世界各地的纯素食主义正以前所未有的速度增长。 仅在过去的3年中,在美国, 素食主义者的数量已经增加 从人口的0.5%到6%,并且没有放缓的迹象!

在本文中,我们将探讨 素食主义 是以及它如何帮助您和环境。

什么是素食主义?

据 素食主义者协会 “素食主义是一种生活方式,力求在可能和切实可行的范围内排除对动物的一切形式的剥削和残忍以供食物,衣服或任何其他用途。

简而言之,素食主义是对动物和动物产品消费和使用的拒绝。 成为素食主义者意味着您不吃动物肉或食用动物衍生产品,例如鸡蛋或奶制品,但这也意味着您不购买或穿皮革,羊毛或毛皮。 

纯素食主义正变得越来越普遍。 您会在世界各地找到素食餐厅,尤其是在主要城市。 大型连锁餐厅也在增加选择。 帕帕·约翰斯(Papa Johns),格雷格(Gregg's),肯德基(KFC),麦当劳(McDonalds)和汉堡王(Burger King)都已在菜单中添加或正在添加一种不是沙拉的纯素食选项。  

这并不是说在当今世界上素食是最容易遵循的生活方式,但这绝对是值得的。

纯素食主义如何帮助环境

世界各地的纯素食主义正以前所未有的速度增长。 仅在过去的3年中,在美国, 素食主义者的数量已经增加 从人口的0.5%到6%,并且没有放缓的迹象!

在本文中,我们将探讨 素食主义 是以及它如何帮助您和环境。

什么是素食主义?

据 素食主义者协会 “素食主义是一种生活方式,力求在可能和切实可行的范围内排除对动物的一切形式的剥削和残忍以供食物,衣服或任何其他用途。

纯素食主义是神奇的-在地面上打印

简而言之,素食主义是对动物和动物产品消费和使用的拒绝。 成为素食主义者意味着您不吃动物肉或食用动物衍生产品,例如鸡蛋或奶制品,但这也意味着您不购买或穿皮革,羊毛或毛皮。 

纯素食主义正变得越来越普遍。 您会在世界各地找到素食餐厅,尤其是在主要城市。 大型连锁餐厅也在增加选择。 帕帕·约翰斯(Papa Johns),格雷格(Gregg's),肯德基(KFC),麦当劳(McDonalds)和汉堡王(Burger King)都已在菜单中添加或正在添加一种不是沙拉的纯素食选项。  

这并不是说在当今世界上素食是最容易遵循的生活方式,但这绝对是值得的。

纯素食主义如何帮助环境

景观-风力发电机

随着澳大利亚的大火迅速燃烧,印度尼西亚的首都在洪水泛滥的情况下沉没,您可能会感觉到,帮助世界和应对气候变化的唯一方法是捐款。 

但是,您也可以通过简单的生活方式改变来有所作为。 

您最近可能已经听到很多有关您的碳足迹的信息。 人们正在抗议飞行,并向替代能源过渡,但尚未讨论的是饮食结构的改变如何对环境产生帮助。

新的 史密森杂志,利用联合国的广泛报告,收集了一些有关畜牧业对环境的影响的令人惊讶的事实,这些事实受到食用动物产品的人(甚至仍然吃乳制品和奶酪的素食者)的支持和支持。 以下是一些最令人jaw目结舌的事实:

  • 地球上有26%的土地用于牲畜
  • 地球上有is用来种牲畜
  • 巴西70%的森林砍伐土地用于牧场,其余大部分用于种植农作物来饲养牲畜
  • 博茨瓦纳23%的水用于畜牧业
  • 全世界18%的温室气体排放是由畜牧业造成的 
  • “在美国,牲畜生产造成了55%的侵蚀,消耗了37%的所有使用的农药和50%的抗生素,而动物本身直接消耗了我们燕麦产量的95%和玉米的80%。”

而这只是在陆地上! 研究还表明,可能存在 无鱼的海洋 早在2048年,由于过度捕捞。 

工厂化农业:你需要知道的一切
https://www.ecowatch.com/what-is-factory-farming.html 

那么纯素饮食如何帮助环境? 

根据牛津大学的研究人员的说法,过渡到纯素食可以将您的碳足迹减少多达 73 percent。 因为您对动物产品说不,所以您不再在财务上支持砍伐森林,过度捕捞,畜牧业造成的污染物或使用污染土壤和水道的抗生素。

除了这些惊人的环境效益外,素食主义者还通过防止海洋酸化来帮助稳定海洋。 此外,素食主义者还可以防止森林砍伐,尤其是热带雨林的砍伐,因为您的饮食现在需要大量减少土地使用。 最后,素食主义者可以通过减少空气污染来帮助清洁空气。 美国环境保护基金会估计,“如果每个美国人每周将一顿鸡肉换成素食替代品,那么二氧化碳的减少将等同于减少超过五十万辆汽车的行驶。”

 您的饮食所能带来的巨大变化令人惊讶。 

素食的直接好处

最近一部宣传素食主义者对健康有益的纪录片, 气候问题的规则重置项目采访了世界上最坚强的人Patrik Baboumian,他也恰好是素食主义者。 

他说的话引起了人们的注意,“人们问,不吃肉怎么能像牛一样强壮。 我说,你见过牛吃肉吗?”

