可怜的伤心男孩坐在地上

饥饿存在的主要原因是什么?

根据世界卫生组织的数据,2018年,每XNUMX人中就有XNUMX人饥饿,而且这一数字还在上升。

但为什么? 研究人员和学者们一直在争论这个问题,但是这个问题仍然存在。

继续阅读以找出造成世界饥饿的一些最大原因,以及我们可以采取哪些行动制止饥饿。

为什么饥饿存在?

饥饿是更大问题的副产品。 正如化学疗法会导致脱发一样,主要问题不是化学疗法,而是癌症。 但是问题仍然存在,这些更大的问题是什么?

造成世界饥饿的原因比可读的文章要多,因此,我们创建了一个列表,您可以将其用作开始自己的研究的起点。 请记住,下面列出的所有项目都是相互作用的,因此,实际上没有办法找出造成饥饿的确切原因。

例如,贫困导致缺乏教育,但战争也可能导致贫困。 当然,当人们挨饿时,他们找不到耕种庄稼所需的能量,这反过来又导致了进一步的饥饿。 这就是为什么解决饥饿危机是一个重大问题的原因; 一个组织根本无法解决所有问题。

贫困:这是不言自明的。 当人们没有购买食物的经济手段时,他们就会饿了。 有时,这是必须决定他们是否要支付食物或支付房租的情况。
畜牧业:饥荒和战争仅造成与饥饿有关的死亡的10%。 其余90%的死亡是由于营养不良造成的慢性营养不良造成的,例如,世界上大部分谷物将用来代替牲畜来喂养牲畜。 反过来,这种牲畜无法养活原始谷物所能容纳的人数。 此外,肉比谷物贵,因此只有那些有钱人才能购买肉,这进一步加剧了饥饿危机。
战争:在战争期间,人们经常被转移出家门。 农民被赶出自己的土地或被送去战斗,这使得战争期间几乎不可能种植农作物。 敌对势力可能烧毁土地并杀死动物,也加剧了饥荒。
气候变化:气候变化不仅导致不可预测的天气,而且导致致命的风暴和高温(冷热),使农作物的种植越来越困难。
政治机构的失败:尽管这种失败的发生是由于多种原因(战争,腐败,殖民化,饥荒等),但政治动荡仍可能导致冲突,正如我们所讨论的那样,冲突将农民赶出了自己的土地或完全毁了土地。

关于世界饥饿的事实

大多数患有长期饥饿的人生活在撒哈拉以南非洲或南亚。
对于妇女而言,粮食短缺尤其可怕,因为它们经常被作为性奴卖掉,因此贩运者有能力吃得起。
营养不良导致每年五岁以下儿童的死亡几乎占一半。
如果女性农民拥有与男性农民相同的资源和援助,则饥饿人数可以减少近150亿。
在发展中国家,有66万小学适龄儿童因饥饿而上学。
2017年,估计有150亿五岁以下儿童发育不良。
营养不良会导致肥胖和浪费。 在某些国家/地区,人们只能负担得起的食品是不健康,油腻且会升高胆固醇的快餐汉堡,而在其他国家/地区,根本没有负担得起的食品。
据估计,有2亿人患有大量营养素(碳水化合物,蛋白质和脂质)不足,而1.9亿人则患有肥胖症或超重。

儿童饥饿

饥饿的孩子 尽管绝大多数地区位于撒哈拉以南非洲和亚洲,但到处可见。 营养不良的儿童越来越有患上疾病的风险,每年他们最多花费160天患有严重的疾病,他们的身体无法抵抗。

适当的营养对成年人至关重要,但是当儿童缺少适当的营养或适量的食物时,他们的死亡风险以及无法发育或ive壮成长的可能性甚至更大。

营养被公认为是“社会和经济发展的支柱”(饥饿说明)。 那些满足其基本生理需求(空气,水,食物,住所,睡眠等)的人能够提升需求的层次,并改善自身和生活。 消除儿童饥饿并在子孙后代预防饥饿对于帮助发展中国家蓬勃发展至关重要。

饥饿对身体的影响:

  • 行动不便,骨头和关节问题引起的跌倒风险增加
  • 治愈能力减弱
  • 糖尿病
  • 青光眼,黄斑变性和白内障
  • 增加大脑神经元丢失的速度
  • 肾脏过度劳累导致剧烈疼痛
  • 严重PTSD和抑郁症的风险增加
  • 高血压
  • 心脏疾病

我们如何减少饥饿人数并养活所有人?

因此,现在的主要问题是:我们如何提供帮助?

您可以产生的最大影响之一就是您自己的饮食。 根据世界粮食充裕组织的说法,“仅在美国,给动物饲喂的谷物和大豆就可以提供足够的食物来满足全世界的饥饿人口。”

想要数字吗?

根据世界卫生组织和联合国粮食及农业组织的数据,约有820亿人没有足够的食物。 现在,这个数字比几年前要高,但是康奈尔大学的研究人员所做的数学仍然成立。 世界各地种植的大部分谷物都用于牲畜,而牲畜在消耗大量谷物之后,无法养活原始谷物所能容纳的人口。 《国家地理杂志》明确指出:“每喂养动物100卡路里的谷物,我们就会获得大约40卡路里的牛奶,22鸡蛋,12鸡,10猪肉或3牛肉。” 减少动物产品和减少需求对于消除世界饥饿至关重要。

另一种选择是支持和投资非营利组织,例如 生命食品,支持消除饥饿的努力。 饥荒预警系统网络是另一个出色的组织,它根据各种不同的因素,例如上面列出的因素,努力预测可能发生饥荒的地区。

我们需要你的帮助

我们一直在寻找 志愿者,无论是面对面还是远程。 每个人都有事情,而您的时间可以真正帮助挽救生命。 您的 捐款 也非常有价值。 查看您可以帮助多少个孩子。

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。

Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。

Poor sad boy is sitting on the ground

What are the main reasons Hunger Exists?

