捐贈給慈善機構的衣服:要考慮的頂級非營利組織

最後更新於 14 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日
保羅·羅德尼·特納保羅·羅德尼·特納

將你的衣服捐贈給非營利組織是支持一項有價值的事業、整理你的衣櫥和拯救地球的一種方式。 據統計,每年約有 11.3 萬噸衣物垃圾被運往垃圾填埋場,遺憾的是,這些面料並沒有迅速降解。 

根據面料的不同,可能需要數周到數年才能分解。 它變得更糟。 該過程釋放出甲烷,這是一種比二氧化碳更致命的溫室氣體。 幸運的是,您可以將衣服捐贈給需要它們的人,支持一項有價值的事業並幫助拯救地球。 

在這方面,我們編制了一份接受服裝捐贈的組織名單。 雖然其中一些組織回收或轉售這些衣服以籌集資金用於其他原因,但其他組織將收集到的衣服直接提供給需要它們的人。 

除了這些收集衣物捐贈的組織外,您可能還想考慮向其他慈善機構捐款,例如 Food for Life Global (FFLG)。 Food for Life Global 是世界上最大的食品救濟網絡,每天為 2 個國家的飢餓兒童提供超過 60 萬份素食餐。 FFLG 擁有超過 210 家附屬機構以及贊助商和捐助者的穩定支持,致力於結束世界飢餓,需要您的捐款來實現這一目標。 

事不宜遲,當您想將衣服捐贈給慈善機構時,以下列表將派上用場。

美國紅十字會

美國紅十字會 無疑是美國最受尊敬和最古老的人道主義組織之一。 除了向有需要的人提供緊急援助外,美國紅十字會還為全球數百萬人提供備災教育和救災服務。 

通過其強大的合作夥伴、捐助者和志願者網絡,美國紅十字會始終在需要時提供幫助。

這個人道主義組織是 目前與 GreenDrop 合作,一個非營利組織,將捐贈的衣服轉售給舊貨店,以籌集資金支持美國紅十字會。 

綠滴

正如我們之前提到的,GreenDrop 與美國紅十字會合作,通過轉售捐贈的衣服來籌集資金。 事實上,GreenDrop 與其他著名組織建立了合作夥伴關係,包括費城聖文森特德保羅協會、全國盲人聯合會和紫心服務基金會軍事勳章。 

這個非營利組織通過收集捐贈的家居用品和衣服來籌集資金。 然後,捐贈的物品將與用於支持這些的收益一起出售 慈善組織 實現他們支持貧困、盲人和美國退伍軍人的計劃和使命。

2019 年,捐贈物品的收益超過 3.7 萬美元,約佔其淨收入的 40%。 GreenDrop 將這些資金支付給慈善機構,以支持他們的地方和全國性項目。 

要向 GreenDrop 捐款,請考慮安排上門取貨或查找最近的 GreenDrop 位置. 然後等待您首選慈善機構通過電子郵件發送的稅單。

貝卡的壁櫥

作為一個全國性的非營利組織,Becca's Closet 主要向那些負擔不起的高中女生捐贈正裝。 該非營利組織是為了紀念麗貝卡·柯特曼而創建的,直到 2003 年 250 月她在一場車禍中去世之前,她在 2003 年春天獨自收集並分發了 XNUMX 多件舞會禮服給南佛羅里達州服務不足的女孩,以幫助她們參加舞會。 

雖然 Becca's Closet 的核心任務是收集和分發正裝給處境不利的高中女生,但他們已經擴大到為在社區中表現出模範服務的應得的年輕人提供獎學金機會。 

為了幫助保持 Becca 的夢想,您可以通過他們的聯繫最近的當地分會來捐贈衣服和金錢 網站

一名非營利工作人員攜帶一堆最近捐贈的衣服

大哥大姐妹基金會

Big Brothers Big Sisters Foundation (BBBSF) 是接受衣物捐贈的地方之一。 他們收集舊物品,包括衣服,出售它們,並將所得收益分配給指導計劃。 這些收益有助於支持馬薩諸塞州的 30,000 多名年輕人。 

