علم الولايات المتحدة أمام سماء رمادية

هل هناك جوع في الولايات المتحدة؟

في عام 2018 ، كان 37.2 مليون شخص (حوالي 11 ٪ من سكان الولايات المتحدة) يعيشون في أسر تعاني من انعدام الأمن الغذائي. وهذا يعني أنهم غالبًا ما يضطرون إلى تخطي وجبات الطعام ، وتناول طعام أقل في الوجبات ، وشراء أطعمة رخيصة غير مغذية و / أو إطعام أطفالهم ولكن ليس بأنفسهم (وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية ، الأمن الغذائي الأسري في الولايات المتحدة في عام 2017).

ما هي الأسباب الرئيسية للجوع في أمريكا؟

بغض النظر عن مكان وجوده في العالم ، فإن الجوع هو قضية ديناميكية ذات طبيعة دورية.

امرأة أمريكية جائعة تأكل حلوى القطن أمام دوامة المرح

إذا نشأ طفل في منزل يعاني من انعدام الأمن الغذائي ، فمن المرجح أن يظل غير آمن غذائيًا في مرحلة البلوغ ، مع تحمل أعباء الجوع المرتبطة بها مثل سوء التغذية. يمكن أن يكون لسوء التغذية آثار كبيرة على الصحة البدنية والعقلية للشخص ، مما يجعل من الصعب الحصول على التعليم والحفاظ على عمل مربح ، مما يؤدي فقط إلى تفاقم المشكلة الحالية. في حين أن هناك العديد من الأسباب المختلفة لانعدام الأمن الغذائي والجوع في الولايات المتحدة ، هناك عدد قليل يبرز باعتباره الأكثر شيوعًا.

البطالة

كان متوسط ​​معدل البطالة السنوي بين مقاطعات انعدام الأمن الغذائي المرتفعة في الولايات المتحدة أكثر من 7 ٪ ، مقارنة بـ 5 ٪ عبر جميع المقاطعات (Feeding America ، خريطة جاب وجبة 2019).

الفقر

الفقر: بيت قديم محطم

بشكل غير مفاجئ ، كان معدل الفقر أعلى بكثير في المقاطعات المذكورة أعلاه جيدًا ، بمتوسط فقر بمعدل 27٪ مقارنة بـ 16٪ في المقاطعات الأخرى (Feeding America، خريطة جاب وجبة 2019).

متوسط ​​الدخل

بلا مأوى يحمل لافتة

كما قد تتوقع ، كان متوسط ​​دخل الأسرة الوسيط في هذه المقاطعات المتضررة أقل بكثير من المتوسط ​​الوطني ، مع ارتفاع معدل البطالة وارتفاع معدلات انعدام الأمن الغذائي التي تكسب متوسط ​​35,067،49,754 دولارًا سنويًا ، مقارنة بالمتوسط ​​الوطني لدخل الأسرة السنوي البالغ XNUMX دولارًا ( إطعام أمريكا ، خريطة جاب وجبة 2019).

ملكية البيت

كان متوسط ​​معدل ملكية المنازل في المقاطعات التي تعاني من انعدام الأمن الغذائي المرتفع 65٪ في عام 2018 ، مقارنة بالمتوسط ​​الوطني البالغ 71٪ (Feeding America، خريطة جاب وجبة 2019).

كيف يؤثر الجوع على أمريكا؟

عرض القمر الصناعي الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

الجوع هو بيئة غير صحية ومجهدة للغاية للأفراد والأسر المتضررة منه. نحن نعلم بالفعل أن الجوع وسوء التغذية يمكن أن يتسببان في أضرار جسدية لجسم الإنسان في شكل ارتفاع ضغط الدم والسكري وزيادة خطر الإصابة بأمراض تهدد الحياة مثل أمراض القلب والسرطان. لكن الجوع يؤثر سلبًا على الصحة العقلية أيضًا.

الصحة النفسية

وفقا ل مقال نشرته الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب الأطفال في عام 2002 ، الأمهات مع الأطفال في سن المدرسة الذين يواجهون الجوع الشديد هم أكثر عرضة للإصابة باضطراب ما بعد الصدمة بنسبة 56.2٪ و 53.1٪ أكثر للإصابة بالاكتئاب الحاد.

امرأة مريضة تتسول في الشارع

لذا ليست الصحة النفسية للجياع على المحك فحسب ، ولكن أيضًا الصحة العقلية للأحباب هي المسؤولة عن إطعامهم.

