我的人生人生之旅– 30年服务总结

上次更新时间为17年2021月XNUMX日
Paul TurnerPaul Turner

我几乎无法想象 Hare Krishna 当我在1984年首次成为志愿者时,《生命食品》就这么成功。那时,我在一家免费的美食咖啡馆担任助理厨师和服务员, 戈帕尔 在澳大利亚的帕拉马塔。 那是该组织建立的首批免费美食咖啡馆之一 Hare Krishna 是澳大利亚运动的先驱,也是整个澳大利亚其他“生命之粮”项目的先驱。

开始的日子

帕布帕德_bw11974年, Srila Prabhupada (1896 – 1977)的创始人acharya ISKCON 西方的契丹运动的先驱,对他在印度房间窗外的骚动感到震惊。 他望着外面,看到村里的孩子们与节日庆典后被扔出去的食物残渣争斗。 叶子的盘子上还粘着一些米饭和咖喱,这对于这些孩子来说实在是太多了。 不幸的是,当地的流浪狗也是如此,他们想要这些残余物。 孩子们挥舞着棍子,尖叫着,而狗则嘲笑着,背上的头发完全抬起。 这是战争,从斯瓦米人的角度来看,没有人是赢家。 他沉默地站在那儿哭了。 “怎么会这样?” 他想知道。 感到自己刚刚吃完午餐感到内,,他叫他的学生们来看看发生了什么事。 “你看到那些孩子有多饿吗?” 他告诉他们。 “这是神的殿堂,在有神的父亲那里,不应有饥饿的孩子……在我们庙宇半径十英里内的任何人都不要饿! 立即开始喂养这些孩子!”

Mayapur2000ques大

玛雅普拉1_2005-029

那时程序被调用 ISKCON 粮食救济 并且仅在西孟加拉邦的玛雅普尔运营。 恒河满溢时,瑜伽学员每天都尽职尽责地为当地居民提供食物,甚至还为困苦的村民们提供热食。 几天之后, Srila Prabhupada 要求该计划扩展到印度所有城镇。 他认为该计划是打破壁垒并创造社会和平的一种手段。

我希望,如果我们能够通过在我们的中心分发礼物以及通过乡村旅行团广泛分发免费食品给印度人民,我们将代表克里希纳,通过这项活动赢得整个国家和全世界” (SP给Satyajit的信,16年1974月XNUMX日)。

尽管那次萨瓦尼从未正式成立 ISKCON 粮食救济,是生命食品的先驱,他的这些话语以及他给学生的许多其他说明的确是其背后的灵感。

然而,在1979年,该项目朝着一个新的方向发展,在澳大利亚悉尼开设了一个小型汤厨房。

新品牌

FFL徽标从后门 ISKCON 在澳大利亚国王十字(悉尼)的圣殿中,克里希纳僧侣开始为无家可归的人提供热餐。 很快,每天都有数百人在排队,当地新闻也开始对此进行报道。 当时是一种感觉,因为克里希纳(Krishna)的信徒在澳大利亚受到严重误解,经常因在街上唱歌而被捕; 因此,这种新的对他们的好感吸引了所有人。 传播总监 ISKCON,Mukunda das注意到会员们的成功和公众认知度的提高,并在全球范围内开展了一项运动,以鼓励会员在每个寺庙中都这样做。 ISKCON. 悉尼但是首要任务是将程序重新命名为更令人难忘的东西。 不那么虔诚的东西–毕竟,该计划的目的是对所有生物表示同情。 名字 ISKCON 粮食救济组织未能很好地传达这一信息,因此他与食品安全负责人团结一致 ISKCON 电视台的大卫·夏皮罗(Nrsimhananda Das)和“澳大利亚爱因斯坦”,Yasomatinandana Das共同集思广益。 他们坐在加利福尼亚的一座金字塔庙里,想出了这个新品牌, Hare Krishna 生命食品 带有标语行: 饱食饥饿的世界.

