在旧楼前挂洗衣店

关于世界贫困的事实

贫穷 是一个每天都会影响数百万人的关键问题。

您知道吗?到2.50年,全球将近一半的人口每天的生活费不足$ 2020? 另外还有1.3亿人每天的生活费不足1.25美元。 如果您正在阅读本文,请尝试考虑以2.50美元的价格可以买到什么。 然后考虑1.25美元能给您带来什么。 很难想象要一天到一天地生活,但是世界上很大一部分人口每天的生活方式都是如此。

世界上有多少百分比生活在贫困中?

直到1990年,大约35%的人生活在贫困中。 大约有1.8亿人。 如今,仍有700亿人或世界人口的10%生活在极端贫困中,这意味着他们难以满足其最基本的需求,包括医疗保健,教育,获得水和卫生设施等。

可怜的孩子

尽管我们在减少世界各地贫困率方面已取得了长足的进步,但仍有许多人继续遭受苦难。 每天生活费不足1.90美元的人大多生活在撒哈拉以南非洲。 生活在贫困中的大多数人居住在农村地区。 在世界范围内,农村地区的贫困率为17.2%,是城市地区的三倍多。

造成贫困的主要原因是什么?

世界范围内造成贫困的原因很多,但造成全球贫困的主要原因是无法获得清洁水和营养食品,冲突和内乱,就业机会低,缺乏教育,基础设施差和气候变化。

获得清洁水和营养食品的机会有限

超过2亿人无法在家中获得清洁水,超过800亿人遭受饥饿之苦。 贫穷与饥饿 贫穷使他们的受害者陷入不可避免的循环,因为贫穷阻碍他们获得优质的食物和清洁的水,而由于缺乏食物和水而导致的饥饿和相关的健康问题使摆脱贫困变得更加困难。

 

营养不良和污水造成的可预防疾病和疾病可能会使一个已经贫穷的家庭陷入极端贫困,因为他们可能将不得不花费很少的剩余时间和资源来支付医疗费用,更不用说往返医院或医疗机构了中央。

冲突与内乱

冲突破坏了任何现有的区域基础设施,使资金从有需要的人手中转移出去,并使难民脱离了平民。

在曾经是罕见贫困的叙利亚地区,十分之七的人口生活在贫困中。

甚至攻击的威胁也会削弱本已苦苦挣扎的社区。 如果农民担心自己的农作物被盗或毁坏,他们将不会投资种植,从而导致粮食储备减少和经济疲软。

失业

一个简单的逻辑问题揭示了失业与贫困之间的联系。 如果不能工作,就不能赚钱。 作为发达国家的成员,很容易假设某人想要一份工作,他们就可以外出工作,但这根本不是世界上发展中和农村地区工作的方式。

由于冲突,人口过多,气候变化和自然资源管理不善而导致生产土地的获取减少以及生活成本膨胀,这给发展中国家的经济带来了压力。

虽然工作不稳定和低薪工作会使一个家庭陷入贫困,但绝对没有工作意味着一个家庭如果没有援助就无法生存。

缺乏教育

在发展中国家有很多,让您的孩子上学并不像在早上等车那样容易。 受教育程度低以及随之而来的个人缺乏机会的问题始于童年。

在世界许多地方,上学不是免费的,许多家庭负担不起送子女上学的时间,特别是在承受财政压力以增加家庭收入的情况下。

联合国教科文组织估计,如果他们离开学校学习基本的阅读技能,将使171亿人摆脱极端贫困。

基础设施差

《韦氏词典》将基础设施定义为:“一个国家,地区或组织正常运作所需的基本设备和结构(例如道路和桥梁)。”

这些是发达国家很容易理所当然的方面,只有那些没有这些方面的国家才能证明其价值。

基础设施是使人们摆脱贫困的关键组成部分,因为如果没有基础设施,获得他们迫切需要的援助将变得更加困难,甚至不可能。 没有工作,没有食物或水的人完全依靠外国援助。 没有基础设施,向他们提供援助的机会就渺茫。

气候变化

世界银行在2015年估计,到100年,仅气候变化一项就可能使超过2030亿人陷入贫困。根据他们的估计,撒哈拉以南非洲和南亚这两个已经遭受世界上最严重贫困的地区将受到打击最难。

难以预测的天气模式给农民带来了挑战,干旱,洪水和严重风暴等严重天气事件可能会使已经生活在贫困中的社区瘫痪。

贫穷如何影响世界?

