美国国旗在灰色的天空

美国有饥饿吗?

2018年,有37.2万人(约占美国人口的11%)生活在粮食不安全的家庭中。 这意味着他们经常被迫不吃饭,少吃一点饭,买便宜的非营养食品和/或给孩子而不是他们自己喂饱(美国农业部, 2017年美国家庭食品安全).

美国饥饿的主要原因是什么?

不管世界上的任何地方存在,饥饿都是一个周期性的动态问题。

饥饿的美国女人在旋转木马面前吃棉花糖

如果孩子在没有粮食保障的家庭中长大,则他们很可能在成年后仍没有粮食保障,并伴随着营养不良等饥饿问题。 营养不良会对人的身心健康产生重大影响,使其难以获得教育和维持有酬工作,只会加剧现有问题。 在美国,造成粮食不安全和饥饿的原因多种多样,但其中有一些是最常见的。

失业

在美国粮食不安全状况严重的县中,年平均失业率超过7%,而在所有县中,这一数字均为5%(美国, 映射膳食差距2019).

贫穷

贫穷:破旧的房子

毫不奇怪,上述县的贫困率高得多,平均 贫穷 比率为27%,而其他县为16%(美国, 映射膳食差距2019).

收入中位数

无家可归者举着牌子

如您所料,这些受影响县的平均家庭收入中位数远低于全国平均水平,高失业率和高粮食不安全国家的平均年收入为35,067美元,而全国平均家庭年收入中位数为49,754美元(喂美国 映射膳食差距2019).

房产权

高粮食不安全县的平均房屋拥有率在65年为2018%,而全国平均水平为71%(Feeding America, 映射膳食差距2019).

饥饿如何影响美国?

美国卫星视图

对于受其影响的个人和家庭来说,饥饿是一个不健康的高压力环境。 我们已经知道,饥饿和营养不良会以高血压,糖尿病和导致罹患威胁生命的疾病(如心脏病和癌症)的形式对人体造成物理损害。 但是饥饿也对心理健康造成了损害。

心理健康

根据一个 美国儿科学会发表的文章 在2002年, 面临严重饥饿的学龄儿童 罹患PTSD的可能性增加56.2%,患有严重抑郁症的可能性增加53.1%。

生病的女人在街上乞讨

因此,不仅饥饿的人的心理健康受到威胁,而且负责喂养他们的亲人的心理健康也受到威胁。

学者

不难想象饥饿对孩子学习能力的负面影响。 想象一下,自从前一天开始考试以来,您没有吃任何东西,试图掩盖教室里肚子越来越大的声音。 撇开注意力,空腹会导致孩子烦躁,多动和好斗。 这些影响不仅使学生分心,而且还可能以学习障碍和行为问题的形式产生终身后果。 据估计,在美国,大约50%受饥饿影响的学生至少需要重读一次成绩。

在美国,人们死于饥饿吗?

这是一个很难追踪的数字,因为饥饿是美国乃至全世界如此众多健康问题的根本原因。

无家可归的睡眠点前的剩菜

尽管在美国,粮食不安全的个人和家庭可能没有挨饿的习惯,但他们的饮食缺乏必需的营养,而是由大量生产的高热量食物组成,这些食物以他们可以承受的价格广泛获得。 这些食物的长期食用与严重的健康问题和威胁生命的疾病如癌症,心脏病和糖尿病有关。

哪个州的饥饿人数最多?

美国家庭收入中位数最低的地区是肯塔基州的麦克雷里县,那里的收入不到美国所有县平均数的一半(美国, 映射膳食差距2019).

两个无家可归的人坐在篮子前的超市

麦克莱里县的人均收入在12,903年为2018美元。约41%的人口生活在贫困线以下,这一数字大大高于全国平均水平13.1%。

无家可归的年轻小伙子坐在大街上

 尽管有这些 统计, 根据这个 食品研究与行动中心(FRAC)数据表,在新墨西哥州发现了2016年至2018年间最高的家庭粮食不安全状况,该州有16.8%的家庭被指定为粮食不安全的家庭。

 但是,应该指出的是,这一比例的人口仅占836,000人。 粮食不安全家庭数量最多的州是加利福尼亚州,有惊人的14,011,000万户家庭被指定为粮食不安全国家(占该州人口的10.6%)。

美国有多少人贫穷?

