匈牙利的Food for Life (“生命之粮”)向有需要的人分发Prasadam和口罩,COVID-2019

14月2020日XNUMX年
Paul TurnerPaul Turner

由:  用于 ISKCON 13月2020日XNUMX年新闻

与COVID-19大流行期间世界各地的所有寺庙一样, ISKCON 匈牙利在布达佩斯和克里希纳山谷的财产已被封锁,奉献者仍待在家里。 克里希纳谷(Krishna Valley)几乎可以自给自足,例如谷物,面粉,水果,蔬菜和蜂蜜等食品,奉献者正努力在田间工作,以在这段时间内增加食品产量并减少去商店的次数。

同时,所有社区计划,辅导员系统和上午计划以及针对公众的外展计划都已在线转移。 例如,受欢迎的传教士Lilasuka Das正在制作现场录像,讲述如何在如此艰难的时代中度过难关。 而Bhaktipada Das正在拍摄视频,向公众展示危机期间克里希纳山谷的日常生活。 所有视频和现场活动均在克里希纳谷地的Facebook页面上播出 https://www.facebook.com/krisnavolgy.

但是,奉献者仍在亲自进行一项公共服务-那就是 生命之粮.

“我们发现,由于冠状病毒,越来越多的人失去工作,并耗尽了钱,” ISKCON 匈牙利发言人Gandharvika Prema Dasi。 “他们没有支持。 因此,有需要的人数一直在增长。”

生命之粮还分发人们可以用来做饭的食物银行捐款
生命之粮还分发人们可以用来做饭的食物银行捐款

食物生命基金会团队的十位奉献者与来自世界各地的十位志愿者一起参加 ISKCON 社区,包括演员和制片人,由于所有剧院关闭,他们现在已经失业。

每天,团队免费分发 prasadam (植物性食品) 在北部城市埃格尔(Eger),克里希纳山谷(Krishna Valley)周围的三个村庄以及匈牙利首都布达佩斯。

生命之食现在提供2,400盘 prasadam 每天-是大流行之前的两倍-仅在布达佩斯,就有1,800人处于大流行。

团队努力工作。 厨师在早上6:00左右开始准备食物,志愿者将它们赶到城市的不同地方,并在午餐时间分发食物,每个人都在下午三四点结束一天的工作。

终身粮食志愿者免费分发 prasadam 每周一至周五的市区
终身粮食志愿者免费分发 prasadam 每周一至周五的市区

从周一到周五, prasadam 每天分布在城市中最弱势人群居住的四个不同地点,以及由当地自治市运营的无家可归服务机构BMSZKI。 人们还可以每天在城市公园Népliget享用免费食物。

在冠状病毒大流行期间,人们观察到卫生标准的提高,所有厨师都留在检疫区,所有杂货在进入厨房之前都经过了消毒,所有厨房工作台面,运输工具和分发食物的桌子也经过了仔细消毒。 此外,志愿者定期洗手,戴口罩和手套, prasadam 被要求站在每个人两米的距离内。

而不是传统的印度 prasadam,Food For Life提供了更适合匈牙利口味的菜肴,例如豆类或小扁豆汤,菠菜制备等,并通过二十种不同的菜单进行轮换。

“我们给人们尽可能多的东西 prasadam 他们可以将它们装在容器中,以便将其带回家人,邻居或朋友。” Gandharvika Prema说。 “除了热食,我们还向他们提供从食物库中获得的各种杂货,例如水果,蔬菜和罐头食品,以便他们可以自己做饭。”

印刷脚印确保 prasadam 收件人在排队时保持适当的社交距离
印刷脚印确保 prasadam 收件人在排队时保持适当的社交距离

更重要的是,“生命之粮”不只是在养活人们。 奉献者还将与每个盘子一起分发由Lagoon捐赠的10,000个免费面罩,Lagoon是一个奉献者所有的企业,该公司最近将其生产从服装改为面罩,以帮助人们在大流行期间保持健康。