贫穷影响着每个人。 它不仅对直接受其影响的人们造成毁灭性影响,而且还可能对世界其他地区造成严重后果。

犯罪和滥用毒品

专家们一直在研究犯罪与财富之间的联系,发现区域犯罪根据收入的不同而有所不同。 犯罪在受贫困影响最大的国家中居高不下,专家认为,这在很大程度上是缺乏教育和就业机会的结果。

研究表明,低收入地区犯有更多与财产有关的犯罪,例如入室盗窃和盗窃,而在较富裕地区,暴力犯罪更多见。

不论是在撒哈拉以南非洲还是在纽约市的街道上,酗酒和滥用毒品都是贫困的无可争议的副作用。 不幸的是,这是一种常见的自我毁灭性习惯,它是应付生活在贫困中的高水平压力,焦虑和沮丧的一种方式。

不幸的是,贫困地区普遍存在毒品和酒精滥用现象,这只能通过增加需求来推动毒品交易背后的力量。 众所周知,贩毒者在其产品上掺入危险化学品和其他添加剂以增加全球利润。

环境与健康

研究表明,贫困与环境退化之间存在着牢固的社会关系。 这通常不是贫困社区的错,而是外部力量的错。

从建材到外卖容器的所有事物,都向富裕的社会成员提供了“更绿色”的选择,而贫困地区的成员只剩下那些被拒绝或被认为不适合较富裕国家的东西。

有害化学物质和材料的使用在当地社会已变得根深蒂固,不仅使贫困人口处于危险状态,而且使这些污染物在世界范围内流通。 最明显的地方是我们的海洋,据目前估计,每平方英里的海洋中平均有多达46,000件塑料。

我们怎样才能消除贫困?

在政府援助和“生命之粮”等非营利组织的帮助下,我们可以努力消除世界各地的贫困。

手捧着一颗读书的心

通过照顾人类的第一需求,即食物,生命之粮为陷入贫困和饥饿恶性循环的人们打开了一扇门,为饥饿和饥饿提供了机会。 贫困儿童 过着健康的生活并接受教育。

了解有关生命食品的更多信息 以及我们为治愈世界而正在做的事情 做捐献 今天,并致力于消除全球贫困。

网上捐赠

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。
Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。

Hanging laundary in front of old building

Facts About Poverty in the World

Poverty is a critical issue that affects millions of people every day.

Did you know that nearly half of the world’s population lives on less than $2.50 a day in 2020? An additional 1.3 billion people lived on less than $1.25 a day. If you’re reading this, try to think about what you could buy for $2.50. Then think about what $1.25 would get you. It’s hard to imagine making it through the day, yet a significant percentage of the world’s population lives that way every day of their lives.

What percentage of the world lives in poverty?

As recently as 1990, some 35% of people were living in poverty. That’s approximately 1.8 billion people. Today, more than 700 million people, or 10% of the world population, still live in extreme poverty, which means that they struggle to fulfill their most basic needs including healthcare, education, and access to water and sanitation, among other things.

Poor smiling child

While we have come a long way in reducing the prevalence of poverty around the world, there are many who continue to suffer. People who are surviving on less than $1.90 a day mostly live in sub-Saharan Africa. Most of those living in poverty populate rural areas. Worldwide, the poverty rate in rural areas is 17.2%, more than three times higher than in urban areas.

What are the main causes of poverty?

Poor village in Ecuador

There are many causes of poverty around the world, but the top causes of global poverty are inadequate access to clean water and nutritious food, conflict and civil unrest, low employment opportunities, lack of education, poor infrastructure, and climate change.

Limited access to clean water and nutritious food

More than 2 billion people don’t have access to clean water at home, and more than 800 million suffer from hunger. Poverty and hunger trap their victims in an inescapable loop, as poverty prevents access to good food and clean water while hunger and associated health problems due to lack of food and water makes it harder to escape poverty.

 

Preventable illness and disease resulting from malnutrition and dirty water can bring an already impoverished family into extreme poverty, as they will likely have to spend what little remaining time and resources they have on medical expenses, not to mention travel to and from a hospital or healthcare center.

Conflict and civil unrest

Conflict damages any existing regional infrastructure, redirecting funds away from those in need and making refugees out of civilians.

