為慈善事業留下遺產

最後更新於 14 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日
保羅·特納保羅·特納

有很多方法可以留下遺產。 有房地產,人壽保險單和退休資產。 但是如果你想回饋社會呢? 如果您想支持對您有價值的組織怎麼辦? 如果你想幫助最需要幫助的人怎麼辦? 將遺產留給慈善機構是實現這一目標的好方法!

慈善遺贈

什麼是慈善遺贈?

慈善遺贈是您在遺囑中留給慈善機構的財產禮物。 遺囑是決定您死後如何分配遺產的法律文件。 在寫遺囑時,諮詢律師和/或財務顧問很重要,他們可以幫助您確保一切都正確完成。

為什麼我應該考慮進行慈善遺贈?

進行慈善遺贈可以讓捐贈者對他們的資產有更多的控制權,而不是在他們的一生中簡單地捐贈金錢或其他財產。 這確保了慈善機構在一個人過世時獲得資金,而不是在他們的一生中依賴捐贈者未來的禮物。 此外,這種捐贈形式允許較小的捐贈,但仍對慈善機構的整體財務穩定性和可持續性產生重大影響。

考慮進行慈善遺贈的另一個原因是,如果您有足夠的錢供養親人,並且您想用剩餘的錢做一些有意義的事情。 一些捐贈者選擇將一定數額留給孩子,要么是因為孩子自己的經濟狀況足夠,要么另一方面,他們不希望孩子依賴他們的遺產。 因此,他們選擇留出一部分財產用於慈善事業。

有時,某些慈善組織在您或所愛之人的生活中發揮了重要作用,您希望支持他們並回饋他們以表示感謝。 這是人們選擇慈善遺贈的另一個常見原因。

寫支票捐贈給慈善機構的人

遺贈

剩餘遺贈是在按照您的意願分配其他所有物品後,捐贈給您選擇的慈善機構的禮物。

例如,如果您製作了其他禮物並將您的部分財產放棄給親人,則可能會留下一些資金用於慈善事業。 您可以一次性捐出這筆款項,也可以為剩餘遺產的捐款設立一個基金。

慈善禮物年金

也可以通過創建慈善禮物年金來為慈善事業留下遺產。 這是您與慈善機構之間的合同,其中指定了您想捐贈多少錢以及您希望從他們那裡收到付款的時間。

慈善機構將返還您終身的固定收入,以換取您的禮物。 他們提供的金額取決於許多因素:當前利率、他們期望您能活多久(因此他們需要多長時間才能收回投資)以及受益人有資格獲得州政府分配的年齡法律。

有錢罐硬幣的慈善心臟

慈善鉛信託

慈善牽頭信託允許您向慈善機構捐贈禮物,同時仍保留從信託獲得收入的權利。 信託必須是不可撤銷的,慈善機構必須是信託的唯一受益人。 您收到的收入金額(“鉛”)是通過將您的初始投資在五年內分成五等份來確定的。 這些付款應作為普通收入徵稅,但在其期限內每筆付款都會扣除稅款。

慈善剩餘信託

慈善剩餘信託 (CRT) 是一種在一定年限或終生向捐贈者或其他受益人支付收入的信託。

當信託結束時,其本金將分配給慈善機構。 CRT 可以每年支付固定金額或在學期結束時支付一美元,並且可以是不可撤銷的(意味著您無法更改誰獲得您的錢)或可撤銷的(意味著您可以更改誰獲得您的錢)。

房地產

捐贈並不總是必須是金錢的。

  • 您可以在遺囑中捐贈房地產。
  • 您可以通過生前信託捐贈房地產。
  • 您還可以通過慈善剩餘信託捐贈房地產,這使您可以從財產中獲得收入,同時仍將其留給慈善機構。

捐助者建議基金

捐助者建議基金是由定期處理此類資金的非營利組織維護的慈善投資賬戶。 捐贈人建議基金的主要好處是,它允許您以比私人基金會低得多的成本對您的資產進行專業管理,同時仍將它們分配給對您很重要的慈善機構。

人壽保險

慈善剩餘信託可以通過人壽保險獲得資金。 捐贈者將保單轉移到他們控制並指定受益人的信託賬戶中。 然後,他們會在指定時間段(通常為 5-10 年)內收到信託的付款,然後再將其支付給慈善機構。 這使您可以在獲得一些稅收優惠的同時仍然在您的一生中做出慈善禮物,因為付款是在您去世後進行的。