الأكاديميين

ليس من الصعب تصور التأثير السلبي للجوع على قدرة الطفل على التعلم. تخيل أن تأخذ امتحاناتك دون أن يكون لديك أي شيء كبير للأكل منذ اليوم السابق ، محاولًا إخفاء أصوات معدتك المتداعية في الفصل. التركيز جانبًا ، يمكن للمعدة الفارغة أن تسبب تهيج الأطفال وفرط نشاطهم وعدوانيتهم. لا تؤدي هذه التأثيرات إلى تشتيت انتباه الطلاب عن عملهم فحسب ، ولكن يمكن أن يكون لها أيضًا عواقب مدى الحياة في شكل صعوبات التعلم والقضايا السلوكية. تشير التقديرات إلى أنه في الولايات المتحدة ، سيحتاج ما يقرب من 50٪ من الطلاب المتأثرين بالجوع إلى تكرار الدرجة مرة واحدة على الأقل.

هل يموت الناس من الجوع في الولايات المتحدة؟

هذا رقم يصعب تتبعه ، لأن الجوع هو السبب الجذري للعديد من المشاكل الصحية في الولايات المتحدة وجميع أنحاء العالم.

بقايا الطعام أمام مكان نوم بلا مأوى

في حين أن الأفراد والأسر التي تعاني من انعدام الأمن الغذائي في الولايات المتحدة قد لا يتضورون جوعًا حتى الموت بالمعنى التقليدي ، فإن نظامهم الغذائي يفتقر إلى العناصر الغذائية الأساسية ويتكون بدلاً من ذلك من الأطعمة عالية السعرات الحرارية المنتجة بكميات كبيرة والمتوفرة على نطاق واسع بأسعار يمكنهم تحملها. تم ربط الاستهلاك المطول لهذه الأطعمة بمشاكل صحية كبيرة وأمراض تهدد الحياة مثل السرطان وأمراض القلب والسكري.

أي دولة لديها أكبر قدر من الجوع؟

يمكن العثور على أقل متوسط ​​دخل للأسرة في الولايات المتحدة في مقاطعة ماكريري بولاية كنتاكي ، حيث يكسب الناس أقل من نصف متوسط ​​جميع المقاطعات الأمريكية (Feeding America ، خريطة جاب وجبة 2019).

اثنان من المشردين يجلسان أمام السوبر ماركت مع السلة

بلغ دخل الفرد في مقاطعة ماكريري 12,903،2018 دولارًا في عام 41. يعيش حوالي 13.1٪ من السكان تحت خط الفقر ، وهو رقم أعلى بكثير من المتوسط ​​الوطني البالغ XNUMX٪.

شاب بلا مأوى يجلس في الشارع

بالرغم من هذا إحصائياتحسب هذا جدول بيانات مركز البحوث الغذائية والعمل (FRAC)، تم اكتشاف أعلى معدل لانعدام الأمن الغذائي للأسر بين عامي 2016 و 2018 في ولاية نيو مكسيكو ، حيث تم تصنيف 16.8 ٪ من الأسر على أنها تعاني من انعدام الأمن الغذائي.

ومع ذلك ، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن هذه النسبة المئوية من السكان تمثل 836,000 شخص فقط. كانت الولاية التي تضم أكبر عدد من الأسر التي تعاني من انعدام الأمن الغذائي هي كاليفورنيا ، مع وجود 14,011,000 أسرة مذهلة تعاني من انعدام الأمن الغذائي (10.6 ٪ من سكان الولاية).

كم عدد الفقراء في الولايات المتحدة؟

في عام 2018 ، كان 38.1 مليون شخص يعيشون في فقر في الولايات المتحدة ، وهذا يعني أن معدل الفقر الوطني للبلاد لعام 2018 كان 11.8٪ ، بالنسبة الى الإذاعة الوطنية العامة.

بقع النوم من المشردين

تعرف حكومة الولايات المتحدة الفقر بأنه أسرة مكونة من أربعة أفراد يقل دخل أسرهم عن 25,700 دولار. للفقر العديد من الوجوه في أمريكا ، من الأشخاص الذين يعملون في وظائف متعددة الحد الأدنى للأجور إلى كبار السن الذين يعيشون على دخل ثابت ، من العمال المأجورين المسرحين فجأة من العمل إلى الأفراد الذين يعانون من مشاكل صحية أو تعاطي المخدرات.

بينما يؤثر الفقر على الجميع ، فإنه لا يؤثر على جميع السكان على قدم المساواة. لسوء الحظ ، تم العثور على أعلى معدل للفقر حسب العرق بين السكان الأصليين في البلاد ، الأمريكيين الأصليين ، حيث يعيش 25.4 ٪ من الناس في فقر مذهل. يشكل الأمريكيون السود ثاني أعلى مجموعة بنسبة 20.8٪.