據《福布斯》報導,Big Brothers Big Sisters 因其在處理捐贈方面的責任心和效率而被高度評價為美國十大最佳非營利組織之一。 來自公司和基金會的重大投資幫助 BBBSF 與年輕人建立聯繫,使他們能夠充分發揮潛力。

通過訪問 BBBSF 網站了解有關向 BBBSF 捐款的更多信息 這裡

職業裝備

儘管 Career Gear 專注於為有抱負的企業家提供與業務相關的內容,讓他們為他們的業務選擇合適的軟件和設備,但該非營利組織也接受適合年輕人在面試時穿的適合業務的服裝。 

Career Gear 也接受男士休閒商務裝。 您可以在他們每月的送達日期之一將您的捐款帶到他們的辦公室。 

著裝成功

如果你有足夠多的職業服裝,可以考慮捐一些給 Dress for Success。 這個慈善組織通過為低收入職業女性提供適合工作的服裝來賦予她們權力。 

Dress for Success 成立於 1997 年,現已擴展到 150 個國家的近 25 個城鎮。 它還幫助超過 1.2 萬女性在職業生涯中發展並獲得工作。 

在您將衣服捐贈給像 Dress for Success 這樣的慈善機構之前,請確保它已經乾洗或洗滌並且狀況良好。 他們接受幾乎全新的成衣商務休閒和適合工作的女裝。 

您可以在最近的附屬地點放棄您的捐款。 請注意,每個地點都有特定的下車時間以及營業日期和營業時間。 因此,最好在捐贈前提前致電。 

正確折疊的衣服準備捐贈

商譽

Goodwill 是一家著名的非營利組織,接受衣物捐贈。 由美國舊貨店網絡資助,Goodwill 的商店收入直接用於通過為人們提供安置服務、職業培訓和其他基於社區的計劃來幫助他們發展事業和找到工作。

任何未售出的物品都會被送往回收組織,以避免將其送往垃圾填埋場。 Goodwill 接受輕輕用過的新衣服、配飾和鞋子,他們還收集電器、家具、書籍和其他家居用品。  

您可以將您的捐款放在最近的 Goodwill 捐贈中心和商店,您可以在訪問他們的網站時找到它們。 一些 Goodwill 地點還為難以運輸的大件物品提供取件選擇。 

一件保暖外套

您是否有太多夾克並想與弱勢群體分享它們以在冬季保持溫暖? 考慮將您的備用外套捐贈給非營利組織,該非營利組織為需要它們的服務不足的人提供免費夾克:一件保暖外套。

自 1992 年以來,該非營利組織一直致力於提高人們對保暖外套需求的認識。 本著這種精神,該慈善組織自成立以來已經舉辦了超過 38,000 次大衣活動,隨後提供了 6.6 萬件免費大衣。

一件保暖外套可以接受輕微磨損和全新的兒童、男士和女士外套,沒有污漬和破洞。 簡而言之,它們必須是可穿戴且乾淨的。 

您可以在冬季和秋季的活動外套驅動器期間捐贈一件保暖外套。 另一種捐贈方式是瀏覽他們的網站並找到您附近的非營利合作夥伴。 但是,請確保您事先與他們聯繫以確認下車時間。 

星球援助

雖然大多數慈善機構只接受可穿戴且狀況良好的衣服,但 Planet Aid 會收集好的和壞的。 你有沒有想過,“我在哪裡可以把我的衣服送出去”? 無論他們的狀態如何,Planet Aid 都會接收他們。 它們使您能夠捐贈和回收不需要的衣服,以確保它們不會最終進入垃圾填埋場。  

這個非營利組織出售和回收捐贈的衣服並將它們送到發展中國家。 銷售所得用於消除這些地區的貧困。 

Planet Aid 接受所有形式的衣服,無論其狀態如何(有眼淚、污漬或破洞)。 他們只會拒絕發霉、潮濕或骯髒的衣服。 Planet Aid 還收集窗簾、毛巾、床上用品和鞋子。 