退休計劃受益人指定

了解不同類型的受益人名稱很重要。 受益人指定用於退休計劃、人壽保險單和其他資產,如銀行賬戶和經紀賬戶。 與您可以將某人命名為受益人的方式相同,您也可以在您的遺囑中為任何類型的賬戶將註冊慈善機構列為受益人或或有受益人。

在遺囑中捐贈給慈善機構的好處

在您的遺囑中捐贈給慈善機構有許多短期和長期的好處。 這裡僅僅是少數:

慈善扣除

您的禮物價值可享受所得稅減免。 美國有累進的遺產稅制度,這意味著你死後留給繼承人的越多,你的稅單就越高。 但是,如果您在死前將部分錢捐給慈善機構而不是將其留給家人,那麼您也許可以減少甚至完全取消這些稅收。

增值資產豁免

資本利得稅和所得稅不適用於增值資產(自您購買以來增值的資產)。

無遺產稅

通過在去世前將資產轉移給慈善機構可以避免遺產稅,因為在您去世後無需在受益人之間分配遺產。

無贈與稅

將增值資產捐贈給慈善機構沒有贈與稅,因此全部金額直接用於資助慈善事業,而不是先被山姆大叔抽走!

從納稅申報表的稅收減免中節省的錢

避免遺囑認證

你可以避免遺囑認證。 例如,當人們在沒有有效遺囑的情況下死亡(稱為死亡“無遺囑”)時,他們的資產將根據州法律而不是個人偏好進行分配。 如果您希望按照自己的意願贈送您的錢,但不希望其他人參與決定您死後應該如何使用它,請考慮通過慈善計劃的禮物直接留下部分或全部。 這不是通過每個人都參與決策過程的意願,因此可能會根據自己的議程改變事情。

你可以留下遺產

在其一生中捐贈大筆款項的人往往在沒有意識到這可能對其親人的繼承前景產生何種影響的情況下這樣做。 通過遺產規劃過程進行捐贈,而不是像個人退休賬戶 (IRA) 這樣的活體捐贈計劃——或者甚至只是每個月開支票——你將確保沒有人因為任何意外的變化而錯過任何重要的事情國稅局法律。 這樣,無論大小,在做出的每一個財務決策中,一切都保持一致。

結論

有很多方法可以留下持久的遺產,而適合您的方法取決於您的情況。 無論哪種方式,您都將在這個讓下一代和所有子孫後代引以為豪的世界上留下自己的印記。 如果您對這些有效稅收選項有任何疑問或想了解更多信息和專業建議,請聯繫我們。 我們很樂意提供幫助!

發表評論

如何產生影響

捐贈

幫助他人

加密貨幣

捐贈加密貨幣

動物

幫助動物

我們的項目

志願者機會
成為倡導者
開始你自己的項目
緊急救援

志願者
機遇

成為

開始你的
自己的項目

緊急
救濟

最新動態

Leaving a Legacy to Charity

Last updated on September 1, 2022
PAUL TURNERPAUL TURNER

There are many ways to leave a legacy. There’s real estate, life insurance policies, and retirement assets. But what if you want to give back to the community? What if you want to support an organization that has been of value to you? What if you want to help people who need it most? Leaving a legacy to charity is a great way to do just that!

Charitable Bequests

What are charitable bequests?

Charitable bequests are gifts of property that you leave to a charity in your will. A will is the legal document that determines how your estate will be distributed after your death. When writing a will, it’s important to consult with an attorney and/or financial advisor who can help you make sure everything is done properly.

Why should I consider making a charitable bequest?

Making charitable bequests allows donors to have more control over their assets than simply giving away money or other property during their life does. This ensures that the charity receives funding upon one’s passing instead of being dependent on future gifts from the donor during their lifetime. Additionally, this form of donation allows for smaller donations but still has a significant impact on charities’ overall financial stability and sustainability.

Another reason to consider making a charitable bequest is if you have more than enough to provide for loved ones and you want to do something meaningful with the remainder. Some donors choose to leave a certain amount to their children either because the children themselves have their finances covered sufficiently, or on the other hand, they do not want their children to be dependent upon their inheritance. Therefore, they choose to set aside a portion of their property to be given to charity.

Sometimes, certain charitable organizations have played an important role in your life or the life of a loved one and you want to support them and give back to them as a token of your appreciation. This is another common reason people choose a charitable bequest.

Person writing check donation to charity

Residuary Bequest

A residuary bequest is a gift that goes to your chosen charity after everything else has been distributed as per your will.

For example, if you have made other gifts and given up some of your property to loved ones, there may be some funds left over for charity. You can give this amount in one go or set up a fund for donations from the residuary estate.

Charitable Gift Annuity

Leaving a legacy to charity can also be done by creating a charitable gift annuity. This is a contract between you and the charity that specifies how much money you want to donate and how long you want to receive payments from them.

