مغسلة معلقة أمام مبنى قديم

حقائق حول الفقر في العالم

الفقر هي قضية خطيرة تؤثر على ملايين الأشخاص كل يوم.

هل تعلم أن ما يقرب من نصف سكان العالم يعيشون على أقل من 2.50 دولار في اليوم في عام 2020؟ يعيش 1.3 مليار شخص إضافي على أقل من 1.25 دولار في اليوم. إذا كنت تقرأ هذا ، فحاول التفكير في ما يمكنك شراؤه مقابل 2.50 دولارًا. ثم فكر في ما سيحصل عليه 1.25 دولار. من الصعب أن نتخيل كيف أقوم بذلك على مدار اليوم ، ولكن نسبة كبيرة من سكان العالم تعيش بهذه الطريقة كل يوم من حياتهم.

ما هي نسبة العالم الذي يعيش في فقر؟

في عام 1990 ، كان حوالي 35٪ من الناس يعيشون في فقر. ما يقرب من 1.8 مليار شخص. واليوم ، لا يزال أكثر من 700 مليون شخص ، أو 10٪ من سكان العالم ، يعيشون في فقر مدقع ، مما يعني أنهم يكافحون من أجل تلبية احتياجاتهم الأساسية بما في ذلك الرعاية الصحية والتعليم والحصول على المياه والصرف الصحي ، من بين أمور أخرى.

طفل مبتسم مسكين

بينما قطعنا شوطًا طويلاً في الحد من انتشار الفقر حول العالم ، إلا أن الكثيرين ما زالوا يعانون. يعيش الأشخاص الذين يعيشون على أقل من 1.90 دولارًا في اليوم في الغالب في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى. معظم السكان الذين يعيشون في فقر يسكنون المناطق الريفية. في جميع أنحاء العالم ، يبلغ معدل الفقر في المناطق الريفية 17.2٪ ، وهو أعلى بثلاث مرات منه في المناطق الحضرية.

ما هي الأسباب الرئيسية للفقر؟

قرية فقيرة في الإكوادور

هناك أسباب عديدة للفقر في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ولكن الأسباب الرئيسية للفقر العالمي هي عدم كفاية الوصول إلى المياه النظيفة والأغذية المغذية ، والصراعات والاضطرابات المدنية ، وفرص العمل المنخفضة ، ونقص التعليم ، وضعف البنية التحتية ، وتغير المناخ.

الوصول المحدود إلى المياه النظيفة والأغذية المغذية

لا يحصل أكثر من 2 مليار شخص على المياه النظيفة في المنزل ، وأكثر من 800 مليون يعانون من الجوع. الفقر والجوع حبس ضحاياهم في حلقة لا مفر منها ، حيث يمنع الفقر الحصول على طعام جيد ومياه نظيفة بينما الجوع وما يرتبط به من مشاكل صحية بسبب نقص الغذاء والماء يجعل من الصعب الهروب من الفقر.

يمكن للأمراض التي يمكن الوقاية منها والأمراض الناتجة عن سوء التغذية والمياه القذرة أن تجعل الأسرة الفقيرة بالفعل في فقر مدقع ، حيث من المحتمل أن تضطر إلى قضاء ما يكفي من الوقت والموارد المتبقية لديهم للنفقات الطبية ، ناهيك عن السفر من وإلى المستشفى أو الرعاية الصحية مركز.

الصراع والاضطرابات المدنية

يضر النزاع بأي بنية أساسية إقليمية قائمة ، ويعيد توجيه الأموال بعيدًا عن المحتاجين ويخرج اللاجئين من المدنيين.

في سوريا ، المنطقة التي كان فيها الفقر غير شائع من قبل ، يعيش ما يقرب من 7 من كل عشرة أشخاص في فقر.

حتى التهديد بالهجوم يمكن أن يضعف المجتمعات المتعثرة بالفعل. إذا كان المزارعون قلقين من سرقة محاصيلهم أو تدميرها ، فلن يستثمروا في الزراعة ، مما يؤدي إلى تناقص الاحتياطيات الغذائية وضعف الاقتصاد.

البطالة

تكشف مشكلة منطقية بسيطة عن العلاقة بين البطالة والفقر ؛ إذا كنت لا تستطيع العمل ، لا يمكنك كسب المال. كأعضاء في الدول المتقدمة ، من السهل أن نفترض أنه إذا أراد شخص ما الحصول على وظيفة ، فيمكنه فقط الخروج والحصول على وظيفة ولكن هذه ليست الطريقة التي تسير بها الأمور في الأجزاء النامية والريفية من العالم.

