桑迪的餘波–海地呼籲關注

最後更新於 19 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日
保羅·特納保羅·特納
海地太子港被水淹沒的街道上有兩名婦女。 54年地震後,多達20人死亡,2010人仍失踪,數千人失去了臨時避難所。 攝影:Jean Jacques Augustin / EFE / Photoshot

喬納森·瓦茨(Jonathan Watts)在太子港,為 守護者 報紙報導說:“地震發生近三年後,太子港首都350,000人仍住在流離失所者難民營中。

在過去的三年中,數百名難民被迫從地震中被摧毀的房屋中逃離,逃到現在在暴風雨中被撕毀並被洪水淹沒的帳篷中,以及其他臨時收容所中。 儘管許多注意力都集中在紐約,但這些人仍在等待新的帳篷和食品供應。 您可能以為這些人會因為擔心自己的困境而感到沮喪,但瓦茨認為,沒有,“心情更多是因為一個貧窮國家的災難簡直是無話可說。” 儘管海地只被桑迪的尾巴擊中,但有54人死亡,仍有20人失踪。

總理洛朗·拉莫特(Laurent Lamothe)將颶風桑迪描述為“重大災難”。 太子港的一位作家艾米麗·普羅特(Emmelie Prohete)估計:“這不是我們將要經歷的第一場災難,也是最後一場災難。 我們已經看到瞭如此糟糕的情況,只有這種情況讓我們感到欣慰。” 我個人感到震驚的事實是,甚至在颶風桑迪之前,“海地的霍亂病例要比世界其他地方加起來還要多。 瓦茨寫道,近6%的人口受到影響,有7,500人死亡。

對比在您的口中留下酸味。 桑迪的影響似乎在兩個不同的世界發揮了作用。 例如,海地人在廣播中聽到紐約人因桑迪而遭受的痛苦,他們表示同情。 但是,有關紐約電力恢復緩慢的報導與海地一些村莊開始沒有電力的事實形成了鮮明的對比! Dieula Geffrard在2010年的地震中失去了家和丈夫。

可悲的是,她和她的四個孩子後來搬進的帳篷在同一年被另一場風暴摧毀。 現在她的便攜式房屋已被泥濘淹沒。 她說:“我的家還不夠堅固,無法抵禦洪水,搶走了我的床,衣服和鞋子。” 儘管她認為自己還活著很幸運,但她哭了:“這個地方已經被人遺忘了。 請幫助我們。”

資料來源:http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/nov/02/aftermath-hurricane-sandy-haiti-disaster

生命行動的食物

歐洲生命食品總監Matej Poljansek目前正在與IDA和多米尼加共和國生命食品戰略合作。

幫助 Food for Life Global

 

 

通過Paypal捐贈給 Food for Life Global 緊急基金

[PayPal捐贈]

發表評論

如何產生影響

捐贈

幫助他人

加密貨幣

捐贈加密貨幣

動物

幫助動物

我們的項目

志願者機會
成為倡導者
開始你自己的項目
緊急救援

志願者
機遇

成為

開始你的
自己的項目

緊急
救濟

最新動態

Blog

The aftermath of Sandy – Haiti cries out for attention

Two women in the flooded streets of Port-au-Prince, Haiti. Up to 54 people have died, 20 are still missing, and thousands have lost temporary shelters set up after the 2010 earthquake. Photograph: Jean Jacques Augustin/EFE/Photoshot

Jonathan Watts in Port-au-Prince, writing for The Guardian newspaper report that, “Almost three years after the earthquake, 350,000 people in the capital of Port-au-Prince are still living in camps for displaced refugees.

Over the past three years, hundreds of these refugees have been forced to flee from homes destroyed in the quake, to tents which have now been ripped and flooded in the storm, and to other temporary shelters. While much of the attention is being focused on New York, these people are still waiting for new tents and food supplies. You’d think these people would be upset over the lack of concern for their plight, but no, according to Watts, “the mood is more one of resignation that a catastrophe in a poor country is less of a story.” Although Haiti was only hit by Sandy’s tail, 54 people died and 20 are still missing.

Prime minister Laurent Lamothe described Hurricane Sandy as a “disaster of major proportions”. Emmelie Prohete, a writer based in Port-au-Prince reckons: “This is not the first nor the last disaster we will have. We have seen so much worse that we are relieved there is only this.” What I personally found alarming was the fact that even before Hurricane Sandy, “Haiti had more cholera cases than the rest of the world put together. Almost 6% of the population have been affected and 7,500 people have died,’ writes Watts.

The contrasts leave a sour taste in your mouth. The impact of Sandy seems to have played out in two different worlds. For example, Haitians hear on the radio how New Yorkers have suffered as a result of Sandy and they sympathise. But the reports that electricity was slowly being restored in New York contrasts dramatically with the fact that some villages in Haiti had no electricity to begin with! Dieula Geffrard lost her home and her husband in the 2010 earthquake.

Sadly, the tent she and her four children moved into afterwards was destroyed by another storm the same year. And now her portable home has been inundated with mud. “My home wasn’t strong enough to withstand the floods, which took away my bed, clothes and shoes,” she says. Although she counts herself lucky to be alive, she cries: “This place has been forgotten. Please help us.”

Source: http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/nov/02/aftermath-hurricane-sandy-haiti-disaster

FOOD FOR LIFE ACTION

Food for Life Europe director, Matej Poljansek is currently strategizing a response in cooperation with IDA and Food for Life Dominican Republic.

To help Food for Life Global

 

 

Donate via Paypal to the Food for Life Global Emergency Fund

About Editor

Director of Food for Life Global and the author of the best selling book, FOOD YOGA - Nourishing Body, Mind & Soul. http://www.foodyogi.org

Leave a Comment