在黑色背景上的红苹果和塑料注射器

什么是强化营养?

食物强化意味着什么?

食品强化是在普通食品中添加或增加微量营养素的过程,以帮助替代烹饪过程中损失的任何营养素或在营养素缺乏的食品中提供营养素。

强化可以在支持那些迫切需要它的人或限制饮食的人的营养中起到不可或缺的作用。  

强化中最常用的营养素是维生素A和B,铁,锌和叶酸。 所有这些都支持健康的身体,可以帮助人们避免营养缺乏。 营养不良是一种严重的状况,会影响 795万人 全世界。 那些有危险的人 营养不良 容易受到许多健康问题的影响。 

维生素-创辉丸

强化诸如玉米粉,小麦和大米等经常食用的食品是向面临营养不良风险的人们提供必需营养素的最简单,最廉价的方法。 

食物如何强化?

根据要加工的食物,强化(也称为浓缩)以多种方式进行。 例如,通过添加一种粘附在大米上的微量营养素粉或通过喷涂处理过的大米表面来强化大米。 这样可以有效地添加几层微量营养素粉,从而产生更具营养的米粒。

食物强化的三种主要方法

煮汤配料

1.商业和工业设防

食品加工厂内部强化的食品通常使用上面讨论的大米方法生产。 可以将其他食品磨成面粉,然后与微量营养素混合,然后使用蒸汽进行加工,然后重新成型以产生看起来像原始谷物的新的营养谷物。

2.生物强化

生物强化是在作物中繁殖一定含量营养素的过程,因此不需要上面的商业和工业强化过程。 这包括作物的选择性育种和基因工程以获得所需的营养成分。

3.房屋设防

拥有营养滴剂的任何人都可以使用这种强化方法,可以在食用前将其手动添加到食物中。 这很像服用营养补充剂,这也是很常见的。

食物强化的好处是什么?

食品强化可以使任何发展阶段的人类受益。 在发达国家,强化食品可以为可能无法从食物中获取足够营养的人们提供必需的营养,从而支持健康饮食。 在发展中国家,食品强化可能是生与死之间的区别。 

矿工在花生上的小雕塑

据估计 9万人死亡 低至 饥饿 or 饥饿相关疾病 每年。 这不仅仅是艾滋病,疟疾或肺结核所夺走的生命。 在一些发展中国家,人们依靠强化的大米,小麦和玉米维持生命,并有机会过上正常的健康生活。 

缺铁性贫血是最常见的营养缺乏症之一,孕妇的风险最高。 怀孕期间的叶酸缺乏会导致大脑或脊柱的出生缺陷, 其中75%的人在2015年孩子五岁生日之前死亡.

缺锌会使人们容易患上多种严重疾病,甚至死亡。 人体中足够的锌已被证明可以大大减少幼儿腹泻的风险,这是世界上低收入地区最紧迫的健康问题之一。

普通话

食品强化的其他主要好处包括:

  • 提高生产力,孕产妇保健和认知能力
  • 降低严重脑部和脊柱疾病的风险
  • 增强免疫力
  • 减少皮肤疾病和神经系统疾病的风险
  • 改善脂肪,碳水化合物和蛋白质的代谢
  • 改善大脑和神经系统的功能
  • 降低严重和致命感染的风险
  • 改善钙的吸收,促进骨骼健康

什么是钙强化食品?

通常用钙强化的食品和饮料包括果汁,谷物,瓶装水和强身糕。 根据国立卫生研究院极受推崇的数据库PubMed Central的资料,钙强化食品对于不耐乳制品的人群至关重要,其中包括约75%的全球人口。

白色表面上的蔬菜

建议人们从深绿色蔬菜或豆腐等天然食物中获取钙。 但是,在这些产品不容易获得的国家,这可能非常困难。 因此,钙强化食品对于这些人保持适当的骨骼健康并避免出现骨质疏松等严重疾病至关重要。

低钙和维生素D(对钙的吸收必不可少)在发展中国家的儿童中很常见,对他们的健康构成了真正的问题。 据估计,钙和维生素D的水平在 推荐摄入量的三分之一 在这些孩子中。 

食品强化原则

正如 食品法典委员会,福特设防的基本原则如下:

  1. 添加的必需营养素不应超过最佳健康所需的量,并且应考虑人当前摄入的营养素。 
  2. 添加到食物中的任何营养素都不应对代谢产生不利影响。
  3. 在包装,存储,分配和使用的特定条件下,食物中的必需营养素应保持稳定。
  4. 基本营养素应从食物中以生物学方式获得。
  5. 必需营养素不应改变食品的特性,也不应缩短食品的保质期。
  6. 所用技术和添加营养素的工厂应具有所有必要的认证,并允许其完成强化过程。
  7. 强化和存在的营养水平绝不能欺骗或误导消费者。 
  8. 设防的任何额外费用应合理。
  9. 用于完成强化的方法和过程应具有控制或加强添加到食品中营养成分水平的措施。
  10. 食品强化食品标准,法规或准则应明确说明添加必要营养素的理由,以确保达到预期的效果。

蜗牛坐在樱桃上

底线

食品的强化至关重要,特别是对于生活在无法获得多种食品的发展中国家的人们而言。 提供强化食品可以帮助提升社区的健康水平,为人民提供必需的营养素。 

在世界某些地方,食品强化是生与死之间的区别。 因此,它得到了联合国儿童基金会,世界卫生组织(世卫组织,世界粮食计划署(WFP),美国疾病控制与预防中心(CDC),全球改良营养联盟(GAIN)和营养学等全球组织的支持。国际。

视频:如何以自然方式获取维生素B12

支持我们

图片

Red apple and plastic syringes on black background

What is Fortification Nutrition?

