abris

Comment pouvons-nous aider à mettre fin à la pauvreté?

Il y a beaucoup de choses que nous pouvons tous faire pour mettre fin à la pauvreté dès maintenant. Les gens, les organismes de bienfaisance et les organisations ont besoin de votre soutien, de votre détermination et de votre voix. 

Voici différentes choses que nous pouvons faire pour aider à mettre fin à la pauvreté.

Sensibiliser

La pauvreté existe dans toutes les communautés, il est donc crucial de comprendre par vous-même où se situent les problèmes. Découvrez quelles ressources sont déjà accessibles et quelles ressources sont encore nécessaires. Il existe des organisations locales effectuant ce travail qui pourraient avoir besoin de votre aide ; vous pouvez ensuite contribuer en passant le mot et en apprenant de ces experts communautaires comment vous pouvez aider à combattre la pauvreté dans votre quartier.

La carte d'entraide des villes jumelles, par exemple, est une ressource fantastique à Minneapolis. Cette carte représente un large éventail de groupes et d'activités d'entraide dans la région des villes jumelles qui reçoivent des dons et d'autres ressources.

Faire des dons en argent et en temps

Donner des contributions à des groupes dont le but est d'éliminer ces écarts économiques est l'une des méthodes les plus élémentaires pour aider à lutter contre la pauvreté dans votre ville. Il n'y a pas de somme d'argent minuscule ou énorme. Au fur et à mesure que l'argent s'accumule, les groupes peuvent l'utiliser pour remédier aux inégalités en matière de logement, aux lacunes en matière d'éducation, l'insécurité alimentaire, et d'autres problèmes.

La plupart des gens dans le monde n'ont pas le privilège d'avoir un revenu disponible. Vous pouvez en faire bon usage en faisant un don à l'un des nombreux organismes de bienfaisance à travers le monde qui offrent des solutions aux causes qui vous tiennent à cœur, comme Faim dans le monde, la pauvreté ou scolarité.

Trouver des opportunités de bénévolat

Votre argent aide, mais votre temps peut être tout aussi important. Que vous serviez de la soupe aux sans-abri de votre communauté ou aidiez à construire une école en Éthiopie, ou coordonner les efforts de secours dans les zones sinistrées, votre temps est précieux.

Le partenariat avec des groupes locaux qui profitent à la communauté en donnant du temps est une autre option utile. Il existe des moyens de faire un effet sans dépenser d'argent, qu'il s'agisse de faire du bénévolat dans un garde-manger ou d'aider les élèves après l'école à terminer leurs devoirs.

Signez des pétitions pour sensibiliser

Il y a des milliers de personnes et d'organisations qui apportent un réel changement positif grâce à des pétitions qui visent à aider ceux qui en ont besoin. Tout ce dont ils ont besoin, c'est que votre signature soit entendue officiellement par les gouvernements, les dirigeants mondiaux et les grandes entreprises.

Assister à des marches et des rassemblements est une autre approche pour sensibiliser et aider à lutter contre la pauvreté dans votre quartier. Il peut s'agir de fêtes de quartier, de marches ou de tout autre événement pacifique qui attire l'attention de la communauté sur la lutte contre la pauvreté systémique. Il existe des groupes qui organisent régulièrement des activités pour promouvoir la sensibilisation et rester unis avec ceux qui sont touchés par la pauvreté, et vous pouvez apprendre à être un partisan efficace en joignant leurs efforts.

Soutenir les augmentations du salaire minimum

La croissance économique perpétuelle n'entraîne pas toujours des salaires plus élevés pour la classe ouvrière, ce qui signifie que de nombreuses personnes sont victimes d'une pauvreté relative. Vous pouvez aider en soutenant un augmentation du salaire minimum dans votre pays.

