为老年妇女提供食物和药品

通过有计划的捐赠充分利用您的慈善努力

如果您作为捐赠者一直在支持不同的事业,您可能已经熟悉计划捐赠或“遗产捐赠”的想法。 这通常被认为是改变非营利组织使命的最有效方法之一。

这种捐赠方式通常是捐赠给慈善机构的最大一笔捐赠。 位于捐助者金字塔的最顶端,由于其相对不常见,慈善组织经常忽视它。

但是,尽管这些计划好的礼物可以被视为惊喜,但它们仍然是慈善组织运作的关键部分。 它们也是慈善人士支持他们最关心的事业的最佳方式之一,即使他们早已离开,也能留下强大的遗产。

那么,这个令人难以置信的慈善礼物是如何运作的,你怎么知道它是否适合你呢?

这是您需要了解的有关计划捐赠和这种捐赠方法的合法性的所有信息。 它还涵盖了如果您打算将慈善剩余部分留给 Food for Life 的国际粮食救济使命,您需要牢记的事项。

慈善捐助者的计划捐赠选项

什么是计划捐赠?

简而言之,计划捐赠是指在您生前或死后,作为遗产或财务计划的一部分,向慈善组织进行大量捐赠的过程。

遗产捐赠允许捐赠者进行更大的捐赠,他们可以定期进行捐赠。 这有助于他们对他们想要支持的慈善机构产生更大的影响。

一些计划捐赠的捐赠者可能是特定组织的终生支持者,而另一些捐赠者可能会根据他们的意愿进行大量捐赠。 这种捐赠方式通常被称为“慈善礼物”,最常见的礼物是房地产、股权、股票、人寿保险、现金或其他有价值的个人财产。

请注意,从个人年度个人现金流中进行的大量捐赠不被视为计划捐赠。 这是因为这种捐赠方法要求捐赠者与财务规划师或其他精通国家税法的专业人士一起工作。

计划捐赠通常是遗产计划的一部分。 它需要在投资和税收策略方面进行某些仔细考虑,以最大限度地发挥捐赠的影响,并需要有人在捐赠者去世后帮助分配资金。

但是,在遗产计划中留下慈善遗赠并不是您向所选慈善机构赠送贵重礼物的唯一方式。 让我们解释一下所有不同类型的计划捐赠,以便您找到最适合您需求的捐赠!

有哪些类型的计划捐赠?

一般而言,计划捐赠选项分为三大类:延期捐赠、支付收入的捐赠和保护捐赠者资产的捐赠。

这些礼物有各种形状和大小,从赠予股票到全额信托,每一种都适合不同类型的捐赠者资料。

以下是可用选项的方便细分以及它们可能最适合的捐助者需求:

延期礼物

延期捐赠是捐赠者去世后分发给选定组织的慈善捐赠。 它们可以说是最容易赠送的礼物,因为它们只需要捐赠者在他们的遗产计划中将他们选择的非营利组织命名为他们退休账户的受益人。

上述慈善遗赠是最常见的延期计划捐赠类型之一,是捐赠者和慈善机构可用的最简单但最有影响力的捐赠选择之一。

遗赠 大约9% 在 2018 年所有美国慈善捐赠中,它们仍然是各种背景捐赠者的流行捐赠方式。 除了赠送一定数量的现金外,捐赠者还可以决定将遗产的一部分或全部捐赠给慈善机构。 他们还可能通过执行一个请求将请求添加到现有的遗嘱中 .

另一种递延礼物是人寿保险或退休计划礼物。 这包括捐助者将他们选择的慈善机构命名为他们的人寿保险单或未使用的退休资产(包括 401(k)、IRA 和养老金)的受益人。 

支付收入的礼物

另一种类型的计划捐赠包括在捐赠者向所选组织捐赠大量款项后向捐赠者支付投资收入的礼物。 

这些类型的礼物需要捐赠者和慈善机构之间建立长期的、忠诚的关系,它们最适合那些希望获得退休收入同时仍对组织的工作产生宝贵影响的捐赠者。

您通常会发现四种不同类型的收入捐赠:慈善捐赠年金、汇集收入基金、慈善剩余年金信托和最后的剩余反托拉斯。

让我们从礼物年金开始,这是捐赠者和慈善机构之间最受欢迎的合同之一。

根据该协议,捐赠者将向他们选择的慈善机构赠送不可撤销的礼物(即不可交换为其他东西的礼物),以换取固定收入。 付款将在商定的期限内固定或终身固定,具体取决于初始合同中的规定。 这种礼物选项被认为对双方都非常有益,因为捐赠者可以立即获得税收减免,并且组织可以通过投资和完全控制来增加资金。

