التفاح الأحمر والمحاقن البلاستيكية على خلفية سوداء

ما هي التغذية المحصنة؟

ما المقصود بإغناء الطعام؟

إغناء الطعام هو عملية إضافة أو زيادة المغذيات الدقيقة إلى الأطعمة الشائعة للمساعدة في استبدال أي من العناصر الغذائية المفقودة في عملية الطهي أو لتوفير زيادة المغذيات في الأطعمة التي تعاني من نقص المغذيات.

يمكن للتحصين أن يلعب دورًا أساسيًا في دعم تغذية أولئك الذين هم في أمس الحاجة إليها أو أولئك الذين يتبعون أنظمة غذائية تقييدية.

العناصر الغذائية الأكثر شيوعًا المستخدمة في التحصين هي الفيتامينات A و B والحديد والزنك وحمض الفوليك. كل هذا يدعم الجسم السليم ويمكن أن يساعد الناس على تجنب نقص المغذيات. سوء التغذية هو حالة خطيرة تؤثر 795 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء العالم. أولئك المعرضين لخطر سوء التغذية عرضة لعدد من القضايا الصحية.

فيتامينات - حبوب ملونة

إن تقوية الأطعمة التي يتم تناولها بشكل شائع مثل دقيق الذرة والقمح والأرز هي أسهل الطرق وأقلها تكلفة لتوفير العناصر الغذائية الأساسية للأشخاص المعرضين لخطر سوء التغذية.

كيف يتم تقوية الأطعمة؟

يتم تنفيذ التحصين ، المعروف أيضًا باسم التخصيب ، بطرق مختلفة اعتمادًا على الطعام الذي تتم معالجته. الأرز ، على سبيل المثال ، محصن بإضافة مسحوق المغذيات الدقيقة التي تلتصق بالأرز أو عن طريق رش السطح الذي تتم معالجة الأرز عليه. وهذا يضيف بشكل فعال عدة طبقات من مسحوق المغذيات الدقيقة مما يخلق حبة أرز مغذية أكثر.

الطرق الرئيسية الثلاث لإغناء الغذاء

مكونات لطهي الحساء

1. التحصينات التجارية والصناعية

عادة ما يتم إنتاج الأطعمة المدعمة داخل مصانع معالجة الطعام باستخدام الطريقة الموضحة أعلاه للأرز. قد يتم طحن الأطعمة الأخرى إلى دقيق ودمجها مع مزيج من المغذيات الدقيقة ثم معالجتها باستخدام البخار وإعادة تشكيلها لخلق حبيبات مغذية جديدة تشبه الحبوب الأصلية تمامًا.

2. التقوية الحيوية

التقوية الحيوية هي عملية تربية المحاصيل لاحتواء مستوى معين من العناصر الغذائية بحيث لا تتطلب عملية التحصين التجاري والصناعي أعلاه. وهذا يشمل كلاً من التربية الانتقائية والهندسة الوراثية للمحاصيل للحصول على المحتوى الغذائي المطلوب.

3. تحصين المنزل

يمكن لأي شخص يملك قطرات مغذية أن تضيف هذه الطريقة في التحصين والتي يمكن إضافتها يدويًا إلى الطعام قبل تناوله. هذا يشبه إلى حد كبير تناول مكملات غذائية شائعة أيضًا.

ما هي فوائد إغناء الغذاء؟

يمكن أن يكون إغناء الطعام مفيدًا لأي إنسان في أي مرحلة من مراحل التطور. في العالم المتقدم ، يمكن أن يدعم التحصين نظامًا غذائيًا صحيًا من خلال توفير العناصر الغذائية الأساسية لأولئك الذين قد لا يحصلون على ما يكفي من طعامهم. في الدول النامية ، يمكن أن يكون إغناء الغذاء هو الفرق بين الحياة والموت.

