Des ONG et des députés européens refusent des tarifs gratuits et durables

Dernière mise à jour en octobre 17, 2022
Paul TurnerPaul Turner

REPAS GRATUITÉVÉNEMENT SPÉCIAL - POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

29th Septembre 2015, Esplanade du Parlement européen, Bruxelles - Oui, il existe un déjeuner gratuit - et le 29th Septembre 2015, une coalition d'ONG et de députés proposent exactement cela.

Le déjeuner gratuit est un événement public culinaire, culturel et politique co-organisé par Humane Society International, Compassion in World Farming, Food for Life Global, Beyond GM et le groupe des systèmes alimentaires durables du Parlement européen.

Organisateurs indépendants

Les organisateurs serviront jusqu'à 1000 XNUMX déjeuners gratuits aux membres du Parlement européen, au personnel parlementaire et aux visiteurs, aux fonctionnaires de la Commission européenne et aux membres du public. La nourriture supplémentaire préparée pendant l'événement sera donnée à les réfugiés campés au parc Maximilien à Bruxelles.

Matière à réflexion

Ce déjeuner - qui sera composé de légumes excédentaires ou esthétiquement imparfaits - est exempt d'additifs artificiels et d'OGM, ne contient pas de produits d'origine animale et libérera les déchets en utilisant des aliments qui autrement seraient jetés.

L'événement soulignera le fait que le système alimentaire actuel de l'UE - en fait le système alimentaire mondial - produit des quantités inacceptables de déchets alimentaires et que nos habitudes de consommation, en particulier notre surconsommation d'aliments d'origine animale, entraînent d'énormes pertes de ressources et des dommages environnementaux, encourage les grandes monocultures OGM de maïs et de soja, sans parler des souffrances indicibles et inutiles pour les animaux et d'une augmentation du risque de maladies non transmissibles d'origine alimentaire, telles que le diabète, l'obésité et les maladies cardiaques, chez l'homme.

Le besoin de changement

Le déjeuner servira d'exemple de la nourriture approuvée par les organisateurs: écologique, éthique, saine, sûre, abordable et savoureuse. Les organisateurs distribueront du matériel d'information sur les aliments sains et durables et seront rejoints par une gamme de conférenciers experts.

L'événement mettra également en lumière un certain nombre de demandes politiques, notamment des appels à la Commission européenne pour:

  • produire une stratégie globale vers un système alimentaire et agricole européen durable, après le retrait décevant de la communication sur la construction d'un système alimentaire européen durable.
  • élaborer des lignes directrices sur ce qui constitue une alimentation saine et durable, y compris la nécessité de réduire la consommation d'aliments d'origine animale pour la santé, l'environnement et le bien-être des animaux. À encourager pour adoption au niveau des États membres.
  • inclure la réduction des aliments d'origine animale dans les lignes directrices révisées sur les marchés publics écologiques.
  • introduire un objectif de l'UE sur la réduction des aliments d'origine animale de 30% d'ici 2030.
  • introduire un objectif de l'UE selon lequel, d'ici 2030, 100% des enfants devraient avoir reçu une éducation alimentaire et nutritionnelle, y compris sur les avantages de l'alimentation à base de plantes, au moment où ils auront terminé l'école primaire.
  • élaborer des mesures promotionnelles pour accroître la consommation d'aliments à base de plantes.

PLUS D'INFORMATIONS

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/1472774996361943/

Fiches: Les cas du Une série de fiches d'information téléchargeables sur le bien-être animal, les OGM, les déchets alimentaires et la santé sont disponibles en ligne à l'adresse www.beyond-gm.org/good-food

Contacts :

Humane Society International - Dr Joanna Swabe (jswabe@hsi.org), tél: +32 491 068576 ou +31 651 317004; www.hsi.org

Compassion dans l'agriculture mondiale - Olga Kikou (Olga.Kikou@ciwf.org.uk), tél: +32 (0) 2 709 1330 ou +30 6972 004 963; la toile: www.ciwf.org.uk

Food for Life Global - Office européen (europe@4hr.f77.myftpupload.com), tél: +32 485 396816

