如何进行慈善捐赠

上次更新时间为16年2021月XNUMX日
保罗·罗德尼·特纳 (Paul Rodney Turner)保罗·罗德尼·特纳 (Paul Rodney Turner)

众所周知,向慈善机构捐款是您可以在我们的星球和社会上留下积极足迹的最鼓舞人心和最有影响力的方式之一。

无论您希望通过慈善捐赠支持什么原因,没有什么比知道您的无私行为对其他人产生持久积极影响的感觉更像了 - 也就是说,如果您的慈善捐款实际上得到了有效利用。

事实上,慈善捐赠不仅仅是研究值得信赖的慈善机构来支持和寻找一种方便的捐赠方式。

许多首次慈善家可能不知道的是,您经常需要查看细则才能真正充分利用您的贡献。 在欺诈活动的机会和大量税务考虑之间,以有效和有影响力的方式将钱留给慈善机构需要进行大量研究和提前思考。

那么,您如何确保您所做的每笔慈善捐赠都能最大限度地发挥您的影响力? 以下是您需要了解的有关以让您的贡献变得重要且持久的方式进行捐赠的所有信息!

如何为您的慈善捐款找到合适的受益人

首先,您应该确保尽可能彻底地研究您希望捐赠的组织,这样您就可以避免欺诈组织并支持可信赖的慈善机构,这些慈善机构将使您的捐款受益。

听到慈善欺诈并非闻所未闻,您可能会感到惊讶:来自 骗局救灾 为退伍军人提供服务的组织,不幸的是,慈善骗局非常普遍,随着社交媒体继续主宰我们的日常生活,问题变得越来越大。

它可能是一条不起眼的 Facebook 或 Twitter 帖子,敦促您在发生自然灾害后捐款以资助志愿服务、GoFundMe 页面,甚至是一条将您重定向到 PayPal 捐款的短信。

随着诈骗者变得越来越聪明,以及在线支付方式的可访问性进一步提高,很容易想象这些欺诈行为在未来会变得多么频繁。 因此,知道如何区分值得信赖的慈善机构和欺诈行为是绝对必要的!

您应该寻找的第一件事是相关非营利组织首选的捐赠方式:仅现金通常是一个危险信号。 最重要的是,您应该确保在跟踪合法非营利组织的官方目录上研究慈善机构,例如 IRS、Charity Navigator、Guidestar 和 慈善观察. 所有注册的免税慈善机构都应该出现在这些监管网站上,您可以在这些网站上查看他们的表现、财务状况,甚至在使用他们收到的慈善捐款时的效率。

确保您获得非现金捐赠的公平市场价值 

一旦您确定您选择的非营利组织是否合法,下一步将是研究如何申请扣除联邦税,您可以在捐赠给 501(c)3 组织。

这是确保您不会向欺诈组织捐款的最后一步,一旦您确定慈善机构确实免税,您就可以在填写纳税表时报告您的捐款。

随着纳税季节的到来,如果您进行了现金捐赠,则必须提交表格的附表 A,而在非现金捐赠的情况下,您还必须填写 形成8283“

您可以从税款中扣除多少取决于多种因素,但在货币捐款的情况下,扣除额通常限于纳税人调整后总收入的 60%。 然而,一些被称为“合格供款”的现金供款可能会让您扣除 高达100% 纳税人调整后的总收​​入。

最后,在非现金项目慈善捐赠的情况下,您应该能够扣除项目或证券的公平市场价值。 非现金捐款包括捐赠车辆、财产、股票或艺术品,有时您需要进行评估,以便 IRS 确定相关物品的公平市场价值。

无论您的情况和贡献如何,现阶段最重要的事情是保留所有捐款的书面记录,无论是慈善机构的书面确认还是银行记录。

你怎么给? 检查您的调整后总收入

虽然大多数非现金捐款会要求您申请大约 60% 的扣除额,但如果您选择的慈善机构是私人基金会、退伍军人组织或其他具有 特殊身份.