以下是有关悉尼“生命之粮”的7分钟新闻剪辑。

具有一些基本指导方针的新计划很快在美国和西欧传播。 到1984年我开始志愿服务时,这个项目在大多数发达国家已经相当成熟,但是到80年代后期,由于缺乏资金,专业管理或一些不道德的筹款者的滥用,这些项目中的许多已经消失了。一些程序,例如纽约的程序完全关闭。

生命食品通讯

新闻通讯到1989年,我开始专注于“生命之粮”项目的力量,以教育人们关于灵性和道德的基本原理。 我不仅仅是为穷人提供食品救济,还把“生命之粮”视为一种团结家庭精神的人的方式。 生命之粮就是要复兴在印度如此著名的古老的精神待客文化。 到1990年,我完全接受了这个概念,并开始在《生活中的食物》通讯中撰写有关该通讯的信息,该通讯分发给了澳大利亚各地的志愿者。 我疯狂地研究了所有 Srila Prabhupada 说过这种古老的做法 prasadam 发行后得知他自1966年踏入美国以来就一直在推广这种广告!

到处。 在医院,慈善团体,工业场所,无处不在,散布这种prasada并赞美这一点 Hare Krishna。 看看结果如何。 你想要和平吗? 这些是和平进程。”(SP演讲,16年1966月XNUMX日,纽约)

我想知道“这个明确的信息发生了什么”。

然后在1991年,穆卡达(Mukunda)现在是个sw头,他鼓励我为世界各地的志愿者社区撰写FFL新闻通讯,分享我从研究普拉布帕达(Prabhupada)的教义中学到的知识以及我在《生命人生》中的亲身经历,其中包括获得食物认可来自有影响力的政治领袖,名人和新闻媒体的生命。 下面,我邀请所有主要要人,包括警察局长,商会主席,悉尼市长和当地国会议员克洛弗·摩尔女士。克洛弗·摩尔女士目前是悉尼市长。

我用一台Mac Plus计算机设计了时事通讯,然后将其粘贴,打印并用我自己的钱寄出了全世界数百本。 到1992年,我恢复了对“生命食品”项目的热情,并激发了来自东欧国家(如俄罗斯,格鲁吉亚,拉脱维亚和斯洛文尼亚等)的新一代志愿者。

priya_food-250nz离开澳大利亚

然后在1993年,我离开澳大利亚,为“生命之粮”注入了新的动力,首先登陆印度,该项目的所在地,然后是俄罗斯,在那里我进行了为期6个月的非洲大陆之旅。 在短短两个月内一次访问了44个城市。 那冒险本身就是一本书。 那时我是第一版的 生活食品培训手册。 令人惊讶的是,该程序现在正式使用19年了,但是没有人愿意写一本培训手册。 我热情地接受了这项任务。 到1994年,我的200页培训手册已完成。 这本新书提供了《 Food for Life》志愿者所需要的指导,见解和哲学基础。 ISKCON 枯燥的知识分子压倒的文化。 生命之粮从实际意义上翻译了文化的深层哲学租户。 我们都是精神; 我们都是一家人 所有众生都是上帝的儿女,我们的精神佛法是无条件的爱心服务。 既然食物是每种文化的中心,那么用爱来提供美味的饭菜是表达理解和人们爱的最有效方式!

Nizny_FFL600
俄罗斯的生命食品(1993)

Hare Krishna 整个90年代,“生命之粮”继续以各种新名称扩展,这仅仅是因为在某些国家,“生命之粮”这个名字没有意义。 例如,在亚美尼亚,该程序被称为“生命面包”,在立陶宛,它被称为“苏的食物l”。 在南美洲, ”阿里门多斯帕拉维达效果很好。 品牌可能已经过调整,但该计划的重点一直保持一致-每个人都有机会吃到祝福食品(prasadam*)。

前苏联之旅的亮点之一是访问格鲁吉亚苏呼米的志愿者(1993 年),然后在 车臣 (1995年),我目睹了FFL志愿者将他们的生命摆上线,为那里发生的战争的难民提供热食。 在莫斯科期间,我访问了所有主要的西方媒体办公室,最终我们的故事在第4页的 纽约时报 (看到: KRISHNAS在俄罗斯破碎的城市之一烤面包).

