世界粮食日是一个好主意,但是真正解决世界饥饿问题的办法是什么?

17月2014日XNUMX年
Paul TurnerPaul Turner

16月XNUMX日,世界各地每年庆祝世界粮食日,以纪念世界粮食日的成立日期。 粮食及农业组织 1945年联合国粮食及农业组织成立。许多其他与粮食安全有关的组织,包括世界粮食计划署和国际农业发展基金会,广泛地庆祝了这一天。

在最近的联合国大会上,宣布2014年将是“家庭农业的国际年”(IYFF)。 因此,今年国际盛会的主题是 家庭农业:“养育世界,关爱地球”

家庭农场420x240

当我看到“家庭农业”一词时,我立即想知道有多少人认为家庭农场与养牛有关。 在过去的50年中,动物农业游说团体对公众的认知产生了如此巨大的影响,这不足为奇。 但是,“家庭农场”只是一个家庭拥有和经营的农场,而不是一些大公司。 像其他家族企业一样,所有权通常通过继承传给下一代。 它是人类历史上最基本的经济结构,在发展中国家仍然如此。

2014年国际森林年的目标是通过发现差距和机会,促进向更加平等和平衡的发展转变,将家庭农业重新定位为国家议程中农业,环境和社会政策的中心。 正如2006年所指出的那样,这是改变粮食生产政策的主要推动力,目前对畜牧业提供了许多经济支持,并带来了破坏性后果 联合国关于动物农业对环境的影响的报告,这表明养牛比驾驶汽车产生更多的温室气体。 然而,大约8年后,这份令人发指的报告几乎没有得到任何报道。 但是,也许,也许,随着联合国对家庭农业的新推动,公众可能会开始看到大局。

家庭农业是我们未来粮食安全所依赖的支点”,世界粮食计划署(WFP)执行主任Ertharin Cousin说。 她强调指出,在为家庭农场建立新的可持续发展愿景时,应增加全球粮食供应和 保护地球的资源,“我们必须解决一个普遍的问题:性别不平等。” 考辛斯在此声明中强调了许多不平等的农业投入途径(:政府补贴)影响妇女,迫使她们“努力工作,而工作时间更长,花费更少。”

家庭农场

弗朗西斯教皇路易吉·特拉瓦格利诺大主教强调,有必要承认农村家庭的日益重要的作用并发挥其全部潜力。 “今年致力于家庭农业的活动使我们看到农村家庭可以应对粮食短缺 而不破坏创作资源。 但我们必须对他们的需求作出回应。”他说。

动物农业的肮脏秘密

影响国家和全球粮食供应的最重要因素之一是政府为农民提供的补贴金额。 大多数纳税人不知道,但目前,这种“支出”主要用于畜牧业,从而增加了肉类的成本 人为地低。 是的,您的税款一直在支付农民使用和虐待动物的费用,使畜牧业(工厂化养殖)成为一种负担得起的商业模式,而事实上,生产肉类的实际成本会使畜牧业破产。 这种偏向于对地球造成环境破坏的行业的支持,甚至比历史上所有埃克森漏油事件都严重,这主要是由于其强大的游说者和巨大的财务权力不仅影响公共政策,而且影响公众对健康构成的描述饮食。

畜牧工厂化养殖

肉图集

《肉类图集》是有史以来有关世界农业的许多引人入胜的研究之一。 它着重说明了有多少资金注入了世界各地的畜牧业部门,这如何使肉类价格下降得比自然经济中的价格低。 撰写这份报告的海因里希·伯尔基金会(HeinrichBöllFoundation)总裁芭芭拉·乌姆西格(BarbaraUnmüßig)表示:“在许多国家,消费者厌倦了农业综合企业的迷恋。 消费者不像美国和欧盟那样,使用公共资金来补贴工厂化农场,而是希望有合理的政策来促进生态,社会和道德上合理的畜牧生产。

在当前情况下,要使独立的“家庭农民”恢复任何实际的经济独立性,似乎有必要对整个食品行业进行重组。 希望我们在这一天真正开始发生转变,将注意力从继续破坏环境和控制信息的行业转移开来。

联合国不考虑什么

联合国粮农组织在教育公众方面已经做了很多工作,并通过其千年发展目标提供了许多解决方案,今年专门指出了性别不平等是主要的原因。 但是,由于组织的政治性质,他们没有考虑,并且坦率地说,他们无法考虑的是,造成世界饥饿的真正原因是精神上的不平等。

我们坚信只有在意识发生重大转变并且世界开始看到 众生的精神平等(包括牛,猪和鸡),几乎没有机会真正解决世界饥饿问题。 为何如此?

