القائمة

كيفية التبرع بالأثاث للجمعيات الخيرية: 9 جمعيات خيرية تقدم تبرعات مجانية

تم آخر تحديث في 14 أكتوبر 2022
بول تورنربول تورنر

غالبًا ما يعني تقليص الحجم أو منح منزلك مظهرًا جديدًا التخلي عن أثاثك القديم. إذا كانت هذه العناصر في حالة جيدة ، فقد ترغب في إعطائها. ستقبل الكثير من المنظمات والمجموعات غير الربحية بكل سرور هذه العناصر.

سننظر في المؤسسات الخيرية التي تقبل الأثاث كتنوع للتبرع. نظرًا لأن معظم هذه المؤسسات الخيرية لها منافذ عديدة ، فسيتم جمع تبرعاتك في أسرع وقت ، مما يوفر لك الوقت والطاقة. 

لذلك ، إذا كنت تقوم بتجديد منزلك وتريد التبرع بالأثاث للجمعيات الخيرية لتجنب عبء البيع أثناء ذلك أيضًا الاستفادة من الخصم الضريبي ومساعدة الأفراد المحتاجين ، تابع القراءة لمزيد من التفاصيل.

شبكة بنك الأثاث

من الطرق الرائعة للتبرع بأثاثك للجمعيات الخيرية الاتصال بشبكة Furniture Bank Network ، التي لها مواقع في 34 ولاية ، للحصول على الأثاث مجانًا. يتم التبرع بجميع العناصر الواردة للمحتاجين الذين لا يستطيعون تزيين منازلهم.

على الرغم من أنها مؤسسة خيرية للأثاث ، إلا أن الجمعية تقبل أيضًا السيارات المستعملة والمركبات الترفيهية. يتم التبرع بالأثاث الذي حصلت عليه الجمعية للمشردين سابقًا والأمهات والأطفال الفارين من العنف المنزلي والمهاجرين وغيرهم.

استعادة الموطن للبشرية

Habitat for Humanity هي منظمة غير ربحية في الولايات المتحدة وفي جميع أنحاء العالم تركز على هدفها المتمثل في بناء وإصلاح المنازل.

إذا كنت تتساءل "أين يمكنني التبرع بأثاث المكتب القريب مني؟" هذه المنظمة غير الربحية هي خيار لك. تقبل منافذ ReStore التبرعات الكبيرة للأثاث ، بما في ذلك طاولات الطعام والأرائك والخزائن والمكاتب المكتبية. تبيع متاجر Habitat العناصر المتبرع بها بسعر التجزئة المخفض في متاجر إعادة البيع ، وتساعد عائدات المبيعات في تمويل العديد من البرامج.

يمكن تسليم قطع الأثاث الصغيرة شخصيًا في أقرب متجر Habitat for Humanity ReStore الخاص بك ، والذي يمكنك تحديد موقعه باستخدام أداة البحث عن متجر صفحة التبرع ReStore. يمكنك جدولة التبرع بالأثاث مجانًا للحصول على أغراض أكبر. لحجز موعد بيك اب ، ما عليك سوى الاتصال بالمتجر المحلي الخاص بك.

رضا

إذا كنت لا تزال تخطط للتبرع بالأثاث للجمعيات الخيرية ، فإن Goodwill هي منظمة مشهورة أخرى ستجمع تبرعاتك. تأسست منظمة Goodwill غير الربحية في عام 1902 ولديها آلاف المتاجر في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة وكندا. 

يتم إرسال العناصر المتبرع بها إلى متاجر النوايا الحسنة المحلية وبيعها بأسعار مخفضة للأفراد المحتاجين. يتم استخدام الأموال المتأتية من المبيعات في مشاريع مختلفة ، بما في ذلك التدريب الوظيفي والتوظيف.

من خلال الأموال المحققة من بيع العناصر المتبرع بها ، تقدم Goodwill وظائف وبرامج تدريب وظيفي ، بالإضافة إلى فصول وبرامج مجتمعية للشباب وكبار السن والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة والأشخاص الذين يسعون إلى استعادة حياتهم بعد عقوبة السجن.
إذا كان العنصر الخاص بك صغيرًا بما يكفي لتسليمه شخصيًا ، فاستخدم ميزة محدد موقع المتجر على موقع Goodwill الإلكتروني للعثور على موقع تسليم الأثاث. خلاف ذلك، تصفح من خلال الموقع لتحديد ما إذا كانت المؤسسة الخيرية تقدم خدمة التقاط مجانية في منطقتك.

