兒童飢餓統計

上次更新時間為20年2022月XNUMX日
保羅·羅德尼·特納保羅·羅德尼·特納

世界上的兒童飢餓是一個嚴重的問題,影響著數百萬兒童,尤其是低收入和中等收入國家的兒童。

兒童中的飢餓加劇了代代相傳的貧困循環。 飢餓的年輕人難以集中註意力上課或發展生活技能,這使他們成年後更難找到工作和養家糊口。 反過來,這可能導致未來兒童貧困加劇和更多飢餓兒童。

因缺餐而引起的肚子咕咕叫與孩子的飢餓感不同。 相反,它指的是面臨糧食不安全,或經常不吃健康膳食,導致營養不足或營養不良的年輕人。 在全球貧困的框架下,長期營養不良與飢餓相同。

營養對於人類的健康至關重要,而在兒童時期更是如此。 年輕時,我們需要特別注意照顧我們的飲食。 我們需要確保獲得足夠數量的必需營養素來支持我們的成長。 當涉及世界飢餓時,這是最緊迫的問題之一。 世界各地數以百萬計的兒童出生時,獲得的食物數量和種類不多 需要維持健康的飲食。  幼兒需要足夠的適當營養,以便他們能夠支持:
  • 健康成長的身體
  • 器官形成與功能
  • 強大的免疫系統
  • 強腸細菌
  • 神經和認知發展。
沒有足夠的營養,幼兒很快就會營養不良,導致一些嚴重的健康問題。 生長發育遲緩,免疫系統減弱,身體變得脆弱,無法形成重要的行為。 這使兒童容易患病,容易貧窮,並可能導致早期死亡。

世界上有多少兒童挨餓?

聯合國兒童基金會於2018年進行的研究表明 3.1萬兒童 每年因營養不良而死亡,佔發展中國家45歲以下兒童的5%。 發展中國家有六分之一的兒童(一億)體重不足,世界四分之一的兒童發育遲緩。   在全球範圍內,50.5年估計有150萬兒童被“浪費”(身高體重較輕),2017億五歲以下的兒童被視為發育遲緩。  撒哈拉以南非洲是世界上兒童飢餓最為普遍的地區,營養不良的比例為四分之一。 兒童飢餓在亞洲和南美的許多地區也很普遍。
  • 撒哈拉以南非洲: 22% OFF
  • 加勒比海: 17.7% OFF
  • 南亞: 14.4% OFF
  • 東南亞: 11.5% OFF
  • 西亞: 10.6% OFF
在北美和歐洲,發達國家中的兒童飢餓也是一個問題。 生活在相對貧困中的家庭難以養活自己的孩子,許多人也流落街頭,無法獲得適當的食物。 一個女人在捐款

為什麼兒童飢餓是一個問題?

這個星球上出生的每個孩子都有吃飯的權利。 不幸的是,我們生活在一個世界上我們每個人都有足夠的食物,但並非每個人都有足夠的食物。 兒童飢餓的最大問題是飢餓對正在發育的兒童的影響。 營養不良導致早期發育問題,可能導致發育遲緩的生長,疾病和疾病問題。 陷入貧困使生活處於極大的劣勢。 當您無法獲得食物時,小時候您幾乎沒有機會成長,保持健康,幸福並擁有更多特權人士視為理所當然的機會。  飢餓不僅剝奪了兒童的食物,而且剝奪了他們的很多東西。 它剝奪了他們足夠強大的能力去照顧自己,接受教育,照顧家人並享受生活的機會。  一個沒有食物的孩子幾乎沒有機會真正過著自己的生活。

當孩子麵對飢餓時會發生什麼?