امرأة فقيرة تجلس على الأرض

يضعف الوصول إلى الأراضي المنتجة وتكلفة المعيشة المتضخمة بسبب الصراع والاكتظاظ السكاني وتغير المناخ وسوء إدارة الموارد الطبيعية التوتر على اقتصادات الدول النامية.

في حين أن العمل غير المتسق والوظائف ذات الأجور المنخفضة يمكن أن يؤدي إلى فقر الأسرة ، إلا أنه لا يوجد عمل يعني على الإطلاق أن الأسرة لا تستطيع العيش بدون مساعدة.

نقص التعليم

في الدول النامية هناك الكثير ، إن إحضار أطفالك إلى المدرسة ليس سهلاً مثل انتظار الحافلة في الصباح. تبدأ مشكلة ضعف التعليم وما ينجم عن ذلك من نقص الفرص للأفراد في وقت لاحق في الحياة في مرحلة الطفولة.

فتى حزين مسكين يجلس على الأرض

المدرسة ليست مجانية في أجزاء كثيرة من العالم ولا تستطيع الكثير من العائلات إرسال أطفالها إلى المدرسة ، خاصة عندما يكون هناك ضغط مالي لجلب المزيد من دخل الأسرة.

تقديرات اليونسكو أنه يمكن انتشال 171 مليون شخص من الفقر المدقع إذا تركوا المدرسة مع مهارات القراءة الأساسية.

ضعف البنية التحتية

يتم تعريف البنية التحتية من قبل Merriam Webster Dictionary على أنها "المعدات والهياكل الأساسية (مثل الطرق والجسور) اللازمة لبلد أو منطقة أو منظمة لتعمل بشكل صحيح."

منظر ريفي رديء

هذه هي جوانب الدول المتقدمة التي يسهل أخذها على أنها من المسلمات ، وقيمتها تظهر فقط من قبل أولئك الذين ليس لديهم.

البنية التحتية هي مكون رئيسي لانتشال الناس من براثن الفقر لأنه بدونها ، سيكون من الصعب أو حتى المستحيل الحصول على المساعدة التي يحتاجونها بشدة. يعتمد الأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم عمل ، بدون طعام أو ماء ، اعتمادًا كليًا على المساعدات الخارجية. بدون البنية التحتية ، فإن فرص الحصول على تلك المساعدة لهم ضئيلة إلى لا شيء.

التغيرات المناخية

Ladscape تغيير الصحراء

قدّر البنك الدولي في عام 2015 أن تغير المناخ وحده يمكن أن يدفع أكثر من 100 مليون شخص إلى الفقر بحلول عام 2030. ووفقًا لتقديراتهم ، فإن أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء وجنوب آسيا ، وهما منطقتان تعانيان بالفعل من بعض أسوأ فقر في العالم ، ستتضرر الأصعب.

تمثل أنماط الطقس الأقل توقعًا تحديات للمزارعين ، ويمكن أن تؤدي الأحداث المناخية الشديدة مثل الجفاف والفيضانات والعواصف الشديدة إلى شل المجتمعات التي تعيش بالفعل في فقر.

كيف يؤثر الفقر على العالم؟

عملات معدنية على الأرض

يؤثر الفقر على الجميع. فهو ليس فقط مدمرا للمتضررين منه مباشرة ، ولكن يمكن أن يكون له أيضا عواقب وخيمة على بقية العالم.

الجريمة وتعاطي المخدرات

كان الخبراء يدرسون العلاقة بين الجريمة والثروة ووجدوا أن الجريمة الإقليمية تختلف في الاستجابة وفقًا للدخل. تحتل الجريمة مرتبة عالية بين المتضررين من الفقر ، الذي يعتقد الخبراء أنه يرجع إلى حد كبير إلى نقص التعليم وفرص العمل.

السارق

تظهر الدراسات أن المناطق منخفضة الدخل تشهد المزيد من الجرائم المتعلقة بالممتلكات مثل السطو والسرقة ، في حين أن الجرائم الأكثر عنفًا تُرى بشكل عام في المناطق الأكثر ثراءً.

يعد تعاطي الكحول والمواد المخدرة آثارًا جانبية لا جدال فيها للفقر ، سواء كان ذلك في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى أو شوارع مدينة نيويورك. إنها لسوء الحظ عادة شائعة للتدمير الذاتي يتم تناولها كوسيلة للتعامل مع المستويات العالية من التوتر والقلق والاكتئاب التي تأتي مع العيش في فقر.

