到底什麼是糧食不安全?

最後更新於 16 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日
保羅·羅德尼·特納保羅·羅德尼·特納

您可能以前曾經聽說過“糧食不安全”一詞,但您可能想知道這意味著什麼。 那麼,到底什麼是糧食不安全?

許多人可以去雜貨店或超市購買所需的食物。 但是,並非每個人都享有此特權。 當人們無法獲得足夠的健康食品時,就稱為“糧食不安全”。 該術語被更具體地定義為由於缺乏資金和其他資源而無法持續獲得足夠的營養,負擔得起的和適合文化的食物。

空錢包

美國農業部將糧食不安全分為兩類(USDA).

糧食安全性低。 您通常會得到足夠的食物,但沒有太多選擇。 這意味著您必須吃對自己的口味不太吸引或品質較低的食物。
糧食安全性很低。 在這種情況下,您將無法獲得足夠的食物來養活自己和家人,或者因為您沒有足夠的錢或其他手段來獲取食物而不得不少吃甚至不吃飯。

糧食不安全可能是暫時的,也可能是長期的,而且並非總是單獨發生。 低收入家庭可能會受到多重和重疊問題的影響,例如社會隔離,缺乏經濟適用房,工資低以及醫療費用高。 實際上,據記錄,17.4年有一段時間,美國約有2014萬家庭缺乏糧食。但是,請注意,儘管糧食不安全並不等同於飢餓,但這可能是糧食造成的後果不安全感。

只要我們想知道糧食不安全的含義,我們還應該問一下如何衡量它。 大多數緩解飢餓的非營利組織都使用美國農業部每年進行的評估。 每年,成千上萬的家庭被要求回答簡短的調查,其中包含十個問題和八個附加問題 和孩子一起.

有孩子的家庭

這些問題有助於美國農業部確定各種糧食不安全指標,從最輕到最重。 收集答案後,USDA將家庭分為四類糧食安全:極低的糧食安全,低糧食安全,邊際糧食安全和高度糧食安全。 經曆三個或三個以上指標的家庭被認為是低糧食安全的。 具有三個糧食不安全指標並報告不進餐的家庭被認為糧食安全水平很低。

糧食不安全影響最大的是什麼?

健康與飢餓緊密相連。 糧食不安全常常與對人的整體健康造成許多嚴重影響有關。 被認為食物不安全的人更容易受到高血壓和糖尿病等慢性疾病的影響。 因此,為了更好地理解“什麼是糧食不安全?”這個問題的答案,我們還應該問:“誰受到糧食不安全的影響?”

根據《 Feeding America》的報導,糧食不安全會影響任何人,無論其年齡,性別或種族。 但是,它對兒童的危害要大得多,因為缺乏營養食品會嚴重影響兒童的生長發育,學業,心理健康以及未來的經濟繁榮。

研究表明,糧食不安全與年幼兒童發育遲緩之間存在相關性。 這也增加了他們患慢性病如貧血和哮喘的風險。 學齡兒童也可能會受到行為問題的困擾,例如焦慮,攻擊和多動。

糧食不安全帶來的相關健康風險是什麼?

糧食不安全與各種健康風險有關,包括:

肥胖。 遭受糧食不安全困擾的兒童和成年人,肥胖的風險更高,因為他們只能獲得缺乏人體所需營養的高卡路里食物。 他們還可能經歷以下循環:沒有足夠的食物時不進餐,然後進食。 肥胖會嚴重影響一個人的身心健康以及他們的社交生活。 它還與抑鬱,哮喘和高血壓等健康問題有關。
終生疾病。 低收入,糧食不安全的家庭更有可能患上慢性疾病,例如心髒病,糖尿病和癌症。

報紙標題-巨蟹座
兒童健康不良。 生活在沒有糧食保障的家庭中的兒童比有糧食保障的家庭更容易生病。 由於他們的身體缺乏自行康復所需的力量,他們也有更大的機會因疾病而住院。 沒有足夠食物的孩子也會發現很難集中精力上課。 這可能會導致他們在上學時出現情緒問題或行為不端。
懷孕風險。 如果孕婦沒有足夠的健康食品來吃,孕婦可能會早產或生育低出生體重的嬰兒。 糧食不安全還可能增加準媽媽患貧血,先天缺陷和其他發育問題的機率。

什麼是暫時性糧食不安全?

