尽管天气困难,但塔克洛班仍继续使用FFL餐食

孩子们享受素食 prasadam 从生命食品。

孩子们享受素食 prasadam 从生命食品。

16年2014月1,000日-生命之粮志愿者每天在塔克洛班,莱特和萨马尔的不同县市向64,210多名台风约兰达-海扬(Yolanda-Haiyan)台风受害者分发纯素食食品。 从11年2013月11日到2014年XNUMX月XNUMX日,过去两个月共提供了XNUMX顿饭。

“从一开始,每个人都对“生命之粮”团队的善意表示赞赏。 我们只是在这里提供正确烹制的热饭的组织,”当地总监Julie Anne Borja(Radha Lila)解释说。 “如果不是为了生命之粮,他们只会得到其他救济组织提供的沙丁鱼罐头。”

健康健康的饭菜

天气挑战

在过去的两个星期中,低压系统为塔克洛班和附近的地方带来了大雨。 但是,尽管他们的临时厨房里满是洪水,而且不得不在潮湿的帐篷里睡觉,但FFL志愿者还是冒着雨并坚持了下来。 他们通常的日程安排是:早上旅行一个小时,收集蔬菜和其他食材,然后其余时间从早上到晚上做饭并在不同地区为大约1200人提供餐点。

红十字会赞助了“生命之粮”用水。

红十字会赞助了“生命之粮”用水。

许多外国志愿者一直在帮助当地的FFL团队,他们希望更多的菲律宾志愿者也能尽快加入。 “预计还将有来自澳大利亚的两对夫妇下周抵达,随着志愿者人数的增加,我们希望增加我们的 prasadam 发行更多。”朱莉说。

请捐款




发表评论

Blog

Despite weather challenges, FFL meals continue to go out in Tacloban

Children enjoying their vegan prasadam from Food for Life.

Children enjoying their vegan prasadam from Food for Life.

January 16, 2014 — Food for life volunteers distribute pure vegan food daily to more than 1,000 victims of typhoon Yolanda-Haiyan in different barangays in Tacloban, Leyte and Samar. A total of 64,210 meals have been served over the last the two months from November 11, 2013 to January 11, 2014.

“Everyone has appreciated the kindness of the Food for Life team since the beginning. We are only our organisation here that provides properly cooked hot meals,” explains local director Julie Anne Borja (Radha Lila). “If not for Food for Life, they would only have the canned sardines provided by other relief organisations.”

Hot healthy meals

Weather Challenges

For the past two weeks, a low pressure system brought heavy rains to Tacloban and nearby places. However, the FFL volunteers braved the rain and stayed on, despite flooding in their makeshift kitchen and having to sleep inside wet tents. Their typical daily schedule is to travel one hour in the morning to collect vegetables and other ingredients and then  the rest of the day cooking and serving meals from morning to night to around 1200 people in different areas.

The Red Cross sponsored water for Food for Life to hand out.

The Red Cross sponsored water for Food for Life to hand out.

Many foreign volunteers have been helping the local FFL team, and they are expecting more Filipino volunteers to come in soon too. “Two couples from Australia are also expected to arrive next week, and with this increased volunteer manpower we are hoping to increase our prasadam distribution even more,” said Julie.

Please Donate




About Editor

Director of Food for Life Global and the author of the best selling book, FOOD YOGA - Nourishing Body, Mind & Soul. http://www.foodyogi.org

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.