يسرد بول تيرنر رحلته في FFLG على المراسلة في Mission Podcast

آخر تحديث في 19 يوليو 2022
جيمي جودمانجيمي جودمان

المدير التنفيذي والمؤسس المشارك لـ Food for Life Global، بول تيرنر ، أتيحت له الفرصة مؤخرًا للتحدث مع سبنسر برينمان في بودكاست برينمان ، "المراسلة في مهمة." البودكاست يعمل "لتوضيح الطرق التي تساعد بها الرسائل الجذابة المؤسسات التي تحركها المهام على الازدهار في أي بيئة."

تحدث من ارتفاع 10,000 قدم فوق مستوى سطح البحر في أعلى جبال الأنديز ، وروى تورنر الرحلة التي قادته إلى Food for Life Global:

في سن التاسعة عشرة فقط ، قرر تيرنر أن يصبح راهبًا عازبًا ، وكرس نفسه لهذه الممارسة لمدة 19 عامًا. كانت الوجبات تؤكل فقط في أوقات معينة ، وتردد المانترا يومياً ، وكانت الوسائد ترفاً لا داعي له.

كراهب ، شارك تيرنر في برامج التوعية التي تضمنت إطعام المحتاجين في سيدني ، أستراليا ، حيث نشأ. كانت هذه أول مقدمة له لتجربة إنسانية. قال تورنر: "لقد أصبح هذا هو الاتجاه الذي سلكته لبقية حياتي".

في هذه المرحلة ، في الثمانينيات ، كانت Food for Life حركة شعبية ولم تكن قد أصبحت عالمية بعد. قال تيرنر: "لقد بدأت أدرك أن هذا كان أكثر من مجرد ملء البطون ، وأن هذا البرنامج لديه ما يقدمه ، وكان له مغزى أكبر".

قرر تيرنر أن هناك المزيد الذي يريد أن يفعله في حياته ، واختتم أيامه كراهب. في عام 1993 ، غادر أستراليا ، وهاجر إلى الولايات المتحدة لإنشاء مقر للجمعية الخيرية ، وبدأ في الاتصال بها Food for Life Global.

"إن مهمة أصبحوا يستخدمون الطعام كوسيلة لتوحيد الناس ولتوحيد العالم ".

المشكلة الرئيسية التي تحيط بانعدام الأمن الغذائي هي أن هناك وفرة من الغذاء في العالم ، ومع ذلك هناك توزيع غير عادل لهذه الموارد. مع Food for Life Globalأثار تيرنر السؤال: لماذا يوجد توزيع غير عادل؟

"هذا هو المكان Food for Life Global أعادت تنظيم نفسها من مجرد منظمة منتظمة للإغاثة الغذائية ، إلى منظمة لديها مهمة روحية تتمثل في استخدام الطعام كوسيلة لتوحيد العالم ، "قال تورنر. "وعندما يكون لدينا هذا الشعور بالوحدة ، تختفي أشياء مثل الجوع في العالم بين عشية وضحاها."

يشارك تيرنر هذه الرسالة المهمة من خلال كتابه يوجا الغذاء. تتعامل اليوغا الغذائية مع علاقة الكائنات الحية بالطعام. يتم نقل الطاقة والنية التي يتم وضعها في الغذاء إلى المستهلك. قال تورنر: "عندما تقوم بإعداد الطعام ، إذا قمت بإعداده بنية محبة ، فإنه لا يمكن أن يغذي الشخص جسديًا فقط ، ولكنه يمكن أن يغذي عقله وروحه أيضًا".

لحل مشكلة التوزيع غير العادل ، تقوم المؤسسة الخيرية بأكثر من مجرد تقديم وجبات الطعام. "في Food for life Global، نحن لا نطعم الناس فحسب ، بل نوفر أيضًا التثقيف حول فوائد النظام الغذائي النباتي ، والعيش بشكل طبيعي ، ومحاولة تحويل الناس نحو حل طويل الأمد ، "قال تورنر. وتابع قائلاً: "لقد أدركنا مبكرًا أننا بحاجة إلى تثقيف الناس. نحن بحاجة إلى تغيير النظام ".

