向海盐幸存者提供数千份素食

“我们几乎每天工作24小时”

向海盐幸存者提供数千份素食

19 年 XNUMX 月 –在比利亚莫尔空军基地向新来的台风灾民提供了更多包裹的热米饭和豆腐咖喱,这些灾民随后被运送到马尼拉的避难中心。

18 年 XNUMX 月 –生命食品小组目前在Sogod Leyte采购更多饲料。 今早在塔克洛班市,帕洛和塔纳安莱特提供了2000多顿饭。 星期天,志愿者在Mayorga,Dulag和Tolosa乡镇提供1500多顿饭。 “我们几乎一天24小时都在工作,”紧急救济协调员Balaram Das解释说。 在这些艰难的条件下,要花很多时间准备饭菜。 我们最早从凌晨1点开始做饭,然后在早上8点左右出发分发食物,直到中午12点才回来,然后才准备在下午的班次再次做饭。”

Balaram一直在为分发的照片拍照,但是由于任何地方都没有电,因此目前无法通过电子邮件上传它们。 他希望能够在22月XNUMX日短暂返回马尼拉之前上传照片。 所有与我们的通讯 Food for Life Global 办公室已经通过他的电话通过Facebook Messenger。 “人们真的很高兴收到我们的饭菜。 实际上,他们在追赶它! 塔克洛班目前的局势已平静下来,大多数当地人已离开该镇。”他解释说。

该地区还有许多其他救济机构,但是,生命之粮对灾难的独特贡献是他们新鲜烹制的纯素食餐。 巴拉兰大声说道:“没有其他机构在这样做。” 据巴拉兰姆说,所有其他食品救济机构都在分发罐头食品,方便面和未煮熟的大米。 “生命之粮 prasadam (纯素食餐)正在产生巨大影响,并为身体,思想和灵魂提供真正的营养。 看到他们在用餐时微笑着,我们感到非常高兴,这真的触动了我们的心灵。”他告诉我们。

昨晚晚上11点,“生命之粮”开始为每天(超过2000年)抵达比拉莫尔空军基地的受害者提供食物,该基地现在是那些失去一切并试图在马尼拉寻找亲戚的人的庇护所。

本周早些时候,我们收到了一位厨师的来信:“早上,我们分发大米和达尔,配以椰子奶油,南瓜和绿叶蔬菜,下午则提供热米饭和Sotanghon面条汤和白菜。还有佛手瓜土豆和胡萝卜。”

生命食品厨师正在确保 prasadam (纯素食餐)味道鲜美,并吸引所有接受者的口味。 FFL主任拉达·利拉(Radha Lila)解释说:“莱特(Leyte)的食物分发将持续到21月XNUMX日,届时,我们将搬到伊洛伊洛(Iloilo)和宿雾(Cebu)来帮助那里的贫困者。 “我们的大本营位于阿布约格当地政府提供的部分受损的礼堂内。 她的内部充满了水,因此我们在工作时必须放下托盘以保持干燥。”

FFL马尼拉办事处

(+ 632)890 1947 / 215-0076或0917-8378176
(询问Radha,Ananda,Gopi或Gopal)

支持 Food for Life Global 紧急救援

向海盐幸存者提供数千份素食

Blog

Thousands of vegan meals being served to Haiyan survivors

“We are working almost 24hrs a day”

Food for Life in Philippines

Food for Life in Philippines

November 19 – More packages of hot rice and tofu bean curry were served at the Villamore Airbase to the newly arrived victims of the Typhoon who were later transported to the evacuation centers in Manila.

November 18 – The Food for Life team is currently in Sogod Leyte acquiring more supplies for feeding. More than 2000 meals were served this morning in Tacloban city, Palo and Tanauan Leyte. On Sunday, the volunteers serve over 1500 meals in the townships of Mayorga, Dulag and Tolosa. “We are working almost 24hrs a day,” explains emergency relief coordinator, Balaram Das. “It takes a lot of time to prepare meals under these tough conditions. We start cooking as early as 1am and then we leave around 8am for the distribution, before returning as late as 12 midday, only to get ready to do it all again for the afternoon shift,” he said.

Balaram has been taking photos of the distribution, but currently has no way to upload them through email as there’s no electricity anywhere. He expects to be able to upload photos by November 22 when he is able to return briefly to Manilla. All communications to our Food for Life Global office has been through Facebook messenger via his phone. “The people are really happy receiving our meals. In fact, they are running after it! The current situation in Tacloban has calmed down with most of the local people having left the town,” he explained.

Many other relief agencies are in the area, however, Food for Life’s unique contribution to the disaster is their freshly cooked vegan meals. “No other agency is doing this,” exclaimed Balaram. According to Balaram, all other food relief agencies are distributing canned goods, instant noodles and uncooked rice. “Food for Life’s prasadam (sanctified vegan meals) are making a huge impact and providing real nourishment for body, mind and soul. We are so happy seeing them smiling while they take our meals, it really touches our hearts,” he told us.

Last night at 11pm Food for Life started feeding the victims arriving daily (more than 2000) at the Villamor airbase, which is now a shelter for those who have lost everything and trying to find their relatives in Manila.

Earlier this week, we received a note from one of the cooks, “In the morning, we are distributing rice and dahl with coconut cream with squash and green leafy vegetables and in the afternoon, we are serving hot rice and Sotanghon noodle soup with cabbage and chayote potatoes and carrots.”

The Food for Life cooks are making sure that the prasadam (sanctified vegan meals) taste delicious and appeal to the taste of all the recipients. “Food distribution in Leyte will continue until November 21, at which time we will move to Iloilo and Cebu to assist the needy there, explained, FFL director Radha Lila. “Our base camp is inside a partly damaged auditorium provided by the local government in Abuyog. It’s waterlogged inside, so we have to put down pallets to keep dry while we work,” she explained.

FFL Manilla Office

(+632) 890-1947 / 215-0076 or 0917-8378176
(Ask for Radha, Ananda, Gopi, or Gopal)

SUPPORT Food for Life Global Emergency Relief

About Editor

Director of Food for Life Global and the author of the best selling book, FOOD YOGA - Nourishing Body, Mind & Soul. http://www.foodyogi.org