“美食山节”的故事

24月2014日XNUMX年
Paul TurnerPaul Turner

Govardhana山档案馆
今天是大约5000年前克里希纳勋爵(Lord Krishna)抬起Govardhan山的周年纪念日,然而,庆祝该事件的节日被人们称为“美食山岳节”。

戈瓦尔达纳 是一座位于印度北方邦马图拉(Mathura)神圣小镇维林达瓦纳(Vrindavana)附近的小山。 这是克里希纳勋爵最喜欢的消遣场所,他出生于弗林达万,在印度教内部的毗湿婆奴传统中被认为是神圣的。 著名的山丘也被称为 Giriraj 被确认为克里希纳勋爵的自然形式之一。

“ Govardhana”这个名称有两个主要含义,“ Go”翻译为“牛”,“ vardhana”翻译为“营养”,因此该名称仅仅是奶牛的营养场所。 但是“去”也指“感官”,“ vardhana”也可以指“增加”,因此奉献者可以翻译这个名字,因为它增加了他们对奎师那的吸引力。 在这方面,人们认为,戈瓦尔丹的性格通过增加对克里希纳(上帝)的奉献(奉爱)来祝福奉献者。

格瓦丹的解除

对戈瓦尔丹山的崇拜,被称为 哥瓦尔达那法会 第二天庆祝 排灯节 灯节。 在大约5000年前的这一天,克里希纳勋爵击败了雷雨之神英德拉。 年轻的克里希纳(Krishna)看到当地居民为他们向英德拉(Indra)的年度献祭做了大量的准备工作。 实际上,整个小山都被食物覆盖。 年轻的克里希纳(Krishna)向父亲南达(Nanda)询问是否需要举行这样的仪式。

当时,半神人因陀罗(Indra)受到人类的恐惧,因为如果他对人民的敬拜不满意,他要么不给雨水下雨,要么淹没人民。 然而,克里希纳称这一年度赠予没有用,并且与村民公开辩论了他们作为农民的真正责任。 他告诉他们专心耕种和保护牲畜。 所有人类都应该尽其所能简单地履行其“佛法”(生命职责),而不是祈祷或浪费时间为自然现象做牺牲。

在克里希纳向他们提出了非常令人信服的论据之后,村民们决定不继续进行年度祭祀活动。 听到这种计划变更的消息,英德拉很生气,并调动了许多云层出现在天空中,使该地区持续了七天七夜的降雨。 村民们震惊了,迫切要求奎师那的帮助。

格瓦尔丹山

奎师那做出了回应,用左手的小手指抬起了戈瓦丹山,在该山下,该地区的所有动物和人都躲藏了起来,免受英德拉的愤怒。 看到奎师那惊人的力量壮举,因陀罗接受了失败,向奎师那祈祷并返回了他的天堂。 克里希纳然后向村民透露,他与Govardhana山没有什么不同,应将食物提供给山,然后与动物,老人和儿童一起自由地与公众共享。 平等对待所有众生,分享食物是证明这一点的最实用方法。

戈瓦尔丹·普亚

迄今为止,维斯纳瓦斯在全世界庆祝克里希纳解除哥瓦丹的重演,这自然包括巨大的盛宴。

1780763_449304035197585_324308151_n

向公众大量分发食物

大约4500年后,一位名叫Madhavendra puri的克里希纳伟大奉献者重新制定了大规模的食物准备,作为向Govardhana的祭品,然后分发给了公众,现在这已成为庆祝克里希纳举起Govardhana山的节日的重要组成部分。

Srila Prabhupada 生命食品计划背后的灵感鼓励他的学生通过向克里希纳提供食物,然后自由地向公众分发食物来学习Madhavendra Puri的榜样。 “此活动应普遍扩展,“ 他写了, ”停止有罪的饮食习惯=

生命之粮源自这种古老的待客文化,我们很自豪地说 Srila Prabhupada的愿景正在缓慢而肯定地体现出来。 我们的希望是 Srila Prabhupada另一个希望是“每个人都有机会 prasadam”也通过了。 这个理想原则上是非宗派主义的,这就是为什么我一生中大部分时间都在鼓励所有信仰的人们加入我们的崇高使命。 我的书, 如何建立一个伟大的粮食救济项目 以及 瑜伽食品–滋养身体,心灵和灵魂 我为实现这一理想所做的卑微尝试。

发表评论

Blog

The story of the “Mountain of Food Festival”

Govardhana hill archive
Today marks the anniversary of lifting of Govardhan hill by Lord Krishna some 5000 years ago, however the festival celebrating this event is more popularly known as the “Mountain of Food Festival.”