نحت صغير عامل منجم على الفول السوداني

ويقدر ذلك 9 مليون شخص يموتون تبدأ من جوع or الأمراض المتعلقة بالجوع كل عام. هذا أكثر من الأرواح التي يسببها الإيدز أو الملاريا أو السل. في بعض الدول النامية ، يعتمد الناس على الأرز والقمح والذرة المدعمة للبقاء على قيد الحياة والحصول على فرصة لقيادة حياة صحية طبيعية.

يعد فقر الدم الناجم عن نقص الحديد أحد أكثر حالات نقص المغذيات شيوعًا حيث تكون النساء الحوامل في خطر أعلى. يمكن أن يسبب نقص حمض الفوليك أثناء الحمل تشوهات خلقية في الدماغ أو العمود الفقري ، 75٪ منها أدت إلى الوفاة قبل عيد ميلاد الطفل الخامس عام 2015.

يمكن أن يترك نقص الزنك الأشخاص عرضة لعدد من الأمراض الخطيرة وحتى الموت. ثبت أن المستويات الكافية من الزنك في الجسم تقلل بشكل كبير من خطر الإصابة بالإسهال لدى الأطفال الصغار والتي تعد واحدة من أكثر المشاكل الصحية إلحاحًا في المناطق ذات الدخل المنخفض في العالم.

اليوسفي

تشمل الفوائد الرئيسية الأخرى لإغناء الطعام ما يلي:

  • تحسين الإنتاجية ، وصحة الأم ، والتنمية المعرفية
  • تقليل خطر الإصابة بحالات شديدة في الدماغ والعمود الفقري
  • تقوية جهاز المناعة
  • تقليل مخاطر الأمراض الجلدية وأمراض الجهاز العصبي
  • تحسين التمثيل الغذائي للدهون والكربوهيدرات والبروتينات
  • وظيفة محسنة للدماغ والجهاز العصبي
  • تقليل خطر الإصابة بالعدوى الخطيرة والقاتلة
  • تحسين امتصاص الكالسيوم لصحة العظام

ما هي الأطعمة المدعمة بالكالسيوم؟

تشمل الأطعمة والمشروبات التي يتم تحصينها عادةً بالكالسيوم عصائر الفاكهة والحبوب والمياه المعبأة وأشرطة الطاقة. تعتبر الأطعمة المدعمة بالكالسيوم ضرورية لأولئك الذين لا يتحملون منتجات الألبان والتي تشمل ما يقدر بـ 75 ٪ من سكان العالم ، وفقًا لـ PubMed Central ، وهي قاعدة بيانات تحظى باحترام كبير من المعاهد الوطنية للصحة.

الخضار على السطح الأبيض

من المستحسن أن يحصل الناس على الكالسيوم من الأطعمة الطبيعية مثل الخضروات ذات الأوراق الداكنة أو التوفو. ومع ذلك ، قد يكون هذا صعبًا للغاية في البلدان التي لا تتوفر فيها هذه المنتجات بسهولة. لذلك ، تعتبر الأطعمة المدعمة بالكالسيوم ضرورية لهؤلاء الأشخاص للحفاظ على صحة العظام السليمة وتجنب الحالات الخطيرة مثل هشاشة العظام.

إن انخفاض الكالسيوم وفيتامين د (جزء لا يتجزأ من امتصاص الكالسيوم) أمر شائع بين الأطفال في البلدان النامية ويسبب مشكلة حقيقية لصحتهم. تشير التقديرات إلى أن مستويات الكالسيوم وفيتامين د موجودة ثلث الكمية الموصى بها في هؤلاء الأطفال.