Prasadam达斯250Prasadam “

大约在这个时候,我们的吉祥物, Prasadam Das(的仆人 Prasadam) 出生于。 我们想用我们的形象来传达一种有趣的感觉,而又不将他形容为 Hare Krishna 志愿人员,尽管即便如此,我们仍然忍不住给他一簇头发(sikha),并用神圣的tilak符号装饰他的厨师帽。 但这很微妙,他的确穿了裤子,没有印地文。

1996年,我仍然是和尚, 生命食品音乐CD 目的是使我们的信息永垂不朽。 通过这些歌曲的歌词,我试图分享我对什么的理解 Srila Prabhupada 可以预见,慈善机构的信息以及我本人的信息仍然受到我的很大影响 Hare Krishna 根。 我知道有些事情是不正确的,尽管做得很真诚,但大多数人都怀念不上。 需要的是更容易获得的东西。 普遍的东西,引起了各行各业的共鸣。

教男人如何钓鱼

在90年代后期,我在世界各地的素食会议上谈到了“生命之粮”的工作及其代表的意义。 我通常还会就“生命之粮”的精神方面做一个介绍,并教人们向上帝提供食物的益处,以此来养育他们的思想和精神。 正是在我这一生的这段时间里,我深深地想到了 Srila Prabhupada“每个人都应该有机会 prasadam。” 我以为如果我们中只有这么多志愿者,那么如何才能使世界上每个人都能体验到这种美丽的“爱”食物? 然后它就撞到了我…

鱼教学卡通

这个著名的格言对我来说是正确的,并让我踏上了《人生人生》职业的全新道路。 向人们传授古老的印度教向神提供食物的传统,这对我的“生命之粮”演示文稿是一个很好的补充,但是对于大多数人来说,它只是与他们坐在一起。 毕竟,他们不是印度教徒,其中许多人已经对上帝的个人形式的概念失去了一切信心。 提供食物是信仰上的巨大飞跃。 解决这个问题对我来说一直是我进入新千年的沉思。 我猜想,需要一种完全非宗派的方法来解决这个难题。

1995年,在两年内访问了大约30个国家之后,我将华盛顿特区作为自己的据点,并在Mukunda Goswami的帮助下成立了 Food for Life Global 作为全球所有“生命食品”项目的官方总部。 新的慈善机构将建立标准,并提供推动计划继续进行所需的指导,培训和启发。 出乎意料的是,我们还成为了紧急救济协调中心办公室。 结果,过去20年来,我以某种方式参与了“生命之粮”的每项重大救灾工作。

喂食斯里兰卡500
保罗·特纳(Paul Turner)为2004年斯里兰卡海啸后的儿童提供服务

午餐计划

到2000年代初,印度的“以生命为食”计划开始复苏。 部分原因是由于互联网的扩展,印度发生了巨大的经济繁荣。 人们现在有更多的钱,他们想花钱。 印度政府也充斥着现金,因此印度总统宣布印度所有儿童必须获得政府提供的免费午餐。

ISKCON-Annamrita-徽标-PNG200

ISKCON 印度的寺庙成立了一个新的组织, ISKCON 粮食救济基金会,又名“生命之粮安娜利塔(Food for Life Annamrita)”还参加了印度政府的“午膳计划”。 在接下来的十年中,两个基金会都继续提高专业水平和效率,每个基金会都获得了媒体,政府和联合国的众多奖项和赞誉。 这两个基金会都是 Food for Life Global, 现在每个人每天最多可提供1.3万顿饭!

2004年海啸

旅行的僧侣Indradyumna Swami和Paul在斯里兰卡分发了热包装的饭菜。
旅行的僧侣Indradyumna Swami和Paul在斯里兰卡分发了热包装的饭菜。

在世界银行任职网络开发人员期间,我继续为 Food for Life Global,大部分时间是在我家里的办公室里工作。 但是,在海啸席卷全球的消息传出后,我开始收到捐助者和志愿者的电话,要求FFLG做出回应。 此事件是史无前例的,因此需要前所未有的回应。 借助 和尚Indradyumna Swami,我们制定了一项计划,为斯里兰卡的幸存者提供热食。 在接下来的一周中,我开始宣传“生命之粮”的响应计划,并要求捐款和志愿者。 好吧,没有什么可以让我为接下来发生的事情做好准备。 从字面上看,我们收到了来自各行各业,警察,军医,护士,医生,电影导演,演员,舞蹈家的500多个志愿者申请,我不知所措。 不久,数万美元的捐款开始大量涌入,因此我们现在有了人和钱来实际执行我们的计划。

