如何解決世界飢餓

“如果你不能養活一百人,那就只養一個。” ——特蕾莎修女

許多人熟悉世界飢餓問題,許多人甚至了解與全球問題相關的數字。 儘管 可持續發展目標 儘管仍在努力縮小飢餓差距並賦予弱勢社區以實現糧食安全的能力,但嚴重營養不良在脆弱國家的極端貧困人口中普遍存在。

全球各地的組織都在提供教育和資源,以促進可持續農業、增加農業勞動力和應對氣候變化。 從弱勢個人一直到國家政府的糧食獲取和衛生系統政策,都在發生轉變。

但統計數據顯示,在連續數十年取得進展後,自 2016 年以來,全球飢餓狀況實際上已經惡化。 發生了什麼? 為什麼它仍然是一個如此大的問題,結束世界飢餓需要多少成本?


立即捐贈給 FFL

消除世界飢餓需要多少錢?

當您考慮解決世界飢餓需要多少錢時,最好從數字開始。 根據國際可持續發展研究所 2020 年的報告,財務估計為 到 2030 年消除世界飢餓 每年需要投入 33 億美元或總計 330 億美元。

但是等等,為飢餓的人們提供營養食品肯定不會花費 330 億美元嗎? 為什麼這個數字如此之大,它實際上意味著什麼?

嗯,這是一個方法問題。 更簡單、更便宜的方法側重於通過提供醫療干預和適當的營養資源來減少營養不良。 這個目標可能更容易實現,但從長遠來看是不可持續的。

如何解決世界飢餓

另一方面,更具挑戰性和成本更高的方法旨在通過首先解決貧困問題來結束飢餓,這不僅可以防止弱勢群體的飢餓,還可以解決許多其他問題。 其中包括減少性別不平等、促進氣候智能型農業實踐、改善一個國家的整體糧食系統以及加強減少災害風險。

無論您考慮哪種方法,都沒有 快速修復 解決飢餓問題,並詢問解決世界飢餓需要多少錢並不是我們需要考慮的唯一因素。 其主要原因是需要基礎設施將必要的糧食和資源運送到貧困地區。 這意味著運輸糧食和資源的道路、灌溉等農業解決方案(需要可靠的水源)、與可持續農業技術和營養有關的教育……不勝枚舉。

世界飢餓不僅僅是空腹,這就是為什麼許多組織認為更全面的方法雖然可能需要更長的時間和更多的錢才能實現,但它是解決全球飢餓問題的更持久的解決方案。

世界衛生組織認為飢餓是對全球健康的最大威脅,因為它影響到人類生活的方方面面,並使受其影響的人陷入惡性循環。 如果一個孩子的家庭生活在貧困中,他們生活在貧困中的機會就會高得多。 飢餓使兒童無法學習,從而使他們無法像成年人一樣工作,從而使他們終生陷入貧困。

我們為什麼要結束世界飢餓?

貧困,以及由此導致的大規模飢餓,是一個系統性和周期性的問題,通常意味著社區被剝奪或削弱,無法靠自己的力量擺脫困境。 歷史上出現貧困的原因有很多。 它可能歸因於過去或現在的腐敗政府領導,內部或外部對自然資源的開採,或一個地區的資源分配不均。 幾代人之後,社區仍然處於不利地位,需要幫助。

結束 糧食不安全 在全球範圍內,與其說是解決方案,不如說是解決方案的關鍵指標。 也就是說,對 結束貧困. 消除貧困需要全球範圍內的人們提供可用資源來貢獻他們的技能和支持,以便貧困地區能夠長期自給自足。 這是為所有人創造平等的機會,並促進全球人民有機會過上充實和幸福的生活,而不必擔心他們最基本的需求。

有多少人生活在貧困中?

有超過 700 億人(佔世界人口的近 10%)生活在極端貧困中,為滿足健康、教育以及獲得水和衛生設施等基本需求而苦苦掙扎。

飢餓是全世界死亡的主要原因,死亡人數超過艾滋病毒/艾滋病、瘧疾和肺結核的總和。 除了飢餓之外,急性營養不良還會降低一個人抵抗感染或長途跋涉以獲取維持生命所需的水和食物的能力。

世界上最貧窮的國家是什麼?