另一方面,慈善剩余年金信托要求捐助者在从慈善机构获得固定收入的同时,向已建立的信托捐款。 这是基于所用资产的百分比。 这样,捐赠者可以避免在慈善机构投资资金时支付资本收益或税款。 在商定的期限结束时,剩余余额全部交给慈善组织。

反垄断是一种在获得收入的同时进行捐赠的更灵活的方法。 它们仍然要求捐助者支付资产公平市场价值的固定百分比,但资产价值的年度重估会导致付款增加或减少。

最后,汇集收入基金是慈善机构设立的另一种慈善信托形式,用于将不同的捐款组合在一起进行投资。 然后,该组织根据投资业绩和他们在资金中的份额向捐助者支付收入,只有在捐助者去世后才能收到捐款。

如何向非营利组织提供慈善礼物

保留和保护资产的礼物

最后,我们讨论了保护捐赠者资产而不是完全赠送的计划捐赠类型。

这些捐赠方法包括慈善牵头信托和保留的生命财产。 它们最适合希望继续将财富转移给他们的继承人和亲人,同时仍对其支持的慈善机构的使命产生重大影响的捐赠者。

捐赠给慈善牵头信托时,捐赠者可以为他们选择的慈善机构提供固定收入来源。 这确保了他们的资产将在固定期限结束时返还给捐赠者或其他受益人,同时减少遗产税。

另一方面,保留的生命财产允许捐赠者将财产所有权或契约转让给他们选择的组织。 反过来,他们获得所得税减免和财产使用权。 在期限届满之前,非营利组织将被视为该财产的所有者,并在此之后出售或保留该财产。

为什么计划捐赠很重要?

计划捐赠是一种非常有影响力的捐赠方式,对捐赠者和慈善组织都有很多好处。

这些计划中的捐赠以大多数捐赠者无法做到的方式帮助支持有价值的事业,同时满足他们的特定财务需求和税收策略。

出于同样的原因,非营利组织能够获得更多样化的资金组合并获得更多可观的捐款。 这些可以是固定收入的形式,也可以是资产、股票或现金形式的一次性大笔款项。

计划捐赠被编入法典,以便为捐助者支持重要事业创造强大的激励。 虽然组织不依赖这些方法来执行其令人难以置信的工作,但它们仍然具有很高的影响力。

计划礼物的税收优惠是什么?

在税收优惠方面,计划捐赠被认为对所有背景的捐赠者都非常有益,使他们能够从慈善捐赠中获得可观的遗产税和所得税优惠。

例如,年金允许近 免税现金礼物、高额所得税减免和升值证券的直接资本利得税避税。 每次捐赠者决定捐赠增值资产(如房地产或证券)时,他们都有资格获得一笔慷慨的扣除额,称为慈善扣除额,用于该资产的全部市场价值(除了作为资产的资本利得税之外)被转移)。

相反,决定设立终生收入赠与的捐赠者能够获得捐赠资产的全部公平市场价值减去收入利息价值的税收减免。 如果他们决定用升值的财产来资助他们的礼物,他们也不会在转让时支付任何资本利得税。

最后,当涉及到在捐赠者去世时可行的遗赠或其他指定时,这些捐赠免征遗产税。 这允许捐助者为他们选择的事业留下更多慷慨的款项。

用“生命之粮”让您的遗产变得重要

如果您一直在考虑向我们的紧急粮食救济和饥饿救济计划捐款,我们建议所有潜在捐助者开始考虑将计划捐款作为可行且有影响力的选择。

如果您希望最大程度地利用您的慷慨捐赠并竭尽全力支持我们的事业,您可以留下一个强大而持久的影响 慈善遗赠 到生命的食物。

对您可以给予的东西没有限制,慷慨的遗产税优惠,以及对世界产生持久影响的机会,慈善遗赠或 记忆中的捐赠 逝去的亲人是在哀悼期间将光明带回世界的绝妙方式。

您的宝贵贡献将帮助我们继续和扩大我们的国际粮食救济行动,使我们离在任何地方都没有粮食不安全的未来更近一步。

如果您不确定详细信息或不确定最适合您需求的捐赠解决方案,您可以 联络方式 与我们的团队联系您可能有任何问题。 我们非常乐意指导您完成计划的捐赠过程,并帮助您一步一步地创造改变世界的遗产!

