澳大利亚野火

澳大利亚正在发生什么-了解澳大利亚野火危机

至少 28人死亡摧毁1000所房屋,估计 十亿只动物被焚化和 超过25万澳大利亚人 影响。 

这些破坏都是由于澳大利亚可怕的大火。 但是,是什么引起了大火?您能提供什么帮助? 让我们找出答案。

澳大利亚现在正在发生什么?

自2019年30,000月以来,澳大利亚一直处于紧急状态。 新南威尔士州熊熊大火,破坏了面积相当于韩国的面积。 超过XNUMX名居民和游客从受影响地区撤离。

日落和野火

烟雾正在影响整个国家,实际上,NASA指出烟雾会 绕地球 然后回到澳大利亚。 截至8月XNUMX日,烟雾已经 世界各地

火灾和烟雾不仅会导致人和动物的眼睛和肺部问题,而且还会对环境造成重大影响。 火灾引起的干热 焦积雨事件或火灾引发的雷暴。 烟气上升,如果烟气变得足够高,这很可能是由于大火造成的,它会造成严重的大气危害。 

是什么引起了澳大利亚大火?

澳大利亚每年发生丛林大火季节,但该大陆经历的2020年大火令人极为担忧。 澳大利亚自然是一个炎热的国家,这种高温加上干燥的树叶使人成为火的完美配方。 雷击或火花可能使该区域起火,甚至有意地引发了一些大火,但 并非总是有良好的意愿。

这些火灾通常不会引起人们的关注,澳大利亚的消防员都接受过良好的训练,可以对付它们,但近来,火灾已大为失控。 它们已经变得如此庞大,以至于其他国家正在派遣自己的部队来帮助扑灭大火。 

黑色背景上的火火焰

气候变化是失控大火背后的原因之一。 二氧化碳(CO2)含量的上升正在迅速升高世界的温度,并导致恶劣的天气。 这就是为什么在过去几年中出现了如此多出乎意料的残酷天气模式,例如大飓风,龙卷风,暴风雪和大火。 气候越热越干燥,这些大火越有可能肆虐并迅速蔓延,尤其是在极端暴风雨的帮助下。 

不负责任的绿色政策

但是,几十年来,澳大利亚政府一直在封锁土地,禁止烧毁土地,并鼓励扩大桉树的“火树”。 在炎热的天气中,遥远的树木繁茂的山丘上的蓝色薄雾是高度易燃的桉树油蒸气,等待着火花。

传统上,澳大利亚的开阔森林和无树草原景观是在持续小火的土著传统下开发和维护的。 随后,欧洲掠夺者计划在凉爽的季节烧掉他们。

几十年前,这种安全且行之有效的消防方法被绿色政策所取代,以扩大被封锁的受保护公园的面积(目前占澳大利亚的11%以上)。 然后,他们在私人土地上铺满了受保护的植被避风港,阻碍了灌木丛的清理和可控的焚烧,这些一直是管理丛林大火的最有效方法。

这些政策创造了桉树火树的火药箱,等待着火花。 火花可能是一个害怕的地主,他在寻求防火保护,包括冒着高风险/迟来的回火,寻求刺激的纵火犯,雷击罢工,粗心的烟头,输电线问题或飞扬的余烬,以及就像我们现在看到的那样,一场不可阻挡的大风暴是不可避免的。

澳大利亚的野火季节多长时间?

丛林大火和草原大火对澳大利亚人来说并不是什么新鲜事物,事实上,世界各地的人们都经常将大火用作土地管理工具。 

火灾季节通常发生在一年中最热,最干燥的时间,此时有大量干燃料(草,树皮,植物等)供燃烧。

这些地区通常发生火灾季节 在以下时间:

  • 新南威尔士州-春季和初夏
  • 昆士兰州南部-春季和初夏
  • 北领地-冬季和春季

澳大利亚火景

通常在北部地区以及西澳大利亚州和昆士兰州的北部地区发现一些大火。 

澳大利亚的野火如何扑灭? 

最近的降雨有助于扑灭澳大利亚的大火,但仍有许多工作要做。 救援人员来自 新西兰,巴布亚新几内亚,美国,加拿大,比利时和法国。 知名组织,甚至社交媒体有影响力的人都筹集了善款以捐款。 

但是这些消防员到达澳大利亚后在做什么?这笔钱有什么帮助?