糧食安全分析師將糧食不安全分為兩類:長期和暫時。

長期的糧食不安全狀況是一個長期存在的長期問題,人們無法滿足其最低糧食需求。 這通常是由於長期貧困,缺乏個人資產以及減少獲得財務資源的結果。

另一方面,暫時性糧食不安全是一個暫時或短期的問題。 當出現週期性獲取食物不足的情況時,就會發生這種情況,例如農產品的供應突然下降或獲取足夠食物以維持良好營養狀況。

如何將一個家庭視為食品安全?

人們通常將家庭描述為“糧食不安全”或“糧食安全”,但並非總是如此。 糧食安全的四個級別最能說明一個家庭獲得足夠食物的經驗範圍。

高糧食安全。 沒有機會因獲得充足食物而出現問題或焦慮的家庭。
邊際糧食安全。 家庭可能偶爾會遇到無法獲得足夠食物的問題或憂慮,但飲食的質量,數量或種類卻沒有顯著減少。

各種蔬菜
糧食安全性低。 種類,質量和飲食需求減少的家庭,但其正常飲食方式和數量沒有實質性變化。
糧食安全性很低。 由於糧食資金或資源不足,一個或多個成員的飲食習慣在一年中的某些時候受到干擾或急劇減少的家庭。

發霉的土豆

正在採取什麼措施解決糧食不安全問題?

糧食不安全是世界各地許多家庭的一個長期問題。 這不是一個容易解決的問題,但並非不可能。 首先,您需要了解其根本原因才能正確解決。 這意味著要改善行為和系統,以確保食物的可獲得性,獲取和適當分配。

聯合國可持續發展目標(UN SDGs)通過解決不平等,貧困與和平等問題來應對全球主要挑戰,以便為每個人建立更光明的未來。 總而言之,有 17可持續發展目標。 而且,其中一個目標是到2030年實現零飢餓。它要求對全球糧食的生產和消費方式進行重新審查。 它還旨在解決全球糧食和農業系統中的核心問題,例如性別平等和作物生物多樣性。 這樣,可以在該行業內同時生產更多的食物和創造更多的就業機會。
此外,更大的農業生物多樣性的副作用是飲食更健康。 它還使婦女獲得與男子相同的耕作資源。 所有這些共同努力可以幫助多達150億人避免飢餓。

我們必須支持小農,因為小農生產發展中國家80%的糧食,這也至關重要。 世界飢餓解決方案 也深深植根於教育。 地方和國家政府都需要投資於教育社區,了解適當的營養以及有效和可持續的耕作方法,以幫助支持健康和可持續的生活方式。

結論

糧食不安全仍然是全球性問題。 氣候變化對全世界的漁民和農民產生負面影響; 世界飽受貧困之苦,許多國家的衝突正在剝奪人們安全獲得健康食品的機會。 所有這些因素導致了全球糧食不安全問題。 幸運的是,許多國際,國家和地方組織(例如“生命之糧”(實況足球)在全球範圍內,減少糧食不安全狀況正在取得顯著進展。

FFL充滿激情,他們相信沒有人會餓, 特別是孩子。 他們的志願者分享了這一信念,這就是為什麼他們準備去任何需要分享食物的地方。 它們還為受災地區提供糧食救濟。

FFL志願者曾到飽受戰爭war的國家分發糧食救濟。 1993年地震摧毀了印度的拉特爾,他們就在那裡。他們毫不猶豫地開車300公里,就在現場為陷入困境的村民們提供飯菜,醫療用品和衣物。