你可以帮忙!

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。
Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。

发表评论

Making the Most of Your Philanthropic Efforts with Planned Giving

June 16, 2021
Alexandr ZuevAlexandr Zuev

If you’ve been supporting different causes as a donor for quite some time, you might already be familiar with the idea of planned giving or “legacy giving”. This is often considered one of the most effective ways of making a difference in a non-profit organization’s mission.

This method of donating often makes up the biggest chunk of donations given to a charity. Sitting at the very top of the donor pyramid it is often overlooked by charitable organizations due to its relative infrequency.

But as much as these planned gifts can be considered surprises, they’re still a crucial part of what makes charitable organizations work.  They are also one of the best ways for philanthropic individuals to support the causes they care about the most, leaving a powerful legacy behind even after they’re long gone.

So, how does this incredible charitable gift work and how can you know if it can work for you?

Here’s all you need to know about planned giving and the legalities of this donation method. It also covers what you need to keep in mind if you’re planning to leave a charitable remainder to Food for Life’s international food relief mission.

Planned Giving Options for Charitable Donors

What is Planned Giving?

In short, planned giving refers to the process of making a considerable donation to a charitable organization as part of your estate or financial plan, either in life or after your death.

Legacy giving allows donors to make bigger donations that they’d be able to make regularly. This helps them make an even bigger difference to the charities they want to support.

Some planned giving donors might be life-long supporters of a given organization, while others might make a considerable donation as part of their will. This donation method is often referred to as a “charitable gift”, with the gift most commonly being real estate, equity, stocks, life insurance, cash, or other valuable personal property.

Note that a considerable donation made from one’s yearly personal cash flow is not considered planned giving. This is because this donation method requires the donor to work alongside a financial planner or other professionals well-versed in national tax law.

Planned giving is often part of an Estate Plan. It requires certain careful considerations in terms of investments and tax strategies to maximize the donation’s impact and someone to help distribute the funds after the donor’s death.

But leaving a charitable bequest in your Estate Plan is not the only way you can make valuable gifts to your chosen charity. Let’s explain all the different types of planned giving available out there, so you can find the perfect one for your needs!

What are the types of Planned Giving available?

Generally speaking, planned giving options fall into three broad categories: deferred gifts, gifts that pay an income, and gifts that protect a donor’s assets.

These gifts come in all shapes and sizes, from gifted stocks to full-on trusts, each fitting different types of donor profiles.

Here’s a handy breakdown of the options available and what donor needs they might fit best:

Deferred gifts

Deferred gifts are charitable gifts distributed to a chosen organization once the donor has passed away. They are arguably the easiest gifts to give since they only require the donor to name their non-profit of choice in their Estate Plan as the beneficiary of their retirement account.

The aforementioned charitable bequest is one of the most common types of deferred planned giving, making for one of the simplest yet most impactful donation options available to donors and charities.

Bequests made up approximately 9% of all U.S. charitable donations in 2018, and they remain a popular donation method among donors of all backgrounds. Aside from gifting a set amount of cash, donors can decide to set a percentage or a whole amount of an estate to give to a charity. They might also add the request to an existing will by executing a codicil.

Another type of deferred gift is life insurance or retirement plan gifting. This consists of donors naming their charity of choice as the beneficiary of their life insurance policies or unused retirement assets, including 401(k)s, IRAs, and pensions. 

Gifts that pay an income

Another type of planned giving consists of gifts that pay the donor an investment income after they have donated a considerable sum to the chosen organization. 

These types of gifts require a long, committed relationship between donor and charity, and they’re best suited to donors who want to generate a retirement income while still making a valuable impact on an organization’s work.

You will usually find four different types of income donations: charitable gift annuities, pooled income funds, charitable remainder annuity trusts, and finally remainder antitrusts.

Let’s start with gift annuities, one of the most popular contracts made between a donor and a charity.