但是力量并不是素食主义者的唯一好处。 还有一些您可能没有意识到的事情,即纯素食的好处是 学术研究:

  • 改善了微量营养素的吸收(以及蛋白质和B12)
  • 降低癌症风险,尤其是结肠癌
  • 降低血糖水平
  • 降低肾功能衰竭的风险
  • 降低患心脏病的风险
  • 减肥(如果您遵循植物性饮食)
  • 降低胆固醇
  • 改善身体素质
  • 改善糖尿病管理
  • 减轻关节炎疼痛

素食主义者如何帮助消除世界饥饿

要了解如何 素食可以帮助消除世界饥饿,当我们了解通过生态系统的能量流动时,我们可以回顾一下我们的中学教育。 

考虑一头牛吃草。 草通过光合作用产生自己的能量,然后为了获取能量,母牛吃了草,因为母牛无法光合作用。 接下来,人类宰杀母牛并吃掉它的肉。 人类从牛身上获取能量。 但是,关键要点是,随着我们远离能源(草)的来源,我们会失去能量。 因此,到人类吃掉牛时,他们所消耗的能量比最初只吃植物时要少。 

就像您将一加仑汽油加水替换为一杯之后,再将其放入汽车中。 显然,您的汽车无法正常行驶。 

那么这与什么有关 世界饥饿?

明尼苏达大学环境研究所的研究人员发现, 53 percent 世界上种植的所有植物蛋白中有一半是喂给动物的。 这种植物蛋白可能使世界各地的人们饿死,被用来喂养动物。 这些动物产生的卡路里不像原始植物蛋白那样多。 大约需要 13千克 谷物产生一磅肉。 与一磅肉相比,可以吃13磅谷物的人更多。 

过渡到 素食主义者的饮食,人们对此问题的意识也越来越强。 配套方案 这种帮助 结束饥饿 通过纯素餐食,您可以充分利用您的捐款,并真正有机会战胜饥饿。

在哪里可以了解有关素食主义的更多信息?

那里有很多关于素食的惊人资源,其中最好的是电影和纪录片形式。 这些分为三类:道德,环境和健康。

素食的道德理由

素食主义的环境效益

素食主义的健康益处

准备好吃素了吗?

既然您对素食主义的直接和长期影响有了更多了解,请立即转变您的饮食习惯, 继续阅读 了解更多有关如何帮助建立更美好世界的信息。

请考虑支持我们的工作

你可以帮忙!

https://ffl.org/app/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。
Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。
保罗·特纳

保罗·特纳

保罗·特纳共同创立 Food for Life Global 1995 年,他曾是僧侣、世界银行资深人士、企业家、整体生活教练、素食厨师,着有 6 本书,其中包括《FOOD YOGA》、《灵魂幸福的 7 条格言》。

先生。 在过去的 72 年里,特纳走遍了 35 个国家,帮助建立“生命之粮”项目、培训志愿者并记录他们的成功。

如何产生影响

捐赠

帮助他人

加密货币

捐赠加密货币

动物

帮助动物

募捐

募捐筹款

项目

志愿者机会
成为一名倡导者
开始你自己的项目
紧急救援

志工
机遇

成为
宣传倡导

开始你的
自己的项目

紧急
RELIEF

最新动态 abc

sliced orange

The Positive Effects of Veganism

Veganism around the world is growing more rapidly than ever before. In the United States over the past 3 years alone, the number of vegans has grown from 0.5 percent to 6 percent of the population, and it shows no signs of slowing down!

In this article, we’ll explore what veganism is and how it can help you and the environment.

What is Veganism?

According to the Vegan Society, “veganism is a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose.

Veganism is magic - print on the ground

Put simply, veganism is the rejection of the consumption and use of animals and animal-based products. To be a vegan means that you don’t eat animal meat or consume animal-derived products, such as eggs or dairy, but it also means that you don’t purchase or wear leather, wool, or fur. 

Veganism is becoming increasingly more prevalent. You’ll find vegan restaurants all over the world, especially in major cities. Big restaurant chains are also adding options. Papa Johns, Gregg’s, KFC, McDonalds, and Burger King have all added, or are in the process of adding, a vegan option that’s not salad, to their menus.  

That’s not to say that being vegan in today’s world is the easiest lifestyle to follow, but it’s definitely worth it.

How Veganism Helps the Environment

Landscape - wind-turbines

With fires rapidly burning in Australia and the capital of Indonesia sinking under flash flood waters, you might feel like the only way to help the world and combat climate change is through monetary donations. 

However, you can also make a difference with a simple lifestyle change. 

You’ve probably heard a lot about your carbon footprint lately. People are protesting flights and making the transition to alternative energy, but yet to be discussed is how a diet change can help the environment.