當一個孩子出生在這個幾乎沒有食物的世界上時,對這個孩子有著巨大的影響。 如果他們出生在撒哈拉以南非洲地區,很可能會在五歲之前死亡。 即使獲得食物,他們也可能無法獲得維持健康身體所需的足夠營養。 這導致發育遲緩,認知和行為問題,執行基本任務的精力不足以及無法充分學習其全部能力。

兒童飢餓事實

  • 遭受飢餓的兒童每年最多可經歷160天的疾病(Glicken,醫學博士,2010年)
  • 營養不良會擴大包括麻疹,瘧疾,嚴重腹瀉和肺炎在內的疾病的影響(Black,Morris和Bryce,2003; Bryce等,2005)。
  • 維生素A是低收入國家兒童最普遍的缺乏症之一。 這增加了他們患傳染病的機會(聯合國兒童基金會,2018b)。
  • 鋅缺乏是腹瀉的主要原因,是導致五歲以下兒童死亡的主要原因(聯合國兒童基金會,2018b)。 
  • 發展中國家40歲以下的兒童中有2018%貧血,一半則缺乏鐵(聯合國兒童基金會,XNUMXb)。  
  • 在發展中國家,有66萬小學學齡兒童因飢餓而入學。 其中有23萬兒童生活在非洲(世界糧食計劃署[WFP],2012年)。
  • 在美國,可能有飢餓風險的家庭中有25%的兒童被迫依靠飢餓救濟慈善機構。
飢餓的孩子

孩子每10秒會死於飢餓嗎?

在過去的幾年中,您可能已經看到一些慈善機構在其宣傳活動中提出了這一要求。 10秒的數字來自知名度很高的消息來源《柳葉刀》,後者完成了一項研究,發現3年有2011萬兒童死於飢餓。  競選經理將一年中的秒數除以10萬以達到他們的要求。 因此,全球範圍內,大約每XNUMX秒就有一名兒童死於飢餓。

兒童飢餓如何影響學習?

發展中國家飢餓的兒童很少有上學的機會。 即使他們沒有食物就可以上學,他們的學習和發展也受到限制。 營養不良影響兒童的成長,發育不良,阻礙其能力,並隨著年齡的增長而導致神經和認知行為問題。  遭受飢餓的兒童無法有效學習,處於不利地位。 食物為我們的大腦提供動力,我們的大腦使我們能夠學習和發展。 沒有適當的營養,孩子的教育和學習能力將受到極大限制。

糧食不安全如何影響學生?

糧食不安全不僅在發展中國家是一個問題,在發達國家也是如此。 以美國為例,近五千萬 全國范圍內都遭受糧食不安全的困擾。 這些人最常見的是有孩子的家庭。 2016年XNUMX月,美國六分之一的家庭報告無法負擔食物。 糧食不安全可能對兒童的教育產生負面影響,原因是:
  • 行為和心理健康問題的發展,例如焦慮和抑鬱。
  • 在重要的學習科目(例如數學和英語)中表現不佳。
  • 在學校拖延時間增加。
  • 大大減少孩子的畢業機會。

我們如何阻止童年飢餓?

現在,您可以通過以下最有效的方法來抗擊兒童飢餓:
  • 捐助
  • 贊助一個孩子
  • 籌集善款
  • 傳播意識(對話,請願,事件等)
  • 舉辦“美食之旅”
  • 要求您的公司成為公司贊助商
  • 成為積極分子
 

常見問題

有解決兒童飢餓的方法嗎?

人道主義糧食援助是一種臨時解決方案,但仍需避免兒童飢餓和痛苦。 另一方面,長期、可持續的措施至關重要。 氣候智能型農業培訓、通過農場和非農場生計實現收入多樣化,以及幫助小農組織和參與信貸和儲蓄組織以及農業合作社只是其中的幾個例子。

今天有多少兒童生活在飢餓中?

超過 350 億兒童生活在極端貧困中,這意味著他們每天都在挨餓。 在今天的美國,據信有 17 萬兒童處於飢餓狀態。

我應該捐多少錢來幫助?

捐贈金額取決於個人的收入和優先事項。 您可以通過捐贈 20 美元來養活 10 個孩子。 您也可以選擇定期捐款,或贊助孩子。

哪些國家遭受兒童飢餓的影響最大?