世界上大多數遭受嚴重貧困和飢餓的人口生活在撒哈拉以南非洲。 2021年世界上最貧窮的國家是索馬里,根據 2021年聯合國最不發達國家 報告。 該國的年收入除以其人口(人均國民總收入)使個人每年的生活費約為 104 美元。

在索馬里出生的人的預期壽命約為 57 歲。 儘管擁有牲畜、林業和漁業等農業和水產養殖資源,索馬里仍維持著主要以牲畜出口、匯款公司和電信為基礎的非正規經濟。

亞洲農民

超過一半的人口生活在農村地區,96% 的人口生活在嚴重的旱地。 根據 世界人口評論,只有 31% 的索馬里人可以獲得清潔的飲用水,23% 的人可以獲得經過改善的衛生設施。

由於飢餓和貧困的不幸週期性特徵,即使在特定地區,也很難指出最大的原因。 話雖如此,撒哈拉以南非洲國家長期遭受干旱,導致糧食短缺和醫療緊急情況。 許多國家內陸,阻礙了貿易,許多國家遭受政治動盪,戰爭或種族和宗教暴力之害。

那麼……我們真的可以消除世界飢餓嗎?

At Food For Life Global,我們相信有一個 解決世界飢餓問題. 全球飢餓問題最令人沮喪的是,這不是缺乏食物的結果——全世界每年都種植和生產大量食物來養活每個人。

因此,為了解決它,我們必須從根本上解決問題。 然而,這是一個長期的解決方案,解決世界飢餓問題所需的教育和物質資源將遠遠超過我們目前可用的資源。 當全球社會團結起來 擁護 和支持結束世界各地的飢餓,我們的力量遠遠超過任何個人或組織可以單獨實現的目標。

導致全球飢餓的問題

因此,讓我們來看看導致全球飢餓的三個關鍵問題:

貧窮

缺乏農田等資源以及收穫、儲存和保存食物的手段是貧困人口面臨的主要挑戰。 飢餓的周期性使遭受飢餓的人很難自救。 這就是為什麼那些能夠獲得足夠資源的人需要加強並提供幫助的原因。

浪費

聯合國估計, 每年世界生產的糧食有近三分之一被浪費. 這些食物足以養活營養不良的群眾。 目前被浪費的食物不太可能被送到貧困社區,但是通過尊重食物,我們可以努力在全球重新分配食物資源,以幫助有需要的人。

氣候變化

發展中國家的農民無法在氣溫升高且降雨模式難以預測的地區種植糧食和農作物。 由於暴風雨和乾旱等不可預見的天氣模式,農民種植得太晚或太早,並失去了莊稼。 輕微的收成可以摧毀一個已經在與飢餓作鬥爭的社區。 據聯合國統計,從 1998 年到 2017 年,世界因災害造成的經濟損失估計接近 3 萬億美元。

解決全球飢餓問題的方法是建立一個每個人都擁有生產自己的食物所必需的資源和工具的世界。 畢竟,飽腹只能維持這麼長時間。

如何解決世界飢餓

  • 增加農業產量

通過使貧困地區的糧食生產與糧食需求相匹配,我們可以幫助減少長期飢餓造成的衰弱影響。

  • 將當地農民與農業勞動力聯繫起來,並為他們提供可以幫助他們擴大作物生產的資源。
  • 提高當地農民的產量,幫助他們在不使用有害化學物質的情況下保護作物免受害蟲和雜草的侵害。
  • 更健康的土壤導致更健康的作物,從而導致更健康的人。 這還包括為長期食物儲存引入更好的選擇,特別是在電力和淡水不易獲得的社區。
  • 促進可持續性

為了在世界範圍內實現零飢餓,我們需要在脆弱社區的各個層面鼓勵可持續做法。

這超出了農業實踐。 幫助社會發展創造穩定經濟和管理其財政資源所需的技能和戰略,對於他們的健康和生存至關重要。

這包括通過發展女性農民和支持婦女團體、建立減少災害風險和建立無障礙醫療設施來支持性別平等。

  • 支持政府和基礎設施

支持受影響社區的政府做必要的事情以向前邁進,對於解決世界飢餓問題至關重要。 如果沒有必要的法律和政策來支持農戶,那麼什麼樣的農業技術甚至是可用的財政資源都無關緊要。 這還包括獲得清潔水和教育。