The Smithsonian Magazine, using the United Nation’s extensive report, gathered some astonishing facts about the environmental impact of animal agriculture, which is powered and supported by those who consume animal products (even vegetarians who still eat dairy and cheese). Here are some of the most jaw-dropping facts:

  • 26 percent of the earth’s land is used for livestock
  • ⅓ of the earth’s land is used to grow crops for livestock
  • 70 percent of Brazil’s deforested land is used for pasture while much of the remainder is used to grow crops to feed the livestock
  • 23% of water in Botswana is used by the livestock industry
  • 18% of greenhouse gas emissions around the world are caused by the livestock industry 
  • “In the United States, livestock production is responsible for 55 percent of erosion, 37 percent of all applied pesticides and 50 percent of antibiotics consumed, while the animals themselves directly consume 95 percent of our oat production and 80 percent of our corn.”

And this is just on land! Studies have also shown that there could be fishless seas as early as 2048 due to overfishing. 

So how can a vegan diet help the environment? 

Sliced green vegetables

According to researchers at Oxford University, transitioning to a vegan diet could cut your carbon footprint by as much as 73 percent. Because you’re saying no to animal products, you are no longer financially supporting deforestation, overfishing, pollutants caused by livestock farming, or the use of antibiotics that contaminate soil and waterways.

Beyond these amazing environmental benefits, veganism also helps to stabilize the oceans by helping to prevent ocean acidification. Furthermore, veganism helps prevent deforestation, particularly of rainforests, because your diet now requires a great deal less land use. Finally, veganism can help clean the air by reducing air pollution. The US Environmental Defense Fund estimated that “if every American swapped one meal of chicken for a vegetarian alternative each week, the reduction in carbon dioxide would be the same as taking more than half a million cars off the road.”

 It’s amazing how much difference your diet can make. 

Immediate Benefits of a Vegan Diet

One of the most recent documentaries that promotes veganism for the health benefits, Game Changers, interviewed the strongest man in the world, Patrik Baboumian, who also happens to be vegan. 

metre on the white background

Something he said got people’s attention, “People ask how you can get strong as an ox, without eating meat. And I said, have you ever seen an ox eat meat?"

Vitamines and green powder

But strength isn’t the only benefit to veganism. Here’s a few more things you might not realize that are benefits of a vegan diet that are backed by academic research:

  • Improved micronutrients absorption (and protein and B12)
  • Reduced risk of cancer, especially colon cancer
  • Lower blood sugar levels
  • Reduced risk of kidney failure
  • Lowered risk of heart disease
  • Weight loss (if you follow a plant-based diet)
  • Lowered cholesterol
  • Improved physical fitness
  • Improved diabetes management
  • Reduced arthritis pain

How a Vegan Diet Can Help End World Hunger

White plate with sad face on the pink background

To understand how a vegan diet can help end world hunger, we can look back at our high school education when we learned about energy flow through ecosystems. 

Consider a cow eating grass. The grass makes its own energy through photosynthesis and then to get energy, the cow eats the grass because a cow cannot photosynthesize. Next, a human slaughters that cow and eats its flesh. The human gets the energy from the cow. However, the key takeaway is that as we get further away from the origin of the energy (the grass) we lose energy. So by the time a human eats the cow, they’ve consumed less energy than they would have had they just eaten a plant in the first place. 

It’s as if you took a gallon of gasoline and replaced a cup of it with water before putting it into your car. Evidently, your car won’t run as well. 

So what does this have to do with world hunger?

According to researchers at the University of Minnesota’s Institute on the Environment found that 53 percent of all plant protein being grown in the world is fed to animals. This plant protein, which could go to starving people around the world, is used to feed animals. These animals don’t produce as many calories as the original plant protein would have. It takes about 13 pounds of grain to create a pound of meat. A lot more people can be fed with 13 pounds of grain than one pound of meat. 

The more people who transition to a vegan diet, the more awareness is called to this issue. Supporting programs that help end hunger through vegan meals are the ones that are making the most of your donations and truly have a shot at beating starvation.

Where Can I Learn More About Veganism?

A red apple, books, pencils and letters are on thetable in the classroom

There are so many amazing resources about veganism out there and some of the best come in film and documentary form. These are divided into three categories: ethical, environmental, and health.

Ethical Reasons to Go Vegan

  • Okja
  • Earthlings
  • Maximum Tolerated Dose
  • The Ghosts in Our Machine
  • Dominion
  • Blackfish
  • Deadly Dairy

Environmental Benefits of Veganism

  • Cowspiracy
  • Before the Flood
  • The End of Meat
  • Racing Extinction
  • Meathooked and End of Water - An episode of HBO’s Vice

Health Benefits of Veganism

  • What the Health
  • Forks Over Knives
  • The Game Changers
  • Eating You Alive
  • Diet Fiction
  • Food, Inc.

Ready to Go Vegan?

Now that you know more about the immediate and long term effects of veganism, transition your diet today and keep reading to learn more about how you can help make a better world.

Please consider supporting our work

Image