Le salaire minimum national de 7.25 $ de l'heure en 2015 équivaut à 15,080 52 $ par an pour un emploi à temps plein pendant 20,090 semaines. Pour une famille de trois personnes seulement, le seuil de pauvreté fédéral est de 10.10 1968 $ (essayez de vivre avec ça !). Vingt pour cent des enfants américains bénéficieraient d'une augmentation du salaire minimum à XNUMX $/heure (moins en monnaie réelle que le salaire minimum de XNUMX). Les villes et les États mènent la charge pour augmenter le salaire minimum à un taux de rémunération décent. Selon diverses recherches, le renforcement des syndicats et des droits de négociation collective augmenterait la pression salariale à tous les niveaux.

Créer des emplois

Cherchez des endroits où votre entreprise ou groupe communautaire pourrait avoir besoin d'aide. De nombreuses personnes en situation de pauvreté n'ont peut-être pas accès à une éducation de qualité ou à des diplômes spécialisés, mais cela n'exclut pas la possibilité qu'elles aient quelque chose à donner. Une méthode pour aider les voisins vivant en dessous du seuil de pauvreté dans votre quartier consiste à identifier les domaines d'opportunité au sein de votre entreprise ou groupe, à élargir votre bassin de recrutement et à offrir un salaire décent.

Il y a énormément de travail à entreprendre aux États-Unis, mais la plupart ne seront pas rentables. C'est là que le gouvernement peut aider. Les dépenses d'infrastructure, telles que la réparation de ponts obsolètes, le développement des transports en commun et le passage à des sources d'énergie renouvelables, ainsi que les investissements dans des services essentiels comme les écoles, les garderies et les soins aux personnes âgées, produisent à la fois des avantages publics et des emplois.

Les règles d'emploi locales pour les grandes entreprises des quartiers populaires ont le même effet. La construction de maisons à faible coût crée des emplois en augmentant le revenu disponible en réduisant les dépenses de logement. Plus de personnes pourraient être formées si les collèges communautaires étaient gratuits. Et, si vous estimez que toute personne désireuse de travailler devrait être employée, le gouvernement peut servir d'employeur de dernier recours.

Briser les tabous

Que vous ayez des idées préconçues sur la pauvreté dans votre quartier ou sur une idée en général, il est essentiel de les remettre en question afin de ne pas transmettre sans le savoir des idées préconçues préjudiciables. L'un des meilleurs moyens de lutter contre la pauvreté est de briser l'incompréhension à son sujet.

Un malentendu répandu est que les personnes sans abri choisissent de ne pas travailler. Cette incompréhension est extrêmement préjudiciable car elle ignore les nombreux facteurs incontrôlés et systémiques qui pourraient contribuer à l'insécurité ou à la pauvreté en matière de logement. En réalité, plusieurs problèmes compliquent l'obtention d'un emploi, notamment la perte de logements abordables, l'inégalité d'accès aux connaissances et à l'équipement et les problèmes mentaux.

Prise en charge des jours de maladie payés

Si vous exploitez une entreprise dans votre ville, prévoyez des congés familiaux payés et des congés de maladie. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'un engagement pour vous, avoir de temps en temps un jour de congé sans solde peut être préjudiciable à certains de vos collaborateurs, en particulier s'ils sont pauvres. Vos employés tomberont malades de temps à autre; offrez-leur la tranquillité d'esprit en leur offrant des congés de maladie payés. Envisagez de fournir des allocations de garde d'enfants ou peut-être une alternative de garde d'enfants sur place aux employés qui gagnent moins que le salaire médian de la région afin de créer une atmosphère où les gens de la classe ouvrière n'ont pas à choisir entre l'argent et la garde d'enfants. En tant qu'employeur, si vous accordez des congés payés, vous aiderez ceux qui travaillent pour vous et ils se sentiront également appréciés et ils travailleront plus dur.

Mettre fin à l'impôt sur la pauvreté

Les résidents à faible revenu des communautés pauvres paient des prix plus élevés pour presque tout, de l'épicerie aux prêts automobiles, et dépendent de «prêts sur salaire» à taux d'intérêt élevé, car de nombreuses banques refusent de les servir. Les familles pauvres ne peuvent pas se permettre d'acheter en gros pour économiser de l'argent. Les personnes à faible revenu ne peuvent pas épargner suffisamment pour financer leurs études et leur formation professionnelle puisqu'elles n'ont pas accès au capital.