كيف نوقف الجوع في أمريكا؟

ابحث في البرامج والمنظمات التي تعمل على إنهاء مشكلة الجوع في الولايات المتحدة واكتشف كيف يمكنك المساعدة.

تقاسم الافوكادو

من بين الأسر التي شملتها الدراسة التي أجرتها وزارة الزراعة في الولايات المتحدة (USDA) ، أفاد 56 ٪ أنهم في الشهر السابق ، شاركوا في واحد أو أكثر من أكبر ثلاثة برامج مساعدة غذائية وتغذية فيدرالية. يُعرف أحد هذه البرامج باسم SNAP ، أو برنامج التغذية التكميلية (وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية ، حالة الأمن الغذائي للأسر الأمريكية في 2018).

بفضل البرامج الفيدرالية مثل SNAP وكذلك منظمات الدعم الدولية المحلية والخاصة مثل Food for Life Globalكل يوم ، يمكن أن يبدأ الآلاف من الأمريكيين في شق طريقهم للخروج من الفقر والجوع. يساعد الغذاء من أجل الحياة الولايات المتحدة على تعزيز العائلات ، وخلق فرص العمل ، وتحسين الأحياء من خلال مساعدة مواطنيها في حاجتهم الأولى: الطعام.

تبرع اليوم

Food for Life Global تأسست (FFLG) في عام 1995 ولديها حاليًا مكتب يقع في ديلاوير بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، والذي يعمل كمقر لمشاريع الغذاء من أجل الحياة في جميع أنحاء العالم. مع المتطوعين الذين يقدمون ما يصل إلى 2,000,000،XNUMX،XNUMX وجبة نباتية مجانية يوميًا للمدارس ، وكذلك من عربات متنقلة ومناطق الكوارث ، تعد FFLG أكبر منظمة إغاثة غذائية في العالم ، حتى أنها تفوقت حتى على برنامج الغذاء العالمي التابع للأمم المتحدة.

إذا كنت ترغب في أن تكون جزءًا من حل والمساعدة في إطعام الأميركيين الجياع وكذلك ملايين الآخرين المحتاجين حول العالم ، التبرع ل Food for Life Global.

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
دعم العمل الهام Food for Life Global لخدمة شبكتها الدولية التي تضم أكثر من 200 شركة تابعة في 60 دولة.
Food for Life Global هي منظمة خيرية 501 (c) (3) ، EIN 36-4887167. تعتبر جميع التبرعات معفاة من الضرائب في غياب أي قيود على الخصم تنطبق على دافع ضرائب معين. لم يتم تقديم أي سلع أو خدمات في مقابل مساهمتك.
Food For Life Global’s المهمة الأساسية هي تحقيق السلام والازدهار في العالم من خلال التوزيع الليبرالي للوجبات النباتية النقية التي أعدت بنية محبة.

united states flag in front of grey skies

Is there hunger in the United States?

In 2018, 37.2 million people (approximately 11% of the U.S. population) lived in food-insecure households. This means they were often forced to skip meals, eat less at meals, buy cheap non-nutritious food and/or feed their children but not themselves (United States Department of Agriculture, Household Food Security in the United States in 2017).

What are the main causes of hunger in America?

No matter where it exists in the world, hunger is a dynamic issue of a cyclical nature.

Hungry american woman is eating cotton candy in front of merry-go-round

If a child grows up in a food-insecure household, they’re much more likely to remain food-insecure into adulthood, taking with them the associated burdens of hunger such as malnutrition. Malnutrition can have significant effects on a person’s physical and mental health, making it difficult to earn an education and maintain gainful employment, only exacerbating the existing problem. While there are many different causes of food insecurity and hunger in the United States, there are a few that stand out as the most common.

Unemployment

The average annual unemployment rate among high food insecurity counties in the United States was over 7%, compared to 5% across all counties (Feeding America, Map the Meal Gap 2019).

Poverty

poverty: old broken house

Unsurprisingly, the poverty rate was much higher in the above-mentioned counties well, with an average poverty rate of 27% compared to 16% in the other counties (Feeding America, Map the Meal Gap 2019).

Median Income

Homeless is holding a sign

As you might expect, the average median household income in these affected counties was much lower than the national average, with high unemployment and high food-insecure countries earning an average of $35,067 annually, compared to the national average median annual household income of $49,754 (Feeding America, Map the Meal Gap 2019).