“我们发现现在缺乏口罩,即使您可以在药房或其他地方找到它们,它们也是如此昂贵,” Gandharvika Prema说。 “因此,我们决定在全国范围内开展这项面具运动; 而第一个得到它们的就是我们的《终身粮食》接收者。” (奉献者还将把可洗口罩分发给医院和其他机构以及 ISKCON 会众。)

甘达维卡补充说:“我遇到一位母亲告诉我,'我有一千福林(匈牙利货币),我必须决定要买口罩还是1公斤土豆和一些面粉。 所以这就是人们最近的生活方式。”

志愿者分发了10,000个口罩
志愿者分发了10,000个口罩

除了公众以外,“生命之粮”还为布达佩斯的一个实验室提供膳食,科学家正在研究冠状病毒,并为四家不同的医院和一个救护站提供膳食。

“医护人员是当今的英雄,”甘达维卡·普雷玛(Gandharvika Prema)说。 “现在很多人在吃东西 prasadam”

Prasadam 当然,对于一般人,尤其是最需要的人来说,分发始终是一种高度赞赏的外联方法 ISKCON。 但是在危机时刻,甘达维卡·普雷玛(Gandharvika Prema)解释说,这一点尤其重要。

向布达佩斯的改革教会医院的院长捐赠口罩
向布达佩斯的改革教会医院院长捐赠口罩

她说:“人们感到不安全,并在思考'为什么会发生在我们身上?'这样的问题。” “如此多的人与外界隔绝,仅从电视和广播中获得坏消息,并被消极和沮丧的邻居包围。 他们需要与他人保持联系,尤其是那些有积极情绪和一些答案的人。 所以 prasadam 分配是奉献者与这些人见面,并给他们上帝一些幸福和希望的理想方式。”


如果您想捐赠给Food for Life Foundation prasadam 请在COVID-19大流行期间在匈牙利分发使用下面的银行详细信息来存钱。

帐户持有人:Etelt az Eletert Alapitvany

地址:匈牙利,1039 Budapest,Lehel street 15。

IBAN代码:HU55 – 1030 – 0002 – 1063 – 1840 – 4902 – 0019

SWIFT代码:MKKB HU HB

电子邮箱 info@karitativ.hu.

原来的文章: https://iskconnews.org/food-for-life-hungary-distributes-prasadam-and-face-masks-to-the-needy,7324/

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。

Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。

发表评论

Food For Life Hungary Distributes Prasadam and Face Masks to the Needy, COVID-2019

By:  for ISKCON News on April 13, 2020

As with all temples around the world during the COVID-19 Pandemic, ISKCON Hungary’s properties in Budapest and Krishna Valley have been locked down, and devotees are staying at home. Krishna Valley is nearly self-sufficient in some foods, such as grains, flour, fruits, vegetables, and honey, and devotees are working hard in the fields to increase their food production during this time and reduce trips to the store.

Meanwhile, all community programs, counselor systems, and morning programs have been moved online, as have outreach programs for the public. Popular preacher Lilasuka Das, for instance, is doing live videos on how to mentally survive such challenging times; while Bhaktipada Das is filming videos to show the public what everyday life is like in Krishna Valley during the crisis. All videos and live events are broadcast on Krishna Valley’s Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/krisnavolgy.

There is, however, one public service the devotees are continuing in person – and that’s Food For Life.

“We see that because of the Coronavirus, more and more people are losing their jobs, and running out of money,” says ISKCON Hungary spokesperson Gandharvika Prema Dasi. “And they have no support. So the number of people in need has been growing.”

Food For Life also distributes Food Bank donations that people can use to cook for themselves

Food For Life also distributes Food Bank donations that people can use to cook for themselves

The ten devotees on the Food For Life Foundation team are joined by ten volunteers from outside the ISKCON community, including actors and producers who are now out of work since all the theaters have closed down.

Every day, the team distributes free prasadam (sanctified plant-based food) in the Northern city of Eger, in three villages surrounding Krishna Valley, and in Hungary’s capital, Budapest.

Food For Life is now serving out 2,400 plates of prasadam daily – twice as much as before the pandemic – with 1,800 of those in plates in Budapest alone.

