贫穷和饥饿如何影响儿童的健康?

上次更新时间为16年2021月XNUMX日
保罗·罗德尼·特纳 (Paul Rodney Turner)保罗·罗德尼·特纳 (Paul Rodney Turner)

世界上许多儿童已经面临了很长一段时间的问题: 粮食不安稳.

当孩子住在没有足够食物供他们和家人居住的房屋中时​​,就会发生这种情况。 由于粮食不安全,住在同一屋檐下的家庭成员必须分享其微薄的资源,从而导致 营养不良和饥饿的儿童 以及成年人。

儿童饥饿是 一个问题 这不仅困扰着生活在第三世界国家的人,而且困扰着那些生活在贫困线以下的发达国家的人。 英国和美国的低收入家庭必须没有食物等基本需求。 在世界各地,超过60万儿童挨饿。 考虑到饥饿对孩子的长期影响,这是一个令人震惊的数字。

挨饿对孩子的影响远不止一种。 根据儿童饥饿的事实,除了体重减轻和虚弱等身体影响外,饥饿还会造成心理和精神损害。

体内缺乏适当的营养会导致无法吸收信息,从而使学生很难在学校学习任何东西。 它还会影响他们的个人健康-那些长期饥饿的人很可能在成年后患有精神疾病,例如抑郁症和PTSD。

在美国,每年有多少儿童死于饥饿?

并非所有人都意识到局势的严重性。 根据儿童饥饿统计,全世界约有3.1万五岁及以下的儿童死于饥饿和营养不良。

在美国,每年有13万儿童面临饥饿。 该国每1个孩子中就有6个不确定何时,何地或什至根本不会收到下一顿饭。

世界其他地区也是如此,有些国家比其他国家更糟。 例如,在非洲,据估计几乎一半的儿童死亡是由于饥饿造成的。 据估计,由于这个问题,全世界每三秒钟就有一个孩子死亡。 仅因为他们没有足够的食物,全世界每天就有10,000名儿童死亡。 因此,世界上的儿童饥饿是一个巨大的问题,需要立即解决。

贫穷如何影响儿童的健康?

问题 儿童饥饿 超出了健康问题和精神问题,因为美国许多人生活在贫困中。 儿童期食物不足的影响延续到成年期,美国和世界各地的儿童都遭受以下其他影响:

  • 发育迟缓–当孩子的年龄低于正常身高时,就会发生这种情况。 世界各地数以百万计的5岁以下儿童都患有这种疾病。
  • 体重过轻–孩童持续饥饿造成的另一个问题是体重不健康。 大多数受此问题困扰的儿童都在非洲和亚洲发现,而在美国受影响的99万儿童中,却有很小的一部分。
  • 营养和维生素缺乏症–随着食物的缺乏,还会缺少人体所需的适当营养素。 这带来了与这种缺陷相关的疾病。 维生素A缺乏症会削弱孩子的免疫系统,从而增加孩子生病的风险。 锌的缺乏会影响儿童的胃肠系统,导致腹泻,有时还会因此问题引起的脱水而导致死亡。

儿童饥饿如何在以后的生活中成为问题?

当年轻人长大后,童年饥饿的问题并没有结束。 尽管他们现在可能有能力找到自己的食物,但童年饥饿的影响仍会随之而来。 饥饿时长大的孩子长大后会遇到以下问题:

  • 整体健康状况较差–遭受饥饿的儿童通常长大后会成为成年人,面临严重的健康问题。 孩童时期长期饥饿的影响持续长达10到15年。 那些受影响的人最终可能遭受呼吸系统疾病,例如哮喘。 它还可能导致慢性疾病,例如心脏病,肾脏问题和严重的过敏。
  • 心理问题–持续缺乏食物,以及随之而来的担心,就是不知道自己是否会吃得足够多,这会导致心理问题,并可能持续一生。 经历饥饿的孩子成年后可能会遇到信任问题,创伤后应激障碍(PTSD)以及其他精神疾病,例如慢性焦虑症和抑郁症。
  • 心理能力–缺乏营养会剥夺大脑所需的营养,这会导致学习和大脑发育方面的问题。 处理和保留信息,在学术上表现良好,甚至理解简单的过程对于遭受疾病困扰的成年人来说都是巨大的挑战。 粮食不安稳小时候的饥饿.

这些影响的结果使成年后的生活变得困难。 长期的身心健康问题可能会造成人际关系问题,使其难以维持工作,并阻止成年人过充实的生活。

听诊器上的健康检查表

科学如何用于解决世界饥饿?