According to this agreement, donors will give an irrevocable gift (meaning a gift that cannot be exchanged for something else) to their charity of choice in return for a fixed income payment. The payment will either be fixed for an agreed-upon term or for life, depending on what is set out in the initial contract. This gift option is considered to be very beneficial for both parties, since the donor can take an immediate tax deduction and the organization can grow the funds through investing and exercising complete control.

Charitable remainder annuity trusts, on the other hand, require donors to contribute financially to the established trust while receiving a fixed income from the charity. This is based on the percentage of assets used. This way, donors can avoid paying capital gains or taxes as the charity invests the funds. At the end of the agreed term, the entirety of the remaining balance is given to the charitable organization.

Antitrusts are a slightly more flexible method of donating while receiving an income. They still require donors to pay a fixed percentage of the fair market value of the assets, but with an annual revaluation of the asset’s value that leads payments to either increase or decrease.

Finally, pooled income funds are another form of a charitable trust set up by charities to group together different donations for investing. The organization then pays their donors an income based on the investment’s performance and their share of the funds, receiving the donation only after the donor has passed away.

How to Make Charitable Gifts to Nonprofits

Gifts that retain and protect assets

Finally, we get to the types of planned giving gifts that protect the donor’s assets instead of giving them away entirely.

These donation methods include charitable lead trusts and retained life estates. They are best suited to donors wishing to continue transferring wealth to their heirs and loved ones while still making a considerable impact on the mission of their supported charities.

When donating to a charitable lead trust, donors can give their charity of choice a fixed income stream. This ensures their assets will go back to the donor or other beneficiaries at the end of the fixed term, reducing estate taxes at the same time.

Retained life estates, on the other hand, allow donors to transfer a property title or deed to their chosen organization. In turn they receive an income tax deduction and use of the property. The nonprofit will be considered the owner of the property until the term is up, and either sell or keep the property after that.

Why is Planned Giving Important?

Planned giving is an incredibly impactful donation method, with plenty of benefits for both donors and charitable organizations.

These planned donations help support worthy causes in a way that most donors wouldn’t be able to otherwise, addressing their specific financial needs and tax strategies at the same time.

By the same token, nonprofits are able to access a more diversified portfolio of funds and receive more considerable donations. These can be either in the form of a fixed income or a one-time large sum in the form of assets, stocks, or cash.

Planned giving was codified in order to create a powerful incentive for donors to support important causes. While organizations don’t rely on these methods to carry out their incredible work, they are highly impactful nonetheless.

What are the tax benefits of planned gifts?

In terms of tax benefits, planned giving is considered to be incredibly beneficial for donors of all backgrounds, allowing them to reap considerable estate and income tax benefits from their charitable giving.

Annuities, for example, allow for nearly tax-free cash gifts, hefty income tax deductions, and immediate capital gains tax avoidance for appreciated securities. Every time donors decide to contribute appreciated assets (like real estate or securities), they are eligible to receive a generous deduction, called a charitable deduction, for the full market value of the said asset (on top of no capital gains tax as the asset is transferred).

Donors who decide to establish a life income gift, instead, are able to receive a tax deduction for the full fair market value of the assets contributed, minus the value of the income interest. If they decide to fund their gift with appreciated property they also won’t pay any capital gains tax on the transfer.

Finally, when it comes to bequests or other designations viable at the time of the donor’s death, these donations are exempt from estate tax. This allows donors to leave even more generous amounts to their chosen cause.

Making your legacy matter with Food for Life

If you’ve been thinking of donating to our emergency food relief and hunger relief programs, we recommend all prospective donors to start considering planned giving as a viable and impactful option.

If you wish to make the most out of your generous donation and support our cause to the best of your abilities, you can have a powerful and long-lasting impact by leaving a charitable bequest to Food for Life.

With no restrictions on what you can give, generous estate tax benefits, and the opportunity to make a lasting impact on the world, charitable bequests or donations in memory of a passed loved one are a wonderful way to bring light back into the world during a time of mourning.

Your precious contribution will help us continue and expand our international food relief operations, bringing us one step closer to a future with no food insecurity, anywhere.

If you’re unsure of the details or unsure of what the best donation solution for your needs might be, you can get in touch with our team with any questions you might have. We are more than happy to guide you through the planned giving process and help you create a world-changing legacy, one step at the time!

You Can Help!

http://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.
Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.

Leave a comment