Govardhana is a hill located near the sacred town of Vrindavana, in the Mathura district of Uttar Pradesh, India. It was a favourite place of pastimes for Lord Krishna who was born in Vrindavan and is considered sacred especially in the Vaishnava traditions within Hinduism. The famous hill is also known as Giriraj and is identified as one of the natural forms of Lord Krishna.

The name ‘Govardhana’ has two primary meanings, ‘Go’ translates to ‘cows’, and ‘vardhana’ translates to ‘nourishment’, so the name is simply a place of nourishment for the cows. But ‘Go’ also refers to ‘the senses’ and ‘vardhana’ can also mean ‘to increase’ – thus the name can be translated by devotees as that which increases their attraction to Krishna. In this connection, it is believed that the personality of Govardhan blesses the devotee by increasing their devotion (bhakti) to Krishna (God). 

The lifting of Govardhan

The worship of Govardhan hill, known as Govardhana Puja is celebrated the day after Diwali the festival of light. On this day, some 5000 years ago Lord Krishna defeated Indra, the God of thunder and rain. Young Krishna saw the local residents making enormous  preparations of food for their annual offering to Indra. Practically the entire hill was covered in food. Young Krishna questioned his father Nanda about the need for such a ritualistic offering.

At the time, Indra the demigod was feared by human beings because he would either give the people no rain or flood them if he was not satisfied with their worship. However, Krishna called this annual offering useless and openly debated with the villagers about what their true duty as farmers was. He told them to concentrate on farming and protecting their cattle. All human beings should simply do their ‘dharma’ (life duties), to the best of their ability and not pray or waste time conducting sacrifices for natural phenomenon.

After Krishna presented very convincing arguments to them, the villagers decided not to proceed with their annual ritualistic offering. Upon hearing of this change of plans, Indra became angry and invoked many clouds to appear in the sky to flood the region with rains lasting for seven days and seven nights. The villagers were shocked and desperately asked for Krishna’s help.

Govardhan hill

Krishna responded by lifting Govardhan hill with the small finger of his left hand, under which all the animals and people of the region took shelter, safe from Indra’s fury. Seeing Krishna’s amazing feat of strength, Indra accepted defeat, offered his prayers to Krishna and returned to his heavenly kingdom. Krishna then revealed to the villagers that he was non-different from Govardhana hill and that the offering of food should be presented to the hill and then shared freely with the public, beginning with animals, the elderly and children. All living beings were to be respected equally and sharing food was the most practical way to show that. 

govardhan-puja

To this day, the re-enactment of Krishna’s lifting of Govardhan is celebrated all over the world by Vaisnavas which naturally includes huge feasting. 

1780763_449304035197585_324308151_n

Massive distribution of food to the public

Some 4500 years later a great devotee of Krishna named Madhavendra puri re-enacted the massive preparation of food as an offering to Govardhana and then distributed to the public, which is now a key component of the festival celebrating the lifting of Govardhana hill by Krishna. 

Srila Prabhupada the inspiration behind the Food for Life project encouraged his students to learn from the example of Madhavendra Puri by offering food to Krishna and then liberally distributing it to the public. “This activity should be extended universally,” he wrote, “to stop sinful eating habits…” 

Food for Life was born from this ancient hospitality culture and we are proud to say that Srila Prabhupada’s vision is slowly but surely manifesting. Our hope is that Srila Prabhupada’s other wish that “everyone get a chance to take prasadam” also comes to pass. This ideal is non-sectarian in principle and that is why I have spent most of my life encouraging people of all faiths to join us in this noble mission. My books, How to Build a Great Food Relief Project and FOOD YOGA – Nourishing Body, Mind & Soul are my humble attempt to facilitate that ideal.  

About Editor

Director of Food for Life Global and the author of the best selling book, FOOD YOGA - Nourishing Body, Mind & Soul. http://www.foodyogi.org

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.