Lutte pour l'action sur le changement climatique

La pauvreté et le changement climatique sont profondément entrelacé. Si les prédictions des experts du climat se réalisent, ce seront les pays les plus pauvres du monde qui seront les premiers touchés. Les catastrophes naturelles, les pénuries d'eau, les pénuries alimentaires, les pannes d'électricité et les économies défaillantes présentent tous de graves risques pour les personnes les plus vulnérables. Nous avons coordonné et organisé de nombreux secours d'urgence et secours aux sinistrés opérations pour venir en aide aux personnes dans le besoin.

pauvre homme

Quels sont quelques exemples de pauvreté?

La pauvreté absolue

Une famille vivant dans la pauvreté absolue peut ne pas gagner suffisamment pour se nourrir ou se loger correctement. Ils n'ont peut-être pas accès à l'éducation et passent la majeure partie de leur temps à trouver la nourriture qu'ils peuvent trouver dans les terres environnantes. La famille serait dans une lutte constante pour se nourrir et contracterait régulièrement des maladies et souffrirait d'une faim extrême. 

Pauvreté relative

Une famille de quatre personnes vivant aux États-Unis en 1990 avec un revenu annuel inférieur à $12,100 serait vivre dans une pauvreté relative. Comparons cela à 2010, ils devraient avoir un revenu inférieur à 22,050 XNUMX $ pour vivre encore dans une pauvreté relative aux États-Unis.

Pauvreté secondaire

Une famille souffrant de pauvreté secondaire peut avoir une ou plusieurs personnes dans la famille qui dépensent la majeure partie de leurs revenus pour des choses inutiles telles que le jeu, l'achat d'alcool, de cigarettes et/ou de drogues. Souvent, les personnes souffrant de dépendances graves dépensent régulièrement leur argent pour ces quatre choses.  

Ces dépenses inutiles liées à la toxicomanie mettent la famille en danger avec peu d'argent pour couvrir les nécessités telles que la nourriture, l'éducation, les soins de santé et les dépenses du ménage.  

sans abri

Comment définissons-nous la pauvreté?

En termes simples, la pauvreté, c'est ne pas avoir assez d'argent pour subvenir aux besoins vitaux de base d'une personne. Nous pouvons tous aider à changer l'état de la pauvreté en travaillant avec nos communautés, les gouvernements locaux, les entreprises, les dirigeants mondiaux et les organisations mondiales. 

Programmes éducatifs

L'apprentissage de la pauvreté est essentiel pour aider à lutter contre elle. Si nous ne comprenons pas les problèmes et comment la pauvreté est créée, nous ne pouvons pas identifier correctement les solutions qui seront efficaces. 

Les programmes éducatifs sont donc essentiels dans la lutte contre la pauvreté. Ils peuvent contribuer à faire connaître les principaux problèmes et informer les personnes, les communautés et le gouvernement sur la manière d'apporter un changement dans la vie des personnes touchées par la pauvreté.  

pure

L'un des meilleurs moyens d'aider à mettre fin à la pauvreté est de créer et de soutenir des canaux d'approvisionnement alimentaire pour les communautés dans le besoin. Cela pourrait être n'importe quoi, d'une soupe populaire au centre-ville de Manhattan à des baisses régulières de l'approvisionnement alimentaire au cœur d'une communauté vivant en République démocratique du Congo.

Food For Life Global a distribué repas à base de plantes à certaines des communautés les plus désespérées du monde depuis plus de 40 ans. Nos projets nous aident à servir chaque jour plus de 2 millions de repas à base de plantes dans plus de 60 pays différents à travers le monde. Jusqu'à présent, nous avons servi plus de 7 milliards de repas dans le cadre de notre mission visant à éliminer la faim dans le monde. 