在接下来的四个月中,来自世界各地的50多名志愿者与 Food for Life Global 用柴火煮素食,然后分发给全岛的村民。 斯里兰卡军方和红十字会也与FFLG合作。 在接下来的8年中 Food for Life Global 应对许多其他自然灾害,包括 卡特里娜飓风中, 袭击日本的海啸 和海地地震。

瑜伽食品–生命之粮2.0

科学自然新闻网食品-瑜伽-3dBook300px2010年,我开始了新的个人旅程。 从数字上说是9年级,这意味着我基本上总结了过去9年中发生的所有事情。 而且,我要告诉你,尽管我当然在“生命之粮”方面取得了一些成功,包括监督“生命之粮”在海地的救灾工作,但从个人角度而言,这是一个挑战。 我决定重新审视如何让所有人都有机会参加的难题 prasadam 我发现实现这一想法的主要障碍是将人们带到:

1:该死;

2:接受创造物的背后确实存在着最高智商,强大的创造力具有形式和个性。

因此,我要写的书需要解决这两点。 我在纽约一家24小时营业的咖啡馆开始了自己的探索 雅法,整夜工作,在我喝玫瑰花瓣茶时进行研究和打字。 在接下来的18个月里,我的新书 瑜伽食品–滋养身体,心灵和灵魂 初具规模,经历了30次修订。 我尝试使用逻辑,科学和来自各种精神来源的参考文献来构建自己的演示文稿,以确保我不赞成印度教,也不试图将任何人转变为印度教徒。 Hare Krishna 观点。 我想要的是让我的读者在他们的精神追求中接受食物的重要性,并接受我现在所说的“美食祭冥想。” 从本质上讲,这本书只是为了建立一件事,首先要学习在我们的日常生活中看到上帝的同在,并欣赏大自然母亲的无条件爱。

10Ingred_cover_Thumb

但是,我也将饮食瑜伽视为“生命之粮”的自然演变,“升级”(如果您愿意的话),以及我诚实并分享我作为组织的僧侣和志愿者的经验的重要性-因为在感觉我的生活全都与美食瑜伽有关。 最后,我的主要愿望是实现 Srila Prabhupada 因此,以粮食为首选的“武器”,有助于扩大“生命之粮”的范围,从任何一个宗教组织的局限扩展到一场争取团结,和平与繁荣的社会革命的局限!

此评论由 Srila Prabhupada 为“生命之粮”的新方向和营销信息定下基调:

仅仅通过prasada和sankirtana的自由分布,整个世界就能变得和平与繁荣。” (斯里玛德·博伽瓦谭 Purport,Verse:4.12.10)。

生命之粮不是粮食救济,而是致力于世界和平与繁荣的组织,只有我们拥有真正的平等,这才有可能。 为了将自己定位在公众视野中,我们将标语更改为 通过纯食品团结世界。

作为这项新计划的补充,我还写了一本书,名为“《如何建立成功的食品救济》 特别是针对印度教和/或克里希纳传统以外的人们,从而为宗教教义和偏见之外的合作打开了大门。 然而, 瑜伽食品–滋养身体,心灵和灵魂这些年来,确实是我冥想的精髓。

美食瑜伽_PaulMelb600

美食瑜伽之旅和团结的信息

2013年,我决定全年旅行,在短短9个月的时间里,我总共访问了28个国家,并在俱乐部和瑜伽馆做演讲; 教FFL志愿者,举办FOOD YOGA讲习班,并记录一些较大的FFL项目。 通过针对FFL和Food Yoga的广泛营销活动,我确信我们分享的信息得到了普遍的赞赏。

我真正相信,生命之粮所代表的不仅是对其他人类的同情,而且实际上,这是解决所有世界问题的实质。 换句话说,由于食物对每种文化都至关重要,对我们的生存至关重要,因此它有能力打破壁垒,治愈伤口,并以兄弟般的精神团结所有人。 而我的朋友就是“生命之粮”的真正意义所在 精神平等。 看到: 和平公式

现在,2014年,我已经访问了近70个国家/地区,现在回想起来,“Srila Prabhupada梦想成真。” 也许 我们可以 让每个人都有机会体验纯正的食物(prasadam),并通过自由分配这种食物,我们可以一劳永逸地实现这个世界的和平与繁荣。

希望您能加入我们!