What is Meant by Food Fortification?

Food fortification is the process of adding or increasing micronutrients to common foods to help replace any nutrients lost in the cooking process or to provide a nutrient boost in foods that are nutrient deficient.

Fortification can play an integral role in supporting the nutrition of those who desperately need it or those that follow restrictive diets.  

The most common nutrients used in fortification are Vitamins A and B, iron, zinc, and folic acid. All of these support a healthy body and can help people avoid nutrient deficiencies. Malnourishment is a serious condition that affects 795 million people worldwide. Those at risk of malnutrition are vulnerable to a number of health issues. 

vitamines - colorfull pills

The fortification of commonly-eaten foods such as maize flour, wheat, and rice are the easiest and most inexpensive ways to provide essential nutrients to people at risk of malnutrition. 

How are foods fortified?

Fortification, also known as enrichment, is performed in various ways depending on the food being processed. Rice, for example, is fortified by adding a micronutrient powder that adheres to the rice or by spraying the surface on which the rice is processed. This effectively adds several layers of the micronutrient powder creating a more nutritious rice grain.

The 3 Main Methods of Food Fortification

Ingredients for cooking soup

1. Commercial and Industrial Fortification

Foods fortified inside food processing factories are commonly produced using the method discussed above for rice. Other foods may be ground into flour and combined with a micronutrient mix and then processed using steam and re-shaped to create new nutritious grains that look just like the original grain.

2. Biofortification

Biofortification is the process of breeding crops to contain a certain level of nutrients so that they do not require the commercial and industrial fortification process above. This includes both selective breeding and genetic engineering of the crops to get the desired nutritional content.

3. Home Fortification

This method of fortification can be done by anyone who owns nutrient drops that can be manually added into the food before it is eaten. This is much like taking a nutrient supplement which are also quite common.

What Are the Benefits of Food Fortification?

Food fortification can benefit any human being at any stage of development. In the developed world, fortification can support a healthy diet by providing essential nutrients to those who may not be getting enough from their food. In developing nations, food fortification can be the difference between life and death. 

miner small sculpture on the peanuts

It’s estimated that 9 million people die from hunger or hunger-related diseases each and every year. This is more than the lives taken by AIDS, malaria, or tuberculosis. In some developing nations, people depend on fortified rice, wheat, and maize to stay alive and have the opportunity to lead a normal healthy life. 

Iron deficiency anemia is one of the most common nutrient deficiencies with pregnant women being at the highest risk. Folic acid deficiency during pregnancy can cause brain or spine birth defects, 75% of which resulted in death before the child’s fifth birthday in 2015.

Zinc deficiency can leave people vulnerable to a number of serious illnesses and even death. Adequate levels of zinc in the body have been shown to drastically reduce the risk of diarrhea in small children which is one of the most pressing health issues in low-income areas of the world.

mandarins

Other key benefits of food fortification include:

  • Improved productivity, maternal health, and cognitive development
  • Reduced risk of severe brain and spinal conditions
  • Strengthened the immune system
  • Reduced risk of skin diseases and nervous system diseases
  • Improved metabolism of fats, carbohydrates, and proteins
  • Improved function of the brain and nervous systems
  • Reduced risk of serious and deadly infections
  • Improved absorption of calcium for bone health

What are calcium-fortified foods?

Food and drinks that are commonly fortified with calcium include fruit juices, cereals, bottled waters and energy bars. Calcium-fortified foods are essential for those who are intolerant to dairy which includes an estimated 75% of the population of the world, according to PubMed Central, a highly respected database from the National Institutes of Health.

vegetables on the white surface

It’s recommended that people get their calcium from natural foods such as dark leafy greens or tofu. However, this can be extremely difficult in countries where these products are not readily available. Therefore, calcium-fortified foods are essential for these people to maintain proper bone health and avoid serious conditions such as osteoporosis.

Low calcium and Vitamin D (integral to calcium absorption) is common among children in developing countries and poses a real issue for their health. It’s estimated that calcium and Vitamin D levels are around a third of the recommended intake in these children. 

Principles of Food Fortification

As stated by the Codex Alimentarius Commission, the basic principles of ford fortification are as follows:

  1. The essential nutrient added should not exceed the amount that is required for optimal health and the person’s current intake of the nutrient should be taken into account. 
  2. Any nutrient added to food should not result in an adverse effect on the metabolism.
  3. The essential nutrient should be stable in the food under the specific conditions of the packaging, storage, distribution, and use.
  4. The essential nutrient should be biologically available from the food.
  5. The essential nutrient should not allow for changes to the characteristics of the food and should not shorten the food shelf-life.
  6. The technology used and the factories in which the nutrients are added should have all the necessary accreditations and permits to complete the fortification process.
  7. Fortification and the level of nutrients present should never deceive or mislead the consumer. 
  8. Any additional cost for fortification should be reasonable.
  9. The methods and processes used to complete fortification should have measures of controlling or enforcing the level of nutrients added to the foods.
  10. Food standards, regulations or guidelines for the fortification of foods should be clear in their reasoning for the addition of the essential nutrients to ensure the intended results are achieved.

snail sits on a cherry

The Bottom Line

The fortification of foods is vitally important, especially for those living in developing countries where access to a wide variety of foods is not possible. Providing fortified foods can help uplift communities providing their people with essential nutrients that support a healthy functioning body. 

In some parts of the world, food fortification is the difference between life and death. It is therefore supported by global organizations such as UNICEF, The World Health Organization (WHO, The World Food Programme (WFP), the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN), and Nutrition International.

Video: How to get Vitamin B12 the natural way

Support Us

Image