2018年,美国有38.1万人生活在贫困中,这意味着该国2018年的全国贫困率为11.8%, 根据 美国国家公共电台.

无家可归者的睡眠场所

 美国政府将贫困定义为四口之家,其家庭收入低于$ 25,700。 贫穷在美国面临着很多问题,从从事多个最低工资工作的人到靠固定收入生活的老年人,从失业的下岗工人突然失业到陷入健康问题或滥用毒品的人。

 贫穷虽然影响到每个人,但并不能平等地影响所有人口。 不幸的是,按种族划分的最高贫困率出现在该国的土著人口中,即美洲原住民,那里惊人的25.4%的人口生活在贫困中。 黑人美国人占第二位,为20.8%。

我们如何才能在美国消除饥饿?

研究旨在解决美国饥饿问题的计划和组织,并找出可以提供帮助的方法。

分享鳄梨

在美国农业部(USDA)所调查的家庭中,有56%的家庭报告说,他们在上个月参加了三个最大的联邦粮食和营养援助计划中的一个或多个。 这些计划之一被称为SNAP或补充营养计划(美国农业部,2018年美国家庭的食品安全状况)。

 感谢SNAP之类的联邦计划以及像这样的本地和私人国际支持组织 Food for Life Global每天,成千上万的美国人可以开始摆脱贫困和饥饿。 生命食品通过帮助美国公民满足其第一要务:食物,帮助美国巩固家庭,创造就业机会并改善居民区。

今天捐款

Food for Life Global (FFLG)成立于1995年,目前在美国特拉华州设有办事处,是全球“生命之粮”项目的总部。 FFLG每天都有志愿者为学校,流动货车和灾区提供多达2,000,000万免费的植物性餐,是世界上最大的粮食救济组织,甚至超过了联合国世界粮食计划署。

如果您想成为 并帮助养活饥饿的美国人以及世界各地数百万需要帮助的人, 捐款给 Food for Life Global.

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。
Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。

united states flag in front of grey skies

Is there hunger in the United States?

In 2018, 37.2 million people (approximately 11% of the U.S. population) lived in food-insecure households. This means they were often forced to skip meals, eat less at meals, buy cheap non-nutritious food and/or feed their children but not themselves (United States Department of Agriculture, Household Food Security in the United States in 2017).

What are the main causes of hunger in America?

No matter where it exists in the world, hunger is a dynamic issue of a cyclical nature.

Hungry american woman is eating cotton candy in front of merry-go-round

If a child grows up in a food-insecure household, they’re much more likely to remain food-insecure into adulthood, taking with them the associated burdens of hunger such as malnutrition. Malnutrition can have significant effects on a person’s physical and mental health, making it difficult to earn an education and maintain gainful employment, only exacerbating the existing problem. While there are many different causes of food insecurity and hunger in the United States, there are a few that stand out as the most common.

Unemployment

The average annual unemployment rate among high food insecurity counties in the United States was over 7%, compared to 5% across all counties (Feeding America, Map the Meal Gap 2019).

Poverty

poverty: old broken house

Unsurprisingly, the poverty rate was much higher in the above-mentioned counties well, with an average poverty rate of 27% compared to 16% in the other counties (Feeding America, Map the Meal Gap 2019).

Median Income

Homeless is holding a sign

As you might expect, the average median household income in these affected counties was much lower than the national average, with high unemployment and high food-insecure countries earning an average of $35,067 annually, compared to the national average median annual household income of $49,754 (Feeding America, Map the Meal Gap 2019).

Homeownership

The average homeownership rate for high food-insecure counties was 65% in 2018, compared to the national average of 71% (Feeding America, Map the Meal Gap 2019).

How does hunger affect America?

USA satelite view

Hunger is an unhealthy and high-stress environment for individuals and families who are affected by it. We already know that hunger and malnourishment can cause physical damage to the human body in the form of high blood pressure, diabetes, and increased risk of developing life-threatening illnesses such as heart disease and cancer. But hunger takes a toll on mental health as well.