正如我们多次指出的那样,即使联合国也支持这一点,世界饥饿不是由于世界上缺乏粮食,而是由于地球资源分配不公。 根据大多数报告,如果更有效地利用农业资源,地球就有能力养活目前人口的两倍。 例如,您是否知道动物农场使用了世界谷物总产量的近40%。 在美国,多达80%的谷物产量用于饲养牲畜? 然而,同样的牲畜只能养活人类的一小部分。

将资源转移到破坏环境的用途

玉米是许多拉丁美洲和撒哈拉以南国家的主食,而“全世界,玉米主要用作动物饲料。 小麦在食物和饲料之间的分配更为平均,在西方,中国和印度等许多地区,小麦是主食。

考虑以下几点:

  • 全世界的牛群总数约为1.3亿,占地球土地约24%
  • 在美国,一半的水用于种植谷物作为牛饲料
  • 生产一磅谷物牛肉需要一加仑汽油

每生产一磅红肉,家禽,鸡蛋和牛奶,农田就会损失约五磅不可替代的表层土壤。 肉类饲养所需的水每天每只动物约190加仑,如果有水的话,则是正常印度家庭一天要使用的水的十倍。 – Vandana Shiva,《被偷的收获》(南端出版社,2000年),第70-71页。

动物猪

牛肉的影响涵盖了当今的许多问题

集约化饲养世界的动物一直是现代世界的最大错误,导致历史上最大的土地滥用和滥用,过度放牧导致土地退化,表土流失和水资源浪费。 包括亚马逊河在内的大量森林已经完全被放牧的牲畜所取代。

巴西绿色和平组织在贝伦世界社会论坛上发布了一份报告,该报告显示 亚马逊地区80%的森林砍伐 雨林是由于养牛供人类消费的增加。

[b] eef作为食物来源效率极低。 到美国的育肥场准备屠宰时,它已经消耗了2,700磅谷物,重约1,050磅; 157亿吨谷物和植物蛋白用于生产28吨动物蛋白。 …[B] eef美国人食用它的数量不健康,与心血管疾病,结肠癌,乳腺癌和骨质疏松症有关。 然而,美国人是世界上最大的肉类消费者和牛肉的最大消费者。 -理查德·罗宾斯(Richard Robbins),《全球问题与资本主义文化》,(艾琳和培根,1999年),第221页

但是,暂时不用担心饲养牲畜的恐怖和精神错乱,事实是:世界饥饿的主要原因不是上述原因,而是事实上 精神上的不平等 表现为 贪婪

您会看到人类是否公平分享地球资源,世界饥饿以及许多其他社会问题。 那为什么不这样做呢?

名人世界使我们分裂

关于我们所生活的世界的一件有趣的事是我们给事物起的名字。 如果我们的大脑不能吸收声音的含义,语言可以使我们保持距离和联系。 在说英语的国家中,我们称其为“面包”,而在俄罗斯,则将其称为“帮助”,在亚美尼亚,将面包称为“ puri”。 它们是完全不同的声音振动,它们都试图识别相同的物质。 有些人认为“食物”也是如此。 有些人崇拜一头牛,而另一些人则将一头牛视为很多“汉堡包”。 同样,美国人在中国和其他国家花费数十亿美元购买“宠物狗”是很普遍的事,“狗”是主要的做法!

要记住的另一件事是,当我们标记某物时,实际上是给该物一种永久感,而实际上在这个世界上没有什么是永久性的,因为构成该物的物质元素处于不断变化和破裂的状态下。 今天我们认为是“办公桌”,曾经是“树”,将来很可能会变成壁炉中的“煤”。 相同的材料元素组合采用了三种截然不同的外观,每种外观都有其独特的标签,尽管世界瞬息万变,但我们通常还是视而不见并开始为自己制定永久计划。

那么,这与世界饥饿有什么关系? 一切。

您会发现,一旦我们掌握了我们都来自同一个充满活力的游泳池这一事实,那么这种感觉就会成为一种充满活力的平等感。 我们都是由同一种材料组成的,它们的组合方式不同,可以创造出我们所看到,感受到和听到的各种材料形式。 当然,我们不仅仅是物质,世界上伟大的灵性导师也试图提醒我们这个更深层的真理-我们本质上是物质机器中的“见证人”或“驱动者”。 当我们对生活有了更深入的了解时,它为平等的概念增加了更多的可信度。 现在,我们不仅可以谈论能量相似性,还可以谈论真实性。 精神平等.

RandoAct-视频屏幕

这是我们的使命 Food for Life Global 通过分享纯净食物的实践表达来教导这种简单的属灵平等真理。 我们希望这样做,希望每个人都将得到用餐,以及每个目睹无私的善举的人,都有一个真正的“啊哈”时刻,并且永远不会再以同样的方式看到世界就像世界饥饿将成为过去无知的残余。

请支持我们的工作.