The team works hard. Cooks start preparing food at around 6:00 am, volunteers drive it out to different parts of the city and distribute it at lunchtime, and everyone finishes up their day at three or four in the afternoon.

Food For Life volunteers distribute free prasadam downtown every Monday to Friday

Food For Life volunteers distribute free prasadam downtown every Monday to Friday

From Monday to Friday, prasadam is distributed daily at four different spots in the city where the most underprivileged people live, as well as at BMSZKI, a homeless service institution run by the local Municipality. People can also get free food at a daily serve out in Népliget, a city park.

Increased hygiene standards are observed during the Coronavirus pandemic, with all cooks remaining in quarantine, all groceries sanitized before they enter the kitchen, and all kitchen work surfaces, transport vehicles, and tables where the food is distributed also carefully sanitized. In addition, volunteers wash their hands regularly and wear masks and gloves, while recipients of the prasadam are asked to stand in line with two meters’ distance between each person.

Rather than traditional Indian prasadam, Food For Life serves out dishes more tailored to the Hungarian palate, such as bean or lentil soup, spinach preparations and more, rotating through twenty different menus.

“We give people as much prasadam as they want in containers, so they can take it back to their families, neighbors or friends,” Gandharvika Prema says. “As well as the hot food, we also give them a variety of groceries we get from the food bank, such as fruits, vegetables, and canned foods, so that they can use it to cook for themselves.”

Printed footprints ensure prasadam recipients maintain the right amount of social distance when in line

Printed footprints ensure prasadam recipients maintain the right amount of social distance when in line

What’s more, Food For Life isn’t just feeding people. Along with each plate, devotees are also distributing 10,000 free face masks donated by Lagoon, a devotee-owned business that recently switched its production from clothing to face masks, to help people stay healthy during the pandemic.

“We found that there is a lack of masks available now, and even if you can find them in the pharmacy or elsewhere, they are so expensive,” says Gandharvika Prema. “So we decided to do this mask-giving campaign throughout the country; and the first ones to get them are our Food For Life recipients.” (Devotees will also distribute the washable masks to hospitals and other institutions, as well as to ISKCON congregational members.)

Gandharvika adds: “I met one mother who told me, ‘I have a thousand forints (the Hungarian currency), and I have to decide whether to buy a mask or 1 kg of potatoes and some flour. So this is how people are living these days.”

Volunteers are distributing 10,000 facemasks

Volunteers are distributing 10,000 facemasks

In addition to the general public, Food For Life is also providing meals to a laboratory in Budapest where scientists are doing research on the Coronavirus, as well as to four different hospitals and one ambulance station.

“Healthcare workers are today’s heroes,” Gandharvika Prema says. “And now many of them are eating prasadam!”

Prasadam distribution for people in general and especially those who need it most, is, of course, always a highly appreciated method of outreach for ISKCON. But in this time of crisis, Gandharvika Prema explains, it is especially important.

Donating face masks to the director of the Reformed Church's hospital in Budapest

Donating face masks to the director of the Reformed Church’s hospital in Budapest

“People are feeling insecure, and are mulling over questions like ‘Why is this happening to us?’” she says. “So many are isolated, get only bad news from the TV and radio, and are surrounded by negative and depressed neighbors. They need to connect with others, especially those who have a positive mood and some answers. So prasadam distribution is the perfect way for devotees to meet with these people, and give them God, some happiness, and hope.”


If you would like to donate to Food For Life Foundation’s prasadam distribution in Hungary during the COVID-19 Pandemic, please send money using the bank details below.

Account holder: Etelt az Eletert Alapitvany

Address: Hungary, 1039 Budapest, Lehel street 15.

IBAN code: HU55 – 1030 – 0002 – 1063 – 1840 – 4902 – 0019

SWIFT code: MKKB HU HB

Email info@karitativ.hu.

Original Article: https://iskconnews.org/food-for-life-hungary-distributes-prasadam-and-face-masks-to-the-needy,7324/

https://secureservercdn.net/198.71.233.109/4hr.f77.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.

Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.

Write a comment