如果您想向 Planet Aid 捐款,只需將您不需要的物品放入袋子中,然後將它們丟棄在該國 19,000 個 Planet Aid 的黃色投遞箱中的任何一個。 

救世軍

這個國際慈善機構每年幫助近 23 萬美國人。 救世軍提供服務,包括支持 LGBTQ+ 社區、老年人和退伍軍人、進行救災和運營無家可歸者收容所。 

捐贈衣物有助於為這家非營利組織的慈善舊貨店網絡存貨,所得款項用於資助該慈善機構的成人康復中心。 

救世軍接受各種衣物捐贈,包括童裝、女裝和男裝及配飾。 歡迎其他商品,如家居用品、電器和家具。 

如果您決定向救世軍捐款,請考慮尋找最近的接送中心或安排接送服務。 

捐贈的物品準備好改變接受者的生活

Soles4Souls

您的鞋子數量是否超出您的承受能力並想捐贈一些? Soles4Souls 幫助將衣服和鞋子變成機會。 

這個非營利組織通過收集捐贈的服裝和鞋類來分發給美國和全世界有需要的人。 Soles4Souls 還通過幫助服務不足的創業者出售他們收到的捐贈的衣服和鞋子來與貧困作鬥爭。 

這個非營利組織接受所有尺寸和款式的輕度磨損和新衣服和鞋子。 您可以在最近的下車地點進行捐款,並且在繼續下車之前不要忘記伸出援手。 

另一種選擇是通過 Zappos for Good 免費運送您的捐款。 這樣,您就可以在 UPS 上使用他們的預付運輸標籤。 請記住在您捐贈的每盒鞋子或每袋衣服中包含捐贈者表格。 

越戰美國退伍軍人

這個非營利組織通過其外展計劃、教育和立法舉措,通過收集家居用品和衣服的捐贈來服務和促進越南戰爭退伍軍人的需求。 美國越戰退伍軍人協會 (VVA) 要么將這些物品直接提供給低收入和無家可歸的退伍軍人,要么在非營利組織的轉售商店中轉售,為他們的倡議和計劃籌集資金。 

VVA 接受各種尺寸和類型的服裝,包括鞋子和配飾。 他們還收到家用物品,如電器和家具。 

假設您正在尋找一種方式向 VVA 捐款、安排接送服務或尋找最近的下車地點。 您還可以輸入 Pick Up Please,這是 VVA 的一個程序,可在 24 小時內領取捐款。 

什麼都不買組

Buy Nothing 項目成立於 2013 年,旨在通過超本地化禮品和減少環境影響來建立一個相互聯繫的社區,該項目為人們提供了一種借閱、分享和接收禮物的方式。 

通過他們的全球禮品經濟網絡,您可以將不需要的衣服送給真正需要它們的人。 只需利用社區,找一個靠近你的有需要的人,他們會欣賞這些衣服。

自由自行車網

Freecycle Network® 擁有 5,000 多個當地城鎮,在全球擁有超過 XNUMX 萬會員。 這是一項非營利運動,人們在城市中免費獲取和贈送東西,同時減少環境浪費。 

Freecycle Network 提供免費會員資格,網站上發布的所有內容都應適合所有年齡段、合法且可訪問。 當您在網站上註冊時,加入至少一個當地城鎮團體或與您的朋友創建一個朋友圈。 

然後你發布關於你想要接收或給予的東西的帖子,例如衣服,其他成員會回复你並安排接送地點和時間。 

嚴重損壞的物品會被回收和重複使用,您可以使用網站上提供的地址發送您的物品。 因此,如果您一直在尋找舊衣服的存放地點,Freecycle.org 可以回收和重複使用它們。 

結論 

你有它! 嘗試向慈善機構捐贈衣服時要考慮的頂級非營利組織。 無論他們是直接將衣服提供給需要它們的人,還是轉售以支持其他有價值的事業,最重要的是你在幫助服務不足的人,同時保護地球免受環境退化。 

所以下次你想整理你的衣櫥時,記住一些慈善機構會接受那些成堆的衣服,這樣你就不必把它們送到垃圾填埋場了。 只需檢查您附近有哪些上述慈善機構,並負責任地處理您的衣服。 