متطوع يحمل صندوقًا به تبرعات مسجلة لمؤسسة خيرية قريبة

جيش الخلاص

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتبرع بأشياء غير مرغوب فيها ، فإن جيش الخلاص هو اسم مألوف معروف. هذه المؤسسة الخيرية ، التي تعمل منذ أكثر من قرن ، لديها أكثر من ألف متجر تقع في العديد من البلدات والمدن في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة.

يتم إرسال العناصر المستلمة إلى الأفراد المحتاجين أو بيعها في متجر جيش الخلاص. علاوة على ذلك ، توفر المجموعة خدمة استلام الأثاث مجانًا ، من بين خدمات أخرى.

تُستخدم تبرعات الأثاث بشكل دوري لتأثيث ملاجئ المشردين التابعة للمؤسسة الخيرية. بينما تذهب غالبية التبرعات إلى متاجر جيش الخلاص ، تُستخدم عائدات المبيعات من المتاجر لتمويل مراكز إعادة التأهيل التابعة للمنظمة ، والتي تساعد الأفراد على التغلب على إدمانهم للمخدرات والكحول ، واكتساب مهارات التوظيف ، ولم شمل العائلات.

يمكنك إما تسليم تبرعاتك بنفسك من خلال زيارة موقع جيش الخلاص على الانترنت لتأكيد متجر التوفير المحلي بالقرب منك ، أو يمكنك اختيار استلام الأثاث المجاني المتبرع به. تأكد من وضع علامة "SA" على العناصر قبل تسليمها.

مؤسسة Amvets National Service Foundation

AMVETS لتقف على قدامى المحاربين الأمريكيين. تدير هذه المؤسسة الخيرية غير الربحية متاجر التوفير لبيع العناصر المتبرع بها وتمويل برامج المساعدة المخضرمة.

تقبل AMVETS ملابس الرجال والنساء والأطفال والأجهزة الصغيرة وأدوات المطبخ والإلكترونيات والأضواء والستائر والكتب والأسرة والمزيد. إذا كان عمرهم أقل من خمس سنوات ، فستقبل المتاجر أيضًا أجهزة التلفزيون ذات الشاشات المسطحة وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة ومعدات الصالة الرياضية. حتى لو لم يكن العنصر الخاص بك في قائمتنا ، فقد يتمكنوا من قبوله! ببساطة اتصل واستفسر.

يمكنك تحديد موعد لاستلام التبرع بالأثاث مجانًا من خلال زيارة صفحة معلومات استلام تبرعات AMVETS. تجدر الإشارة إلى أن المنظمة تعمل فقط في 22 ولاية أمريكية ، ولا يسمح الموقع الإلكتروني إلا بالجدولة في عدد قليل منها. إذا كنت تعيش في ولاية أخرى حيث تعمل المنظمة ، فاتصل (866) 294-4488 لجدولة موعد الاستلام.

تركز المؤسسة على مساعدة قدامى المحاربين والجنود السابقين وأسرهم ، لمساعدتهم على عيش حياة أفضل من خلال توفير فرص العمل والدعم من خلال برامج المساعدة.

القوس

القوس هي منظمة غير ربحية لها أكثر من 600 فرع محلي. هدفهم هو الوصول ومساعدة الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقات الذهنية والتنموية للوصول إلى المعلومات والدعوة والمهارات التي يحتاجون إليها للاندماج الكامل في المجتمع. المساهمات المادية هي أحد أهدافهم الرئيسية.

يقبل القوس الأثاث والأدوات المنزلية والملابس والألعاب والسيارات المستعملة. يتم بيع العناصر التي تقبلها المؤسسة غير الربحية في متاجرها في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، ويتم استخدام العائدات لمساعدة الأطفال والبالغين في برنامجهم. .

بيك اب من فضلك

بيك اب من فضلك هو برنامج يدعم قدامى المحاربين في فيتنام (VVA). على الرغم من أنها ليست معروفة مثل الآخرين في قائمتنا ، إلا أن المؤسسة الخيرية توفر خيارًا رائعًا لأثاثك أو ملابسك أو متعلقاتك الأخرى.

