奇妙的森林

吃牛肉會傷害環境——素食主義可以拯救它

畜牧業是污染最嚴重的行業。 我們需要盡快解決這個問題,唯一可行的長期解決方案是素食! 如果我們停止食用肉類和動物產品,我們就離拯救環境又近了一步。

以植物為基礎的飲食通過降低人類的溫室氣體排放來幫助我們應對氣候變化。 當我們轉向氣候友好型飲食時,我們開始為每個人建立一個更可持續的未來和一個更美好的世界。 

吃食物的四個女孩

食物選擇對環境的影響

畜牧業,尤其是養牛和奶牛養殖,會產生非常高的溫室氣體。 根據聯合國糧食及農業組織(UNFAO)的說法,畜牧業生產鍊是不可持續的。 目前,它約佔所有人造溫室氣體排放量的 15%。 僅牛就佔了其中的三分之二!

如果我們繼續以目前的水平產生排放,地球大氣層將吸收越來越多的熱量,從而導致極端天氣、野火增加、糧食供應中斷、空氣污染等等。 即使現在所有排放都停止了,地球也需要幾十年的時間才能從已經發生的氣候變化的影響中恢復過來。 

吃牛肉如何影響氣候變化?

牛肉消費正在以不止一種方式影響環境。 奶牛通過消化和排泄物產生甲烷(一種比二氧化碳對環境危害更大的溫室氣體)。 此外,養牛通常涉及森林砍伐,即為放牧的牧場騰出空間,這使人類沒有天然的二氧化碳淨化器。 

迄今為止,牛肉對氣候變化的影響最大。 牛肉農業產生的溫室氣體排放量是第二大肉類污染源——羊肉的兩倍。 

最重要的是,大量資源用於飼養和餵養動物。 水和土壤經常被過度使用,樹木被砍伐,動物糞便堆積如山——所有這些都造成了不足以養活整個世界的食物。 只有以植物為基礎的飲食才有可能結束世界飢餓!

蔬菜食品

素食生活方式的好處

除了保護環境, 素食主義也可以挽救你的生命. 它可以改善您的健康,提高能量水平,並預防慢性疾病。 為了您的整體健康,沒有比過渡到植物性飲食更好的選擇了。 

素食生活方式提供了許多健康益處,因為它依賴於充滿營養的天然全食物,以維持正常的身體功能。 當您開始光顧更多素食餐廳或烹飪更健康的素食時,您將親眼目睹這些好處。 例如,純素飲食為我們的身體提供更多的纖維、抗氧化劑和其他有益的植物化合物,如鉀、鎂、葉酸和維生素 A、C 和 E。 

就整體健康而言,素食主義可以: 

  • 預防某些類型的癌症
  • 降低患心髒病的風險
  • 降低血糖
  • 改善腎功能
  • 降低膽固醇水平
  • 減輕關節炎帶來的疼痛

但是請注意,作為素食主義者,您可能超重,也可能營養不良。 這是關於創造一個整體均衡的飲食! 任何形式的精製穀物、糖果和高度加工食品都不適合任何人。 在 Food for Life Global (FFL),我們確保在我們的素食餐中只包含最好的天然成分,既美味又健康。

Food for Life 中的植物性餐點

由於我們知道均衡飲食的重要性,FFL 的志願者每天都致力於提供最好的純素餐。 我們還與當地社區合作,傳播知識並分享我們對植物農業和適當營養的見解。

當我們做飯時,我們會確保我們的膳食與適量的營養素平衡——蛋白質、碳水化合物、脂肪、維生素和礦物質。 我們不僅做健康的飯菜,而且它們也很好吃! 每個人都喜歡他們,尤其是孩子們! 

領取救濟食品的老年婦女和兒童

關於素食主義的常見問題 

很多人想知道是否 素食主義 真的可以幫助保護環境,所以讓我們一起回答一些最常見的問題。

素食有助於氣候變化嗎?

氣候科學家繼續向我們展示氣候變化與畜牧業之間的聯繫。 動物性食品的生產是最大的溫室氣體排放源之一,此外還有煤炭、天然氣和石油的燃燒發電。 自然地,如果我們成為素食主義者並停止食用動物產品,我們將減少導致全球變暖的有害氣體的排放。

少吃肉如何幫助氣候變化?

由於牲畜佔全球二氧化碳排放量的五分之一,因此少吃肉將對環境產生積極影響。 然而,當我們談論素食主義時,重要的是要擴大我們作為動物倡導者的角色。 畜牧業不僅會損害環境,而且是一種完全不道德的做法,需要停止。 在今天這個時代,我們不需要為了食物而飼養和殺死其他生物。

吃對氣候友好的食物意味著什麼?

氣候友好型飲食包括生產對環境影響很小或沒有影響的食物。 像我們提供的那樣吃對氣候友好的食物,意味著為保護地球母親儘自己的一份力量。 

通過可持續農業幫助消除世界飢餓

迄今為止,我們已經提供了 7 億份純素餐,您可以幫助我們提供更多! 一次捐贈,或通過 留下遺產,您可以幫助餵飽飢餓的人,拯救動物,當然還有保護我們的環境!

你可以幫忙!