這篇文章是由 愛洛藍 – 為您的衣櫥尋找完美的基本款,從 Arlo Blue 購買 T 卹後,再也不會有糟糕的一天。

一旦你更新了你的衣櫥訪問 EdnaKeep 網站 改變你的心態,提升你的生活方式。 

如果您不願意捐贈衣服,但仍想成為有價值的事業的一部分,請考慮支持飢餓救濟組織,例如 Food for Life Global. 25年來, Food for Life Global (FFLG) 已為 60 個國家/地區的數百萬服務不足的人提供數百萬份素食餐。 

您可以捐贈金錢或加密貨幣,以幫助他們接觸更多有需要的人並結束世界飢餓。

發表評論

如何產生影響

捐贈

幫助他人

加密貨幣

捐贈加密貨幣

動物

幫助動物

我們的項目

志願者機會
成為倡導者
開始你自己的項目
緊急救援

志願者
機遇

成為

開始你的
自己的項目

緊急
救濟

最新動態

Clothes Donations to Charities: Top Nonprofits to Consider

Last updated on October 14, 2022
Paul Rodney TurnerPaul Rodney Turner

Donating your clothes to a nonprofit is one way to support a worthy cause, declutter your wardrobe, and save the planet. According to statistics, about 11.3 million tons of clothing waste find their way to landfills each year, and sadly, the fabrics don’t degrade quickly. 

Depending on the fabric, it could take weeks to years to break down. It gets worse. The process releases methane, a more potent greenhouse gas deadlier than carbon dioxide. Fortunately, you can donate your clothes to people who need them, supporting a worthy cause and helping to save the planet. 

On that note, we have compiled a list of organizations that accept clothing donations. While some of these organizations recycle or resell these clothes to raise funds for other causes, others give the collected clothes directly to people who need them. 

Besides these organizations that collect clothing donations, there are other charities that you might want to consider donating to, such as Food for Life Global (FFLG). Food for Life Global is the world’s largest food relief network that serves over 2 million vegan meals daily to hungry children across 60 countries. With over 210 affiliates and steady support from sponsors and donors, FFLG is committed to ending world hunger and needs your donation to achieve that. 

Without further ado, the following list will come in handy when you want to donate clothes to charity.

American Red Cross

The American Red Cross is inarguably one of the most respected and oldest humanitarian organizations in the US. Besides providing emergency assistance to people in need, the American Red Cross offers disaster preparedness education and disaster relief to millions worldwide. 

Through its strong network of partners, donors, and volunteers, the American Red Cross is always available in times of need.

This humanitarian organization is currently in partnership with GreenDrop, a nonprofit that takes donated clothes and resells them to thrift shops to generate money to support the American Red Cross. 

GreenDrop

As we mentioned earlier, GreenDrop is in partnership with the American Red Cross to raise funds through reselling donated clothes. The truth is, GreenDrop is in such partnerships with other notable organizations, including the Society of St. Vincent de Paul of Philadelphia, the National Federation of the Blind, and the Military Order of the Purple Heart Service Foundation. 

This nonprofit raises funds by collecting donated household items and clothes. Then, the donated items are sold with the proceeds used to support these charitable organizations to achieve their programs and missions of supporting the needy, blind, and America’s veterans.

In 2019, the proceeds from donated items were more than $3.7 million, approximately 40 percent of their net income. GreenDrop disbursed these funds to charities to support their local and nationwide programs. 

To donate to GreenDrop, consider scheduling a home pick-up or find the nearest GreenDrop location. Then wait for an emailed tax receipt from your preferred charity.

Becca’s Closet

A national nonprofit, Becca’s Closet donates mainly formal dresses to underserved high school girls who can’t afford them. The nonprofit was created in honor of Rebecca Kirtman, who, until the moment she passed away in August 2003 in an auto accident, single-handedly collected and distributed more than 250 prom dresses in the 2003 spring to underserved girls in South Florida to enable them to attend prom. 

Although Becca’s Closet’s core mission is to collect and distribute formal dresses to disadvantaged high school girls, they’ve expanded to provide scholarship opportunities to deserving young people who demonstrate exemplary service in their communities. 