Mental Health

According to an article published by The American Academy of Pediatrics in 2002, mothers with school-aged children who face severe hunger are 56.2% more likely to have PTSD and 53.1% more likely to have severe depression.

Sick woman begging on the street

So not only is the mental health of the hungry at stake, but also the mental health of loved ones responsible for feeding them.

Academics

It’s not hard to imagine hunger’s negative effect on a child’s ability to learn. Imagine taking your exams without having had anything substantial to eat since the day before, trying to mask the sounds of your growling stomach in the classroom. Concentration aside, an empty stomach can cause children to be irritable, hyperactive, and aggressive. These effects not only distract students from their work, but they can also have lifelong consequences in the form of learning disabilities and behavioral issues. It’s estimated that in the U.S., approximately 50% of students affected by hunger will need to repeat a grade at least once.

Do people die of hunger in the US?

This is a difficult number to track, as hunger is the root cause of so many health problems in the United States and all over the world.

Food leftover in front of homless sleeping spot

While food-insecure individuals and families in the United States may not be starving to death in the conventional sense, their diets lack essential nutrients and instead consist of mass-produced high-calorie foods that are widely available at prices they can afford. The prolonged consumption of these foods has been linked to significant health problems and life-threatening diseases such as cancer, heart disease, and diabetes.

What state has the most hunger?

The lowest median household income in the United States can be found in McCreary County, Kentucky, where people earn less than half of the average of all U.S. counties (Feeding America, Map the Meal Gap 2019).

Two homeless are sitting in front of supermarket with the basket

The per capita income for McCreary County was $12,903 in 2018. Approximately 41% of the population live below the poverty line, a number that is much, much higher than the national average of 13.1%.

homeless young guy is sitting on the street

 Despite these statistics, according to this Food Research and Action Center (FRAC) data table, the highest rate of household food insecurity between 2016 and 2018 was discovered in the state of New Mexico, where a staggering 16.8% of households were designated as food-insecure.

 It should be noted, however, that this percentage of the population only accounts for 836,000 people. The state with the highest number of food-insecure households was California, with an astonishing 14,011,000 households designated food-insecure (10.6% of the state’s population).

How many people are poor in the US?

In 2018, 38.1 million people were living in poverty in the United States, meaning the country’s national poverty rate for 2018 was 11.8%, according to NPR.

Sleeping spots of homeless

 Poverty is defined by the U.S. government as a family of four whose household income is less than $25,700. Poverty has many faces in America, from people working multiple minimum wage jobs to seniors living on fixed incomes, from laid-off wage workers suddenly out of work to individuals struggling with health problems or substance abuse.

 While poverty affects everyone, it does not affect all populations equally. Unfortunately, the highest poverty rate by race is found among the country’s indigenous population, the Native Americans, where a staggering 25.4% of people are living in poverty. Black Americans make up the second-highest group at 20.8%.

How can we stop hunger in America?

Research the programs and organizations that are working to end the problem of hunger in the United States and find out how you can help.

Sharing avocado

Of the households surveyed by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), 56% reported that in the previous month, they had participated in one or more of the three largest Federal food and nutrition assistance programs. One of these programs is known as SNAP, or the Supplemental Nutrition Program (United States Department of Agriculture, Food Security Status of US Households in 2018).

 Thanks to federal programs like SNAP as well as local and private international support organizations like Food for Life Global, every day, thousands of Americans can begin to work their way out of poverty and hunger. Food for life helps the United States strengthen families, create jobs, and improve neighborhoods by helping its citizens with their number one need: food.

Make a donation today

Food for Life Global (FFLG) was founded in 1995 and currently has an office based in Delaware, USA, which serves as the headquarters for Food for Life projects worldwide. With volunteers serving up to 2,000,000 free plant-based meals daily to schools, as well as from mobile vans and to disaster areas, FFLG is the largest food relief organization in the world, surpassing even the United Nations World Food Programme.

If you would like to be a part of the solution and help feed hungry Americans as well as the millions of others in need around the world, make a donation to Food for Life Global.

https://secureservercdn.net/198.71.233.109/4hr.f77.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.
Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.