[PayPal捐赠]

 

发表评论

Blog

World Food Day is a great idea, but what is the real solution to World Hunger?

World Food Day is celebrated every year around the world on 16 October in honor of the date of the founding of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations in 1945. The day is celebrated widely by many other organisations concerned with food security, including the World Food Programme and the International Fund for Agricultural Development.

At the most recent United Nations General Assembly, it was declared that 2014 would be the “International Year of Family Farming” (IYFF). Therefore, this year the theme for the internationally acclaimed event is Family Farming: “Feeding the world, caring for the earth”

family-farm-420x240

When I see the words, “Family Farming,” I immediately wonder how many people think of family farms as associated with raising cattle. The animal agriculture lobby groups have had so much influence on public perception over the last 50 years that it would not be surprising. However, a “family farm” is simply a farm owned and operated by a family and not some large corporation. Like other family businesses, ownership often passes to the next generation by inheritance. It is the most fundamental economic structure of much of human history and continues to be so in developing nations.

The goal of 2014 IYFF is to reposition family farming at the centre of agricultural, environmental and social policies in the national agendas by identifying gaps and opportunities to promote a shift towards a more equal and balanced development. This is a major push to change food production policies with much of the economic support currently going to animal agriculture, and with devastating consequences, as pointed out in the 2006 UN report on the environmental impact of animal agriculture, that stated that  the rearing of cattle produces more greenhouse gases than driving cars. And yet, some 8 years later, this damning report hardly gets any press. However, maybe, just maybe, with this new push for family farming by the UN the public may start to see the big picture.

Family Farming is the fulcrum on which our future food security pivots,” said Executive Director of the World Food Programme (WFP) Ertharin Cousin. She highlighted that in establishing a new and sustainable vision for family farms that enhances global food supplies and protects the earth’s resources, “we must address one universal problem: gender inequity.” With this statement Cousins highlighted the multitude of ways that unequal access to agricultural inputs (read: government subsidies) affects women, forcing them to “work harder and longer for less.”

familyfarms

Archbishop Luigi Travaglino, Pope Francis underlined the need to acknowledge the increasing role of the rural family and to develop its full potential. “This year dedicated to family farming has served to allow us to see that the rural family can respond to a lack of food without destroying the resources of creation. But we must be responsive to their needs,” he said.

Animal Agriculture’s dirty secret

One of the most important factors affecting national and global food supplies is the amount of money which governments pay out in subsidies to farmers. Most tax payers don’t know it, but currently, this “payout” is heavily weighted towards animal agriculture, making the cost of meat artificially low. Yes, your tax money has been paying for farmers to use and abuse animals, making animal agriculture (factory farming) an affordable business model when in fact the real cost of producing meat would leave the livestock industry broke. This biased support of an industry that has caused an environmental damage to the planet than even all the Exxon oil spills in history is largely due to their powerful lobbyist and immense financial power to influence not only public policy but the public narrative of what constitutes a healthy diet.

livestock-factory-farming

The Meat Atlas

The Meat Atlas is one of many fascinating studies on the world’s agricultural industries ever to be released. It highlights just how much money is pumped into the animal agriculture sectors around the world, and how this is making meat prices drop lower than in a natural economy. Barbara Unmüßig, president of the Heinrich Böll Foundation, who created this report says that “In many countries, consumers are fed up with being deluded by the agribusiness. Instead of using public money to subsidize factory farms – as in the United States and the European Union, consumers want reasonable policies that promote ecologically, socially and ethically sound livestock production.

In the current situation, for the independent “family farmer” to regain any sort of practical economic independence, it would seem necessary that the entire food industry is restructured. Let’s hope that on this day, a shift really starts happening to move the spotlight away from an industry that continues to destroy the environment and control the message.

What the UN is not Considering

The United Nations FAO has done much to educate the public about world hunger and has offered a number of solutions through their Millennium Development Goals, this year specifically pointing out how gender inequity is a major contributor. However, what they do not consider, and quite frankly are unable to because of the political nature of their organization, is that the real cause of world hunger is spiritual inequality.

We strongly believe that only until there is a major shift in consciousness and the world begins to see the spiritual equality of all living beings, including cows, pigs, and chickens, can there be a remote chance of actually solving world hunger. How so?