To help keep Becca’s dream alive, you can donate dresses and money by contacting the nearest local chapter through their website

A nonprofit worker carrying a pile of recently donated clothes

Big Brothers Big Sisters Foundation

The Big Brothers Big Sisters Foundation (BBBSF) is one of the places that accept clothing donations. They collect used items, including clothes, sell them, and distribute their proceeds to mentoring programs. These proceeds help support more than 30,000 young people across Massachusetts. 

According to Forbes, Big Brothers Big Sisters is highly rated for its accountability and efficiency in handling donations as one of the ten best nonprofits in America. Major investments from corporations and foundations have helped BBBSF connect to young people to enable them to unleash their full potential.

Learn more about donating to BBBSF by visiting their website here

Career Gear

Although Career Gear focuses on providing business-related content for aspiring entrepreneurs to choose the right software and gear for their business, the nonprofit also accepts business-appropriate clothing for young people to wear to job interviews. 

Career Gear also accepts men’s casual business wear. You can bring your donation to their office on one of their monthly drop-off dates. 

Dress for Success

If you have more than enough professional clothes, consider donating some to Dress for Success. This charitable organization empowers low-income working women by providing them with work-appropriate attire. 

Founded in 1997, Dress for Success has expanded to almost 150 towns in 25 nations. It has also helped over 1.2 million women develop in their careers and secure jobs. 

Before you donate clothes to a charity like Dress for Success, ensure it’s dry-cleaned or laundered and in excellent condition. They accept nearly new, ready-to-wear business casual and work-appropriate women’s clothing. 

You can drop off your donation at the nearest affiliate location. Note that each location has particular drop-off times and days and hours of operation. Thus, it’s best to call in advance before donating. 

Properly folded clothes ready for donation

Goodwill

Goodwill is a famous nonprofit that accepts clothes donations. Funded by a network of thrift stores in the US, Goodwill’s store revenue goes directly into helping people grow their careers and find employment by providing them with placement services, job training, and other community-based programs.

Any unsold item is sent to recycling organizations to avoid sending it to landfills. Goodwill accepts gently used, and new clothing, accessories, and shoes, and they also collect appliances, furniture, books, and other household items.  

You can drop your donations at the nearest Goodwill donation center and store, which you can locate when you visit their site. Some Goodwill locations also provide pick-up options for large items difficult to transport. 

One Warm Coat

Do you have too many jackets and want to share them with the less privileged to keep them warm during winter? Consider donating your spare coats to a nonprofit that provides free jackets to underserved people who need them: One Warm Coat.

Since 1992, the nonprofit has stayed true to its commitment to raising awareness of the need for warm coats. In that vein, the charitable organization has hosted over 38,000 coat drives and subsequently provided 6.6 million free coats since its inception.

One Warm Coat accepts gently worn and new children’s, men’s, and women’s coats without stains and holes. Simply put, they must be wearable and clean. 

You can donate to One Warm Coat during active coat drives in the winter and fall months. Another way to donate is to go through their website and locate nonprofit partners near you. However, ensure you contact them beforehand to confirm drop-off hours. 

Planet Aid

While most charities only accept clothes in wearables and good condition, Planet Aid collects both the good and bad. Have you wondered, “where can I give my clothes away”? Planet Aid will receive them regardless of their state. They enable you to donate and recycle your unwanted clothing to ensure they save it from ending up in landfills.  

This nonprofit sells and recycles donated clothes and sends them to developing countries. The proceeds from sales go towards fighting poverty in those areas. 

Planet Aid accepts all forms of clothing no matter their state (with tears, stains, or holes). They only reject clothes if they’re moldy, wet, or dirty. Planet Aid also collects curtains, towels, bedding, and shoes. 

If you want to donate to Planet Aid, simply put your unwanted items in a bag and drop them off at any of the 19,000 Planet Aid’s yellow drop-off bins in the country. 

The Salvation Army

This international charity assists almost 23 million Americans yearly. The Salvation Army offers services, including supporting the LGBTQ+ community, the elderly, and veterans, conducting disaster relief, and operating homeless shelters. 

Clothing donations help stock this nonprofit’s charity thrift stores network, and the proceeds fund the charity’s adult rehabilitation centers. 