保罗·罗德尼·特纳 (Paul Rodney Turner)
(Priyavrata das)
Director
Food for Life Global
美食瑜伽网站

* Prasadam:使用无暴力的最纯净食材,以充满爱心的意图制作成圣餐。

2条评论

画 bonsall dhruva maharaj das

野兔奎师那

我正在写这封信,以寻求有关在丹佛科罗拉多州建立普拉斯丹区的建议 iskcon 社区我想为大学生做中餐计划,我会负责捐赠,我会每周一次或两次免费喂食,主要是在老人和儿童少年年龄组中,如果您有意见建议,请帮助
谢谢
野兔奎师那

23月2014日XNUMX年
保罗·罗德尼·特纳 (Paul Rodney Turner)

亲爱的布拉布,

感谢您有兴趣启动“生命食品”项目并成为该组织的会员 Food for Life Global.

这是FFL入门套件 https://ffl.org/get-involved/downloads/ffl-start-up-kit

私人页面的密码: Prasadam

捐款79美元后,您可以下载所有文件。 套件中包含14个文件。
FFL手册(第二版)
FFL全球代表指南
成功的十大要素
纯素食主义手册
畅销款式 Prasadam 行情
如何现在筹集很多钱
香港FFL徽标
香港FFL徽标(插画家)
生命食品志愿手册
终身食品会员标准
FFLG会员徽标
FFL媒体套件
FFL信息手册
FFL样本构成

24月2014日XNUMX年

发表评论

My journey with Food for Life – A summary of 30 years of Service

40YEARS-ad-800x800I could hardly imagine Hare Krishna Food for Life being so successful when I first became a volunteer way back in 1984. Back then, I worked as an assistant cook and server at a free food cafe called, Gopals in Parramatta, Australia. That was one of the first free food cafes set up by the Hare Krishna movement in Australia and it was a forerunner to other Food for Life projects throughout Australia.

The Beginning days

prabhupada_bw1In 1974, Srila Prabhupada (1896 – 1977) the founder acharya of ISKCON and the pioneer of the kirtan movement in the West, was alarmed by some commotion outside the window of his room in India. He looked outside to see village children fighting off dogs over scraps of food that had recently been thrown out after a festival feast. The leaf plates still had some rice and curry stuck to them and that was just too much to ignore for these kids. Unfortunately, it was the same for the local street dogs and they wanted those remnants. The children waved sticks and screamed while the dogs sneered with the hair on their backs fully raised. It was war and from the swami’s viewpoint and no one was a winner. He stood there in silence and cried. “How can this be?” he wondered. Feeling guilty that he had just finished his lunch, he called his students to come and see what was happening. “Do you see how hungry those children are?” he told them. “This is a temple of God and where there is God the father there should be no hungry children…No one within a ten-mile radius of our temples should go hungry! Begin feeding these children immediately!”

Mayapur2000queslarge

Mayapura1_2005-029

Back then the program was called ISKCON Food Relief and it only operated in Mayapur, West Bengal. The yoga students dutifully fed the local people every day and even provided hot meals to stranded villagers when the Ganges river overflowed her banks. A few days later, Srila Prabhupada asked that the program expands to all towns and villages in India. He saw the program as a means to break down barriers and create peace in society.

I am hopeful that if we can widely distribute free foodstuffs to the people of India, by giving it out at our centers as well as by traveling parties to villages, we will win over the whole country and the whole world by this activity on Krishna’s behalf” (SP Letter to Satyajit, March 16, 1974).

Although the swami never officially founded ISKCON Food Relief, the precursor to Food for Life, he was indeed the inspiration behind it with these words and many other instructions he gave to his students.

In 1979, however, the project took on a new direction with the opening of a small soup kitchen in Sydney, Australia leading the way.