كرس تيرنر حياته الآن لتغيير هذا النظام. لأكثر من 40 عامًا ، كان ينمو Food for Life Global إلى المنظمة غير الربحية الناجحة للغاية كما هي عليه اليوم.

ترك تيرنر للمستمعين عبارة قوية تجسد انتقاله من راهب عازب إلى زعيم خيري عالمي: "عِش حياتك ، وليس حياة شخص آخر".

تعليق

undrajavarapu yesurathnam.

تحياتي لكم من الهند باسم يسوع المسيح مخلصنا وربنا. أحب أن أعرف جيدًا والمزيد عن هذا food for life global الخدمة لذا أحتاج إلى مساعدتك ومساعدتك في هذه الخدمة ، لذا دعني أعرف سيدي ، أنا قس ، من الهند. و
أشكرك مرة أخرى سيدي. Resp، Paul. آر ، تيرنر.

27 يوليو، 2022

اترك تعليقا

Paul Turner Recounts his FFLG Journey on Messaging on a Mission Podcast

Last updated on July 19, 2022
Jamie GoodmanJamie Goodman

Executive director and co-founder of Food for Life Global, Paul Turner, recently had the opportunity to speak with Spencer Brenneman on Brenneman’s podcast, “Messaging on a Mission.” The podcast works “to demonstrate the ways compelling messaging helps mission-driven organizations thrive in any environment.”

Speaking from 10,000 feet above sea level at the top of the Andes mountains, Turner recounted the journey that brought him to Food for Life Global:

At just the age of 19, Turner decided to become a celibate monk, dedicating himself to the practice for the next 14 years. Meals were only eaten at certain times, mantras were chanted daily, and pillows were a luxury not needed.

As a monk, Turner participated in outreach programs that entailed feeding the needy people in Sydney, Australia, where he grew up. This was his first introduction to a humanitarian experience. “That became the direction that I took for the rest of my life,” said Turner.

At this point, in the 80s, Food for Life was a grassroots movement and had not gone global yet. “I started to realize that this was more than simply just filling bellies, and that this program had something to offer, which was more meaningful,” said Turner.

Turner decided that there was more he wanted to do with his life, and wrapped up his days as a monk. In 1993, he left Australia, migrated to the US to set up the headquarters for the charity, and began calling it Food for Life Global.

“The mission became using food as a way to unite people, to bring the world together.”

The major problem surrounding food insecurity is that there is plenty of food in the world, yet there is an inequitable distribution of these resources. With Food for Life Global, Turner has raised the question: Why is there an inequitable distribution?

“This is where Food for Life Global realigned itself from just a regular food relief organization, to an organization that had a spiritual mission of using food as a way to unite the world,” said Turner. “And when we have this sense of unity, things like world hunger disappear overnight.”

Turner shares this important message through his book Food Yoga. Food Yoga deals with the connection living beings have with food. The energy and intention that is put into food is transferred to the consumer. “When you prepare food, if you prepare it with a loving intention, it cannot only nourish a person physically, but it can nourish their mind and spirit as well,” said Turner.

To solve the issue of inequitable distribution, the charity does more than just provide meals. “At Food for life Global, we not only feed people, but we also provide education about the benefits of a plant-based diet, living naturally, and trying to shift people towards a more long-term solution,” said Turner. He went on to say, “We realized early on that we need to educate people. We need to change the system.”

Turner has now dedicated his life to changing this system. For over 40 years, he has been growing Food for Life Global into the highly successful nonprofit that it is today.

Turner left listeners with a powerful phrase that embodies his transition from celibate monk to global charity leader: “Live your life, not someone else’s.”

1 comment

undrajavarapu yesurathnam.

Greetings to you from India in name of Jesus Christ Our Savior and lord. I like to know well and more about this food for life global service so I need your help and assistance in this service so let me know sir, I am a pastor, from India. and
thanking you again Sir. resp, Paul. R, Turner.

July 27, 2022

Leave a comment

How To Make An Impact

donate

Help People

Crypto Currency

Donate Crypto

Animal

Help Animals

fundraise

Fundraise

Projects

Volunteer Opportunities
Become an advocate
start your own project
EMERGENCY RELIEF

VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Become an
Advocate

Start Your
Own Project

EMERGENCY
RELIEF

Recent Posts