Homeownership

The average homeownership rate for high food-insecure counties was 65% in 2018, compared to the national average of 71% (Feeding America, Map the Meal Gap 2019).

How does hunger affect America?

USA satelite view

Hunger is an unhealthy and high-stress environment for individuals and families who are affected by it. We already know that hunger and malnourishment can cause physical damage to the human body in the form of high blood pressure, diabetes, and increased risk of developing life-threatening illnesses such as heart disease and cancer. But hunger takes a toll on mental health as well.

Mental Health

According to an article published by The American Academy of Pediatrics in 2002, mothers with school-aged children who face severe hunger are 56.2% more likely to have PTSD and 53.1% more likely to have severe depression.

Sick woman begging on the street

So not only is the mental health of the hungry at stake, but also the mental health of loved ones responsible for feeding them.

Academics

It’s not hard to imagine hunger’s negative effect on a child’s ability to learn. Imagine taking your exams without having had anything substantial to eat since the day before, trying to mask the sounds of your growling stomach in the classroom. Concentration aside, an empty stomach can cause children to be irritable, hyperactive, and aggressive. These effects not only distract students from their work, but they can also have lifelong consequences in the form of learning disabilities and behavioral issues. It’s estimated that in the U.S., approximately 50% of students affected by hunger will need to repeat a grade at least once.

Do people die of hunger in the US?

This is a difficult number to track, as hunger is the root cause of so many health problems in the United States and all over the world.

Food leftover in front of homless sleeping spot

While food-insecure individuals and families in the United States may not be starving to death in the conventional sense, their diets lack essential nutrients and instead consist of mass-produced high-calorie foods that are widely available at prices they can afford. The prolonged consumption of these foods has been linked to significant health problems and life-threatening diseases such as cancer, heart disease, and diabetes.

What state has the most hunger?

The lowest median household income in the United States can be found in McCreary County, Kentucky, where people earn less than half of the average of all U.S. counties (Feeding America, Map the Meal Gap 2019).

Two homeless are sitting in front of supermarket with the basket

The per capita income for McCreary County was $12,903 in 2018. Approximately 41% of the population live below the poverty line, a number that is much, much higher than the national average of 13.1%.

homeless young guy is sitting on the street

 Despite these statistics, according to this Food Research and Action Center (FRAC) data table, the highest rate of household food insecurity between 2016 and 2018 was discovered in the state of New Mexico, where a staggering 16.8% of households were designated as food-insecure.

 It should be noted, however, that this percentage of the population only accounts for 836,000 people. The state with the highest number of food-insecure households was California, with an astonishing 14,011,000 households designated food-insecure (10.6% of the state’s population).

How many people are poor in the US?

In 2018, 38.1 million people were living in poverty in the United States, meaning the country’s national poverty rate for 2018 was 11.8%, according to NPR.

Sleeping spots of homeless

 Poverty is defined by the U.S. government as a family of four whose household income is less than $25,700. Poverty has many faces in America, from people working multiple minimum wage jobs to seniors living on fixed incomes, from laid-off wage workers suddenly out of work to individuals struggling with health problems or substance abuse.

 While poverty affects everyone, it does not affect all populations equally. Unfortunately, the highest poverty rate by race is found among the country’s indigenous population, the Native Americans, where a staggering 25.4% of people are living in poverty. Black Americans make up the second-highest group at 20.8%.

How can we stop hunger in America?

Research the programs and organizations that are working to end the problem of hunger in the United States and find out how you can help.

Sharing avocado

Of the households surveyed by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), 56% reported that in the previous month, they had participated in one or more of the three largest Federal food and nutrition assistance programs. One of these programs is known as SNAP, or the Supplemental Nutrition Program (United States Department of Agriculture, Food Security Status of US Households in 2018).

 Thanks to federal programs like SNAP as well as local and private international support organizations like Food for Life Global, every day, thousands of Americans can begin to work their way out of poverty and hunger. Food for life helps the United States strengthen families, create jobs, and improve neighborhoods by helping its citizens with their number one need: food.

Make a donation today

Food for Life Global (FFLG) was founded in 1995 and currently has an office based in Delaware, USA, which serves as the headquarters for Food for Life projects worldwide. With volunteers serving up to 2,000,000 free plant-based meals daily to schools, as well as from mobile vans and to disaster areas, FFLG is the largest food relief organization in the world, surpassing even the United Nations World Food Programme.

If you would like to be a part of the solution and help feed hungry Americans as well as the millions of others in need around the world, make a donation to Food for Life Global.

https://secureservercdn.net/198.71.233.109/4hr.f77.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.
Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.