The charity will give you back a fixed income for life in exchange for your gift. The amount of money that they provide depends on many factors: current interest rates, how long they expect you will live (and therefore how long it takes for them to recoup their investment), and the age at which beneficiaries are eligible for distributions under state law.

Charity heart with money jar of coins

Charitable Lead Trust

Charitable lead trusts allow you to make a gift to charity while still retaining the right to receive income from the trust. The trust must be irrevocable and the charity must be the sole beneficiary of the trust. The amount of income you receive (the “lead”) is determined by dividing your initial investment into five equal installments over five years. These payments are taxable as ordinary income, but they are reduced by a tax deduction for each payment made during its term.

Charitable Remainder Trust

A charitable remainder trust (CRT) is a trust that pays income to the donor or other beneficiaries for a set number of years or for life.

When the trust ends, its principal is distributed to charity. The CRT can pay either a fixed amount each year or one dollar amount at the end of the term, and it can either be irrevocable (meaning you cannot change who gets your money) or revocable (meaning you can change who gets your money).

Real Estate

Donations do not always have to be monetary.

  • You can donate real estate in your will.
  • You can donate real estate through a living trust.
  • You can also donate real estate through a charitable remainder trust, which allows you to take income from the property while still leaving it to charity.

Donor-Advised Fund

Donor-advised funds are charitable investment accounts that are maintained by nonprofit organizations that regularly handle such funds. The main benefit of a donor-advised fund is that it allows you to have your assets professionally managed at a much lower cost than private foundations while still having them distributed to charities that are important to you.

Life Insurance

A charitable remainder trust can be funded with life insurance. The donor transfers the policy into a trust account that they control and names beneficiaries. Then they receive payments from the trust for a specified period of time (typically 5-10 years) before it becomes payable to the charity. This allows you to get some tax benefits while still making your charitable gift in your lifetime since the payout comes after your death.

Retirement Plan Beneficiary Designations

It’s important to understand the different types of beneficiary designations. Beneficiary designations are used for retirement plans, life insurance policies, and other assets like bank accounts and brokerage accounts. The same way you can name a person as a beneficiary, you can also list a registered charity as a beneficiary or a contingent beneficiary in your will for any type of account.

Benefits of Donating to Charity in your Will

There are many short-term and long-term benefits of donating to charity in your will. Here are just a few:

Charitable Deduction

An income tax deduction is available for the value of your gift. The United States has a progressive estate tax system, meaning that the more you leave to your heirs after death, the higher your tax bill will be. If you donate some of your money before death to charity instead of leaving it to family members, however, you may be able to reduce or even eliminate those taxes altogether.

Appreciated Assets Exemption

Capital gains tax and income tax are not applicable on appreciated assets (an asset that has increased in value since you purchased them).

No Estate Tax

Estate taxes are avoided by transferring assets to a charity before passing away since there’s no need for an estate to be divided among beneficiaries after your death.

No Gift Tax

There’s no gift tax associated with giving appreciated assets to a charity, so the entire amount goes directly toward funding charitable causes rather than being siphoned off by Uncle Sam first!

Money saved from tax deductions on tax return

Avoid Probate

You can avoid probate. For example, when people die without a valid will at all (known as dying “intestate”), their assets get distributed according to state law rather than personal preference. If you want your money given away in accordance with your own wishes but don’t want other people getting involved in deciding how it should be spent after your death, consider leaving part or all of it directly through a charitable planned gift. This is instead of through a will where everyone has input into the decision-making process and thus could potentially change things based on their own agenda.

You Can Leave a Legacy

People who donate large sums during their lifetime often do so without realizing what impact this might have on their loved ones’ inheritance prospects. By donating through the estate planning process instead of living donation programs like Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs)–or even just writing checks each month–you’ll ensure that no one misses out on anything important down the road due to any unexpected changes made by IRS laws. This way everything remains consistent throughout every financial decision made no matter how small or large.

Conclusion

There are many ways to leave a lasting legacy, and the one that is right for you depends on your situation. Either way, you will also leave your mark in this world that the next generation and all future generations can be proud of. If you have questions or want further information and professional advice about any of these tax effective options, please contact us. We’d love to help!

Leave a comment

How To Make An Impact

donate

Help People

Crypto Currency

Donate Crypto

Animal

Help Animals

fundraise

Fundraise

Projects

Volunteer Opportunities
Become an advocate
start your own project
EMERGENCY RELIEF

VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Become an
Advocate

Start Your
Own Project

EMERGENCY
RELIEF

Recent Posts