提供有關如何生產、準備和保存能夠維持營養飲食和維持穩定經濟的食品的信息是世界貧困地區未來成功的關鍵。

  • 消除貧困

為了消除世界範圍內的糧食不安全,我們需要解決系統性貧困問題。 通過為女性和男性提供資源和教育,我們為弱勢群體提供了維持可持續勞動力的工具,從而支持經濟增長並加強長期糧食安全。 這也有助於在自然災害襲擊貧困社區時建立抵禦自然災害的能力。

非洲的貧困

人道主義和全球發展組織從事的正是這種工作,使消除飢餓成為可能。 但是您不必將所有精力都交給這些組織。 消除飢餓需要每個人的參與。 聯合國的目標是到 2030 年“在所有地方消除一切形式的貧困”。那些擁有創造變革力量的人有責任幫助實現這一目標。

如果您熱衷於消除對全球健康的頭號威脅,請尋找捐贈機會, 在您的社區內做出貢獻 或啟動一個 全球籌款活動. 教育您的家人和朋友有關可持續農業實踐和減少食物浪費的知識。 任何一點點都很重要,並有助於為受苦的家庭提供一些緩解。 此外,還有 除了捐贈之外,還有更多有助於消除飢餓的方式.

世界飢餓的終結會是什麼樣?

結束飢餓將打破貧困機器中的一個重要齒輪,最終讓貧困人口有機會過上健康的生活。 當人們不擔心下一頓飯來自哪裡時,他們可以專注於超出他們最基本需求的事情。 教育和婦女地位將提高,農業實踐將進步,世界各地的國家將變得更有生產力和自給自足。

結束全球飢餓不僅將改善數千年來遭受系統性貧困之苦的人們的生活,而且還將促進世界各地的和平關係。 如果你有能力 捐贈,成為結束世界飢餓的倡導者,或提高對全球飢餓救濟的認識, 聯繫 Food For Life Global 並幫助延續今天的變化。 在您的幫助下,世界各地的所有人都將獲得更健康、更充實的生活。

保羅·特納

保羅·特納

保羅·特納共同創立 Food for Life Global 1995 年,他曾是僧侶、世界銀行資深人士、企業家、整體生活教練、素食廚師,著有 6 本書,其中包括《FOOD YOGA》、《靈魂幸福的 7 條格言》。

先生。 在過去的 72 年裡,特納走遍了 35 個國家,幫助建立“生命之糧”項目、培訓志願者並記錄他們的成功。

如何產生影響

捐贈

幫助他人

加密貨幣

捐贈加密貨幣

動物

幫助動物

專案介紹

志願者機會
成為倡導者
開始你自己的項目
緊急救援

志願者
機遇

成為

開始你的
自己的項目

緊急
救濟

How to Solve World Hunger

Last updated on May 26, 2022
Paul Rodney TurnerPaul Rodney Turner

“If you can’t feed a hundred people, then feed just one.” – Mother Theresa

Many people are familiar with the issue of world hunger and many even understand the numbers associated with the global problem. While sustainable development goals are still striving to minimize the hunger gap and empower vulnerable communities to achieve food security, acute malnutrition is rife among the extremely poor in vulnerable countries.

Organizations across the globe are providing education and resources to promote sustainable agriculture, grow the agricultural workforce, and tackle climate change. Transformation is occurring from vulnerable individuals all the way up to national governments’ policies on food access and health systems.

But statistics show that global hunger has actually gotten worse since 2016 after back-to-back decades of progress. What happened? Why is it still such a huge issue and how much would it cost to end world hunger?


Donate to FFL NOW

How much money would it cost to end world hunger?

When you consider how much money it would take to solve world hunger, it’s best to start with the numbers. According to a 2020 report from the International Institute for Sustainable Development, financial estimates to stop world hunger by 2030 would require an input of US$33 billion per year or a total of $330 billion.

But wait, surely it doesn’t cost $330 billion to provide nutritious food to hungry people? Why is this number so large and what does it actually mean?

Well, it’s a matter of approach. The easier and less expensive approach focuses on reducing malnutrition by providing medical intervention and proper nutrition resources. This goal may be more easily attained, but it’s not sustainable in the long run.

