台风海盐素食救济–更新

600个烹饪人员为1000名受害者做饭

从左至右:Ekachakra Das帮助主厨Gokula Chandra和Rajendra准备纯素食盛宴。

20月30日至8,200日-由Balarama Dasa领导的Sankirtan FFL小组在15月20日至2,730月XNUMX日在Tacloban提供了约XNUMX顿热素食餐。 同时,由Makanlal Dasa和主厨Gokula Chandra Dasa率领的“生命之粮”团队在马尼拉又提供了XNUMX份纯素食餐点。

在宿务,从4,200月23日至30日,在宿务北部的某些地方,在Gopal Krishna Dasa,Jayasri Devi Dasi及其家人的帮助下,在宿务北部提供了XNUMX份纯素食餐。 提供热餐,一些当地僧侣用吉尔丹招待当地人。

在过去的15,130天里,总共提供了13顿饭。

地方官员全力支持FFL

30月5日,“生命之粮”紧急救援队抵达班塔延岛,该岛需要1个小时的路程和XNUMX个小时的驳船路程。 当地市政官员非常支持 Hare Krishna 生命食品志愿者并热情地提供了团队所需的一切。 他们特别高兴得知他们将提供热餐。

在1月XNUMX日(星期日),团队开始每天提供两顿热饭。 Baladeva Dasa说:“反应是压倒性的。” “有那么多人饿着肚子抢着食物。” 主厨拉金德拉·达萨(Rajendra Dasa)及其助手日夜不懈地工作,准备饭菜并分发给难民。 有时候,志愿者很精疲力尽,有一段时间的停顿感,但是当他们看到人们的热情和欣赏时,他们又重新充满了活力。 一位志愿者解释说:“看到他们灿烂的笑容,我感到非常的欣慰。” 另一人说:“我看到我们的饭菜给他们带来了希望的火花,这使我们准备为越来越多的人做饭。”

“我们唯一的问题是粮食和蔬菜供应不足,无法做饭,而且缺乏将食物从一个地方带到另一个地方的工具。 这里的商品成本很高。 没有我们自己的车辆,运输也非常困难。”巴拉德瓦·达萨(Baladeva Dasa)解释说。

生命之粮紧急救济小组已经收到了一些食品供应捐款,但是存储和使用其中一些捐款又带来了一系列挑战。

在过去的两个星期中,“生命之粮”志愿者经历了他们一生中从未见过或感受到的事情。 FFL Manilla董事Radha Lila分享:

“看到失去亲人的人; 他们失去了家园,金钱,基本上所有的东西,现在却渴望以最绝望的心情喝一杯水,这使我们眼泪汪汪。 现在,我们更加下决心继续与更多人接触。 只给他们喂一次是不够的。”

生命之餐的全素食食品的每一位接受者都表达了压倒性的幸福。 但是,即使每天将其运送到不同地方的数千种饭菜也不足以满足每个村庄所有人的胃口。 “为了满足他们的要求,我们尝试准备大餐,例如米饭和通心粉(将蔬菜与大豆或白豆混合),” Radha Lila说。

数字灾难

在宿雾北部,超过98个村庄受到台风Yolanda-Haiyan的重创。 班塔延岛,马拉帕斯夸和玛雅人遭受了30,000%的破坏。 仅Bantayan岛就有XNUMX多个失去家园的家庭。

在马尼拉,过去两周来有18,000名疏散人员从塔克洛班转移过来,在此之前,大多数人被临时安置在曼达卢永,塔吉格,帕赛和卡维特的不同疏散中心或“帐篷城市”。

FFL策略

生命食品紧急救济小组现在将为偏远地区的人们提供食物,这些人目前甚至没有得到政府的支持。 这些人中的大多数是那些在台风袭击前没有准备离开家园的人,或者只是没有选择在其他地方生活的人。 目前,政府和其他非政府组织正试图仅在疏散中心维持人员并养活他们。

另一个“生命食品”团队正在准备分发热素食餐(prasadam)下周在塔克洛班(Tacloban)和附近的其他城市。

资料汇编:
朱莉·安妮·博尔贾
(Radha Lila Devi Dasi)
菲律宾马尼拉FFL董事

请访问FFL菲律宾网站: http://foodforlifeph.webs.com/
与我们联系:(+632)215-0076、890-1947、0917-8378176
要求拉达·莉拉(朱莉·安妮),阿南达,戈帕尔或戈皮·马塔。
电邮我们: hkffl.ph@gmail.com, radha_lila@yahoo.com

要将捐款直接发送给“生命之粮”,请执行以下操作:

银行明细:

用户名:ISSRMM-生命食品
帐号 :291-729182246-7
银行:大都会银行和信托公司
:马卡蒂市Bagtikan
SWIFT代码 / IBAN代码:MBTCPHMM

美国公民(免税捐款)

发表评论

Blog

Typhoon Haiyan Vegan Food Relief – Update

600Kitchen-crew-cooking-for-1000-victims

From left: Ekachakra Das helps head chefs Gokula Chandra and Rajendra prepare a vegan feast.