Dons

Faire un simple don régulièrement peut aider à soutenir le travail acharné d'organismes de bienfaisance comme Food for Life Global dans leur mission d'aider ceux qui souffrent dans pauvreté extrême

Soutenir les familles locales

Pour mettre fin à la pauvreté, il faut que les communautés se rassemblent et se soutiennent mutuellement. Cela signifie garder votre soupe populaire locale, aider les familles locales avec des dons, leur fournir les produits de première nécessité, leur trouver un meilleur emploi et les élever de toutes les manières possibles. 

Amélioration de la communauté

Nous devons nous entraider en exigeant davantage de nos gouvernements locaux, en leur demandant de soutenir ceux qui en ont besoin en créant des initiatives qui les élèvent. Malheureusement, aider les plus démunis est rarement une priorité et nous avons besoin que les communautés se réunissent pour exiger qu’elles fassent plus.

sans-abri avec chien

Ensemble, nous pouvons aider à mettre fin à la pauvreté.

Aidez-nous dans notre mission d'aider les personnes dans le besoin en apportant une contribution monétaire à Food for Life Global. Votre don peut faire une grande différence.

 

faire un don maintenant

https://ffl.org/app/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

Soutenir le travail important de Food for Life Global et soutenir son réseau international de plus de 200 affiliés dans 60 pays.
Food for Life Global est un organisme de bienfaisance 501 (c) (3), EIN 36-4887167. Tous les dons donnent droit à des déductions d'impôt, en l'absence de toute limitation de déductibilité applicable à un contribuable particulier. Aucun bien ou service n'a été fourni en échange de votre contribution.

La mission principale de Food For Life Global est d'amener la paix et la prospérité dans le monde grâce à la distribution généreuse de repas purs à base de plantes préparés avec une intention bienveillante.

How to help people in poverty

Last updated on October 15, 2022
Paul Rodney TurnerPaul Rodney Turner

It’s estimated that around 800 million people live in poverty around the globe. How can we help these people and what can YOU do to make real change?

What are the 3 types of poverty?

Poverty occurs when people do not have the material possessions or income required to fulfill their basic life needs. Poverty can include social, economic, or political factors outside of a person’s control.

1. Absolute Poverty

Absolute poverty is the condition in which a person does not earn the minimum amount of income to cover their minimum requirements as a human being over an extended period. 

These basic requirements include:

  • Food
  • Safe drinking water
  • Sanitation facilities
  • Adequate health care
  • Shelter
  • Education 
  • Access to information (computer, mobile phone, television, radio, etc.)
  • Access to services (schools, hospitals, etc.)

Life in absolute poverty is dangerous for an individual as they are without the essential living conditions that contribute to that person’s health, education, and ultimately, survival.

homeless_sleeps

 2. Relative Poverty

Relative poverty occurs when a person does not get the income required to maintain the average standard of living for the society they live within. For example, it’s thought that 40 million people live in relative poverty in the United States of America, one of the wealthiest countries on the planet.

Relative poverty is used to help measure the level of poverty in each country. If people within their own country are unable to keep up with the average standard of living determined by their society, they are deemed impoverished. As it is relative, it changes over time, adjusting to the country’s economy and standard of living.

helping_poverty

The main causes of relative poverty include:

  • Unemployment
  • Poor Education
  • Poor Health

Life in relative poverty can be extremely demoralizing and destructive to an individual and their family. Without support, they could become homeless. 

3. Secondary Poverty

Secondary poverty is the result of a person who has sufficient income for the necessities of life but spends that income on other things such as gambling, tobacco, or alcohol and drug addiction. 

Secondary poverty can be helped by limiting the gambling industry’s activity, enforcing new laws that deter people from spending their money on non-necessities, and improving education surrounding these factors.

Every country in the world has people who suffer from secondary poverty.

homeless_man

How Can We Help End Poverty?

There are many things that we can all do to help end poverty right now. People, charities, and organizations need your support, determination, and for you to voice your concern. 

Here are various things we can do to help end poverty.

Create awareness

Poverty exists in every community, therefore it’s crucial to understand where the problems are on your own. Find out what resources are already accessible and what resources are still needed. There are local organizations performing this job that could use your assistance; you can then contribute by spreading the word and learning from these community experts regarding how you can help combat poverty in your neighborhood.