لسوء الحظ ، فإن انتشار تعاطي المخدرات والكحول في المناطق الفقيرة يعمل فقط على دفع القوى وراء تجارة المخدرات من خلال زيادة الطلب. من المعروف أن تجار المخدرات يربطون منتجاتهم بالمواد الكيميائية الخطرة والمواد المضافة الأخرى لزيادة الأرباح في جميع أنحاء العالم.

البيئة والصحة

أظهرت الدراسات علاقة اجتماعية قوية بين الفقر والتدهور البيئي. غالبًا ما لا يكون هذا خطأ المجتمعات الفقيرة ، بل خطأ القوى الخارجية.

سماعة الطبيب

يُعرض على أعضاء المجتمعات الغنية خيارات "أكثر خضرة" لكل شيء من مواد البناء إلى حاويات الاستيلاء ، بينما تُترك تلك الموجودة في المناطق الفقيرة فقط مع ما تم رفضه أو اعتباره غير صالح للدول الأكثر ثراءً.

إن استخدام المواد الكيميائية والمواد الضارة يصبح متأصلاً في المجتمع المحلي ولا يُخضع السكان الفقراء لظروف خطيرة فحسب ، بل يوزع تلك الملوثات في جميع أنحاء العالم. المكان الأكثر وضوحًا هو في محيطاتنا ، حيث يقدر الآن أنه يوجد في المتوسط ​​46,000 قطعة من البلاستيك في كل ميل مربع من المحيط.

كيف نوقف الفقر؟

بمساعدة المساعدات الحكومية والمنظمات غير الهادفة للربح مثل الغذاء من أجل الحياة ، يمكننا بذل جهد لوقف الفقر في جميع أنحاء العالم.

الأيدي تمسك قلبًا مقروءًا

من خلال الاهتمام باحتياجات البشرية رقم واحد ، فإن الغذاء من أجل الغذاء يفتح الباب لأولئك المحاصرين في الحلقة المفرغة للفقر والجوع ، مما يوفر فرصة للجوع و أطفال فقراء لقيادة حياة صحية والحصول على التعليم.

اعرف المزيد عن الغذاء من أجل الحياة وما نفعله لشفاء العالم أو التبرع اليوم والانضمام إلى الجهود المبذولة لوقف الفقر العالمي.

تبرع الآن

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
دعم العمل الهام Food for Life Global لخدمة شبكتها الدولية التي تضم أكثر من 200 شركة تابعة في 60 دولة.
Food for Life Global هي منظمة خيرية 501 (c) (3) ، EIN 36-4887167. تعتبر جميع التبرعات معفاة من الضرائب في غياب أي قيود على الخصم تنطبق على دافع ضرائب معين. لم يتم تقديم أي سلع أو خدمات في مقابل مساهمتك.
Food For Life Global’s المهمة الأساسية هي تحقيق السلام والازدهار في العالم من خلال التوزيع الليبرالي للوجبات النباتية النقية التي أعدت بنية محبة.

Hanging laundary in front of old building

Facts About Poverty in the World

Poverty is a critical issue that affects millions of people every day.

Did you know that nearly half of the world’s population lives on less than $2.50 a day in 2020? An additional 1.3 billion people lived on less than $1.25 a day. If you’re reading this, try to think about what you could buy for $2.50. Then think about what $1.25 would get you. It’s hard to imagine making it through the day, yet a significant percentage of the world’s population lives that way every day of their lives.

What percentage of the world lives in poverty?

As recently as 1990, some 35% of people were living in poverty. That’s approximately 1.8 billion people. Today, more than 700 million people, or 10% of the world population, still live in extreme poverty, which means that they struggle to fulfill their most basic needs including healthcare, education, and access to water and sanitation, among other things.

Poor smiling child

While we have come a long way in reducing the prevalence of poverty around the world, there are many who continue to suffer. People who are surviving on less than $1.90 a day mostly live in sub-Saharan Africa. Most of those living in poverty populate rural areas. Worldwide, the poverty rate in rural areas is 17.2%, more than three times higher than in urban areas.

What are the main causes of poverty?

Poor village in Ecuador

There are many causes of poverty around the world, but the top causes of global poverty are inadequate access to clean water and nutritious food, conflict and civil unrest, low employment opportunities, lack of education, poor infrastructure, and climate change.

Limited access to clean water and nutritious food

More than 2 billion people don’t have access to clean water at home, and more than 800 million suffer from hunger. Poverty and hunger trap their victims in an inescapable loop, as poverty prevents access to good food and clean water while hunger and associated health problems due to lack of food and water makes it harder to escape poverty.