November 20-30 — About 8,200 hot vegan meals were served in Tacloban from November 15 to November 20 by the Sankirtan FFL team headed by Balarama Dasa. Simultaneously, another 2,730 vegan meals were served in Manila by the Food for Life team headed by Makanlal Dasa &  head chef Gokula Chandra Dasa.

In Cebu, 4,200 hot vegan meals were served from November 23-30 in some places in Northern Cebu with the help of Gopal Krishna Dasa, Jayasri Devi Dasi and her family who owns the Monterey School where the FFL team set up the kitchen. Hot meals were served while some local monks entertained the locals with kirtan.

A total of 15,130 meals have been served over the past 13 days.

Local Officials Fully Supporting FFL

On November 30th, the Food for Life emergency relief team reached Bantayan Island, which took 5 hours by road and a 1 hour barge. The local municipal officials were very supportive of the Hare Krishna Food for life volunteers and enthusiastically provided everything the team needed. They were particularly pleases to learn that they would be serving hot meals.

On Sunday December 1st, the team began serving two hot meals daily. “The response was overwhelming,” said Baladeva Dasa. “So many people were starving and rushing to grab the food.” Head chef, Rajendra Dasa and his assistants worked tirelessly day and night to prepare the meals and distribute them to the refugees. Sometimes the volunteers are exhausted and have feelings of stopping for some time, but then when they see the enthusiasm and appreciation in the eyes of the people, they feel totally enlivened again. “I felt so much relief in my heart seeing their bright smiles,” one volunteer explained. “I see that our meals give them a spark of hope and that makes us ready to cook for more and more people,” said another.

“Our only problem is running out of supplies of grains and vegetables to cook and and lacking a vehicle to bring the food from one place to another. The costs of goods here are very high. Transportation is also very difficult without our own vehicle,” explained Baladeva Dasa.

The Food for Life Emergency Relief team have been receiving some donation of food supplies, but storing and using some of these donations presents another set of challenges.

Over the last two weeks, the Food for Life volunteers have experienced things they have never seen or felt in their entire lives. FFL Manilla Director, Radha Lila shares:

“Seeing people who have lost their loved ones; who lost their homes, money, basically everything, and who were now hankering for even one glass of water with the most desperate emotion, brought tears to our eyes. We are even more determined now to go on and reach out to more people. Feeding them just one time is not enough.”

Every one of the recipients of Food for Life’s delicious vegan meals expressed overwhelming happiness. However, even the thousands of cooked meals they deliver to different places every day is not enough to fill the stomachs of all the people in each village. “To satisfy them, we try to prepare heavy meals like rice and viand (mixed vegetable with soya or white beans),” said Radha Lila.

Disaster by the Numbers

In Northern Cebu, more than eight villages were hit hard by Typhoon Yolanda-Haiyan. Bantayan island, Malapasqua and Maya experienced 98% devastation. Bantayan Island alone has more than 30,000 families who have lost their homes.

In Manila, 18,000 evacuees have been transferred from Tacloban over the past 2 weeks and before that most of them were settled temporarily in different evacuation centres or “tent cities” in Mandaluyong, Taguig, Pasay and Cavite.

FFL Strategy

The Food for Life Emergency Relief team is now prioritising to feed people in the remotest places who do not currently receive support even from the government. Most of these people are those that were not prepared to leave their homes before the Typhoon hit or people who just didn’t have a choice of living anywhere else. At the present time, the government and other NGOs are trying to maintain and feed people in the evacuation centres only.

Another Food for Life team is preparing to distribute hot vegan meals (prasadam) in Tacloban next week and other nearby cities.

Information compiled by:
Julie Anne Borja
(Radha Lila Devi Dasi)
Director-FFL Manila, Philippines

Please visit FFL Philippines website : http://foodforlifeph.webs.com/
Contact us at : (+632) 215-0076, 890-1947, 0917-8378176
Ask for Radha Lila (Julie Anne), Ananda, Gopal or Gopi Mata.
Email us at : hkffl.ph@gmail.com, radha_lila@yahoo.com

To send donations directly to Food for Life Manilla:

Bank Details:

Account Name: ISSRMM-Food for Life
Account Number : 291-729182246-7
Bank: Metropolitan Bank and Trust Company
Branch: Bagtikan, Makati City
Swiftcode / IBAN code: MBTCPHMM

US Citizens (Tax Deductible Donations)

Please share

About Editor

Director of Food for Life Global and the author of the best selling book, FOOD YOGA – Nourishing Body, Mind & Soul. http://www.foodyogi.org

Leave a Comment