The Twin Cities Mutual Aid Map, for example, is a fantastic resource in Minneapolis. This map depicts a wide range of groups and mutual help activities in the Twin Cities region that take donations and other resources.

Make monetary and time donations

Donating contributions to groups whose aim is to eliminate these economic gaps is one of the most basic methods to help combat poverty in your town. There is no such thing as a tiny or huge sum of money. As the money accumulates, groups can use them to address housing inequities, educational gaps, food insecurity, and other issues.

Most people in the world do not have the privilege of disposable income. You can put some of yours to good use by donating to one of the many charities across the world providing solutions to causes you care about like world hunger, poverty, or schooling.

Find Volunteer Opportunities

Your money helps but your time can be just as important. Whether you serve soup to the homeless in your community or help build a school in Ethiopia, or co-ordinate relief efforts in disaster-zones, your time is valuable.

Partnering with local groups that benefit the community by contributing time is another useful option. There are ways to make an effect without spending money, whether it’s volunteering at a food pantry or assisting students after school to finish their homework.

Sign Petitions to Raise Awareness

There are thousands of people and organizations making real positive change through petitions that aim to help those in need. All they require is your signature to be heard officially by governments, world leaders, and big corporations.

Attending marches and rallies is another approach to raise awareness and aid in the battle against poverty in your neighborhood. These might be block parties, marches, or any other peaceful event that draws the attention of the community to the struggle against systemic poverty. There are groups that host activities regularly to promote awareness and stand united with those impacted by poverty, and you may learn how to be an effective supporter by joining their efforts.

Support Minimum Wage Increases

Perpetual economic growth doesn’t always result in higher wages for the working class, meaning many people fall victim to relative poverty. You can help by supporting an increase in the minimum wage in your country.

The national minimum wage of $7.25 per hour in 2015 equates to $15,080 per year for full-time employment over 52 weeks. For just a family of three, the federal poverty line is $20,090 (try living on that!). Twenty percent of America’s children would benefit if the minimum wage were raised to $10.10/hour (smaller in real currency than the 1968 minimum wage). Cities and states are leading the charge to raise the minimum wage to a living pay rate. According to various research, boosting unions and collective bargaining rights would increase wage pressure across the board.

Create Jobs

Look for places where your community-based company or group may use some assistance. Numerous people in poverty might lack access to quality education or specialty credentials, but that does not rule out the possibility that they have anything to give. One method to aid neighbors living below the poverty line in your neighborhood is to identify areas of opportunity within your company or group, extend your recruitment pool, and offer a decent wage.

There is a tremendous amount of work to be undertaken in the United States, but most of it will not be profitable. This is where the government can help. Infrastructure expenditures, such as repairing outdated bridges, developing mass transportation, and switching to renewable energy sources, as well as investments in critical services like schools, daycare, and elder care, produce both public benefits and employment.

Local employment rules for major firms in low-income neighborhoods have the same effect. Low-cost home construction creates jobs by increasing disposable income by cutting housing expenses. More individuals could be trained if community colleges were free. And, if you feel that anybody eager to work should be employed, the government can serve as the last resort employer.

Break Down Taboos

Whether you have preconceived beliefs about poverty in your neighborhood or as an idea in general, it’s critical to question them so you don’t unknowingly transmit detrimental preconceptions. One of the best ways to fight poverty is to break down the misunderstanding about it.

One prevalent misunderstanding is that people who are homeless choose not to work. This misunderstanding is extremely detrimental because it ignores the numerous uncontrolled and systemic factors that might contribute to housing insecurity or poverty. In actuality, several issues make it difficult for people to obtain work, including the loss of affordable homes, unequal access to knowledge and equipment, and mental issues.

