如何向慈善機構捐贈家具:9 個提供免費捐贈的慈善機構

最後更新於 14 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日
保羅·特納保羅·特納

縮小規模或讓您的家煥然一新通常意味著放棄舊家具。 如果這些物品狀況良好,您可能希望將它們分發出去。 許多組織和非營利組織會很樂意接受這些物品。

我們將看看接受家具作為捐贈變體的慈善機構。 由於這些慈善機構中的大多數都有眾多的網點,您的捐款將立即收到,從而節省您的時間和精力。 

因此,如果您要對房屋進行改造並想將家具捐贈給慈善機構以避免出售負擔,同時 受益於稅收減免 並幫助有需要的人,請繼續閱讀以了解更多詳細信息。

家具銀行網絡

將家具捐贈給慈善機構的一個好方法是聯繫家具銀行網絡,該網絡在 34 個州設有分支機構,免費領取家具。 收到的所有物品都捐贈給無力裝修房屋的有需要的人。

雖然是家具慈善機構,但該協會也接受 二手車和休閒車. 該協會收到的家具將捐贈給以前的無家可歸者、逃離家庭虐待的母親和兒童以及移民等。

人類恢復棲息地

Habitat for Humanity 是美國和世界各地的一個非營利組織,專注於建造和維修房屋的目標。

如果您想知道“我可以在哪裡捐贈附近的辦公家具?” 這個非營利組織是您的選擇。 ReStore 商店接受大量家具捐贈,包括餐桌、沙發、櫥櫃和辦公桌。 Habitat 商店在其轉售商店以折扣零售價出售捐贈的物品,銷售所得用於資助多個項目。

小型家具物品可以親自送到離您最近的 Habitat for Humanity ReStore,您可以使用 ReStore 捐贈頁面的商店查找器找到該處。 您可以為更大的物品安排免費的家具捐贈領取。 要預約取貨,只需致電您當地的商店。

商譽

如果您仍打算將家具捐贈給慈善機構,Goodwill 是另一個將接收您捐款的知名組織。 Goodwill 非營利組織成立於 1902 年,在美國和加拿大擁有數千家商店。 

捐贈的物品被送到當地的親善商店,並以折扣價出售給有需要的人。 銷售產生的資金用於各種項目,包括工作培訓和安置。

通過出售捐贈物品獲得的資金,Goodwill 提供就業和職業培訓計劃,以及面向青年、老年人、殘疾人和在監獄服刑後尋求重獲生命的人的課程和社區計劃。
如果您的物品足夠小,可以親自送貨,請使用 Goodwill 網站上的商店定位器功能查找家具寄送地點。 否則, 瀏覽網站 確定慈善機構是否在您所在地區提供免費接機服務。

志願者攜帶一個盒子,上面寫著捐贈給附近慈善組織的字樣

救世軍

在捐贈不需要的物品方面,救世軍是家喻戶曉的名字。 這個已經運作了一個多世紀的慈善機構在美國多個城鎮擁有一千多家商店。

收到的物品會寄給有需要的人或在救世軍商店出售。 此外,該集團還提供免費家具領取等服務。

家具捐贈定期用於為慈善機構的無家可歸者收容所提供家具。 雖然大部分捐款流向救世軍的商店,但商店的銷售收入用於資助該組織的康復中心,幫助個人克服吸毒和酗酒成癮,獲得就業技能,並使家庭團聚。

您可以通過訪問 救世軍網站 確認您附近的當地舊貨店,或者您可以選擇免費領取捐贈的家具。 確保在交付之前用“SA”字樣標記物品。

Amvets 國家服務基金會

AMVETS 代表美國退伍軍人。 這個非營利性慈善機構經營舊貨店,出售捐贈物品並資助其退伍軍人援助計劃。

AMVETS 接受男裝、女裝和童裝、小家電、廚具、電子產品、燈、窗簾、書籍、床等。 如果他們不到五年,商店也將接受平板電視、筆記本電腦和健身器材。 即使您的商品不在我們的清單上,他們也可能會接受! 只需打電話詢問。

您可以通過訪問 AMVETS 捐贈領取信息頁面安排免費的家具捐贈領取。 值得注意的是,該組織僅在美國 22 個州開展工作,並且該網站僅允許在其中幾個州進行安排。 如果您住在該組織工作的另一個州,請致電 (866) 294-4488 安排取件。