雖然許多國家飽受飢餓之苦,但尼日利亞、也門、南蘇丹和埃塞俄比亞的飢餓程度最高。

如何產生影響

捐贈

幫助他人

加密貨幣

捐贈加密貨幣

動物

幫助動物

我們的項目

志願者機會
成為倡導者
開始你自己的項目
緊急救援

志願者
機遇

成為

開始你的
自己的項目

緊急
救濟

最新新聞動態

Children Hunger Statistics

Last updated on June 20, 2022
Paul Rodney TurnerPaul Rodney Turner

Child hunger in the world is a serious problem that affects several millions of children, disproportionately impacting kids in low- and middle-income nations.

Hunger among children adds to a poverty cycle that continues from generation to generation. Hungry youngsters have trouble concentrating in class or developing life skills, making it more difficult for them to find work and support a family as adults. This, in turn, may result in increased childhood poverty and more famished children in the future.

A grumbling stomach caused by a missing meal is not the same as child hunger. Rather, it refers to a youngster who is facing food insecurity, or going without healthy meals on a regular basis, resulting in undernutrition or malnutrition. Chronic malnutrition is identical to hunger in the framework of global poverty.

Nutrition is vitally important to a human’s health but even more so in childhood. When young, we require extra special care and attention when it comes to what we eat. We need to ensure we are getting adequate amounts of essential nutrients that support our growth. This is one of the most pressing issues when it comes to world hunger. Millions of children all over the world are born with limited access to the right quantity and variety of foods needed to sustain a healthy diet.  Young children need enough of the right nutrition so that they can support:
  • A healthy growing body
  • Organ formation and function
  • A strong immune system
  • Strong gut bacteria
  • Neurological and cognitive development.
Without adequate nutrition, young children can quickly become malnourished, leading to several serious health issues. Growth is stunted, the immune system is weakened, the body becomes fragile and vital behaviors are unable to form. This makes a child vulnerable to illness and disease, prone to poverty, and it can result in early death.

How Many Children in the World are Starving?

Research conducted by UNICEF in 2018 stated that 3.1 million children die from undernutrition every year, that’s 45% of children under 5 years old in developing nations. One in six children (100 million) in developing nations is underweight and one in four of the world’s children are stunted.   Across the globe, 50.5 million children are estimated to be “wasted” (low weight for height) and 150 million children under five years old were considered to be stunted in 2017.  Sub-saharan Africa is the region in which child hunger is the most prevalent in the world with one in four being undernourished. Child hunger is also prevalent across many parts of Asia and South America.
  • Sub-Saharan Africa: 22%
  • Caribbean: 17.7%
  • Southern Asia: 14.4%
  • Southeastern Asia: 11.5%
  • Western Asia: 10.6%
Child hunger is also an issue in more developed countries across North America and Europe. Families living in relative poverty struggle to feed their children and many are also living on the streets with no access to proper food. a-woman-is-making-donation

Why is Child Hunger a Problem?

Each and every child born on this planet has the right to eat. Unfortunately, we live in a world where we have enough food for everyone but not everyone has enough food. The biggest problem with child hunger is the effect hunger has on a developing child. Malnourishment results in early development issues which can cause stunted growth, illness, and issues with disease. Being born into poverty is starting life at a huge disadvantage. When you do not have access to food there are very few opportunities for you as a child to grow, be healthy, be happy and have the opportunities that more privileged individuals take for granted.  Hunger also deprives children of much more than just food. It deprives them of a chance to grow strong enough to take care of themselves, to earn an education, to care for their family, and to enjoy their life.  A child without food has a slim chance of truly living their life at all.

What Happens When a Child Faces Hunger?

When a child is born into this world with little to no access to food there are huge implications for that child. If they are born in sub-Saharan Africa it is likely they will die before they reach the age of five years old. Even with access to food, they may not get adequate amounts of nutrients required to sustain a healthy body. This leads to stunted growth, cognitive and behavioral issues, a lack of energy to perform basic tasks and the inability to learn to their full capability.

