10年後-FFLG最令人難忘的救濟工作

DSC00240

我記得我從斯里蘭卡Indradyumna Swami接到的電話。 我坐在世界銀行的辦公室裡。 我剛剛開始一份新工作,很舒服,很安靜。 “保羅,你必須來這裡。 真的不好我們需要對此作出回應。 這是現代歷史上最大的自然災害。” 

我已經看到了這個新聞,但像大多數人一樣,我沒有讓災難的規模真正陷入。電視之所以如此,是因為它使我們能夠觀看災難的發生,而不必太過投入情感。 我關心人們,但不確定我們的組織如何有效響應。 過去沒有什麼可以衡量的。 這場災難在各個方面都是史無前例的。 這場災難蔓延了數千英里! 我的意思是,我們從哪裡開始? 

斯瓦米堅持不懈。 “我們必須做點什麼。” 我同意並想知道我能做什麼。 畢竟,我也是“生命食品”的一名志願人員,而且我剛剛開始了一份收入豐厚的新工作,現在我正在支持我的新家庭。 然後其他電話開始打來。“保羅,什麼是 Food for Life Global 為海嘯倖存者做什麼?” “我們能幫你什麼嗎?” 現在沒有回頭路了。 我必須做點什麼,而且必須快。 我關上了辦公室的門,將其變成FFL緊急救援中心。 我設置了一個捐贈頁面,並發布了一份報告,表明FFLG正在計劃響應。 我呼籲志願者。 我使球開始運動。 我不知道會導致什麼。 但是我們進入了。我進入了。我們將提供幫助。

在接下來的一周裡,數以萬計的美元開始湧入FFLG Paypal帳戶,數百人主動提供志願服務。 各行各業的人,醫生,律師,製片人,警務人員,銀行家……他們都想提供幫助,並準備出國旅行。 我們收到了500多個志願者申請!

我還從馬來西亞,菲律賓,匈牙利,斯洛文尼亞和南非的FFL志願者那裡接到電話和電子郵件。 他們也想做點什麼,我了解到我們在印度金奈的會員 ISKCON 生命之糧實際上是在海嘯襲擊的同一天通過在欽奈的海灘上提供熱食來應對的。 生命之糧是第一響應者! 主流媒體不會注意到這一事實。 

我們所有的FFL團隊都參加了這次電話會議。 但是從我們的物流角度來看,斯里蘭卡是我們真正有所作為的最佳機會。 ISKCON 在首都科倫坡有一座寺廟,並在需要時有一個孤兒院收養孤兒。 有了捐款,我得以支付一些最專業的廚師和經驗豐富的救援人員飛往斯里蘭卡建立大本營。 第一個挑戰是收集信息並評估如何最有效地應對。 成千上萬的倖存者遍布島上數百英里,這絕非易事。 在第一周,事情變得停滯了,因為我們在斯里蘭卡的團隊就新聞中報導的相互矛盾的信息以及他們在實地看到的情況進行辯論。 還有另一個挑戰:代理機構的自我,因為許多較成熟的組織都試圖引起人們的關注,而不允許較小的代理機構提供幫助的機會。 就是在那個時候,我本人飛往斯里蘭卡。 我到了,然後美國和歐洲的其他志願者很快就抵達了。 在一周之內,我們有一支大約20人的團隊,他們願意並願意盡一切可能養活盡可能多的人。 

最終,我們意識到,與斯里蘭卡軍隊一起工作是我們為救援工作做出貢獻的最佳機會。 然後,我們的重點變成了在陸軍工作地點附近的戰略要地設置廚房。 我們做到了這一點,並取得了巨大的成功,因為我們的團隊在烹飪和輪班服務的每個人中都與當地人一起切菜。 在炎熱的夏天,在帳篷下用柴火準備由混合的蔬菜燉菜和米飯組成的辛辣飯。 在非常測試的條件下,這是艱苦的工作。 

在接下來的3個月中,為倖存者提供了300,000頓飯,其中一些是在科倫坡FFL孤兒院找到庇護所的孤兒。 Food for Life Global 籌集了超過150,000萬美元的捐款,其中很大一部分用於幫助和擴大孤兒院。 我為所有像我一樣無休假地嘗試幫助來自遙遠國家的人們的志願者感到自豪。 這是世界上真正的團結時刻,甚至比許多美國人9/11經歷的時刻還要多。 節禮日海嘯將永遠存在於自願幫助重建破碎國家的男人和女人的心中。

這是一個轉折點 Food for Life Global 因為這是我們組織第一次在全球範圍內協調緊急救援。 Food for Life Global 通過充滿愛意的純植物性食物的自由分銷,那裡充滿了力量,帶來了和平與繁榮。

在此處閱讀原始報告

 