يمكنك عادةً التخطيط لاستلامك في أقل من 24 ساعة ، وهو أمر مناسب إذا كان لديك جدول زمني ضيق.

حاليًا ، تقدم Pickup Please الخدمة في كاليفورنيا وكولورادو وكونيتيكت وديلاوير وفلوريدا ولويزيانا وميشيغان ونيوجيرسي ونيويورك وأوريغون وبنسلفانيا وماريلاند وفيرجينيا. هذا البرنامج يقبل التبرعات على شكل ألعابوالسلع المنزلية وملابس الرجال والنساء والأطفال والإلكترونيات والأثاث الصغير.

يبيع قدامى المحاربين في فيتنام في أمريكا العناصر الممنوحة للشركات الصغيرة لجمع الأموال لبرامجهم.

متطوعون يستلمون تبرعات من الأثاث من شاحنة توصيل

بيك اب ميديونيشن كوم

PickupMyDonation.com ليست منظمة خيرية ، إنها أكثر من خدمة تربطك بالمنظمات المحلية التي ستجمع تبرعاتك. تعتبر هذه الخدمة خيارًا رائعًا لتوصيل الأغراض الثقيلة مثل الأثاث ، مع المركبات المطلوبة للتسليم ، مثل شاحنات البيك أب أو المقطورات.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يساعد PickupMyDonation متاجر التوفير غير الربحية في منطقتك ، وبالتالي فإن المؤسسات الخيرية التي قد تدعمها محدودة بما هو متاح.

للتبرع بالأثاث للجمعيات الخيرية ، اذهب إلى موقع الكتروني وأدخل الرمز البريدي الخاص بك لبدء طلب التبرع الذي يتضمن قائمة بالعناصر التي ترغب في التبرع بها. تقوم خدمة PickupMyDonation بإخطار المؤسسات القريبة بتوفر مساهمتك.

بلدة التبرع

بلدة التبرع، مثل PickUpMyDonation ، هي خدمة تربطك بالمنظمات المحلية التي توفر خدمة التوصيل المجاني. لذا ، إذا كان لديك قطعة أثاث ضخمة للتبرع بها ، فلن تضطر إلى القلق بشأن الحصول عليها هناك.

نظرًا لكونك خدمة اتصال ، فإن Donation Town تربطك بالمنظمات التي تقبل مجموعة واسعة من العناصر ، مثل السلع المنزلية والإلكترونيات ، مما يجعلها خيارًا ذكيًا إذا كان لديك الكثير من العناصر والأثاث لاستلام التبرعات أو كنت تفتقر إلى وسائل النقل أو الوقت.

أدخل الرمز البريدي الخاص بك على موقع زيارة موقع Donation Town للتأكد من مطابقتك مع قائمة المنظمات القريبة التي توفر خدمة التوصيل المجاني. اختر مؤسسة خيرية لجمع الأثاث من القائمة واتصل بهم لترتيب استلام أثاثك في الوقت الذي يناسبك.

كيف تحدد موعد استلام تبرعك

  • حدد ما الذي يستحق التبرع

في حين أنه من المؤسف أن تضطر إلى التخلص من عنصر قد يجده شخص آخر مفيدًا أو إعادة تدويره ، فإن جميع المنظمات المذكورة أعلاه تؤكد أن التبرعات يجب أن تكون في حالة ممتازة. هذا لا يعني أن العناصر يجب أن تكون جديدة تمامًا ، ولكن يجب أن تكون نظيفة وقابلة للاستخدام وخالية من العيوب الكبيرة ما لم ينص على خلاف ذلك.

إذا واجهت عناصر تالفة ، فابحث عن حلول التخلص الصديقة للبيئة والتي قد لا تكون سهلة مثل الالتقاط ولكنها تحافظ على البضائع خارج مدافن النفايات. صناديق إعادة تدوير المنسوجات ، على سبيل المثال ، قد تحول الملابس والأحذية والفراش غير القابلة للارتداء إلى عناصر مثل المواد العازلة وملء مقاعد السيارة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من المرجح أن يأخذ مأوى الحيوانات المحلي الخاص بك البياضات والمناشف القديمة مع القليل من البقع أو التمزق.

