المحاصيل في الحقول

العالم قد يجوع بينما تتعفن المحاصيل في الحقول

يثبت عام 2020 أنه أحد أكثر الأعوام تحديًا التي واجهها العالم منذ وقت طويل جدًا. يستمر فيروس كورونا في التذبذب في الحالات المبلغ عنها في جميع أنحاء العالم ، حيث تعاني العديد من الدول النامية ودول العالم الثالث حاليًا من أسوأ الوباء العالمي.

يتمثل أحد الآثار المدمرة لـ COVID-19 في انهيار سلاسل الإمداد الغذائي وما يترتب على ذلك من نقص في الغذاء في جميع أنحاء العالم. نحن الآن ندفع نحو واحدة من أكبر أزمات الجوع التي لم يسبق لها مثيل. يُعتقد أن ما يصل إلى 132 مليون شخص لم يكن من المتوقع أن يعانون من الجوع في عام 2020 ، سيواجه نقص الغذاء

يحتل برنامج "الغذاء من أجل الحياة" موقع الصدارة مباشرةً ، حيث يحاول العمل مع قيود فيروس كورونا المستجد ومواصلة المساعدة في إطعام الأشخاص الأكثر ضعفاً على كوكبنا. نحن مجرد واحدة من العديد من المنظمات التي تكافح لمساعدة كل من نستطيع على الرغم من الفوضى.  

يُخشى أن يكون الارتفاع الحاد في عدد الجياع هذا العام ثلاثة أضعاف أي زيادة شهدناها في الجوع لأكثر من قرن. مع استمرار قيود COVID-19 في إحداث الفوضى في جميع أنحاء العالم ، يعمل الوباء العالمي على تفكيك سلاسل التوريد الثمينة والبنية التحتية والاقتصادات المعوقة على طول الطريق.

أدت الضربة غير المسبوقة على أسواقنا العالمية إلى عدم الاستقرار في بعض أفقر البلدان وأكثرها يأسًا على هذا الكوكب. يُعتقد الآن أن عدد الأشخاص الذين سيموتون من الجوع بحلول نهاية عام 2020 يفوق عدد الأشخاص الذين سيموتون بسبب الفيروس نفسه.

تؤدي سلاسل التوريد غير النشطة إلى تعفن الغذاء في الحقول

حتى البلدان التي لديها استقرار غذائي راسخ تواجه الآن نقصًا في الغذاء. لم يُترك أي بلد بمنأى عن هذا الوباء ، حيث أصبح الناس جائعين في نيويورك إلى نيجيريا بسبب سلاسل الإمدادات الغذائية المتقلبة.

لدينا الآن حالة يتضور فيها الناس جوعاً في نفس البلد حيث يترك الطعام يتعفن في حقول المزارعين على بعد بضع مئات من الأميال. بدون سلاسل التوريد المناسبة والبنية التحتية لنقل البضائع بالإضافة إلى قيود السفر ، لا يمكن للمزارعين وشركات الأغذية نقل منتجاتهم في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

في الولايات المتحدة ، شاهدنا مقاطع فيديو للمزارعين مع أكوام ضخمة من البطاطس تُركت لتتعفن. في أوغندا ، لا يمكن لبائعي المواد الغذائية بيع حتى الفواكه والخضروات الأكثر خصومات ، لأن الناس فقدوا وظائفهم ولم يبقوا بلا شيء. فنزويلا الآن على شفا المجاعة.

لقد كشف الوباء عن قيمة وحيوية صناعتنا الغذائية. لكنه كشف أيضًا كيف أننا تحت رحمة تلك الأنظمة نفسها. يدعو البعض الآن إلى مزيد من النظم الغذائية المحلية واللامركزية لتجنب أزمة أخرى مثل هذه في المستقبل.