In 2018, one out of every nine people were hungry and this number is only on the rise, according to the World Health Organization.

But why? It’s a question that has long been debated by researchers and scholars, but yet the problem persists.

Keep reading to find out some of the largest causes of world hunger and what we can do to stop it in its tracks.

Why does hunger exist?

Hunger is a byproduct of a bigger problem. Just as chemotherapy causes hair loss, the major problem isn’t the chemotherapy, it’s cancer. But the question remains, what are these bigger problems?

There are more causes of world hunger than would fit into a readable article, so instead, we’ve created a list that you can use as a starting point to begin your own research. Keep in mind that all of the items listed below interact, so there’s really no way to pinpoint the exact cause of hunger.

For example, poverty causes a lack of education but war can also cause poverty. And of course, when people are starving they can’t find the energy with which to cultivate crops which in turn leads to further starvation. This is why solving the hunger crisis is such a major problem; one organization simply can’t address every issue.

Poverty: This one is pretty self-explanatory. When people don’t have the economic means with which to purchase food, they’ll go hungry. Sometimes it’s a case of having to decide if they want to pay for food or pay their rent.
Animal agriculture: Famine and war cause only about 10 percent of hunger related deaths. The other 90 percent of deaths come from chronic malnutrition that’s caused by poor distribution of resources such as the majority of the world’s grain going to feed livestock instead of people. And in turn, this livestock cannot feed as many people as the original grain could have. Additionally, meat is more expensive than grain, so only those with money can purchase the meat, which further perpetuates the hunger crisis.
War: During wartime, people are frequently moved from their homes. Farmers are pushed off of their land or sent off to fight, making crop cultivation nearly impossible during wartime. Opposing forces may burn the land and kill the animals, also contributing to famine.
Climate change: Climate change causes not only unpredictable weather but deadly storms and temperatures (both hot and cold) that make it increasingly more difficult to grow crops.
Failure of political institutions: Although this failure happens for multiple reasons (war, corruption, colonization, famine, etc.) political unrest can lead to conflict, which as we have discussed, pushes farmers out of their land or ruins the land completely.

Facts about World Hunger

The majority of those who suffer from chronic hunger live in sub-Saharan Africa or South Asia.
Food shortages are particularly horrible for women because they are often sold as sex slaves so traffickers can afford to eat.
Poor nutrition causes nearly half of the deaths of all children under five every year.
The number of hungry people could be reduced by nearly 150 million if women farmers had the same resources and aid as male farmers.
66 million elementary school-age children go to school hungry in developing countries.
In 2017, it was estimated that 150 million children under the age of 5 were stunted.
Malnutrition results in both obesity and wasting. In some countries, the only food that people can afford is an unhealthy, greasy, and cholesterol-raising fast-food burger, while in other countries there is simply no affordable or available food.
It’s estimated that 2 billion people suffer from macronutrient (carbohydrate, protein, and lipids) deficiency, while 1.9 billion suffer from obesity or from being overweight.

Child Hunger

Hungry children are found everywhere, although the vast majority are located in sub-Saharan Africa and Asia. Children who are malnourished are increasingly at risk of contracting diseases, and they spend up to 160 days of each year with a serious illness that their body can’t fight off.

Proper nutrition is vital for adults, but when children go without the proper nutrients or the right amounts of food, their risk of death and inability to develop or thrive is even more severe.

Adequate nutrition has been recognized as “a pillar of social and economic development” (Hunger Notes). Those whose basic physiological needs (air, water, food, shelter, sleep, etc.) are met, are able to move up the hierarchy of needs and onto improving themselves and their lives. Ending child hunger and preventing it in future generations is absolutely essential to helping developing countries thrive.

Effects of Hunger on the Body:

  • Lack of mobility and increased risk of falls caused by bone and joint problems
  • Diminished ability to heal
  • Diabetes
  • Glaucoma, macular degeneration, and cataracts
  • Increased speed of the loss of neurons in the brain
  • Overworked kidneys which lead to intense pain
  • Increased risk of severe PTSD and depression
  • High blood pressure
  • Heart disease

How can we reduce the number of hungry people and feed everyone?

So now, the grand question is: how do we help?

One of the largest impacts you can have begins with your own diet. According to A Well-Fed World, “The grains and soybeans fed to animals in the US alone could provide enough food to feed the world’s hungry.”

Want the numbers?

According to the World Health Organization and the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations, about 820 million people do not have enough to eat. Now, this number is higher than it was several years ago but the math, done by a researcher at Cornell, still stands. The majority of the grain grown around the world goes to livestock, which, after consuming mass amounts of grain, can’t feed as many people as the original grain would have. National Geographic states clearly that, “For every 100 calories of grain we feed animals, we get only about 40 new calories of milk, 22 calories of eggs, 12 of chicken, 10 of pork, or 3 of beef.” Cutting animal products and decreasing the demand is essential in ending world hunger.

Another option is to support and invest in nonprofits like Food for Life, who support efforts to end hunger. The Famine Early Warning Systems Network is another wonderful organization that strives to predict areas in which famine may occur, based on a variety of different elements, such as those listed above.

We Need Your Help

We’re always looking for volunteers, both in-person and remote. There’s something for everyone, and your time can truly help save lives. Your donations are also incredibly valuable. Check out how many children you could help.

https://secureservercdn.net/198.71.233.109/4hr.f77.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.

Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.