  • البحث أولاً قبل اختيار مؤسسة خيرية

جميع المؤسسات الخيرية المذكورة أعلاه تفعل أشياء جيدة مع تبرعاتك ، ولكن كل منها بطريقتها الخاصة. بدلاً من اختيار الخيار الأول في القائمة ، ابحث في موقع الويب الخاص بالمؤسسة لمعرفة ما إذا كانت أفكارها وممارساتها تتماشى مع أفكارك ، مع التأكد أيضًا من توفرها في منطقتك.

للعثور على أقرب فرع ، اتصل بالإنترنت أو اتصل بإحدى المنظمات المذكورة أعلاه. تحقق لمعرفة ما إذا كانت هذه الشركات تقدم خدمة التوصيل المجاني من المنزل للتبرعات.

قبل التبرع بأي أشياء أو صناديق أو أثاث ، تأكد من تعقيمها وتطهيرها أولاً. يحمي هذا الإجراء الوقائي الإضافي سلامة موظفي مؤسستك ومستقبلي حسن نيتك.

شخصان يلفان كرسيًا للتبرع الخيري
  • تأكد من قبول المنظمة لما تتبرع به

قد يكون لكل مؤسسة خيرية تقبل التبرعات بالأثاث القديم معايير مختلفة لما تقبله وما لا تقبله. في معظم الحالات ، لن يتم قبول عنصر ممزق أو متسخ أو متغير اللون أو تالف. 

أنشأت GoGreenDrop دليلًا للتبرع يمكن أن تستخدمه الشركات الأخرى. ومع ذلك ، نوصي بالاتصال بالمجموعة التي ستقبل أثاثك مجانًا لضمان أهلية العناصر الخاصة بك.

  • رتب يومًا للشاحنة

بعد أن تقرر إنشاء شركة لمساعدتك على التخلص من الفوضى ، اختر ساعة ويومًا مناسبًا لكلا الطرفين. نظرًا لأن التوفر يختلف باختلاف يوم الأسبوع ، إذا كان بإمكانك ملاءمة النشاط في أيام الأسبوع ، فمن المحتمل أن يكون لديك المزيد من الخيارات. تتم الكثير من أنشطة إعادة التوطين وإعادة التوطين في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع ، مما يزيد الطلب وربما فترات الانتظار.

عند اختيار يوم ، ضع في اعتبارك الطقس. يعتبر اليوم الدافئ أو الغائم مثاليًا لمثل هذه الأنشطة. تجنب التحرك في الأيام الممطرة أو التي تهب فيها الرياح ، لأن هذه الظروف قد تعرض السلامة المتحركة للخطر ويمكن أن تلحق الضرر بالأثاث المتبرع به.

للتأكد من إضافة موعدك إلى تقويم المؤسسة ، خطط للاستلام قبل أسبوعين على الأقل من الانتقال.

  • تحضير العناصر الخاصة بك قبل الوقت

قد يخضع تبرعك لطلبات معينة من المنظمة التي تلتقطك. حتى لو لم يذكر أي شيء ، قم بإجراء بعض الأبحاث المستقلة. 

يعد تنظيف أي ملابس أو أثاث أو أدوات منزلية تنوي التبرع بها ، بالإضافة إلى تعبئة و / أو تعبئة العناصر بعناية للتسليم ، كلها جزءًا من العملية.

كيف تقرر ما يجب عليك الاحتفاظ به أو التبرع به أو المهملات

التبرع بالأثاث للجمعيات الخيرية ليس وسيلة للتخلص من الأثاث الذي يجب إرساله إلى مكب النفايات. فقط الأثاث القابل للاستخدام ، والذي يمكن استخدامه على الفور أو بيعه لتحقيق ربح ، يجب التبرع به للجمعيات الخيرية.

قبل الاتصال بإحدى المؤسسات الخيرية للحصول على قطعة أثاث ، اسأل نفسك ، "هل يرغب أي شخص في شراء هذا؟" إنه شيء واحد إذا كان هناك القليل من البقع على وسائد الكرسي. إنها قصة مختلفة إذا كان الأثاث في حالة سيئة لدرجة أنه من غير المحتمل أن يكون مفيدًا لأي شخص.

في الختام

أليس من المرضي مساعدة الآخرين؟ يعد التبرع لمنظمات صغيرة طريقة رائعة للتخلص من البضائع غير المرغوب فيها ، خاصة تلك الكبيرة التي يصعب التعامل معها بنفسك. لا تقم فقط بنفايات ممتلكاتك في المرة القادمة التي تكون فيها على استعداد لتقليص الحجم. 