該基金會專注於幫助退伍軍人、退役軍人及其家人,通過援助計劃提供就業機會和支持,幫助他們過上更好的生活。

弧線

The Arc 是一家非營利組織,在當地擁有 600 多家分支機構。 他們的目標是幫助有智力和發育障礙的人獲得充分融入社會所需的信息、宣傳和技能。 物理貢獻是他們的主要目標之一。

Arc 接受家具和家居用品、服裝、玩具和二手車。 非營利組織接受的物品在全國各地的商店出售,所得收益用於幫助兒童和成人參加他們的計劃。 .

請自取

請自取 是一個支持美國越戰退伍軍人協會 (VVA) 的計劃。 雖然不像我們名單上的其他人那樣知名,但該慈善機構為您的家具、衣服或其他物品提供了絕佳的選擇。

您通常可以在最短 24 小時通知的情況下安排接機,如果您的時間緊迫,這很方便。

目前,Pickup Please 在加利福尼亞、科羅拉多、康涅狄格、特拉華、佛羅里達、路易斯安那、密歇根、新澤西、紐約、俄勒岡、賓夕法尼亞、馬里蘭和弗吉尼亞提供服務。 該程序接受 玩具形式的捐贈、家居用品、男裝、女裝和童裝、電子產品和小家具。

美國越戰老兵將捐贈的物品出售給小公司,為他們的項目籌集資金。

志願者從送貨車上領取家具捐贈

Pickupmydonation.com

PickupMyDonation.com 不是一個慈善組織,它更像是一種服務,將您與當地組織聯繫起來,這些組織將收取您的捐款。 這項服務是運送家具等重型物品的絕佳選擇,需要運送所需的車輛,例如皮卡車或拖車。

此外,PickupMyDonation 幫助您所在地區的非營利性舊貨店,因此您可能支持的慈善機構受到可用物品的限制。

要將家具捐贈給慈善機構,請前往他們的 網站 並輸入您的郵政編碼以開始捐贈請求,其中包括您希望捐贈的物品清單。 PickupMyDonation 服務隨後會通知附近的組織您的捐款是否可用。

捐贈小鎮

捐贈小鎮,就像 PickUpMyDonation 一樣,是一項將您與提供免費接送服務的當地組織聯繫起來的服務。 所以,如果你有一件巨大的家具要捐贈,你就不必擔心把它送到那裡。

作為一項連接服務,Donation Town 將您與接受更廣泛物品(例如家居用品和電子產品)的組織聯繫起來,因此,如果您有很多物品和家具需要捐贈,或者您缺乏交通工具或時間,那麼它是一個明智的選擇。

在 Visit Donation Town 的網站上輸入您的郵政編碼,以確保您與附近提供免費接送服務的組織列表相匹配。 從列表中選擇一個家具收藏慈善機構,並與他們聯繫以安排在適合您的時間取回您的家具。

如何安排您的捐款領取

  • 確定什麼值得捐贈

儘管不得不丟棄或回收他人可能認為有用的物品是很不幸的,但上述所有組織都強調捐贈必須完好無損。 這並不意味著物品必須是全新的,但除非另有說明,否則它們應該干淨、可用且沒有重大缺陷。

如果您遇到損壞的物品,請尋求環保的處置解決方案,這種解決方案可能不像取貨那麼容易,但可以讓貨物遠離垃圾填埋場。 例如,紡織品回收箱可以將不可穿的衣服、鞋子和床上用品轉化為絕緣材料和汽車座椅填充物等物品。 此外,您當地的動物收容所很可能會使用帶有一些污漬或撕裂的舊床單和毛巾。

  • 在選擇慈善機構之前先進行研究

上面列出的所有慈善機構都用您的捐款做善事,但各有各的方式。 不要選擇列表中的第一個選項,而是查看組織的網站,看看他們的想法和做法是否與您的一致,同時確保它們在您所在的地區可用。