A new branding

FFLlogoFrom the back entrance of the ISKCON temple in Kings Cross (Sydney), Australia, Krishna monks began serving hot meals to the homeless. Soon hundreds of people were lining up daily and the local news began reporting on it. It was a sensation at the time because the Krishna devotees were badly misunderstood in Australia, often being arrested for singing on the streets; so this new spotlight of good feelings towards them took everyone by surprise.  The communications director for ISKCON, Mukunda das noted the success and the improved public perception of the members and went on a worldwide campaign to encourage the same in every temple in ISKCON. FFLSydney1980But the first order of business was to rebrand the program to something more memorable; something less religious — after all what the program stood for was to show compassion for all living beings. The name ISKCON Food Relief did not exactly carry that message so well, so he got together with the head of ISKCON Television, David Shapiro (Nrsimhananda Das) and the “Aussie Einstein,” Yasomatinandana Das to brainstorm a new brand. Sitting in a pyramid temple in California they came up with the new brand, Hare Krishna Food for Life, with the tag line: Feeding the Hungry Worldwide.

The following is a 7-minute news clip on Food for Life in Sydney.

The new program with some basic guidelines in place soon spread throughout the USA and Western Europe.  By the time I started volunteering in 1984 the project was pretty well established in most developed countries, however,  by the late 80s many of these programs had faded, either due to a lack of funding, professional management or abuse by  some unscrupulous fundraisers, causing some programs, like the one in New York to close down completely.

Food for Life Newsletter

newsletter-adBy 1989, I started to focus on the power of the Food for Life project to educate people on the basic principles of spirituality and morality. More than simply a food relief for poor people, I saw Food for Life as a way to unite people in a spirit of family. Food for Life was all about reviving the ancient culture of spiritual hospitality that was so famous in India. By 1990, I fully embraced this concept and began writing about it in my Food for Life Newsletter that went out to volunteers throughout Australia. I furiously studied all of what Srila Prabhupada said about this ancient practice of prasadam distribution and learned that he had actually been promoting it ever since he set foot in America in 1966!

Everywhere. In the hospitals, charitable societies, Industrial places, everywhere—distribute this prasada and chant this Hare Krishna. Just see what is the result. You want peace? These are the processes of peace.” (SP lecture, New York December 16, 1966)

“What had happened to this clear message” I wondered.

Then in 1991, Mukunda who was now a swami encouraged me to write my FFL Newsletter for the worldwide volunteer community, sharing what I had learned from studying Prabhupada’s teachings and in my own experience with Food for Life, some of which included getting endorsements for Food for Life from influential political leaders, celebrities and news media. Below I invited all the leading dignitaries, including chief of police, president of the chamber of commerce, mayor of Sydney and local MP, Ms. Clover Moore who is currently the very popular mayor of Sydney.

The serving of the 2 millionth meal by Food for Life Sydney (1991)

The serving of the 2 millionth meal by Food for Life Sydney (1991)

I used a Mac Plus computer to design the Newsletter, then pasted it up, printed it and mailed out hundreds of copies around the world using my own money. By 1992, I had revived enthusiasm in the Food for Life project and inspired a whole new generation of volunteers that were coming out of the Eastern European countries, like Russia, Georgia, Latvia and Slovenia, etc.

priya_food-250nzLeaving Australia

Then in 1993, I left Australia to fuel this new momentum in Food for Life, first landing in India, the home of the project and then Russia, where I did a 6-month tour of the continent; at one point visiting 44 cities in just two months. That adventure in itself is a whole book. It was at that time that I worked on the first edition of the Food for Life Training Manual. Surprisingly, the program was now officially 19 years old, but no one had bothered to write up a training manual. I took on the task with enthusiasm. By 1994, my 200-page Training manual was complete. This new book provided the guidance, insight and philosophical grounding that Food for Life volunteers needed in an ISKCON culture that had been overrun with dry intellectuals. Food for Life was something that translated the deep philosophical tenants of the culture in practical terms. We are all spirit; we are all family; all living beings are children of God and our spiritual dharma is unconditional loving service. Since food is the centre of every culture, serving delicious meals with love was the most efficient way to express that understanding and people loved it!