有传言,一项科学发现终于发现了可以帮助解决问题的解决方案 停止儿童饥饿 彻底消除世界饥饿
您问什么解决方案?

拉彭兰塔工业大学进行的科学研究(LUT)和芬兰的VTT技术研究中心于2017年发现,有可能用两种主要成分制作食物:空气和电力。 该项目称为“电力产生的粮食”,其目的是生产可以帮助消除世界饥饿的粮食。

发生的事情是,食物是通过将空气中获得的原材料(例如水,微生物和二氧化碳)与电能通过电解结合而成的。 此过程会产生蛋白质粉,必要时可以用作食品的替代品。

虽然该过程仍处于初期阶段,但在两周的时间内仅生产了XNUMX克“空气和电力产生的食物”,但这项创新似乎很有希望。

为何当今世界饥饿仍然是一个问题?

您可能想知道为什么当美国很大比例的人口也患有与肥胖有关的健康问题时,美国仍然存在儿童饥饿问题。

答案在于人们所吃的食物。 您知道孩子同时肥胖和营养不良吗? 这是由于缺乏 适当的营养 他们正在吃的食物中。

孩子们在吃米饭和蔬菜
食物的成本似乎是罪魁祸首。 当美国的低收入家庭试图将他们微薄的收入放在餐桌上时,选择只能归结为卡路里密集但营养缺乏的加工食品。

加工食品过多会导致体内糖,脂肪和碳水化合物的浓度升高。 结果? 体重增加但缺乏适当营养的儿童。

在世界范围内,儿童饥饿问题主要是由一件事引起的-贫困。 存在一个恶性循环,这种恶性循环使这种情况长期存在,这种恶性循环始于饥饿。

一个在贫穷中成长并遭受饥饿之苦的人会长大,而没有他们适当发展所需的营养。 这导致学习,成长和健康方面的困难。 由于这些问题,当孩子长大成人时,他们很难找到可以将健康食品摆在餐桌上的工作。 他们的孩子饿着肚子上床睡觉,饥饿的循环还在继续。

总结

归根结底,世界范围内的儿童饥饿仍然是一个待解决的问题。 。 在我们能够为需要帮助的每个人提供食物之前,我们可以做的一件事就是帮助那些无法自助的人。

您可以通过赞助儿童餐来帮助减轻儿童饥饿的一种方法。 这可以通过与旨在帮助儿童获得足够食物以促进身心健康的组织合作来完成。

生命之粮(Food For Life)等组织为儿童提供健康的,以植物为基础的膳食,这为他们提供了在未来生活更美好的战斗机会。

 

网上捐赠

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。

Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。

如何产生影响

贫困和饥饿如何影响儿童的健康?

帮助他人

贫困和饥饿如何影响儿童的健康?

捐赠加密货币

贫困和饥饿如何影响儿童的健康?

帮助动物

贫困和饥饿如何影响儿童的健康?

募捐筹款

项目

志愿者机会
成为一名倡导者
开始你自己的项目
紧急救援

志工
机遇

成为
宣传倡导

开始你的
自己的项目

紧急
RELIEF

最新动态

Poor family working

How do poverty and hunger affect children’s health?

There is a problem that many children around the world have been facing for a very long time: food insecurity.

This happens when children are living in a home that doesn’t have enough food for them and their family members to live on. Due to food insecurity, members of a family living under the same roof have to share their meager resources, resulting in malnutrition and hungry children as well as adults.

Child hunger is a problem that plagues not only those living in third world countries but those living below the poverty line in developed countries as well. Low-income families in the UK and the US have to go without basic needs like food. Around the world, more than 60 million children go to school hungry. That is an alarming number, considering the long-term effects that hunger has on a child.

Going hungry affects a child in more ways than one. According to child hunger facts, aside from the physical effects that include weight loss and weakness, hunger also causes psychological and mental damage.

Lack of proper nutrients in the body results in an inability to absorb information, making it difficult for students to learn anything in school. It also affects their personal wellbeing — those suffering from chronic hunger are likely to suffer from mental ailments such as depression and PTSD in adulthood.

How many children die of starvation in the USA each year?

Not everyone realizes the gravity of the situation. According to child hunger statistics, all around the world around 3.1 million children age five and below die due to hunger and malnutrition.

In the US, 13 million children face hunger every year. 1 out of every 6 kids in the country is not sure when, where, or even if they will receive their next meal at all.