In Syria, a region where poverty was once uncommon, nearly 7 out of every ten people live in poverty.

Even the threat of an attack can weaken already struggling communities. If farmers are worried that their crops will be stolen or destroyed, they won’t invest in planting, resulting in diminished food reserves and a weakened economy.

Unemployment

A simple logic problem reveals the connection between unemployment and poverty; if you can’t work, you can’t earn money. As members of developed nations, it’s easy to assume that if someone wants a job, they can just go out and get one but that simply isn’t how things work in developing and rural parts of the world.

Poor woman is sitting on the ground

Diminished access to productive land and the inflated cost of living due to conflict, overpopulation, climate change, and mismanagement of natural resources places tension on the economies of developing nations.

While inconsistent work and low paying jobs can land a family in poverty, absolutely no work means that a family can’t get by without assistance.

Lack of education

In developing nations there are many, getting your children to school isn’t as easy as waiting for the bus in the mornings. The problem of poor education and the resulting lack of opportunities for individuals later in life begins in childhood.

Poor sad boy is sitting on the ground

School is not free in many parts of the world and many families cannot afford to send their children to school, especially when there is financial pressure to bring in more household income.

UNESCO estimates that 171 million people could be lifted out of extreme poverty if they left school with basic reading skills.

Poor infrastructure

Infrastructure is defined by Merriam Webster Dictionary as, “the basic equipment and structures (such as roads and bridges) that are needed for a country, region, or organization to function properly.”

Poor countryside view

These are the aspects of developed countries that are easily taken for granted, the value of it only demonstrated by those without.

Infrastructure is a key component of lifting people out of poverty because without it, it’s much more difficult or even impossible to get them the assistance they so desperately need. People without jobs, without food or water, are entirely dependent on foreign aid. Without infrastructure, the chances of getting that aid to them are slim to none.

Climate change

Ladscape change desert

The World Bank estimated in 2015 that climate change alone could send more than 100 million people into poverty by 2030. According to their estimates, Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia, two regions already suffering from some of the world’s worst poverty, will be hit the hardest.

Less-predictable weather patterns present challenges for farmers and severe weather events like drought, flooding, and severe storms can cripple communities already living in poverty.

How does poverty affect the world?

coins on the ground

Poverty affects everyone. Not only is it devastating for those directly affected by it, but it can also have serious consequences for the rest of the world.

Crime and substance abuse

Experts have been studying the link between crime and wealth and have found that regional crime varies in response in accordance with income. Crime ranks high among those affected by poverty, which experts believe is largely the result of lack of education and employment opportunities.

thief

Studies show that low-income areas experience more property-related crimes such as burglary and theft, while more violent crime is generally seen in wealthier areas.

Alcohol and substance abuse are indisputable side effects of poverty, whether it’s in Sub-Saharan Africa or the streets of New York City. It’s an unfortunately common self-destructive habit taken up as a way of coping with the high levels of stress, anxiety, and depression that comes with living in poverty.

Unfortunately, the prevalence of drugs and alcohol abuse in impoverished areas only serves to drive the forces behind the drug trade by increasing demand. Drug traffickers have been known to lace their products with dangerous chemicals and other additives to increase profits worldwide.

Environment and health

Studies have shown a strong social relationship between poverty and environmental degradation. This is often not the fault of impoverished communities, but rather that of outside forces.

stethoscope

Members of wealthy societies are presented with “greener” options for everything from building materials to takeout containers, while those of impoverished regions are left with only that which has been rejected or deemed unfit for wealthier nations.

The use of harmful chemicals and materials becomes ingrained in local society and not only subjects impoverished populations to dangerous conditions but circulates those pollutants worldwide. The place where this is most obvious is in our oceans, where it’s now estimated that on average there are as many as 46,000 pieces of plastic in every square mile of ocean.

How can we stop poverty?

With the help of government aid and nonprofit organizations like Food for Life, we can make an effort to stop poverty around the world.

Hands are holding a read heart

By taking care of humankind’s number one need, food, Food for Life opens up a door for those trapped in the vicious cycle of poverty and hunger, providing an opportunity for hungry and impoverished children to lead healthy lives and earn an education.

Learn more about Food for Life and what we’re doing to heal the world or make a donation today and join the effort to stop global poverty.

Donate Now

https://secureservercdn.net/198.71.233.109/4hr.f77.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.
Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.