Child Hunger Facts

  • Children who suffer from hunger experience up to 160 days of illness each year (Glicken, M.D., 2010)
  • Undernutrition magnifies the effects of diseases including measles, malaria, severe diarrhea, and pneumonia (Black, Morris, & Bryce, 2003; Bryce et al., 2005).
  • Vitamin A is one of the most common deficiencies in children in low-middle income countries. This increases their chances of developing contracting infectious diseases (UNICEF, 2018b).
  • Zinc deficiency is the leading cause of diarrhea which is a major cause in the death of children aged five and under (UNICEF, 2018b). 
  • 40% of children under the age of five in developing countries are anemic and half are iron deficient (UNICEF, 2018b).  
  • 66 million primary school-aged children go into school hungry in the developing world. 23 million of those children live in Africa (World Food Programme [WFP], 2012).
  • In the USA, 25% of children in households at risk of hunger may be forced to rely on hunger relief charities.
a-hungry-child

Does a Child Die of Hunger Every 10 Seconds?

You may have seen this claim made by some charities in their awareness campaigns over the last few years. The figure of 10 seconds comes from a highly reputable source, The Lancet, who completed research that discovered more than 3 million children died of hunger in 2011.  Campaign managers divided the number of seconds in a year by three million to reach their claim. It is therefore likely that a child does die approximately every 10 seconds from hunger across the globe.

How Does Child Hunger Affect Learning?

Children living in hunger in developing nations have few opportunities to go and learn at school. Even if they have access to a school, without food, their learning and development are limited. Malnutrition affects a child’s growth, it stunts their body, hinders their abilities and results in both neurological and cognitive behavior issues as they get older.  Children who suffer from hunger cannot learn effectively and are at a huge disadvantage. Food powers our brains and our brain allows us to learn and develop. Without proper nutrition, a child’s education and ability to learn is extremely limited.

How Does Food Insecurity Affect Students?

Food insecurity is not just an issue in developing countries but also in the developed world. In the USA, for example, nearly 50 million people nationwide suffer from food insecurity. These people are most commonly families with children. In April 2016, one in six households in the USA reported the inability to afford food. Food insecurity can negatively impact a child’s education due to:
  • Development of behavioral and mental health issues such as anxiety, and depression.
  • Poor performance in vital learning subjects like maths and English.
  • Increased tardiness at school.
  • Drastically reducing a child’s chances of graduation.

How Can We Stop Childhood Hunger?

Here are the most effective ways in which you can help fight against child hunger right now:
  • Donate
  • Sponsor a child
  • Raise money for charity
  • Spread awareness (conversation, petitions, events, etc.)
  • Host a ‘Food Drive’
  • Ask your company to become a corporate sponsor
  • Become an activist
 

FAQ

Is there a solution to childhood hunger?

Humanitarian food assistance is a temporary solution, but it is still necessary to avoid child hunger and misery. Longer-term, sustainable measures, on the other hand, are critical. Climate-smart agricultural training, income diversification via farm and off-farm livelihoods, and assisting smallholder farmers in organizing and participating in credit and savings organizations and agricultural co-ops are just a few examples.

How many children living in hunger today?

Over 350 million children live in extreme poverty, which means they go hungry on a daily basis. In America today, it is believed that 17 million children are hungry.

How much should I donate to help?

The amount of donation depends on the person’s income and priorities. You can feed 20 children by donating $10. You can also choose to donate regularly, or sponsor a child.

What countries suffer the most from childhood hunger?

While many nations suffer from hunger, Nigeria, Yemen, South Sudan, and Ethiopia have the greatest levels of hunger.

How To Make An Impact

donate

Help People

Crypto Currency

Donate Crypto

Animal

Help Animals

fundraise

Fundraise

Projects

Volunteer Opportunities
Become an advocate
start your own project
EMERGENCY RELIEF

VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Become an
Advocate

Start Your
Own Project

EMERGENCY
RELIEF

Recent Posts