要查找最近的分支機構,請上網或致電上述組織之一。 檢查這些公司是否為捐贈提供免費上門取貨服務。

在捐贈任何物品、板條箱或家具之前,請確保先對其進行消毒和消毒。 這種額外的預防措施可以保護您組織的員工和您的善意接受者的安全。

兩個人用泡沫包裝椅子進行慈善捐贈
  • 確保組織接受您的捐贈

每個接受舊家具捐贈的慈善機構可能對他們接受和不接受什麼都有不同的標準。 在大多數情況下,我們不接受撕破、骯髒、變色或其他損壞的物品。 

GoGreenDrop 創建了一個捐贈指南,可供其他企業使用。 但是,我們建議聯繫將免費接受您的家具的團體,以確保您的物品符合資格。

  • 安排一天的接送服務

在你決定找一家公司來幫你整理之後,選擇一個對雙方都有效的小時和一天。 由於可用性取決於一周中的哪一天,如果您可以將活動安排到工作日,您可能會有更多選擇。 週末會進行大量的整理和搬遷活動,這會增加需求並可能會增加等待時間。

選擇一天時,請考慮天氣。 溫暖或陰天是此類活動的理想選擇。 避免在潮濕或刮風的日子搬家,因為這些情況可能會危及搬家的安全,並可能損壞捐贈的家具。

為確保將您的約會添加到組織的日曆中,請至少在搬家前兩週計劃接機。

  • 提前準備好您的物品

您的捐款可能會受到接您的組織的特定要求。 即使沒有提及,也要進行一些獨立的研究。 

清潔您打算捐贈的任何衣物、家具或家庭用品,以及仔細包裝和/或裝袋以進行交付,都是該過程的一部分。

如何決定應該保留、捐贈或丟棄什麼

將家具捐贈給慈善機構並不是擺脫需要送到垃圾場的家具的方法。 只有可以立即使用或出售獲利的可用家具才應捐贈給慈善機構。

在聯繫慈善機構取走一件家具之前,問問自己:“有人想買這個嗎?” 如果您的椅墊上有一些污漬,那是一回事。 如果家具的形狀如此糟糕以至於對任何人都不太可能有用,那就另當別論了。

結論

幫助別人不是很滿足嗎? 捐贈給提貨組織是擺脫不需要的商品的好方法,尤其是那些難以自己處理的大件商品。 下次你準備縮小規模時,不要只是扔掉你的財產。 

相反,安排一次慈善取貨,讓您不想要的物品重獲新生。 只需確保您捐贈的所有物品都處於新的或使用過的狀態,否則將不會被接受。 如果您對某件特定物品是否會被接受有任何疑問,請提前致電慈善機構了解情況。

本文由贊助 清晰的家居設計——有機玻璃和亞克力家具的一站式服務.

您的捐款可以改變生活

如果您不能將家具捐贈給慈善機構,但仍想影響生活,請考慮向慈善機構捐款 Food for Life Global. 這個非營利性的飢餓救濟實體自成立以來,已為弱勢群體提供了超過 7 億份素食餐。 我們的項目還包括生態農業、動物救助和學校教育。 如果您想了解我們的願景,您的旅程就開始了 立即註冊

發表評論

如何產生影響

捐贈

幫助他人

加密貨幣

捐贈加密貨幣

動物

幫助動物

我們的項目

志願者機會
成為倡導者
開始你自己的項目
緊急救援

志願者
機遇

成為

開始你的
自己的項目

緊急
救濟

最新動態

How to Donate Furniture to Charity: 9 Charities That Offer Free Donation Pick Up

Last updated on September 20, 2022
PAUL TURNERPAUL TURNER

Downsizing or giving your home a new look often means letting go of your old furniture. If these items are in good condition, you might want to give them out. Lots of organizations and nonprofit groups will gladly accept these items.

If you’re wondering “what charity takes furniture?,” a top entity to note is FFLG. Dedicated to solving hunger by delivering vegan meals to underprivileged persons, Food for Life Global is currently accepting donations to keep this goal alive. Your goodwill donations don’t have to be monetary. FFLG accepts other donation formats, including furniture. 

Besides FFLG, we’ll look at other charities that accept furniture as a donation variation. Since most of these charities have numerous outlets, your donations will be picked up in no time, saving you time and energy. 

So, if you’re giving your house a makeover and want to donate furniture to charity to avoid the burden of selling while also benefiting from a tax deduction and helping individuals in need, read on for more details.

The Furniture Bank Network

A great way to donate your furniture to charity is by contacting the Furniture Bank Network, which has locations in 34 states, for free furniture pick up. All items received are donated to those in need who can’t afford to decorate their houses.