The Salvation Army accepts various clothing donations, including children’s, women’s, and men’s clothes and accessories. Other goods like household items, appliances, and furniture are welcome. 

If you decide to donate to The Salvation Army, consider looking for the nearest drop-off center or schedule a pick-up. 

Donated items ready to change the lives of its recipients

Soles4Souls

Do you have more shoes than you can afford to wear and want to donate some? Soles4Souls helps turn clothes and shoes into opportunities. 

This nonprofit works by collecting donated clothing and footwear to distribute to needy people in the US and worldwide. Soles4Souls also fights poverty by helping the underserved start businesses selling those donated clothes and shoes they receive. 

This nonprofit accepts all sizes and styles of gently worn and new clothes and shoes. You can make donations at the closest drop-off location, and don’t forget to reach out before proceeding with the drop-off. 

Another option is to ship your donation with Zappos for Good freely. That way, you can use their prepaid shipping label with UPS. Remember to include the donor form in each box of shoes or bags of clothes you donate. 

Vietnam Veterans of America

This nonprofit serves and promotes the needs of Vietnam war veterans through its outreach programs, education, and legislative initiatives by collecting donations of household items and clothes. The Vietnam Veterans of America (VVA) either gives these items directly to low-income and homeless veterans or resells them in the nonprofit’s resale store to get funds for their initiatives and programs. 

VVA accepts various sizes and types of clothing, including shoes and accessories. They also receive household items, like appliances and furniture. 

Suppose you’re looking for a way to donate to The VVA, schedule a pick-up, or find the nearest drop-off location. You can also key into Pick Up Please, a program by The VVA which picks up donations within 24 hours. 

Buy Nothing Groups

Founded in 2013 to build a community of interconnected people through hyperlocal gifting and environmental impact reduction, the Buy Nothing Project provides a way for people to lend, share, and receive gifts. 

Through their worldwide gift economy network, you can give your unwanted clothes to people who genuinely need them. Simply utilize the community and find a needy person close to you who will appreciate the clothes.

Freecycle.org

The Freecycle Network® has over 5,000 local towns with more than nine million members worldwide. It’s a nonprofit movement involving people getting and giving stuff for free in their cities while reducing environmental waste. 

Freecycle Network offers free membership, and everything posted on the website should be appropriate for all ages, legal, and accessible. When you sign up on the website, join at least one local town group or create a Friends Circle with your friends. 

Then you make posts about what you want to receive or give, such as items of clothing, and other members will respond to you and arrange a pick-up location and time. 

Badly damaged items are recycled and reused, and you can send your items using the provided addresses on the website. Thus, if you’ve been looking for where to give old clothes, Freecycle.org can recycle and reuse them. 

Conclusion 

There you have it! Top nonprofits to consider when trying to donate clothes to charity. Whether they give the clothes directly to people that need them or resell them to support other worthy causes, the most important thing is you’re helping the underserved while protecting the planet from environmental degradation. 

So next time you want to declutter your wardrobe, remember some charities will accept those piles of clothes, so you don’t have to send them to landfill. Simply check which of the charities mentioned above are near you and dispose of your clothes responsibly. 

This article is sponsored by Arlo Blue – Find the perfect basic pieces for your wardrobe and never have a bad t-shirt day again when you buy from Arlo Blue.

Once you have updated your wardrobe visit EdnaKeep.com to transform your mindset and level up your lifestyle. 

If you aren’t comfortable with donating your clothes but still want to be part of a worthy cause, consider supporting a hunger relief organization like Food for Life Global. For over 25 years, Food for Life Global (FFLG) has served millions of vegan meals to millions of underserved people in 60 countries. 

You can donate money or cryptocurrency to help them reach more people in need and end world hunger.

Leave a comment

How To Make An Impact

donate

Help People

Crypto Currency

Donate Crypto

Animal

Help Animals

fundraise

Fundraise

Projects

Volunteer Opportunities
Become an advocate
start your own project
EMERGENCY RELIEF

VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Become an
Advocate

Start Your
Own Project

EMERGENCY
RELIEF

Recent Posts