消除糧食不安全的鬥爭是漫長而艱鉅的。 但是,由於FFL等組織的決心,奉獻精神和承諾,贏得這場戰鬥並不是不可能的目標。

網上捐贈

https://ffl.org/app/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

支持重要工作 Food for Life Global 服務其遍布200個國家/地區的60多家分支機構的國際網絡。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善組織,EIN 36-4887167。 在沒有適用於特定納稅人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐款均被視為可抵稅。 沒有提供任何商品或服務來交換您的捐助。

Food For Life Global’s 主要任務是通過自由分發以愛心意願準備的純植物性餐食,實現世界和平與繁榮。

如何產生影響

捐贈

幫助他人

加密貨幣

捐贈加密貨幣

動物

幫助動物

我們的項目

志願者機會
成為倡導者
開始你自己的項目
緊急救援

志願者
機遇

成為

開始你的
自己的項目

緊急
救濟

最新動態

An apple on the table and unfocused woman behind

What is Food Insecurity Exactly?

You have probably heard the term “food insecurity” before, but you may be wondering what it means. So, what is food insecurity exactly?

Many people can go to a grocery store or supermarket to buy the food they need. However, not everyone enjoys this privilege. When people do not have access to a sufficient supply of healthy food, it’s called “food insecurity.” The term is more specifically defined as not having consistent access to enough nutritious, affordable, and culturally appropriate food due to lack of money and other resources.

Empty wallet

Food insecurity is divided into two categories by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).

Low food security. You generally get enough food but do not have many choices. This means you have to eat food that may not be very appealing to your tastes or is of lower quality.
Very low food security. This is when you can’t get enough food to feed yourself and your family, or you have to eat less or even skip meals because you don’t have enough money or other means to get it.

Food insecurity may be temporary or long-term, and it does not always happen on its own. Low-income families can be affected by multiple and overlapping issues, such as social isolation, lack of affordable housing, low wages, and high medical costs. In fact, it was recorded that about 17.4 million households in the US were food insecure for some time in 2014. Do take note, however, that while food insecurity does not mean the same thing as hunger, it can be a resulting effect of food insecurity.

As long as we’re wondering about the meaning of food insecurity, we should also be asking how it’s measured. Most hunger-relief non-profit organizations use measurements conducted by the USDA annually. Each year, thousands of households are asked to respond to a short survey with ten questions and eight additional questions for families with children.

Family with a child

The questions help the USDA identify various indicators of food insecurity, ranging from the least severe to the most severe. After the answers are collected, the USDA categorizes households into four classifications of food security: very low food security, low food security, marginal food security, and high food security. Households that experience three or more indicators are considered low food security. Households with three indicators of food insecurity and reports of skipping meals are considered to have very low food security.

What is most affected by the impact of food insecurity?

Health and hunger are very closely connected. Food insecurity is often linked to many serious effects on a person’s overall health. People who are considered food insecure are more likely to be affected by chronic diseases, such as high blood pressure and diabetes. So, to better understand the answer to the question, “what is food insecurity?”, we should also be asking, “who is affected by food insecurity?’

According to Feeding America, food insecurity can impact anyone and everyone—no matter their age, gender, or race. However, its effects are far more devastating on children, as a lack of nutritious food can have severe effects on their growth and development, as well as their academic achievement, mental health, and future economic prosperity.

Research shows that there is a correlation between food insecurity and delayed development in very young children. It also increases their risk of developing chronic illnesses, such as anemia and asthma. School-aged children may also be afflicted by behavioral problems, such as anxiety, aggression, and hyperactivity.

What are the associated health risks of food insecurity?

Food insecurity is associated with various health risks, including:

Obesity. Both children and adults who suffer from food insecurity have a higher risk of becoming obese because they only have access to calorie-dense foods that lack the nutrients their body needs. They may also go through cycles where they skip meals when they don’t have enough food and then overeat when they do. Obesity can seriously affect a person’s mental and physical health, as well as their social life. It’s also linked to health issues like depression, asthma, and high blood pressure.
Lifelong diseases. Families in low-income, food-insecure conditions have a higher chance of developing chronic diseases such as heart disease, diabetes, and cancer.