请注意,最终超过扣除限额的供款将会结转,并且您可以在未来 5 年内从您的报告中完全扣除它们,因此对您的所有付款和非现金进行详细记录总是明智的捐款。

正如我们之前提到的,您的纳税人的调整后总收入 (AGI) 将是您将获得多少资助的决定因素,因此您应该确保在捐赠之前提前考虑并进行所有必要的计算。

您的 AGI 包括您的工资收入、资本收益、营业收入、赡养费、股息、退休再分配和其他杂项类型的收入——减去您在这一年支付的某些款项,例如学生贷款还款和 IRA 供款。

作为确定您的税单的起点,了解您的 AGI 非常重要,原因有很多,从确定应税收入到确定您是否有资格获得扣除和抵免。

作为一般经验法则,您的 AGI 越低,扣除额就越高!

您可以尝试通过合计您的各种收入并扣除符合条件的费用来自己计算您的 AGI,您可以查看全部 此处.

透明信封内的计算器和税表
您的慈善捐赠的税务考虑

充分利用您的慈善捐款

在当今这个时代,您可以通过无数种方式回馈并向您相信的非营利组织捐赠慈善捐款。

虽然充分利用您的贡献总是需要大量的文书工作和研究,但您可以保证,您选择的慈善机构将在整个过程的每一步为您提供帮助和支持,从提供您需要的所有文件到正确填写您的税表,让您以最适合您的方式做出贡献。 

在线捐赠肯定在增加,随着 加密货币贡献 并给圈子以最大限度地提高您对组织工作的影响。

一些慈善家选择捐出他们的时间,参加志愿者计划或成为他们最关心的事业的积极倡导者。

最后,其他人可能想捐赠资产或遗嘱慈善捐赠(所谓的 计划给予 或遗产捐赠),这是一项对双方都具有非常具体的税收优惠的有力礼物。

如果您以前从未考虑过这种捐赠方式,请知道将慈善捐赠留在遗嘱中并不像您想象的那么复杂:您可以在律师的帮助下随时在现有遗嘱中添加条款,包括您想要的礼物离开(现金捐款、资产、证券等)和您想要捐赠的组织。

在税收优惠方面,如果您希望真正尽最大努力支持您选择的事业,那么计划捐赠可能会非常有益,因为捐赠的房地产资产免征遗产税,允许捐赠者捐赠更多并支持他们的慈善机构比他们通过定期捐款所能做出的选择更多。

对您可以给予的内容和数量没有限制, 慈善遗赠 可以帮助您留下持久的、鼓舞人心的遗产,同时最大限度地发挥您的支持的影响。

因此,如果您正在寻找一种方法来使您的捐款尽可能地发挥作用,那么您绝对应该阅读您选择的非营利组织关于遗产捐赠和遗赠的政策——毫无疑问,成熟且合法的慈善机构将包括这些选项纳入他们的捐赠指南!

您可以如何捐赠给 Food for Life Global

如果您一直在考虑向我们的紧急食品救济和饥饿救济计划捐款,我们已确保使捐款过程中的研究和税收部分尽可能简单易行。

Food for Life Global 是一家免税非营利组织,拥有数十年的成熟成果、全球范围和全球影响力。 我们了解为慈善事业做出贡献的首选方法如何在全球范围内发生变化,这就是为什么我们鼓励所有潜在捐助者探索他们可以提供的所有不同方式并充分利用他们的贡献。 

我们是首批接受食品救济的慈善机构之一 加密货币捐赠 最大限度地发挥每笔国际捐赠的影响,让您在确保最大资金效率的同时扣除您的捐款:无需在大量国际银行转账上浪费金钱!

除此之外,我们接受支票捐款, 网上捐赠 包括银行电汇、非现金捐款、记忆捐赠和计划捐赠选项。

您将始终收到任何类型捐赠的收据,因此您将能够轻松地、完全放心地申请扣除额 - 对于任何问题和疑虑,我们向您保证,我们的团队将随时为您提供帮助任何税务问题和不确定性!

那么,您准备好探索可以帮助我们在世界上一些最贫困地区应对粮食不安全问题的所有方法了吗?