保羅·特納

保羅·特納

保羅·特納共同創立 Food for Life Global 1995 年,他曾是僧侶、世界銀行資深人士、企業家、整體生活教練、素食廚師,著有 6 本書,其中包括《FOOD YOGA》、《靈魂幸福的 7 條格言》。

先生。 在過去的 72 年裡,特納走遍了 35 個國家,幫助建立“生命之糧”項目、培訓志願者並記錄他們的成功。

發表評論

如何產生影響

捐贈

幫助他人

加密貨幣

捐贈加密貨幣

動物

幫助動物

專案介紹

志願者機會
成為倡導者
開始你自己的項目
緊急救援

志願者
機遇

成為

開始你的
自己的項目

緊急
救濟

Blog

10 years later — FFLG’s Most Memorable Relief Effort

DSC00240

I remember the call I got from Indradyumna Swami in Sri Lanka. I was sitting in my office at the World Bank. I had just started a new job and was comfortable and peaceful. “Paul you have to come here. It is really bad. We need to respond to this. It is the biggest natural disaster in modern history.” 

I had seen the news, but like most I had not allowed the magnitude of the disaster to really sink in. Television has that affect in that it allows us to watch calamity unfold without being too emotionally involved. I cared for the people, but was not sure how our organization could respond effectively. There was nothing from the past to measure this by. This disaster was unprecedented  in every way. The devastation was spread over thousands of miles! I mean, where do we begin? 

The swami was insistent. “We have to do something.” I agreed and wondered what I could do. After all I, was a volunteer for Food for Life too, and I had just started a new job that paid well and I was now supporting my new family. Then other calls started coming in. “Paul, what is Food for Life Global doing for the Tsunami survivors?” “How can we help?” There was no turning back now. I had to do something and it had to be fast. I closed the door on my office and turned it into FFL emergency relief central. I set up a donation page and posted a report that FFLG was planning a response. I appealed for volunteers. I had set the ball in motion. Where it would lead I had no idea. But we were in. I was in. We were going to help.

Over the next week, literally tens of thousands of dollars began pouring into the FFLG paypal account and hundreds of people offered to volunteer. People from all walks of life, doctors, lawyers, producers, police officers, bankers…they all wanted to help and were prepared to travel overseas. We received over 500 volunteer applications!

I also got phone calls and emails from FFL volunteers in Malaysia, the Philippines, Hungary, Slovenia and South Africa. They too wanted to do something and I learned that our affiliate in Chennai, India ISKCON Food for Life had actually responded the very same day the tsunami hit, by serving hot meals on the beaches of Chennai. Food for Life was the first responder! This fact would go unnoticed by mainstream media. 

All our FFL teams were rallying to the call. But it seemed that logistically for us, Sri Lanka was our best chance to really make a difference. ISKCON had a temple in the capital city, Colombo and an orphanage to take in orphaned children if need be. With the donations that came in I was able to pay to fly some of our most expert cooks and experienced relief workers to Sri Lanka to set up basecamp. The first challenge was gathering information and assessing how to most effectively respond. With hundreds of thousands of survivors spread over hundreds of miles on the island it was not going to be easy.  For the first week things stalled as our team in Sri Lanka debated with conflicting information reported in the news and what they were seeing on the ground. There was also another challenge: agency ego, as many of the more established organizations tried to hog the spotlight and not allow the smaller agencies a chance to help. It was at that time that I flew over to Sri Lanka myself. I arrived and then other volunteers from the USA and Europe began arriving soon after. Within a week we had a team of about 20 people ready and willing to do whatever it took to feed as many people as we could. 

Eventually we realized that our best chance of contributing to the relief efforts was by working alongside the Sri Lankan army. Our focus then became setting up our kitchens in strategic locations near where the army was working. We did just that and it was a grand success as our teams engaged locals in cutting vegetables while we cooked and served everyone in shifts. The hot and spicy meals consisting of mixed vegetable stews and rice were prepared on firewood in the hot summer under tents. It was hard work under very testing conditions. 

Over the next 3 months over 300,000 meals were served to survivors, some of them orphans who found shelter in the FFL orphanage in Colombo. Food for Life Global raised over $150,000 in donations, with a hefty amount used to help support and expand the orphanage. I was very proud of all the volunteers who left their jobs on unpaid leave, as I did, to try to help people from a far away country. It was a true moment of unity in the world, even more than what many Americans experienced with 9/11. The boxing day Tsunami will forever live in the hearts of the men and women who volunteered to help rebuild shattered nations.

It was a turning point for Food for Life Global as it was to be the first time our organization would coordinate emergency relief on a global scale. Food for Life Global was there in full force bringing peace and prosperity through the liberal distribution of pure plantbased meals prepared with love.

Read the original report here

 

About Editor

Director of Food for Life Global and the author of the best selling book, FOOD YOGA - Nourishing Body, Mind & Soul. http://www.foodyogi.org

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.