Nizny_FFL600

Food for Life in Russia (1993)

Speaking at the opening of a new Food for Life centre in Russia (1993)

Speaking at the opening of a new Food for Life centre in Russia (1993)

Hare Krishna Food for Life continued to expand throughout the 90s under various new names, simply because in some countries, the name Food for Life did not make sense. So for example, in Armenia, the program was called, “Bread for Life” and in Lithuania, it was called, “Food for Soul”. In South America, “Alimentos Para La Vida” worked well. The branding may have been adjusted, but what remained consistent was the focus of the program — that everyone get a chance to eat blessed food (prasadam*).

One of the highlights of those tours to the Former Soviet were visiting volunteers in Sukhumi, Georgia (1993) and then later in Chechnya (1995) where I witnessed FFL volunteers putting their lives on the line to serve hot meals to refugees of the wars taking place there. During my time in Moscow I visited all the major western media offices and eventually our story was told in a page 4 article in the New York Times (See: KRISHNAS BAKE BREAD IN ONE OF RUSSIA’S BROKEN CITIES).

PrasadamDas250Prasadam Das

Around this time, our Mascot, Prasadam Das (Servant of Prasadam) was born. We wanted to convey a sense of fun with our image without characterising him as a Hare Krishna volunteer, although even then, we couldn’t help ourselves giving him a tuft of hair (sikha) and adorning his chef hat with the sacred tilak symbol. But it was subtle and he did have pants on and not an Indian dhoti.

In 1996, while still a monk, I produced the first Food for Life music CD with the aim of immortalising our message in sound. Through the lyrics of those songs I tried to share my understanding of what Srila Prabhupada envisioned, however, the message of the charity and indeed myself were still very much influenced by my Hare Krishna roots. I knew something was just not right and although done sincerely, it missed the mark with most people. What was needed was something more accessible; something universal and something that resonated with everyone from all walks of life.

Teach a man how to fish

During the late 90s, I spoke at Vegetarian conferences around the world about the work of Food for Life and what it stood for. I would also typically give a presentation on the spiritual aspect of Food for Life and teach people about the benefits of offering their food to God as a way to nourish their mind and spirit too. It was during this time in my life I thought deeply about the words of Srila Prabhupada, “Everyone should get a chance to take prasadam.” I thought if there are only so many of us volunteers, how will it be possible to give everyone in the world the experience of this beautiful “love” food? And then it hit me…

FishteachingCartoon

This famous maxim rang true for me and set me on a whole new course in my Food for Life career. Teaching people about the ancient Hindu tradition of offering food to the Gods was a nice addition to my Food for Life presentations, but for most people, it just didn’t sit right with them. After all, they were not Hindus and many of them had lost all faith in the concept of a personal form of God. To offer food was a very big jump in faith. Solving this problem became a constant meditation for me into the new Millennium. What was needed, I surmised, was a completely non-sectarian approach to solving this riddle.

In 1995, after visiting about 30 countries in two years, I made Washington DC my base and with the help of Mukunda Goswami we established Food for Life Global to serve as the official headquarters for all Food for Life projects around the world. The new charity would establish standards and provide the guidance, training and inspiration needed to push the program on. Unexpectedly, we also became the central office for emergency relief coordination. As a result, I have been involved, in some way or another, with every major relief effort of Food for Life over the last 20 years.

paul-feedingSriLanka-500

Paul Turner serving children after the 2004 Tsunami in Sri Lanka

Midday Meal Program

By the early 2000s, there was a resurgence in the Food for Life program in India. This was partly due to the tremendous economic boom taking place in India with the expansion of the Internet. People had much more money now and they wanted to spend it. The Indian government was also flush with cash and so the president of India declared that all children in India must get a free lunch provided by the government.

ISKCON-Annamrita-logo-PNG200

ISKCON temples in India formed a new organisation, ISKCON Food Relief Foundation, aka “Food for Life Annamrita” to also participate in the Indian Government’s Midday Meal initiative. Over the next 10 years, both foundations have continued to raise the bar of professionalism and efficiency, with each receiving numerous awards and accolades from the Media, Government and United Nations. Both foundations, which are the two principle affiliates of Food for Life Global, now each serves up to 1.3 million meals daily!