我们令人难以置信的志愿者团队继续努力为受自然灾害和普遍贫困影响的儿童和人群提供健康和可持续的植物性膳食—— 联络方式 今天来了解您如何帮助我们进一步实现我们的可持续发展目标,并让全球粮食不安全成为过去。

你可以帮忙!

https://ffl.org/app/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。

Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。


发表评论

Food wood dawn man

How to Make A Charitable Donation

It’s no secret that donating to a charity is one of the most inspirational and impactful ways you can leave a positive footprint on our planet and society.

Whatever cause you’re looking to support by leaving a charitable donation, there’s nothing quite like the feeling of knowing your selfless action is having a lasting positive impact on someone else that is, if your charity donation is actually being used efficiently.

In fact, there’s a lot more to charitable giving than just researching trustworthy charities to support and finding a convenient way of giving.

What many first-time philanthropists might not know is that you’ll often have to look at the fine print to really make the most out of your contribution. Between the opportunity for fraudulent activity and plenty of tax considerations, leaving money to charity in an efficient and impactful way requires a fair bit of researching and thinking ahead.

So, how can you make sure you’re maximizing your impact with every charitable donation you’re making? Here’s all you need to know about donating in a way that will make your contribution matter and last!

How to Find the Right Beneficiary for Your Charitable Contributions

First things first, you should make sure to research the organization you’re looking to donate to as thoroughly as you can, so you can avoid fraudulent organizations and support the trustworthy charities that will make good out of your contribution.

You might be surprised to hear that charity frauds are not that unheard of: From scam disaster relief organizations to funding services for veterans, charity scams are unfortunately quite widespread, with the problem growing larger as social media continues to dominate our daily lives.

It might be an inconspicuous Facebook or Twitter post urging you to donate to help fund volunteer services in the wake of a natural disaster, a GoFundMe page, or even a text message redirecting you to a PayPal donation.

As scammers get smarter and the accessibility of online payment methods grows further, it’s easy to imagine just how much more frequent these frauds are going to be in the future. So knowing how to distinguish a trustworthy charity from a fraudulent operation is absolutely essential!

The first thing you should be looking for is the donation method preferred by the nonprofit in question: Cash only is generally a red flag. On top of that, you should make sure to research the charity on the official directories keeping track of legitimate nonprofits, such as the IRS, Charity Navigator, Guidestar, and Charity Watch. All registered, tax-exempt charities should be featured on these watchdog websites, where you’ll be able to review their performance, financials, and even efficiency when it comes to using the charitable donations they receive.

Ensuring You Get Fair Market Value for Non-Cash Donations 

Once you’ve identified whether your chosen nonprofit is legitimate, the next step will be to research how you can claim a deduction on your federal taxes, which you’ll be able to do when donating to a 501(c)3 organization.

This is the last step in ensuring you won’t be donating to a fraudulent organization, and once you’ve made sure the charity is indeed tax-exempt, you’ll be able to report your donation when filling out your tax form.

As tax season comes around, you’ll have to file your form’s Schedule A if you’ve made a cash contribution, while in the case of a non-cash donation you’ll also have to fill out Form 8283

How much you’ll be able to deduct from your taxes will depend on a number of factors, but in the case of monetary contributions, the deduction is usually limited to 60% of the taxpayer’s adjusted gross income. However, some cash contributions, known as “qualified contributions” might have you deduct up to 100% of your taxpayer’s adjusted gross income.

Finally, in the case of non-cash item charitable donations, you should be able to deduct the fair market value of the items or securities. Non-cash contributions include the donation of a vehicle, property, stocks, or art, and you’ll sometimes be required to carry out an appraisal in order for the IRS to determine the fair market value of the item in question.

Whatever your situation and contribution, the most important thing at this stage will be to keep written records of all your donations, whether in the form of written acknowledgments from the charity or bank records.

How Can You Give? Check Your Adjusted Gross Income

While most non-cash contributions will have you claim around 60% for deduction, you might be limited even more (between 50% to 20%) if your charity of choice is a private foundation, a veteran organization, or other organizations with a special status.