بدلاً من ذلك ، رتب لاستلام الأموال الخيرية وامنح ممتلكاتك غير المرغوب فيها فرصة جديدة للحياة. فقط تأكد من أن كل ما تتبرع به في حالة جديدة أو مستخدمة برفق ، وإلا فلن يتم قبوله. إذا كانت لديك أي شكوك حول ما إذا كان سيتم قبول عنصر معين ، فاتصل بالمؤسسة الخيرية في وقت مبكر لمعرفة ذلك.

هذه المقالة برعاية Clear Home Design - مكانك الوحيد للأثاث المصنوع من الأكريليك والأكريليك.

تبرعك يمكن أن يغير الحياة

إذا كنت لا تستطيع التبرع بالأثاث للجمعيات الخيرية ولكنك لا تزال ترغب في التأثير على حياة الناس ، ففكر في تقديم تبرع نقدي إلى Food for Life Global. قدم هذا الكيان غير الربحي للإغاثة من الجوع ، منذ تأسيسه ، أكثر من 7 مليارات وجبة نباتية للمحرومين. تشمل مشاريعنا أيضًا الزراعة البيئية وإنقاذ الحيوانات والتعليم. إذا كنت ترغب في الاستفادة من رؤيتنا ، فستبدأ رحلتك هنا

اترك تعليقا

كيفية إحداث تأثير

يتبرعون

مساعدة الناس

العملات التشفير

تبرع بالعملات المشفرة

أنيمال

الحيوانات مساعدة

جمع التبرعات

جمع التبرعات

المشاريع

فرص التطوع
كن داعية
ابدأ مشروعك الخاص
انقاذ في حالة الطوارئ

متطوع
الفرص

تصبح
محام

بدء الخاص بك
مشروع خاص

حالة طوارئ
ارتياح

آخر المقالات

How to Donate Furniture to Charity: 9 Charities That Offer Free Donation Pick Up

Last updated on September 20, 2022
PAUL TURNERPAUL TURNER

Downsizing or giving your home a new look often means letting go of your old furniture. If these items are in good condition, you might want to give them out. Lots of organizations and nonprofit groups will gladly accept these items.

If you’re wondering “what charity takes furniture?,” a top entity to note is FFLG. Dedicated to solving hunger by delivering vegan meals to underprivileged persons, Food for Life Global is currently accepting donations to keep this goal alive. Your goodwill donations don’t have to be monetary. FFLG accepts other donation formats, including furniture. 

Besides FFLG, we’ll look at other charities that accept furniture as a donation variation. Since most of these charities have numerous outlets, your donations will be picked up in no time, saving you time and energy. 

So, if you’re giving your house a makeover and want to donate furniture to charity to avoid the burden of selling while also benefiting from a tax deduction and helping individuals in need, read on for more details.

The Furniture Bank Network

A great way to donate your furniture to charity is by contacting the Furniture Bank Network, which has locations in 34 states, for free furniture pick up. All items received are donated to those in need who can’t afford to decorate their houses.

Although a furniture charity, the association also accepts used cars and recreational vehicles. Furniture received by the association is donated to formerly homeless people, mothers and children fleeing domestic abuse, and immigrants, amongst others.

Habitat for Humanity Restore

Habitat for Humanity is a non-profit organization in the United States and across the world that focuses on its goal of constructing and repairing houses.

If you’re wondering “where can I donate office furniture near me?” This nonprofit is an option for you. ReStore outlets accept large furniture donations, including dining tables, sofas, cupboards, and office desks. Habitat stores sell donated items at a discounted retail price at their resale shops, and the proceeds from the sales help fund several programs.

Small furniture items can be dropped off in person at your nearest Habitat for Humanity ReStore, which you can locate using the ReStore donation page’s store finder. You can schedule a free furniture donation pick up for bigger items. To book a pickup appointment, simply call your local shop.

Goodwill

If you’re still planning to donate furniture to charity, Goodwill is another renowned organization that will pick up your donations. Goodwill nonprofit was formed in 1902 and has thousands of stores across the United States and Canada. 

Donated items are sent to local Goodwill shops and sold at a discounted price to individuals in need. Funds generated from the sales are used for various projects, including job training and placement.