في Food for Life ، نعلم جيدًا سلاسل الإمداد الغذائي المعطلة في العالم. نأمل أن يكون فيروس كورونا COVID-19 بمثابة جرس إنذار للمسؤولين عن ضرورة تحديث سلاسل التوريد هذه على وجه السرعة. نأمل أيضًا أن تكون الأزمة بمثابة حافز لزيادة البنية التحتية ذات الجودة الأفضل التي تمس الحاجة إليها للمساعدة في إطعام المحتاجين. 

كشف اللامساواة

الجوع في أفريقيا

بالإضافة إلى كشف أنظمتنا الغذائية المتعثرة ، التاجى كشف النقاب عن أعمق أوجه عدم المساواة في العالم. كشف الفيروس عن العديد من أوجه القصور والضعف النظامي وقرر بالنسبة لنا من سنأكل ومن لا يأكل. بينما يستمر الأثرياء في تجميع كميات هائلة من الثروة أثناء الوباء ، فإن أكثر الفئات ضعفاً في العالم تُترك مع أقل من ذلك.

لقد دعمت البلدان التي تتمتع بظروف مالية ميسورة شعوبها بمدفوعات تحفيزية للحفاظ على استمراريتها. ومع ذلك ، في البلدان الفقيرة ، فقد الكثير من الناس وظائفهم بدون شبكة أمان أو حماية حكومية. وقد أدى ذلك إلى ارتفاع كبير في معدلات البطالة والجوع والتشرد. 

لدينا الآن وضع لا تستطيع فيه العديد من العائلات إطعام نفسها دون أمل في العودة إلى العمل في أي وقت قريب. ساعدت جهود الإغاثة العالمية والتحفيز الحكومي إلى حد ما ، لكن ثبت أنها ليست كافية. 

واصلت منظمة Food for Life جهودها في جميع أنحاء العالم لإطعام أكبر عدد ممكن من الناس بوجبات نباتية مغذية ، على الرغم من الفوضى التي تسبب بها فيروس كورونا وإجراءات الإغلاق. نحن نعمل بجد مع المنظمات والحكومات لمواصلة عملنا الحيوي قدر الإمكان.

الناس بحاجة إلينا الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى. 

ستظل الآثار محسوسة لعقود.

الحقل

من المرجح أن تشعر البلدان والحكومات ومجتمعاتنا في جميع أنحاء العالم بآثار هذا الوباء لعقود قادمة. تضرر المزارعون في جميع أنحاء العالم بشدة ، وقد لا يكون التعافي سهلاً إذا لم يتمكنوا من الاستمرار في العمل. 

ستحتاج سلاسل التوريد إلى إعادة التشغيل ، لكن الشركات التي تعمل على طول الخطوط تشعر بالضغط الهائل للانكماش الاقتصادي. الكثير من البنية التحتية التي استغرق بناؤها وقتًا طويلاً في الدول النامية قد تراجعت في غضون أشهر.

إن استعادة الأمور "إلى وضعها الطبيعي" ستكون تحديًا هائلاً لا يفهمه الكثيرون ، بمن فيهم من هم في السلطة ، تمامًا من حيث مستوى التبصر والتنظيم المطلوب. يُذكر أن مشكلات البنية التحتية هذه من المحتمل أن تستمر في التسبب في مشاكل عالمية لمدة 12 شهرًا أخرى على الأقل.

خلال هذا الوقت ، من المقرر أن يستمر عدم استقرار الإمدادات الغذائية والأسواق العالمية والاقتصادات. هذه ببساطة أزمة لم يسبق لها مثيل والتي ليس الجنس البشري مستعدًا للتعامل معها.

من المحتمل أن يكون لكل المشكلات التي نواجهها الآن تأثير الدومينو لعقود قادمة. تم توثيق انعدام الأمن الغذائي وآثاره على مدى عقود بعد الأزمات. نتيجة لتأثير COVID-19 ، زادت توقعات سوء التغذية في جميع أنحاء العالم. 