مبادئ إغناء الغذاء

كما ذكر من قبل هيئة الدستور الغذائي، المبادئ الأساسية لتحصين فورد هي كما يلي:

  1. يجب ألا تتجاوز المغذيات الأساسية المضافة الكمية المطلوبة للصحة المثلى ويجب أن يؤخذ في الاعتبار تناول الشخص الحالي للمغذيات.
  2. يجب ألا يؤدي أي عنصر غذائي يضاف إلى الطعام إلى تأثير سلبي على عملية التمثيل الغذائي.
  3. يجب أن تكون المغذيات الأساسية مستقرة في الطعام في ظل الظروف المحددة للتغليف والتخزين والتوزيع والاستخدام.
  4. يجب أن تكون المغذيات الأساسية متاحة بيولوجيًا من الطعام.
  5. لا يجب أن تسمح المغذيات الأساسية بتغييرات في خصائص الطعام ويجب ألا تقصر مدة صلاحية الطعام.
  6. يجب أن تتمتع التكنولوجيا المستخدمة والمصانع التي تمت إضافة العناصر الغذائية فيها بجميع الاعتمادات والتصاريح اللازمة لإكمال عملية التحصين.
  7. يجب ألا يؤدي إغناء ومستوى العناصر الغذائية الموجودة إلى خداع المستهلك أو تضليله.
  8. يجب أن تكون أي تكلفة إضافية للتحصين معقولة.
  9. يجب أن يكون للطرق والعمليات المستخدمة لإكمال التحصين تدابير للتحكم في مستوى المغذيات المضافة إلى الأطعمة أو فرضها.
  10. يجب أن تكون المعايير أو اللوائح أو المبادئ التوجيهية لتحصين الأغذية واضحة في أسبابها لإضافة العناصر الغذائية الأساسية لضمان تحقيق النتائج المرجوة.

الحلزون يجلس على الكرز

الخط السفلي

إن إغناء الأطعمة أمر حيوي ، خاصة بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يعيشون في البلدان النامية حيث لا يمكن الوصول إلى مجموعة متنوعة من الأطعمة. يمكن أن يساعد توفير الأطعمة المدعمة في رفع مستوى المجتمعات التي تزود شعوبها بالعناصر الغذائية الأساسية التي تدعم صحة الجسم.

في بعض أنحاء العالم ، يعتبر إغناء الطعام هو الفرق بين الحياة والموت. لذلك ، يتم دعمه من قبل المنظمات العالمية مثل اليونيسف ، منظمة الصحة العالمية (منظمة الصحة العالمية ، برنامج الغذاء العالمي (WFP) ، المراكز الأمريكية لمكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) ، التحالف العالمي لتحسين التغذية (GAIN) ، والتغذية دولي.

فيديو: كيفية الحصول على فيتامين ب 12 بالطريقة الطبيعية

إدعم قيادة الشباب والشابات

صورة

Red apple and plastic syringes on black background

What is Fortification Nutrition?

What is Meant by Food Fortification?

Food fortification is the process of adding or increasing micronutrients to common foods to help replace any nutrients lost in the cooking process or to provide a nutrient boost in foods that are nutrient deficient.

Fortification can play an integral role in supporting the nutrition of those who desperately need it or those that follow restrictive diets.  

The most common nutrients used in fortification are Vitamins A and B, iron, zinc, and folic acid. All of these support a healthy body and can help people avoid nutrient deficiencies. Malnourishment is a serious condition that affects 795 million people worldwide. Those at risk of malnutrition are vulnerable to a number of health issues. 

vitamines - colorfull pills

The fortification of commonly-eaten foods such as maize flour, wheat, and rice are the easiest and most inexpensive ways to provide essential nutrients to people at risk of malnutrition. 

How are foods fortified?

Fortification, also known as enrichment, is performed in various ways depending on the food being processed. Rice, for example, is fortified by adding a micronutrient powder that adheres to the rice or by spraying the surface on which the rice is processed. This effectively adds several layers of the micronutrient powder creating a more nutritious rice grain.

The 3 Main Methods of Food Fortification

Ingredients for cooking soup

1. Commercial and Industrial Fortification

Foods fortified inside food processing factories are commonly produced using the method discussed above for rice. Other foods may be ground into flour and combined with a micronutrient mix and then processed using steam and re-shaped to create new nutritious grains that look just like the original grain.

2. Biofortification

Biofortification is the process of breeding crops to contain a certain level of nutrients so that they do not require the commercial and industrial fortification process above. This includes both selective breeding and genetic engineering of the crops to get the desired nutritional content.