Note that contributions that end up exceeding the deduction limit will carry over and that you’ll be able to deduct them fully over the next 5 years from your report, so it’s always wise to keep a tight record of all your payments and non-cash donations.

As we’ve mentioned before, your taxpayer’s adjusted gross income (AGI) will be the deciding factor for how much you’ll be granted, so you should make sure to think ahead and do all the calculations necessary before donating.

Your AGI includes your salaried income, capital gains, business income, alimony, dividends, retirement redistributions, and other miscellaneous types of income — minus certain payments you’ve made during the year, such as student loan repayments and IRA contributions.

As the starting point for determining your tax bill, understanding your AGI is incredibly important for a number of reasons, from identifying taxable income to determining if you can qualify for deductions and credits.

As a general rule of thumb, the lower your AGI, the higher the deductions!

You can try calculating your AGI yourself by totaling up your various incomes and deducting the qualifying expenses, which you can check in full here.

Calculator and tax form inside the clear envelope

Tax considerations for your charitable donation in will

Making the Most of Your Charitable Contribution

In this day and age, there are countless ways you can give back and leave a charitable donation to a nonprofit you believe in.

While making the most out of your contribution will always require a fair bit of paperwork and research, you’re guaranteed that your charity of choice will help and support you with the process every step of the way, from providing all the documentation you need to fill your tax forms right to allowing you to contribute in the ways that suit you the most. 

Online giving is definitely on the rise, along with cryptocurrency contributions and giving circles for maximizing the impact you could have on an organization’s work.

Some philanthropists choose to donate their time instead, taking part in volunteer programs or becoming active advocates for the causes they care about the most.

And finally, others might want to donate assets or leave a charitable donation in will (the so-called planned giving or legacy giving), a powerful gift with quite specific tax benefits for both parties involved.

If you’ve never considered this giving method before, know that leaving a charitable donation in will is not as complicated as you might think: You can add a clause to your existing will anytime with the help of a solicitor, including the gift you want to leave (cash contribution, assets, securities, etc.) and the organization you want to donate to.

In terms of tax benefits, planned giving can be incredibly beneficial if you’re looking to truly support your chosen cause to the best of your abilities, as real estate assets given are exempt from estate tax, allowing donors to give more and support their charities of choice more than they’d be able to with regular contributions.

With no restrictions on what and how much you can give, a charitable bequest can help you leave a lasting, inspiring legacy behind while maximizing the impact of your support.

So, if you’re looking for a way to make your contributions go as far as they can, you should definitely read up on your chosen nonprofit’s policy on legacy giving and bequests — well-established and legitimate charities will, without a doubt, include these options into their donation guidelines!

How You Can Donate to Food for Life Global

If you’ve been thinking of donating to our emergency food relief and hunger relief programs, we’ve made sure to make the research and tax part of the donation journey as easy and accessible as it can be.

Food for Life Global is a tax-exempt nonprofit with decades of proven results, global scope, and global reach. We understand how the preferred methods for contributing to charitable causes are changing worldwide, and that’s why we encourage all prospective donors to explore all the different ways they can give and make the most out of their contribution. 

We have been one of the first food relief charities to accept cryptocurrency donations to maximize the impact of each international donation, allowing you to deduct your contribution while ensuring maximum fund efficiency: No money wasted on hefty international bank transfers!

In addition to that, we accept check donations, online giving with bank wires, non-cash contributions, donations in memory, and planned giving options.

You’ll always receive a receipt for any kind of donation made, so you’ll be able to claim deductions easily and with complete peace of mind — for any questions and doubts, we promise you our team will always be there to help you navigate any tax issues and uncertainties!

So, are you ready to explore all the ways you can help us fight food insecurity in some of the most deprived areas of the world?

Our incredible team of volunteers continues to work hard to provide healthy and sustainable plant-based meals to children and populations affected by natural disasters and widespread poverty — get in touch today to learn how you can help us take our sustainability goals further and leave global food insecurity in the past.

You Can Help!

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.

Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.


Write a comment