How to Solve World Hunger

On the other hand, the more challenging and costly approach aims to end hunger by first tackling the issue of poverty, which would not only prevent hunger among vulnerable populations but solve many other issues as well. Among them would be reducing gender inequality, promoting climate-smart agriculture practices, improving the overall food system of a country, and enhancing disaster risk reduction.

No matter which approach you consider, there is no quick fix for solving hunger, and asking how much money it would take to solve world hunger is not the only factor we need to take into account. The main reason for this is the need for infrastructure to transport the necessary food and resources to poverty-stricken regions. This means roads for transporting food and resources, agricultural solutions such as irrigation (which requires a reliable water source), education having to do with sustainable farming techniques and nutrition… the list goes on.

World hunger is so much more than empty stomachs, which is why many organizations believe a more holistic approach, while it may take longer and cost more money to achieve, is a more permanent solution to global hunger.

The World Health Organization considers hunger the single greatest threat to global health because it affects so many aspects of human life and it traps those affected by it in a vicious cycle. If a child’s family lives in poverty, their chances of a life in poverty are much higher. Hunger prevents children from learning, which prevents them from being able to work as adults, which keeps them rooted in a lifetime of poverty.

Why Should We End World Hunger?

Poverty, and the mass hunger that results from it, is a systemic and cyclic issue that often means communities are too disempowered or weakened to pull themselves out on their own. There are many reasons that poverty has historically arisen. It may be attributed to corrupt government leadership in some past or current time, internal or external exploitation of natural resources, or the unequal distribution of resources in an area. Many generations later, communities remain disadvantaged and in need of help.

Ending food insecurity across the globe is not so much the solution, as a key indicator of the solution. That is, to end poverty. Ending poverty involves those around the globe with the resources available to contribute their skills and support so poverty-stricken regions can support themselves over the long term. This is to create equal opportunities for all people and to promote the opportunity for people across the globe to live full and happy lives, rather than having to worry about their most basic needs.

How Many People Live in Poverty?

There are more than 700 million people (nearly 10% of the world’s population) that live in extreme poverty and struggle to fulfill basic needs like health, education, and access to water and sanitation.

Hunger is the leading cause of death worldwide, killing more than HIV/AIDS, malaria, and tuberculosis combined. Besides starvation, acute malnutrition diminishes a person’s ability to fight infection or to travel long distances to collect the water and food they need to stay alive.

What is the poorest country in the world?

The majority of the world’s population suffering from severe poverty and hunger live in sub-Saharan Africa. The poorest country in the world in 2021 is Somalia, according to the 2021 United Nations Least Developed Countries report. The country’s annual income divided by its population (GNI per capita) leaves the individual living off around US$104 annually.

The life expectancy of someone born in Somalia is about 57 years. Despite having agricultural and aquacultural resources like livestock, forestry, and fisheries, Somalia maintains an informal economy largely based around livestock exports, money transfer companies, and telecommunications.

Farmers in Asia

Just over half of the population lives in rural areas and 96% of the population is living in severe drylands. According to the World Population Review, only 31% of Somalis have access to clean drinking water, and 23% have access to improved sanitation facilities.

Due to the unfortunate cyclical nature of hunger and poverty, it’s difficult to point to the single greatest cause, even within a specific region. Having said that, the sub-Saharan African nations suffer prolonged drought causing food shortages and medical emergencies. Many countries are landlocked, preventing trade, and many suffer from political instability, war, or ethnic and religious violence.

So…can we actually end world hunger?

At Food For Life Global, we believe there is a solution to world hunger. The most frustrating thing about the issue of global hunger is that it is not the result of a lack of food–there is plenty of food grown and produced around the world each year to feed everyone.

So in order to solve it, we have to attack the problem at its root cause. This is a long-term solution, however, and the question of how much to solve world hunger will take far more educational and material resources than what we currently have available. When the global community unites in advocacy and support to end hunger around the world, our force is far greater than any individual or organization can achieve alone.

Issues contributing to Global Hunger

So let’s take a look at the three key issues that are contributing to global hunger:

Poverty

Lack of resources like farmland as well as the means to harvest, store, and preserve food are major challenges for poor populations. The cyclical nature of hunger makes it extremely difficult for those suffering from hunger to help themselves. This is why those with access to sufficient resources need to step up and provide assistance.