Support Paid Sick days

If you operate a business in your town, provide paid family vacation and sick days. Although it is a commitment for you, having a day off without pay every now and again can be detrimental to some of your staff, particularly if they are poor. Your employees will become ill from time to time; give them peace of mind by providing paid sick leave. Consider providing childcare stipends or perhaps an on-site daycare alternative for employees who make less than the region’s median salary to create an atmosphere where working-class people don’t have to pick between money and childcare. As an employer, if you provide paid leave you’ll be helping those who work for you and it will also make them feel appreciated and they will work harder.

End Poverty Tax

Low-income residents in poor communities pay higher prices for almost everything, from groceries to vehicle loans, and are reliant on high-interest “pay-day loans” since many banks refuse to service them. Poor families cannot afford to buy in bulk to save money. Low-income folks can’t save enough to spend on their education and professional training since they don’t have access to capital.

Fight for Action on Climate Change

Poverty and climate change are deeply intertwined. If climate experts’ predictions unfold, it will be the poorest countries in the world that are affected first. Natural disasters, water shortages, food shortages, power outages, and failing economies all pose serious risks to those that are the most vulnerable. We have coordinated and organized extensive emergency relief and disaster relief operations to help those in need.

poor_man

What Are Some Examples of Poverty?

Absolute Poverty

A family living in absolute poverty may not be earning enough to feed or shelter themselves properly. They may have no access to education and spend most of their time finding whatever food they can get from the surrounding land. The family would be in a constant struggle to feed themselves and regularly incur disease and suffer extreme hunger. 

Relative Poverty

A family of four people living in the USA in 1990 with a yearly income of less than $12,100 would be living in relative poverty. Compare this to 2010, they would have to have an income of less than $22,050 to still be living in relative poverty in the USA.

Secondary Poverty

A family suffering from secondary poverty may have one or more people in the family who spend most of their income on unnecessary things such as the act of gambling, buying alcohol, cigarettes, and/or drugs. Often, people with serious addictions spend their money on all four of these things regularly.  

This unnecessary expense through addiction puts the family at risk with little money left to cover necessities such as food, education, healthcare, and household expenses.  

homeless

How Do We Define Poverty?

Put simply, poverty is not having enough money to support a person’s basic living needs. We can all help change the state of poverty by working together with our communities, local governments, corporations, world leaders, and world organizations. 

Educational Programs

Learning about poverty is essential in helping the fight against it. If we don’t understand the issues and how poverty is created, we can not properly identify solutions that will be effective. 

Educational programs are therefore vital in the fight against poverty. They can help to spread awareness of the key issues and inform people, communities, and the government on how to help make a change to people’s lives affected by poverty.  

Food

One of the best ways to help end poverty is by creating and supporting channels of food supplies for those communities in need. This could be anything from a regular soup kitchen in downtown Manhattan to regular food supply drops in the heart of a community living in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Food For Life Global has been distributing plant-based meals to some of the most desperate communities in the world for over 40 years. Our projects help us to serve over 2 million plant-based meals every day in over 60 different countries around the world. So far, we’ve served over 7 billion meals as part of our mission to end world hunger. 

Donations

Making a simple donation regularly can help support the hard work of charities like Food for Life Global in their mission to help those that are suffering in extreme poverty

Support Local Families

Ending poverty relies on communities to come together and support each other. This means keeping your local soup kitchen, helping local families with donations, providing them with necessities, finding them better employment, and uplifting them in any way we can. 

Community Improvement

We need to help each other by demanding more from our local governments, asking them to support those in need by creating initiatives that uplift them. Unfortunately, helping those most in need is rarely a priority and we need communities to come together to demand that they do more.

homeless with dog

Together, we can help end poverty.

Help us in our mission to help those in need by making a monetary contribution to Food for Life Global. Your donation can go a long way to making a difference.

 

Donate Now

https://ffl.org/app/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.

Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.

How To Make An Impact

donate

Help People

Crypto Currency

Donate Crypto

Animal

Help Animals

fundraise

Fundraise

Projects

Volunteer Opportunities
Become an advocate
start your own project
EMERGENCY RELIEF

VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Become an
Advocate

Start Your
Own Project

EMERGENCY
RELIEF

Recent Posts