With the funds realized from selling donated items, Goodwill offers jobs and job training programs, as well as classes and community-based programming for youth, the elderly, people with disabilities, and people seeking to regain their lives following a jail sentence.
If your item is small enough for you to deliver in person, use the store locator feature on the Goodwill website to find a furniture drop-off location. Otherwise, browse through the website to determine if the charity offers a free pick-up service in your region.

Volunteer carrying a box with donations inscribed to a nearby charity organization

Salvation Army

When it comes to donating unwanted items, the Salvation Army is a well-known household name. This charity, which has been functioning for more than a century, has more than a thousand stores located in several towns and cities across the United States.

Items received are sent to individuals in need or sold at a Salvation Army store. Furthermore, the group provides free furniture pick-up, among other services.

Furniture donations are periodically used to furnish the charity’s homeless shelters. While the majority of the donations go to the Salvation Army’s stores, the sales proceeds from the stores are used to fund the organization’s rehabilitation centers, which help individuals overcome their drug and alcohol addictions, gain employment skills, and reunite families.

You can either deliver your donations yourself by visiting the Salvation Army’s website to confirm a local thrift store near you, or you can opt for free donated furniture pick up. Ensure you mark the items with the inscription “SA” before delivering them.

Amvets National Service Foundation

AMVETS stands for American Veterans. This nonprofit charity runs thrift stores to sell donated items and fund its veteran assistance programs.

AMVETS accepts men’s, women’s, and children’s clothing, small appliances, kitchenware, electronics, lights, curtains, books, beds, and more. If they’re less than five years old, the stores will also accept flat-screen TVs, laptops, and gym equipment. Even if your item isn’t on our list, they might be able to accept it! Simply call and inquire.

You can schedule a free furniture donation pick-up by visiting the AMVETS donation pickup information page. It’s worth noting that the organization only works in 22 US states, and the website only permits scheduling in a few of them. If you live in another state where the organization works, call (866) 294-4488 to schedule a pickup.

The foundation focuses on assisting veterans, ex-servicemen, and their families, to help them lead better lives by providing employment opportunities and support through assistance programs.

The Arc

The Arc is a nonprofit with over 600 local branches. Their aim is to reach out and assist people with intellectual and developmental disabilities to gain access to the information, advocacy, and skills they need to fully integrate into society. Physical contributions are one of their main objectives.

The Arc accepts furniture and housewares, clothing, toys, and used cars. Items accepted by the non-profit are sold in their stores around the country, and the proceeds are used to help kids and adults in their program. .

Pickup Please

Pickup Please is a program that supports Vietnam Veterans of America (VVA). Although not as well-known as the others on our list, the charity provides a fantastic option for your furniture, clothes, or other belongings.

You can usuallly plan a pick-up with as little as 24 hours’ notice, which is convenient if you have a tight schedule.

Currently, Pickup Please provides service in California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Louisiana, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Maryland, and Virginia. This program accepts donations in the form of toys, household goods, men’s, women’s, and children’s clothing, electronics, and small furniture.

Vietnam Veterans of America sells the donated items to small companies to raise funds for their programs.

Volunteers picking up furniture donations from a delivery van

Pickupmydonation.Com

PickupMyDonation.com isn’t a charitable organization, it’s more of a service that links you with local organizations that will pick up your donations. This service is a wonderful choice for delivering heavy items like furniture, with the required vehicles for delivery, such as pickup trucks or trailers.

Additionally, PickupMyDonation helps nonprofit thrift stores in your region, so the charities you may support are limited by what’s available.

To donate furniture to charity, go to their website and enter your zip code to begin a donation request that includes a list of the items you wish to give. PickupMyDonation service then notifies nearby organizations of the availability of your contribution.

Donation Town

Donation Town, like PickUpMyDonation, is a service that connects you with local organizations that provide free pickup. So, if you have a huge piece of furniture to donate, you won’t have to stress about getting it there.

Being a connectivity service, Donation Town links you with organizations that accept a wider range of items, such as home goods and electronics, thus making it a smart choice if you have lots of items and furniture for donation pickup or you lack transportation or time.

Enter your zip code on Visit Donation Town’s website to ensure you’re matched with a list of nearby organizations that provide free pickup. Choose a furniture collection charity from the list and contact them to arrange for a pickup of your furniture at a time that suits you.