As we have pointed out numerous times, and which is supported even by the United Nations, world hunger is not due to a lack of food in the world, but rather inequitable distribution of the Earth’s resources. According to most reports, the earth has the capacity to feed double the current population if agricultural resources were used more efficiently. For example, did you know that animal farms use nearly 40 percent of the world’s total grain production. In the United States, up to 80 percent of grain production is fed to livestock? And yet this same livestock can only feed a fraction of humanity.

Diverting Resources To Environmentally Destructive Uses

Whereas corn is a staple food in many Latin American and Sub-Saharan countries, “worldwide, corn is used largely as feed for animals. Wheat is more evenly divided between food and feed and is a staple food in many regions such as the West, China and India.

Consider the following:

  • The total cattle population for the world is approximately 1.3 billion occupying some 24% of the land of the planet
  • Half the water consumed in the U.S. is used to grow grain for cattle feed
  • A gallon of gasoline is required to produce a pound of grain-fed beef

For every pound of red meat, poultry, eggs, and milk produced, farm fields lose about five pounds of irreplaceable top soil. The water necessary for meat breeding comes to about 190 gallons per animal per day, or ten times what a normal Indian family is supposed to use in one day, if it gets water at all. – Vandana Shiva, Stolen Harvest, (South End Press, 2000), pp. 70-71.

animalagri-pigs

The impact of beef covers many issues today

The intensive farming of animals to feed the world has been the biggest mistake of the modern world, leading to the greatest misuse and abuse of land in history, with overgrazing leading to land degradation, topsoil loss and water wastage. Large amounts of forests, including the Amazon have been totally lost to cattle grazing.

Greenpeace Brazil released a report at the World Social Forum in Belém showing that up to 80 percent of deforestation in the Amazon rainforest is due to an increase in raising cattle for human consumption. (Source)

[B]eef is terribly inefficient as a source of food. By the time a feedlot steer in the United States is ready for slaughter, it has consumed 2,700 pounds of grain and weighs approximately 1,050 pounds; 157 million metric tons of cereal and vegetable protein is used to produce 28 metric tons of animal protein. … [B]eef in the quantities that Americans consume it is unhealthy, being linked to cardiovascular disease, colon cancer, breast cancer, and osteoporosis. Yet Americans are among the highest meat consumers in the world and the highest consumers of beef. — Richard Robbins, Global Problems and the Culture of Capitalism, (Allyn and Bacon, 1999) p.221

But putting aside the horrors and insanity of raising cattle for food for a moment, the fact is: the principle cause of world hunger is none of the above, but is in fact spiritual inequality that manifests as greed.

You see if the human population equitably shared the resources of the earth, world hunger and a host of other social issues would cease to exist. So why aren’t we doing that?

The World of Names Keeps us Divided

A funny thing about the world we live in is the names we give things. Languages have a way of keeping us rather distant and disconnected if our brains are not able to assimilate the meaning of the sound. In an English speaking countries, we call something “bread” and yet in Russia this same thing is known as “help,” or in Armenia, bread is called “puri.” They are very different sound vibrations all trying to identify the same material thing. The same applies to what some people consider “food”. Whereas some people worship a cow, others see a cow as a whole lot of “hamburgers.” Similarly, while it is very common for Americans to spend billions on their “pet dogs” in China and other countries “dogs” are on the main course!

Another thing to keep in mind is when we label something we are essentially giving that thing a sense of permanence when in fact nothing is really permanent in this world, since the material elements which make up that thing are in a constant state of flux and breaking down. What we consider to be a “desk” today, was at one time a “tree” and which in the future could very well be turned into “coal” in a fireplace. The same combination of material elements has taken on three very different appearances, each with its own unique labelling and yet despite the transient nature of this world we generally turn a blind eye and go about making permanent plans for ourselves.

So what does this have to do with world hunger? Everything.

You see, once we grasp the fact that we are all sourced from the same energetic pool then the feeling will be a sense of energetic equality. We are all made up of the same material stuff combined differently to create the various material forms we see, feel and hear. Of course, we are much more than matter and the great spiritual teachers of the world have tried to alert us to this deeper truth — that we are essentially a “witness” or a “driver” within a material machine. When we go to this deeper understanding of life, it adds even more credibility to the notion of equality. We can now talk of not only energetic similarity but of true spiritual equality.

RandoAct-VIDEOscreen

It is our mission at Food for Life Global to teach this simple truth of spiritual equality through the practical expression of sharing pure food. In doing that we hope that each and every person that receives a meal, along with each and every person that witnesses the selfless act of kindness, will have a real “aha” moment and will never see the world in the same way again and things like world hunger will become some remnant of a past ignorance.

Please support our work.

 

About Editor

Director of Food for Life Global and the author of the best selling book, FOOD YOGA - Nourishing Body, Mind & Soul. http://www.foodyogi.org

Leave a Comment