TItle in newspaper - Cancer
Poor children’s health. Children living in food-insecure households are much more likely to get sick more frequently than food-secure households. There’s also a greater chance they will be hospitalized as a result of their illness because their body lacks the strength necessary to recover on its own. Children who don’t get enough food will also find it hard to concentrate in class. This can cause them to have emotional problems or misbehave more when they’re at school.
Pregnancy risks. It’s possible for pregnant women to have premature labor or give birth to low-birth-weight babies if they don’t have enough healthy food to eat. Food insecurity can also raise the odds of anemia, birth defects, and other developmental problems for expecting mothers.

What is transitory food insecurity?

Food security analysts divide food insecurity into two types: chronic and transitory.

Chronic food insecurity is a persistent or long-term problem where people are unable to meet their minimum food requirements. This often results from extended periods of poverty, lack of personal assets, and decreased access to financial resources.

Transitory food insecurity, on the other hand, is a temporary or short-term problem. It happens when there is a cyclical pattern of insufficient access to food, as a sudden drop in the availability of produce or access to enough food in order to maintain good nutritional status.

How can a family be considered food secure?

Households are often described as either “food insecure” or “food secure” but it’s not always so black and white. The four levels of food security best describe the range of a household’s experience in accessing enough food.

High food security. Households that experience no problems or anxiety related to their access to adequate food.
Marginal food security. Households may experience occasional problems or anxiety about the availability of enough food, but there is no substantial reduction in the quality, quantity, or variety of their diet.

Various vegetables
Low food security. Households with reduced variety, quality, and desirability of their diets, but there is no substantial change in their normal eating patterns and quantity.
Very low food security. Households wherein one or more members’ eating patterns are disrupted or drastically reduced at certain times of the year due to insufficient funds or resources for food.

Moldy rooted potatoes

What is being done to address food insecurity?

Food insecurity is a persistent problem for many households all over the world. It’s not an easy problem to solve—but it’s not impossible. First, you need to understand its root cause in order to address it properly. This means improving behaviors and systems to enable availability, access, and proper distribution of food.

The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs) address major global challenges by tackling problems, such as inequality, poverty, and peace, in order to establish a brighter future for everyone. All in all, there are 17 sustainable development goals. And, one of them aims to achieve zero hunger by 2030. It calls for a re-examination of how foods are produced and consumed globally. It also aims to address core issues in global food and agriculture systems, such as gender equality and crop biodiversity. This way, more food is produced and more jobs are created within the industry at the same time.
Moreover, a side effect of greater agricultural biodiversity is a healthier diet. It also provides women access to the same farming resources as men. All of these working together can help as many as 150 million people avoid living in hunger.

It’s also vital that we support small farmers, as they produce up to 80% of the food in developing countries. World hunger solutions are also deeply rooted in education. Both local and national governments need to invest in educating communities on proper nutrition, as well as effective and sustainable farming practices to help support healthy and sustainable lifestyles.

Conclusion

Food insecurity remains a global problem. Climate change is negatively affecting fishers and farmers worldwide; the world is plagued with poverty, and conflicts in many countries are taking away people’s safe access to healthy food. All these factors contribute to the global food insecurity problem. Fortunately, the efforts of many international, national, and local organizations, like Food for Life (FFL) Global, to reduce food insecurity are making remarkable progress.

FFL is passionate in their belief that no one should go hungry, especially children. This belief is shared by their volunteers, which is why they are prepared to go anywhere they’re needed to share food. They also provide food relief for regions struck by disaster.

FFL volunteers have been to war-torn countries to distribute food relief. They were there when an earthquake devastated Latur, India in 1993. They didn’t hesitate to drive 300 kilometers just to be on the scene to supply meals, medical supplies, and clothing to the distressed villagers.

The battle against food insecurity is a long and difficult one. But with the determination, dedication, and commitment of organizations like FFL, winning the fight is not an impossible goal.