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
支持重要工作 Food for Life Global 服務其遍布200個國家/地區的60多家分支機構的國際網絡。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善組織,EIN 36-4887167。 在沒有適用於特定納稅人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐款均被視為可抵稅。 沒有提供任何商品或服務來交換您的捐助。
Food For Life Global’s 主要任務是通過自由分發以愛心意願準備的純植物性餐食,實現世界和平與繁榮。

發表評論

Wonderful forest

Eating Beef Hurts the Environment – Veganism Can Save It

Animal agriculture is the top polluting industry. We need to address this issue as soon as possible and the only viable, long-term solution is veganism! If we stopped eating meat and animal products, we would move a step closer to saving our environment.

A plant-based diet helps us fight climate change by lowering humanity’s emissions of greenhouse gasses. When we shift towards climate-friendly eating, we start building a more sustainable future and a better world for everyone. 

Four girls eating food

Environmental Impact of Food Choices

Animal agriculture, especially cattle and dairy farming, generates greenhouse gasses at very high levels. According to the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (UNFAO), the animal agriculture production chain is unsustainable. Currently, it accounts for around 15% of all human-made greenhouse gas emissions. Cattle alone are responsible for two-thirds of this!

If we continue to produce emissions at current levels, the Earth’s atmosphere will trap more and more heat leading to extreme weather, increased wildfires, food supply disruptions, air pollution, and much worse. Even if all emissions stopped right now, the planet would need a few decades to recover from the impacts of climate change already incurred. 

How Does Eating Beef Affect Climate Change?

Beef consumption is impacting the environment in more ways than one. Cows generate methane (a greenhouse gas more harmful to the environment than carbon dioxide) through their digestion and their waste. Additionally, cattle farming often involves deforestation, namely, to make room for pastures for grazing which leaves humanity without natural carbon dioxide purifiers. 

Beef is by far the biggest influence on climate change. Beef agriculture is generating twice as much greenhouse gas emissions as the next biggest meat-based polluter - lamb. 

On top of everything, a tremendous amount of resources are used to raise and feed animals. Water and soil are often overused, trees are cut down, and animal waste piles up - all to create an insufficient amount of food to feed the entire world. Only a plant-based diet has the potential to end world hunger!

Vegetable foods

Vegan Lifestyle Benefits

Besides saving the environment, veganism can also save your life. It can improve your health, boost energy levels, and prevent chronic diseases. For your overall well-being, there is no better choice than transitioning to a plant-based diet. 

A vegan lifestyle offers many health benefits because it relies on natural whole foods filled with nutrients for normal body functions. When you start visiting more vegan restaurants or cooking more healthy vegan meals, you will see these benefits first hand. For example, vegan diets provide our bodies with more fiber, antioxidants, and other beneficial plant compounds such as potassium, magnesium, folate, and vitamins A, C, and E. 

Speaking in terms of general health, veganism can: 

  • Prevent certain types of cancers
  • Lower risk of heart disease
  • Lower blood sugar
  • Improve kidney function
  • Lower cholesterol levels
  • Reduce pain from arthritis

Note, however, that you can be overweight as a vegan and you can also be malnourished too. It’s about creating a balanced diet overall! Refined grains, sweets, and highly processed food in any form aren’t good for anyone. At Food for Life Global (FFL), we make sure to include only the best natural ingredients in our vegan meals that are both tasty and healthy.

Plant-Based Meals at Food for Life

Since we know the importance of a balanced diet, volunteers at FFL work daily to deliver only the best vegan meals. We also work with local communities to spread the knowledge and share our insights into plant agriculture and proper nutrition.

When we cook, we make sure our meals are balanced with the right amount of nutrients - proteins, carbohydrates, fats, vitamins, and minerals. Not only are we making healthy meals, but they are delicious too! Everyone loves them, especially kids! 

Old women and children receiving relief foods

Frequently Asked Questions About Veganism 

A lot of people wonder if veganism can really help the environment, so let’s answer some of the most common questions together.

Does Going Vegan Help Climate Change?

Climate scientists continue to show us the connection between climate change and animal agriculture. The production of animal-based food is one of the largest greenhouse gas emitters, alongside the burning of coal, natural gas, and oil for electricity. Naturally, if we go vegan and stop consuming animal products, we’ll lower the emissions of harmful gases that lead to global warming.

How Does Eating Less Meat Help Climate Change?

Since livestock is responsible for a fifth of global carbon dioxide emissions, eating less meat will have a positive impact on the environment. However, when we talk about veganism, it’s important to amplify our roles as animal advocates. Not only does animal agriculture hurt the environment, but it’s an entirely unethical practice that needs to stop. In today’s day and age, we do not need to raise and kill other living beings for food.

What Does It Mean to Eat Climate-Friendly Food?

Climate-friendly diets consist of food produced with little or no impact on the environment. Eating climate-friendly meals, like those we provide, means doing your part to protect Mother Earth. 

Help End World Hunger with Sustainable Farming

To date, we’ve already provided 7 billion vegan meals and you can help us provide even more! With a single donation, or by leaving a legacy, you can help feed hungry people, save animals, and, of course, protect our environment!

You Can Help!

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg
Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.
Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.

Write a comment