3. Home Fortification

This method of fortification can be done by anyone who owns nutrient drops that can be manually added into the food before it is eaten. This is much like taking a nutrient supplement which are also quite common.

What Are the Benefits of Food Fortification?

Food fortification can benefit any human being at any stage of development. In the developed world, fortification can support a healthy diet by providing essential nutrients to those who may not be getting enough from their food. In developing nations, food fortification can be the difference between life and death. 

miner small sculpture on the peanuts

It’s estimated that 9 million people die from hunger or hunger-related diseases each and every year. This is more than the lives taken by AIDS, malaria, or tuberculosis. In some developing nations, people depend on fortified rice, wheat, and maize to stay alive and have the opportunity to lead a normal healthy life. 

Iron deficiency anemia is one of the most common nutrient deficiencies with pregnant women being at the highest risk. Folic acid deficiency during pregnancy can cause brain or spine birth defects, 75% of which resulted in death before the child’s fifth birthday in 2015.

Zinc deficiency can leave people vulnerable to a number of serious illnesses and even death. Adequate levels of zinc in the body have been shown to drastically reduce the risk of diarrhea in small children which is one of the most pressing health issues in low-income areas of the world.

mandarins

Other key benefits of food fortification include:

  • Improved productivity, maternal health, and cognitive development
  • Reduced risk of severe brain and spinal conditions
  • Strengthened the immune system
  • Reduced risk of skin diseases and nervous system diseases
  • Improved metabolism of fats, carbohydrates, and proteins
  • Improved function of the brain and nervous systems
  • Reduced risk of serious and deadly infections
  • Improved absorption of calcium for bone health

What are calcium-fortified foods?

Food and drinks that are commonly fortified with calcium include fruit juices, cereals, bottled waters and energy bars. Calcium-fortified foods are essential for those who are intolerant to dairy which includes an estimated 75% of the population of the world, according to PubMed Central, a highly respected database from the National Institutes of Health.

vegetables on the white surface

It’s recommended that people get their calcium from natural foods such as dark leafy greens or tofu. However, this can be extremely difficult in countries where these products are not readily available. Therefore, calcium-fortified foods are essential for these people to maintain proper bone health and avoid serious conditions such as osteoporosis.

Low calcium and Vitamin D (integral to calcium absorption) is common among children in developing countries and poses a real issue for their health. It’s estimated that calcium and Vitamin D levels are around a third of the recommended intake in these children. 

Principles of Food Fortification

As stated by the Codex Alimentarius Commission, the basic principles of ford fortification are as follows:

  1. The essential nutrient added should not exceed the amount that is required for optimal health and the person’s current intake of the nutrient should be taken into account. 
  2. Any nutrient added to food should not result in an adverse effect on the metabolism.
  3. The essential nutrient should be stable in the food under the specific conditions of the packaging, storage, distribution, and use.
  4. The essential nutrient should be biologically available from the food.
  5. The essential nutrient should not allow for changes to the characteristics of the food and should not shorten the food shelf-life.
  6. The technology used and the factories in which the nutrients are added should have all the necessary accreditations and permits to complete the fortification process.
  7. Fortification and the level of nutrients present should never deceive or mislead the consumer. 
  8. Any additional cost for fortification should be reasonable.
  9. The methods and processes used to complete fortification should have measures of controlling or enforcing the level of nutrients added to the foods.
  10. Food standards, regulations or guidelines for the fortification of foods should be clear in their reasoning for the addition of the essential nutrients to ensure the intended results are achieved.

snail sits on a cherry

The Bottom Line

The fortification of foods is vitally important, especially for those living in developing countries where access to a wide variety of foods is not possible. Providing fortified foods can help uplift communities providing their people with essential nutrients that support a healthy functioning body. 

In some parts of the world, food fortification is the difference between life and death. It is therefore supported by global organizations such as UNICEF, The World Health Organization (WHO, The World Food Programme (WFP), the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN), and Nutrition International.

Video: How to get Vitamin B12 the natural way

Support Us

Image