How to Schedule Your Donation Pick Up

  • Determine What’s Worth Donating

While it’s unfortunate to have to throw away or recycle an item that someone else may find useful, all of the organizations mentioned above emphasize that donations must be in excellent shape. This doesn’t imply that items must be brand new, but they should be clean, usable, and devoid of significant defects unless otherwise specified.

If you encounter damaged items, seek environmentally friendly disposal solutions that may not be as easy as a pick-up but keep goods out of landfills. Textile recycling bins, for example, may transform unwearable clothing, shoes, and bedding into items like insulation and car seat filling. In addition, your local animal shelter would most likely take old linens and towels with a few stains or rips.

  • Research First Before Choosing a Charity

All of the charities listed above do good things with your donations, but each in its own way. Instead of picking the first option on the list, look over an organization’s website to see whether their ideas and practices align with yours, while also ensuring they’re available in your region.

To find the nearest branch, go online or phone one of the organizations listed above. Check to see whether these companies provide free home pickup for donations.

Before donating any objects, crates, or furniture, ensure to sanitize and disinfect them first. This extra precaution safeguards the safety of your organization’s employees and receivers of your goodwill.

Two people bubble wrapping a chair up for charity donation
  • Ensure the Organization Accepts What You’re Donating

Each charity that accepts old furniture donations may have various criteria for what they accept and what they don’t. In most circumstances, a ripped, filthy, discolored, or otherwise damaged item will not be accepted. 

GoGreenDrop has created a donation guideline that may be utilized by other businesses. However, we recommend contacting the group that will be accepting your furniture for free to ensure your items’ eligibility.

  • Arrange a Day for the Pick-Up

After you’ve decided on a company to help you declutter, pick an hour and a day that works for both parties. Because availability varies depending on the day of the week, if you can fit the activity into weekdays, you’re likely to have more options. Lots of decluttering and relocation activities take place on weekends, which raises demand and perhaps wait periods.

When choosing a day, consider the weather. A warm or cloudy day is ideal for such activities. Avoid moving on wet or windy days, since these conditions may jeopardize moving safety and can damage donated furniture.

To ensure that your appointment is added to the organization’s calendar, plan the pick-up at least two weeks before moving day.

  • Prepare Your Items Ahead of Time

Your donation may be subject to particular requests from the organization that is picking you up. Even if nothing is mentioned, conduct some independent research. 

Cleaning any clothing, furniture, or housewares you intend to donate, as well as carefully packing and/or bagging items for delivery, are all part of the process.

How to Decide What You Should Keep, Donate, or Trash

Donating furniture to charity isn’t a way to get rid of furniture that needs to be sent to the dump. Only usable furniture, which can be utilized immediately or sold for a profit, should be donated to charity.

Before you contact a charity to have a furniture piece picked up, ask yourself, “Would anybody want to purchase this?” It’s one thing if there are a few stains on your chair cushions. It’s a different story if the furniture is in such bad shape that it’s unlikely to be useful to anyone.

Conclusion

Isn’t it satisfying to help others? Donating to pick-up organizations is a wonderful way to get rid of unwanted goods, especially large ones that are difficult to handle on your own. Don’t just trash your possessions the next time you’re ready to downsize. 

Instead, arrange for a charity pickup and give your unwanted belongings a new lease of life. Just ensure that everything you’re donating is in a new or gently used condition, or else it won’t be accepted. If you have any doubts about whether a particular item will be accepted, phone the charity ahead of time to find out.

This article was sponsored by Clear Home Design — Your one-stop for lucite and acrylic furniture.

Your Donation Can Change Lives

If you cannot donate furniture to charity but still want to impact lives, consider making a monetary donation to Food for Life Global. This non-profit hunger relief entity, since its institution, has provided over 7 billion vegan meals to the underprivileged. Our projects also include eco-farming, animal rescue, and schooling. If you’d like to tap into our vision, your journey starts HERE

Leave a comment

How To Make An Impact

donate

Help People

Crypto Currency

Donate Crypto

Animal

Help Animals

fundraise

Fundraise

Projects

Volunteer Opportunities
Become an advocate
start your own project
EMERGENCY RELIEF

VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Become an
Advocate

Start Your
Own Project

EMERGENCY
RELIEF

Recent Posts