Waste

The United Nations estimates that nearly one-third of the food the world produces is wasted each year. This is more than enough food to feed the undernourished multitudes. The food that currently gets wasted is unlikely to be sent to poor communities, however by respecting food, we can work towards the global redistribution of food resources to help those in need.

Climate Change

Farmers in developing countries can’t grow food and crops in areas where the temperature has risen and the rain patterns are less predictable. Farmers plant too late or too early and lose their crops due to unforeseen weather patterns like storms and droughts. A light harvest can devastate a community already battling hunger. From 1998 to 2017, world economic losses from disasters were estimated at almost $3 trillion, according to the United Nations.

The solution to global hunger is a world where everyone has the resources and tools necessary to produce their own food. After all, a full stomach only remains full for so long.

How to Solve World Hunger

  • Increase Agricultural Output

By matching food production with food demand in poverty-stricken areas, we can help reduce the debilitating effects of long-term hunger.

  • Connect local farmers to the agricultural workforce and provide them with the resources that can help them expand their crop production.
  • Increase the yield produced by local farmers and help them to protect crops from pests and weeds without the use of harmful chemicals.
  • Healthier soil leads to healthier crops, which leads to healthier people. This also includes introducing better options for long-term food storage, particularly in communities where electricity and freshwater are not readily available.
  • Promote Sustainability

To achieve zero hunger around the world we need to encourage sustainable practices at all levels in vulnerable communities.

This extends beyond farming practices. Helping societies develop the skills and strategies necessary for creating a stable economy and for managing their financial resources, is key to their health and survival.

This includes supporting gender equality by developing female farmers and supporting women’s groups, establishing disaster risk reduction, and instituting accessible medical facilities.

  • Support Government and Infrastructure

Supporting the governments of affected communities to do what is needed in order to move forward is crucial to solving world hunger. Without the laws and policies necessary to support farming families, it won’t matter what kind of agricultural techniques or even what financial resources are available. This also includes access to clean water and education.

Providing information on how to produce, prepare, and preserve food capable of sustaining a nutritious diet and perpetuating a stable economy is the key to the future success of impoverished parts of the world.

  • Eradicate Poverty

To abolish food insecurity worldwide, we need to address systemic poverty issues. By providing resources and education to women and men, we equip vulnerable populations with the tools to perpetuate a sustainable workforce that supports economic growth and enhances long-term food security. This also helps build resilience against natural disasters when they hit poverty-stricken communities.

Poverty in Africa

It’s this kind of work that humanitarian and global development organizations engage in to make ending hunger possible. But you don’t have to leave all the effort to these organizations. Ending hunger will take the participation of everyone. The United Nations’ goal is to “end poverty in all its forms everywhere” by 2030. It’s the responsibility of those who hold the power to create change that will help to achieve this goal.

If you’re passionate about eradicating the number one threat to global health, look into opportunities to donate, contribute within your community or launch a global fundraising campaign. Educate your family and friends about sustainable farming practices and reducing food waste. Any little bit counts and helps provide a suffering family with some relief. Also, there are more ways to contribute to ending hunger other than donating.

What would the end of world hunger look like?

Ending hunger would break a vital cog in the poverty machine, finally allowing impoverished populations a chance at a healthy life. When people aren’t worried about where their next meal is coming from, they can focus on things beyond their most basic needs. Education and the status of women would improve, agricultural practices would advance and nations everywhere would become more productive and self-sustaining.

Ending global hunger would not only improve the lives of populations who have suffered from systemic poverty for millennia, but it would also facilitate peaceful relations around the world. If you have the capacity to donate, become an advocate for ending world hunger, or raise awareness for global hunger relief, get in touch with Food For Life Global and help perpetuate the change today. With your help, all people around the world will gain access to healthier and more fulfilling lives.

How To Make An Impact

donate

Help People

Crypto Currency

Donate Crypto

Animal

Help Animals

fundraise

Fundraise

Projects

Volunteer Opportunities
Become an advocate
start your own project
EMERGENCY RELIEF

VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Become an
Advocate

Start Your
Own Project

EMERGENCY
RELIEF

Recent Posts