Au-delà de GM - Pat Thomas - (pat@beyond-gm.org), tél: +44 (0) 7950 231240; la toile: www.au-delà-gm.org

Groupe des systèmes alimentaires durables - Bureau de Bart Staes: Angelique Vandekerckhove (angelique.vandekerckhove@europarl.europa.eu), tél: 0032 496 056008; Sirpa Bureau de Pietikäinen: Aino Valtanen (aino.fant@europarl.europa.eu)

CITATIONS DES ORGANISATEURS

«Tant les décideurs politiques que les citoyens européens doivent commencer à faire face à la vérité plutôt gênante que nos niveaux actuels de consommation de viande ne sont absolument pas viables. Pour le bien-être animal, l'environnement et notre propre santé et bien-être, il est essentiel que nous ne tardions pas à prendre des mesures pour modérer notre consommation de produits d'origine animale. Le déjeuner gratuit est non seulement une occasion de promouvoir les plaisirs des aliments à base de plantes, mais aussi d'exhorter la Commission européenne à développer une stratégie significative pour parvenir à un système alimentaire et agricole durable dans l'UE. »

- Dr Joanna Swabe, directrice exécutive, Humane Society International / Europe


«À une époque de progrès sans précédent, nous produisons plus qu'assez pour nourrir le monde. Nous devons saisir cette opportunité et faire des choix responsables. Une alimentation saine, éthique et durable est indispensable. Le déjeuner gratuit L'événement, qui se déroule à la porte des représentants de l'Europe, vise à montrer comment les choix que nous faisons bénéficieront aux personnes, aux animaux et à la planète. Le message adressé aux institutions de l'UE est que les aliments à base de plantes font partie d'un avenir durable et nous devons saisir toutes les occasions de les promouvoir à travers les choix personnels que nous faisons en plus des mesures législatives. »

- Olga Kikou, responsable des affaires européennes, Compassion in World Farming


«Dans un monde trop abondant en fruits, légumes et céréales, il n'y a absolument aucune raison d'exister, si ce n'est la cupidité. Les ressources du monde ne sont pas partagées également et donc Food for Life Global’s la seule mission est de créer un sentiment d'unité et d'égalité dans le monde afin que personne n'ait faim. Nous faisons cela dans la pratique et le précepte. Les populations des pays développés sont de plus en plus conscientes du lien entre l'agro-industrie animale et le changement climatique, la prochaine étape de cette évolution est de voir le lien entre l'agro-industrie animale et la faim dans le monde. Le modèle actuel d’alimentation de plus de 50% des céréales mondiales aux animaux est inefficace et non viable.

- Paul Rodney Turner, directeur exécutif, Food for Life Global


«C'est tellement inspirant de travailler aux côtés d'autres ONG et députés engagés pour mettre en évidence les terribles déchets qui traversent le système alimentaire industriel. Ces déchets vont au-delà de juste w

Blog

EU NGOs and MEPs Dish up Free and Sustainable Fare

FREELUNCHSPECIAL EVENT – FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

29th September 2015, European Parliament Esplanade, Brussels — Yes, there is such a thing as a free lunch – and on 29th September 2015 a coalition of NGOs and MEPs are offering just that.

The Free Lunch is a culinary, cultural and political public event co-organised by Humane Society International, Compassion in World Farming, Food for Life Global, Beyond GM and the European Parliament’s Sustainable Food Systems Group.

FREELUNCHorganizers

The organisers will serve up to 1000 free lunches to Members of the European Parliament, Parliamentary staff and visitors, European Commission officials and members of the public. Additional food prepared during the event will be donated to the refugees camped at the Maximilian Park in Brussels.

Food for thought

This lunch – which will be made from surplus or aesthetically imperfect vegetables – is free of artificial additives and GMOs, does not contain animal products and will free up waste by using food that would otherwise be thrown away.

The event will highlight that fact that current EU food system – indeed the global food system – produces unacceptable quantities of food waste and that our consumption habits, in particular our overconsumption of animal-derived foods, causes huge quantities of resource loss and environmental damage, encourages large GMO monocultures of maize and soya, not to mention causing untold and unnecessary suffering for animals and an increase in the risk of food-related non-communicable diseases, such as diabetes, obesity and heart disease, in humans.