لقد تسبب سوء التغذية في خسائر فادحة في المجتمعات. إنه يضعف جهاز المناعة ، ويحد من الحركة ، ويمكن أن يضعف وظيفة الدماغ الإدراكية. يشعر الأطفال الذين يقعون ضحايا لسوء التغذية في سن مبكرة بأثره المدمر في حياتهم البالغة.

تشمل العواقب بالنسبة للأطفال الصغار عدم القدرة على البقاء في المدرسة بسبب انخفاض الوظيفة الإدراكية ، وصعوبة العثور على عمل ، والوقوع في دوامة من الفقر.

لهذه الأسباب أصبح عملنا في Food for Life أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى. بعد COVID-19 ، أينما كان ذلك ، ستحتاج العديد من المجتمعات إلى وجبات أكثر من أي وقت مضى لمنع سوء التغذية. لكن لا يمكننا فعل ذلك بمفردنا!

كيف يمكن لك المساعدة 

بينما لا يمكننا السيطرة على العديد من العواقب النظامية والاجتماعية للوباء ، نستطيع المساعدة في دعم المنظمات على الخطوط الأمامية لتقديم المساعدات والغذاء للفئات الأكثر ضعفاً خلال هذا الوقت.

يرجى التبرع لمؤسسة Food for Life اليوم لمساعدتنا على الاستمرار في تقديم وجبات نباتية مغذية للغاية لآلاف الأشخاص والأطفال في جميع أنحاء العالم! نحن بحاجة إلى مساعدتكم خلال هذا الوقت للسماح لنا بمواصلة إطعام أولئك الذين تخلفوا عن الركب لعقود ومواصلة مواجهة تداعيات الأنظمة المحطمة والفقر المزمن. 

تبرع اليوم، وساعدنا في إنقاذ الأرواح!

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

دعم العمل الهام Food for Life Global لخدمة شبكتها الدولية التي تضم أكثر من 200 شركة تابعة في 60 دولة.
Food for Life Global هي منظمة خيرية 501 (c) (3) ، EIN 36-4887167. تعتبر جميع التبرعات معفاة من الضرائب في غياب أي قيود على الخصم تنطبق على دافع ضرائب معين. لم يتم تقديم أي سلع أو خدمات في مقابل مساهمتك.

Food For Life Global’s المهمة الأساسية هي تحقيق السلام والازدهار في العالم من خلال التوزيع الليبرالي للوجبات النباتية النقية التي أعدت بنية محبة.

اكتب تعليقا

Crops in Fields

World Could Go Hungry While Crops Rot in Fields

2020 is proving to be one of the most challenging years the world has faced in a very long time. Coronavirus continues to fluctuate in reported cases worldwide, with many developing and third world nations currently experiencing the worst of the global pandemic.

One devastating impact of COVID-19 is the breaking down of food supply chains and the consequent shortage of food worldwide. We’re now hurtling towards one of the largest and most unprecedented hunger crises. It is believed that as many as 132 million people, who were not projected to go hungry in 2020, will face a shortage of food

Food for Life is right on the forefront, trying to work with COVID restrictions and continue to help feed those most vulnerable on our planet. We are just one of many organizations fighting to help all those we can despite the chaos.  

It has been feared that the spike in hungry individuals this year could be as much as triple that of any increase we’ve seen in hunger for over a century. As COVID-19 restrictions continue to wreak havoc across the world, the global pandemic is dismantling precious supply chains, infrastructure, and crippling economies along the way.

The unprecedented hit on our world markets has led to instability in some of the poorest and most desperate countries on the planet. It is now thought that more people will die from hunger by the end of 2020 than people will die from the virus itself.

Inactive Supply Chains Lead to Food Rotting in Fields

Even the countries with established food stability are now facing food shortages. No country has been left untouched by this pandemic, with people going hungry in New York to Nigeria due to upended food supply chains.