The same goes for the rest of the world, with some countries worse than others. In Africa, for example, it is estimated that almost half of child deaths are due to hunger. It’s also estimated that worldwide, one child dies every three seconds because of this problem. That is a staggering 10,000 children worldwide dying every day just because they don’t have enough food. Therefore, child hunger in the world is a massive problem that needs to be addressed immediately.

How does poverty affect children’s health?

The problem of child hunger goes beyond health issues and mental issues because a lot of people in the US are living in poverty. The effect of lack of food during childhood carries over into adulthood, with children in the US and worldwide suffering these other effects:

  • Stunting – This happens when a child is under the normal height for their age. It happens to millions of children under 5 years of age worldwide.
  • Underweight – Another problem that stems from constant hunger as a child is an unhealthy body weight. Most children who suffer from this issue are found in Africa and Asia, with a fraction of the 99 million affected found in the US.
  • Nutrient and vitamin deficiencies – Along with lack of food comes the lack of proper nutrients that the body needs. This brings about ailments associated with such deficiencies. Vitamin A deficiency increases a child’s risk of getting sick since it weakens their immune system. Lack of zinc affects a child’s gastrointestinal system, leading to diarrhea and sometimes death due to dehydration caused by this problem.

How can childhood hunger become a problem later in life?

The problem with childhood hunger does not end when a youngster grows into an adult. While they may now be capable of finding their own food, the effects of childhood hunger will follow them even then. The problems that a child growing with hunger experiences as an adult include the following:

  • Poor overall health – Children who suffer from hunger usually grow up to become adults with significant health problems. The effects of chronic hunger as a child remain for as long as 10 to 15 years. Those affected can end up suffering from respiratory problems such as asthma. It can also result in chronic ailments such as heart disease, kidney problems, and severe allergies.
  • Psychological issues – A constant lack of food and the associated fear of not knowing whether they will have enough to eat can lead to psychological problems that can last a lifetime. A child who experiences hunger could face trust issues, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and other mental illnesses like chronic anxiety and depression as an adult.
  • Mental capacity – Lack of nutrition deprives the brain of what it needs, which leads to problems in learning and brain development. Processing and retaining information, performing well academically, and even understanding simple processes can be a huge challenge for adults who suffered from food insecurity and hunger as a child.

The result of these effects makes life difficult as an adult. Chronic physical and mental health issues can create relationship problems, make it difficult to maintain employment, and prevent adults from living full lives.

Stethoscope on the health check chart

How can science be used to solve world hunger?

Rumor has it, a scientific discovery has finally unearthed the solution that could help stop child hunger and end world hunger altogether.
What is this solution, you ask?

A scientific study conducted by Lappeenranta University of Technology (LUT) and VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland in 2017 found that it’s possible to create food from two primary ingredients: air and electricity. The project is called Food from Electricity and the aim is to produce food that can help end world hunger.

What happens is, food is produced by combining raw materials such as water, microbes, and carbon dioxide obtained from the air with electricity by way of electrolysis. This process creates protein powder that can be used as a substitute for food when necessary.

While the process is still in its early stages, with only one gram of “food from air and electricity” produced over a span of two weeks, the innovation seems promising.

Why is child hunger still a problem in the world today?

You might wonder why child hunger in the US exists when such a large percentage of the country’s population also suffers from health problems related to obesity.

The answer is in the kind of food that people eat. Did you know that a child can both be obese and malnourished at the same time? This is due to the lack of proper nutrients in the food that they are eating.

Children are aeting rice and vegetables
The cost of food seems is the culprit. When low-income families in the US try to put food on the table with their meager income, the choices come down to processed foods that are calorie-dense but nutritionally lacking.

Too many processed food leads to concentrated levels of sugar, fat, and carbohydrates in the body. The results? Children who are gaining weight but lacking proper nutrients.

Worldwide, the problem of child hunger is caused primarily by one thing—poverty. There is a vicious cycle in place that perpetuates this, which begins and ends with hunger.

A person growing up in poverty and suffering from hunger grows up without the nutrients they need for proper development. This leads to difficulties in learning, growth, and health. As a result of these issues, when that child matures into an adult, it can be difficult for them to find work that will put healthy food on the table. Their children go to bed hungry, and the cycle of hunger continues.

Conclusion

At the end of the day, worldwide child hunger is still a problem that awaits a solution. Until we can get food to everyone who needs it, one thing we can do is help those who can’t help themselves.

One way you can help alleviate the problem of child hunger is by sponsoring a child’s meals. This can be done by working with organizations that aim to help children receive enough food for proper mental and physical growth.

Organizations like Food For Life feed children healthy, plant-based meals that give them a fighting chance at a better life in the future.