The need for change

The lunch will serve as an example of the food that is endorsed by the organisers: ecological, ethical, healthy, safe, affordable and tasty. The organisers will distribute informational materials on healthy and sustainable food and be joined by a range of expert speakers.

The event will also highlight a number of political asks, including calls for the European Commission to:

  • produce a holistic strategy towards a sustainable European food and farming system, after the disappointing withdrawal of the Communication on Building a Sustainable European Food System.
  • develop guidelines on what constitutes a healthy and sustainable diet, including the need to reduce consumption of animal-derived foods for health, environmental and animal welfare. To be encouraged for adoption at Member State level.
  • include reduction of animal-derived foods in the revised Green Public Procurement guidelines.
  • introduce an EU target on the reduction of animal-derived foods by 30 percent by 2030.
  • introduce an EU target that, by 2030, 100 percent of children should have received food and nutrition education, including on the benefits of plant-based eating, by the time they have completed primary school.
  • develop promotional measures for increased consumption of plant-based foods.

MORE INFORMATION

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/1472774996361943/

Fact sheets: A series of downloadable fact sheets covering Animal Welfare, GMOs, Food Waste and Health are available online at www.beyond-gm.org/good-food

Contacts:

Humane Society International – Dr Joanna Swabe (jswabe@hsi.org), tel: +32 491 068576 or +31 651 317004; www.hsi.org

Compassion in World Farming – Olga Kikou (Olga.Kikou@ciwf.org.uk), tel: +32 (0)2 709 1330 or +30 6972 004 963; web: www.ciwf.org.uk

Food for Life Global – European Office (europe@ffl.org), tel: +32 485 396816

Beyond GM – Pat Thomas – (pat@beyond-gm.org), tel: +44 (0)7950 231240; web: www.beyond-gm.org

Sustainable Food Systems Group – Bart Staes’ office: Angelique Vandekerckhove (angelique.vandekerckhove@europarl.europa.eu), tel: 0032 496 056008; Sirpa Pietikäinen’s office: Aino Valtanen (aino.fant@europarl.europa.eu)

QUOTES FROM THE ORGANISERS

“Both EU policymakers and citizens need to start facing up to the rather inconvenient truth that our current levels of meat consumption are completely unsustainable. For the sake of animal welfare, the environment and our own health and well-being, it is essential that we do not delay in taking steps to moderate our consumption of animal products. The Free Lunch is not only an opportunity to promote the pleasures of plant-based foods, but to also to urge the European Commission to develop a meaningful strategy towards achieving a sustainable food and farming system in the EU.”

– Dr Joanna Swabe, Executive Director, Humane Society International/Europe


“At an age of unprecedented progress we produce more than enough to feed the world. We ought to seize this opportunity and make responsible choices. Healthy, ethical and sustainable diets are a must. The Free Lunch event, taking place on the door step of Europe’s representatives, aims to showcase how the choices we make will benefit people, animals and the planet. The message to the EU institutions is that plant-based foods are part of a sustainable future and we should seize every opportunity to promote them through the personal choices we make in addition to legislative measures.”

– Olga Kikou, European Affairs Manager, Compassion in World Farming


“In a world that is overly abundant with fruits, vegetables and grains, there is absolutely no reason for hunger to exist, other than greed. The resources of the world are not be equally shared and so Food for Life Global’s sole mission is to create a sense of unity and equality in the world so that no one goes hungry. We do this in practice and precept. The people of the developed countries are becoming more aware of the link between animal agribusiness and climate change, the next step in this evolution is seeing the link between animal agribusiness and world hunger. The current model of feeding over 50% of world grains to animals for food is inefficient and unsustainable.”

Paul Rodney Turner, Executive Director, Food for Life Global


“It is so inspiring to work alongside other committed NGOs and MEPs to highlight the terrible waste that runs through the industrial food system. This waste extends beyond just w

About Editor

Director of Food for Life Global and the author of the best selling book, FOOD YOGA - Nourishing Body, Mind & Soul. http://www.foodyogi.org