The Great Tsunami of 2004

The traveling monk, Indradyumna Swami and Paul handing out hot packaged meals in Sri Lanka.

The traveling monk, Indradyumna Swami and Paul handing out hot packaged meals in Sri Lanka.

While employed with the World Bank as a web developer I continued my volunteer work for Food for Life Global, working mostly from my office at home. However, after news of the devastating tsunami spread across the Internet, I began getting calls from donors and volunteers asking FFLG to respond. This event was unprecedented and so it would require an unprecedented response. With the help of the Traveling Monk Indradyumna Swami, we devised a plan to provide hot meals to survivors in Sri Lanka. Over the next week, I started promoting Food for Life’s plan to respond and asked for donations and volunteers. Well, nothing could prepare me for what happened next. We literally got over 500 volunteer applications from people of all walks of life, police officers, military vets, nurses, doctors, film directors, actors, dancers, you name it — I was overwhelmed. Soon tens of thousand of dollars in donations started pouring in and so we now had people and money to actually execute our plan.

Over the next four months, more than 50 volunteers from around the world worked with Food for Life Global cooking vegan meals on firewood and distributing them to villagers all across the island. The Sri Lankan military and Red Cross also collaborated with FFLG. Over the next 8 years, Food for Life Global responded to many other natural disasters, including Hurricane Katrina, the Tsunami that hit Japan and the earthquake in Haiti.

FOOD YOGA – Food for Life 2.0

science.naturalnews.comFOOD-YOGA-3dBook300pxIn 2010, I started a new personal journey. Numerologically it was a year 9, meaning I was basically wrapping up all that had transpired over the last 9 years. And let me tell you, although I certainly did have some nice successes with Food for Life, including overseeing Food for Life’s relief efforts in Haiti, on a personal level it was challenging. I decided to take a fresh look at the riddle of how to give everyone a chance to take prasadam and what I discovered was the major obstacle in realising that idea was bringing people to:

1: Give a damn;

2: Accept that there is indeed a Supreme Intelligence behind the creation and that that powerful Creative Force has a form and personality.

So the book I was to write needed to address these two points. I started my quest in a 24-hour New York cafe called Yaffa, working all night long, researching and typing as I drank rose petal tea. Over the next 18 months, my new book FOOD YOGA – Nourishing Body, Mind & Soultook shape, going through 30 revisions. I tried to build my presentation using logic, science and references from a variety of spiritual sources, just so that it was clear that I was not favouring Hinduism, nor trying to convert anyone to a Hare Krishna viewpoint. What I wanted was for my readers to embrace the importance of food on their spiritual quest and to adopt what I now called, “The Food Offering Meditation.” The book essentially was just building up to that one thing beginning with learning to see the presence of God in our day to day lives and appreciating the unconditional love of Mother Nature.

10Ingred_cover_Thumb

However, I also saw food yoga as the natural evolution of Food for Life, “the upgrade,” if you will, and how it was important that I be honest and share my experience as a monk and volunteer of the organisation — because in a sense my life was all about food yoga. In the end, my principal desire was to fulfil the ideal of Srila Prabhupada and thus help to expand Food for Life far beyond the limitations of any one religious organisation to that of a social revolution for unity, peace and prosperity with food as the preferred “weapon” of choice!

This comment by Srila Prabhupada set the tone for a new direction and marketing message for Food for Life:

Simply by the liberal distribution of prasada and sankirtana, the whole world can become peaceful and prosperous.” (Srimad Bhagavatam Purport, Verse: 4.12.10).

Food for Life was not a food relief, but rather an organisation focused on creating peace and prosperity in the world, which can only be possible when we have true equality. To position ourselves in the public eye as such we changed out tag line to Uniting the World through Pure Food.

As a supplement to this new plan I also wrote a book called, “How to Build a Successful Food Relief specifically for people outside the Hindu and/or Krishna tradition and thus opened the door for collaboration beyond religious dogma and bias. However, FOOD YOGA – Nourishing Body, Mind and Soul, was really the essence of my meditation all these years.

FoodYoga_PaulMelb600

Food Yoga Tour and the message of Unity