在最严重的火灾现场,成千上万人直接灭火。 澳大利亚的陆军,海军和空军储备可以“火炸弹在最恶劣的地区浇水。 

森林火灾

在地面上,当消防员和其他军事后备人员不使用大型水箱直接扑灭大火时,他们会使用大型机械移动枯死的灌木丛并在没有叶子的地方开火,从而造成大火。 此外,救援工作正在进行中,以确保人员安全并被带离任何有即时危险的区域。

展望未来, 澳大利亚的原住民也许有答案。 听起来可能有些意外,但在适当的时间进行有规律的燃烧并在适当的区域开始燃烧,实际上可以帮助预防灌木丛和草地火灾。 控制火势上升的幅度不会超过一英尺,并且可以燃烧掉枯死的植物材料,这些材料随后可以用作大火的燃料。 受控的火势还可以帮助清除旧的和死去的植物,为健康的新生活铺平道路,进而创造一个更强大,生产力更高的生态系统。 

澳大利亚的野火造成了多少损失?

据估计,澳大利亚的经济损失将 超过4.4年“黑色星期六”造成的2009亿美元损失。 这为澳大利亚山火造成的最大破坏创造了记录。  

澳大利亚的森林大火

到目前为止,至少 8.4万公顷 的土地被烧焦了。 这种可利用土地的流失,再加上澳大利亚的干旱,很可能会损害旅游业等当地产业,而旅游业也已大大减少。 实际上,澳大利亚旅游业估计这将需要 数百万重建。 最重要的是,粮食价格可能会上涨,从而进一步损害经济。 

仅在新南威尔士州就有超过1,500所房屋被摧毁,成千上万的人与他们一起生活。 澳大利亚以像考拉这样缓慢移动的有袋动物而闻名,据估计, 半数动物被杀死。 

你怎么帮忙?

有几种方法可以帮助澳大利亚扑灭大火。

帮助受害者:

  • 澳大利亚红十字会: 接受向其disaster灾和恢复基金的捐款。
  • 吉维特:帮助火灾受害者获得他们需要的特定物品的组织,例如汽车电池或围栏柱。 
  • 救世军澳大利亚:接受捐赠以帮助受害者获得他们需要的物品。 他们鼓励捐款,这些捐款可以用来向受害者提供他们所需要的帮助。

帮助动物:

最好的帮助方法:应对气候变化! 

  • 遵循植物性饮食和生活方式 -请记住,每天都有数百万只动物被屠杀,它们通常不是考拉或袋鼠。 不仅大量改变饮食 减少您的碳足迹,但它也反对虐待动物。 
  • 乘坐火车或巴士代替飞机 -乘坐火车或巴士不仅意味着您不必经过安全检查,还可以减少碳足迹。
  • 购买可重复使用的物品,而不是一次性物品 -购买可重复使用的物品并妥善保管时,它可以终身使用。 
  • 选择可持续时尚而非快速时尚 -快时尚不仅碳排放量大,而且质量也低得多。 
https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。
Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。

Australia wildfire

What is Happening in Australia – Understanding the Australian Wildfire Crisis

At least 28 human deaths1000 homes destroyed, an estimated 1 billion animals incinerated, and over 25 million Australians affected. 

These devastations are all due to the horrendous fires in Australia. But what’s causing the fires and what can you do to help? Let’s find out.

What is happening in Australia right now?

Since November 2019, Australia has been in a state of emergency. Fires are raging across New South Wales, and have devastated an area the size of South Korea. Over 30,000 residents and tourists have been evacuated from affected areas.

Sunset and wildfire

The smoke is affecting the entire country, and in fact, NASA states that the smoke will circle the entire globe before making its way back to Australia. As of January 8th, the smoke is already halfway around the world

Not only do the fires and the smoke cause eye and lung problems in humans and animals, they also have major environmental impacts. The heat and dryness caused by the fires cause pyrocumulonimbus events, or fire-induced thunderstorms. Smoke rises, and if it gets high enough, which it likely will due to the monstrous size of the fires, it can cause major atmospheric harm. 

What caused the fires in Australia?

Bushfire season is a yearly occurrence in Australia, but the 2020 fires experienced by the continent are cause for extreme concern. Australia is naturally a hot country, and this heat, in combination with dry foliage makes a perfect recipe for fires. A lightning strike or spark can set an area ablaze, and some fires are even started purposefully but not always with good intentions.

These fires are usually no cause for concern and Australia’s fire fighters are well-trained to deal with them, but recently, the fires have become massively out of control. They’ve become so large that other countries are sending in their own units to help fight the blaze. 

fire flames on black background

Climate change is one reason behind the out-of-control fires. Rising levels of carbon dioxide (CO2) are quickly raising the world’s temperatures and causing severe weather. This is why there have been so many unexpectedly brutal weather patterns such as large hurricanes, tornadoes, snowstorms, and fires over the past few years. The hotter and drier the climate, the more likely these fires are to rage and rapidly spread, especially with the aid of extreme windstorms. 