We now have a situation where people are starving in the same country as food is being left to rot in farmers’ fields just a couple of hundred miles away. Without the proper supply chains and infrastructure to move goods in addition to travel restrictions, farmers and food companies cannot move their produce around the country.

In the USA, we have witnessed farmers’ videos with gigantic piles of potatoes left to rot. In Uganda, food sellers can’t sell even the most discounted fruits and veggies, because people have lost their jobs and are left with nothing. Venezuela is now on the brink of famine.

The pandemic has revealed the preciousness and vitality of our food industry. But, it also revealed how we’re at the mercy of those same systems. Some are now calling for more localized and decentralized food systems to avoid another crisis like this in the future.

At Food for Life, we know all too well about the world’s broken food supply chains. We hope that COVID-19 is a wake-up call to those in charge that these supply chains need to be updated as a matter of urgency. We also hope the crisis serves as a prompt for the increase of better quality infrastructure that is desperately needed to help feed those in need. 

Inequality Exposed

Hunger in Africa

In addition to exposing our troubled food systems, coronavirus has uncovered our world’s deepest inequalities. The virus has uncovered many systemic inefficiencies and vulnerabilities and decided for us who shall eat and who shall not. While the super-rich continue to accumulate vast amounts of wealth during the pandemic, the world’s most vulnerable are being left with even less.

Countries that are financially well off have supported their people with stimulus payments to keep them going. However, in poorer countries, many people have lost their job with no safety net or governmental protection. This has led to huge spikes in unemployment, hunger, and homelessness. 

We now have a situation where many families can’t afford to feed themselves with no hope of going back to work anytime soon. Global relief efforts and government stimulus has helped somewhat, but it’s proving not to be enough. 

Food for Life has continued its worldwide efforts to feed as many people as we can with nutritious plant-based meals, despite the chaos COVID-19 and lockdown measures have caused. We are working hard with organizations and governments to continue our vital work as much as possible.

People need us now more than ever. 

The effects will be felt for decades.

Field

Countries, governments, and our communities worldwide are likely to feel the effects of this pandemic for decades to come. Farmers worldwide have been hit hard, and recovering may not be simple if they cannot afford to carry on operating. 

Supply chains will need to be restarted, but companies that work along the lines feel the immense pressure of economic downturn. Much of the infrastructure that has taken so long to build in developing nations has come undone in a matter of months.

Getting things “back to normal” is going to be an immense challenge that many, including those in power, do not fully understand in terms of the level of foresight and organization needed. It is reported that these infrastructure issues will likely continue to cause worldwide problems for at least another 12 months.

During this time, the instability of food supply, global markets, and economies are set to continue. This is simply an unprecedented crisis that the human race is ill-prepared to deal with.

All of the issues we face now will probably have a domino-effect for decades to come. Food insecurity and its implications have been documented to continue for decades after crises. As a result of COVID-19’s impact, projections for malnutrition across the world have increased. 

Malnutrition has taken an enormous toll on communities. It weakens immune systems, limits mobility, and can even impair cognitive brain function. Children who are victims of malnutrition at an early age feel its devastating impact well into their adult lives.

The consequences for young children include the inability to stay in school due to reduced cognitive function, difficulty finding work, and being locked in a cycle of poverty.

It’s for these reasons that our work at Food for Life is now more critical than ever before. Post-COVID-19, whenever that will be, many communities will require more meals than ever to prevent malnourishment. But we can’t do it alone!

How you can help 

While we can’t control many systemic and social consequences of the pandemic, we can help support the organizations on the frontlines to deliver aid and food to the most vulnerable during this time.

Please donate to Food for Life today to help us continue to deliver highly nutritious plant-based meals to thousands of people and children worldwide! We need your help during this time to allow us to continue to feed those who have been left behind for decades and continue to face the repercussions of broken systems and chronic poverty. 

Donate today, and help us save lives!

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.

Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.

Write a comment