 

Preventable illness and disease resulting from malnutrition and dirty water can bring an already impoverished family into extreme poverty, as they will likely have to spend what little remaining time and resources they have on medical expenses, not to mention travel to and from a hospital or healthcare center.

Conflict and civil unrest

Conflict damages any existing regional infrastructure, redirecting funds away from those in need and making refugees out of civilians.

In Syria, a region where poverty was once uncommon, nearly 7 out of every ten people live in poverty.

Even the threat of an attack can weaken already struggling communities. If farmers are worried that their crops will be stolen or destroyed, they won’t invest in planting, resulting in diminished food reserves and a weakened economy.

Unemployment

A simple logic problem reveals the connection between unemployment and poverty; if you can’t work, you can’t earn money. As members of developed nations, it’s easy to assume that if someone wants a job, they can just go out and get one but that simply isn’t how things work in developing and rural parts of the world.

Poor woman is sitting on the ground

Diminished access to productive land and the inflated cost of living due to conflict, overpopulation, climate change, and mismanagement of natural resources places tension on the economies of developing nations.

While inconsistent work and low paying jobs can land a family in poverty, absolutely no work means that a family can’t get by without assistance.

Lack of education

In developing nations there are many, getting your children to school isn’t as easy as waiting for the bus in the mornings. The problem of poor education and the resulting lack of opportunities for individuals later in life begins in childhood.

Poor sad boy is sitting on the ground

School is not free in many parts of the world and many families cannot afford to send their children to school, especially when there is financial pressure to bring in more household income.

UNESCO estimates that 171 million people could be lifted out of extreme poverty if they left school with basic reading skills.

Poor infrastructure

Infrastructure is defined by Merriam Webster Dictionary as, “the basic equipment and structures (such as roads and bridges) that are needed for a country, region, or organization to function properly.”

Poor countryside view

These are the aspects of developed countries that are easily taken for granted, the value of it only demonstrated by those without.

Infrastructure is a key component of lifting people out of poverty because without it, it’s much more difficult or even impossible to get them the assistance they so desperately need. People without jobs, without food or water, are entirely dependent on foreign aid. Without infrastructure, the chances of getting that aid to them are slim to none.

Climate change

Ladscape change desert

The World Bank estimated in 2015 that climate change alone could send more than 100 million people into poverty by 2030. According to their estimates, Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia, two regions already suffering from some of the world’s worst poverty, will be hit the hardest.

Less-predictable weather patterns present challenges for farmers and severe weather events like drought, flooding, and severe storms can cripple communities already living in poverty.

How does poverty affect the world?

coins on the ground

Poverty affects everyone. Not only is it devastating for those directly affected by it, but it can also have serious consequences for the rest of the world.

Crime and substance abuse

Experts have been studying the link between crime and wealth and have found that regional crime varies in response in accordance with income. Crime ranks high among those affected by poverty, which experts believe is largely the result of lack of education and employment opportunities.

thief

Studies show that low-income areas experience more property-related crimes such as burglary and theft, while more violent crime is generally seen in wealthier areas.

Alcohol and substance abuse are indisputable side effects of poverty, whether it’s in Sub-Saharan Africa or the streets of New York City. It’s an unfortunately common self-destructive habit taken up as a way of coping with the high levels of stress, anxiety, and depression that comes with living in poverty.

Unfortunately, the prevalence of drugs and alcohol abuse in impoverished areas only serves to drive the forces behind the drug trade by increasing demand. Drug traffickers have been known to lace their products with dangerous chemicals and other additives to increase profits worldwide.

Environment and health

Studies have shown a strong social relationship between poverty and environmental degradation. This is often not the fault of impoverished communities, but rather that of outside forces.

stethoscope

Members of wealthy societies are presented with “greener” options for everything from building materials to takeout containers, while those of impoverished regions are left with only that which has been rejected or deemed unfit for wealthier nations.

The use of harmful chemicals and materials becomes ingrained in local society and not only subjects impoverished populations to dangerous conditions but circulates those pollutants worldwide. The place where this is most obvious is in our oceans, where it’s now estimated that on average there are as many as 46,000 pieces of plastic in every square mile of ocean.

How can we stop poverty?

With the help of government aid and nonprofit organizations like Food for Life, we can make an effort to stop poverty around the world.

Hands are holding a read heart

By taking care of humankind’s number one need, food, Food for Life opens up a door for those trapped in the vicious cycle of poverty and hunger, providing an opportunity for hungry and impoverished children to lead healthy lives and earn an education.

Learn more about Food for Life and what we’re doing to heal the world or make a donation today and join the effort to stop global poverty.

Donate Now

https://secureservercdn.net/198.71.233.109/4hr.f77.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.
Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.