Irresponsible Green Policies

However, for decades now, the Australian government has been locking up land, banning burn-offs, and encouraging the expansion of eucalyptus "fire-trees." On a hot day, the blue haze on distant timbered hills is highly flammable eucalyptus oil vapor, waiting for a spark.

Traditionally, the Australian landscape of open forests and treeless grasslands was developed and maintained under an aboriginal tradition of continual small fires. This was followed by planned cool-season burn-offs by European graziers.

A few decades ago, this safe and proven method of fire management was replaced by green policies to expand the area of locked up protected parks (now over 11% of Australia). They then peppered private lands with protected-vegetation fire havens and hampered undergrowth clean-ups and controlled burn-offs which have always been the most effective way to manage bushfires.

These policies created tinderboxes of eucalyptus fire-trees waiting for a spark. The spark might be a fearful landowner seeking fire protection with a risky/belated back-burn, a thrill-seeking arsonist, a dry-lightning strike, a careless cigarette butt, a power-line problem, or high-flying burning embers — and an unstoppable firestorm like we are seeing now is inevitable.

How long is wildfire season in Australia?

Bushfires and grassland fires are nothing new to Australians and in fact, people all around the world frequently use fire as a land management tool. 

Fire season typically occurs during the hottest and driest times of the year when there is plenty of dry fuel (grass, bark, plants, etc.) for the fires to consume.

Fire season typically occurs in these areas during the following times:

  • New South Wales - Spring and early summer
  • Southern Queensland - Spring and early summer
  • Northern Territory - Winter and spring

Australian fire view

Some of the largest fires are generally found in the Northern Territory and in northern parts of West Australia and Queensland. 

How are Australia’s wildfires being fought? 

Recent rainfall has helped in the fight against Australia’s fires, but there’s still much to be done. Aid has come in teams of firefighters from New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, the United States, Canada, Belgium, and France. Prominent organizations and even social media influencers have raised money to donate to the cause. 

But what are these firefighters doing when they arrive in Australia and how is this money helping?

At the worst fire sites, there are thousands of people fighting the fires directly. Australia’s army, navy, and airforce reserves which can “firebomb” water over the worst areas. 

Fire in the forest

On the ground, firefighters and other military reserves use large machinery to move dead bush and create firebreaks, gaps where there is no foliage to fuel the fires, when they’re not directly fighting the fires with large tanks of water. Additionally, rescue efforts are underway to make sure people are safe and removed from any areas in immediate danger.

In looking towards the future, Australia’s Aboriginals might have the answer. As unexpected as it may sound, controlled burning at the proper times and started in the proper areas can actually help prevent bush and grass fires. Controlled fires won’t rise more than a foot and will burn off the dead plant material that could later be used as fuel for massive fires. The controlled fire can also help remove old and dead plants, making way for healthy, new life which in turn creates a stronger and more productive ecosystem. 

How much damage have Australia’s wildfires done?

It’s estimated that economic damages in Australia will exceed the $4.4 billion damage caused by Black Saturday in 2009. This sets a record for the most damage caused by wildfires in Australia.  

Forest fire in Australia

Thus far, at least 8.4 million hectares of land have been scorched. This loss of useable land, in combination with Australia’s drought are likely to hurt local industries like tourism, which has also significantly decreased. In fact, the Australian tourism industry estimates that it will take millions to rebuild. On top of all this, the prices of food are likely to increase, further harming the economy. 

Over 1,500 homes in New South Wales alone have been destroyed, and the lives of thousands along with them. Australia is known for its slow-moving marsupials like koalas, and it’s estimated that around half a billion animals have been killed. 

How can you help?

There are several ways that you can help Australia fight the fires.

Help the victims:

  • The Australian Red Cross: Accepting donations to their disaster relief and recovery fund.
  • GIVIT: An organisation that helps fire victims get specific items they need such as car batteries or fence posts. 
  • Salvation Army Australia: Accepting donations to help victims get items they need. They encourage monetary donations that can be used to give victims exactly the help they need.

Help the animals:

The best way to help: Fight climate change! 

  • Follow a plant-based diet and lifestyle - Remember that millions of animals are slaughtered everyday, they’re just not usually koalas or kangaroos. Changing your diet not only massively reduces your carbon footprint, but it also takes a stand against animal cruelty. 
  • Take a train or bus instead of a plane - Not only does taking a train or a bus mean you don’t have to go through security, it also reduces your carbon footprint.
  • Purchase reusable items instead of single-use ones - When you purchase a reusable item and care for it properly, it can last for life. 
  • Choose sustainable fashion over fast fashion - Not only does fast fashion have a large carbon footprint, but it also is far less quality. 
https://secureservercdn.net/198.71.233.109/4hr.f77.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.
Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.