Although a furniture charity, the association also accepts used cars and recreational vehicles. Furniture received by the association is donated to formerly homeless people, mothers and children fleeing domestic abuse, and immigrants, amongst others.

Habitat for Humanity Restore

Habitat for Humanity is a non-profit organization in the United States and across the world that focuses on its goal of constructing and repairing houses.

If you’re wondering “where can I donate office furniture near me?” This nonprofit is an option for you. ReStore outlets accept large furniture donations, including dining tables, sofas, cupboards, and office desks. Habitat stores sell donated items at a discounted retail price at their resale shops, and the proceeds from the sales help fund several programs.

Small furniture items can be dropped off in person at your nearest Habitat for Humanity ReStore, which you can locate using the ReStore donation page’s store finder. You can schedule a free furniture donation pick up for bigger items. To book a pickup appointment, simply call your local shop.

Goodwill

If you’re still planning to donate furniture to charity, Goodwill is another renowned organization that will pick up your donations. Goodwill nonprofit was formed in 1902 and has thousands of stores across the United States and Canada. 

Donated items are sent to local Goodwill shops and sold at a discounted price to individuals in need. Funds generated from the sales are used for various projects, including job training and placement.

With the funds realized from selling donated items, Goodwill offers jobs and job training programs, as well as classes and community-based programming for youth, the elderly, people with disabilities, and people seeking to regain their lives following a jail sentence.
If your item is small enough for you to deliver in person, use the store locator feature on the Goodwill website to find a furniture drop-off location. Otherwise, browse through the website to determine if the charity offers a free pick-up service in your region.

Volunteer carrying a box with donations inscribed to a nearby charity organization

Salvation Army

When it comes to donating unwanted items, the Salvation Army is a well-known household name. This charity, which has been functioning for more than a century, has more than a thousand stores located in several towns and cities across the United States.

Items received are sent to individuals in need or sold at a Salvation Army store. Furthermore, the group provides free furniture pick-up, among other services.

Furniture donations are periodically used to furnish the charity’s homeless shelters. While the majority of the donations go to the Salvation Army’s stores, the sales proceeds from the stores are used to fund the organization’s rehabilitation centers, which help individuals overcome their drug and alcohol addictions, gain employment skills, and reunite families.

You can either deliver your donations yourself by visiting the Salvation Army’s website to confirm a local thrift store near you, or you can opt for free donated furniture pick up. Ensure you mark the items with the inscription “SA” before delivering them.

Amvets National Service Foundation

AMVETS stands for American Veterans. This nonprofit charity runs thrift stores to sell donated items and fund its veteran assistance programs.

AMVETS accepts men’s, women’s, and children’s clothing, small appliances, kitchenware, electronics, lights, curtains, books, beds, and more. If they’re less than five years old, the stores will also accept flat-screen TVs, laptops, and gym equipment. Even if your item isn’t on our list, they might be able to accept it! Simply call and inquire.

You can schedule a free furniture donation pick-up by visiting the AMVETS donation pickup information page. It’s worth noting that the organization only works in 22 US states, and the website only permits scheduling in a few of them. If you live in another state where the organization works, call (866) 294-4488 to schedule a pickup.

The foundation focuses on assisting veterans, ex-servicemen, and their families, to help them lead better lives by providing employment opportunities and support through assistance programs.

The Arc

The Arc is a nonprofit with over 600 local branches. Their aim is to reach out and assist people with intellectual and developmental disabilities to gain access to the information, advocacy, and skills they need to fully integrate into society. Physical contributions are one of their main objectives.

The Arc accepts furniture and housewares, clothing, toys, and used cars. Items accepted by the non-profit are sold in their stores around the country, and the proceeds are used to help kids and adults in their program. .

Pickup Please

Pickup Please is a program that supports Vietnam Veterans of America (VVA). Although not as well-known as the others on our list, the charity provides a fantastic option for your furniture, clothes, or other belongings.

You can usuallly plan a pick-up with as little as 24 hours’ notice, which is convenient if you have a tight schedule.

Currently, Pickup Please provides service in California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Louisiana, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Maryland, and Virginia. This program accepts donations in the form of toys, household goods, men’s, women’s, and children’s clothing, electronics, and small furniture.

Vietnam Veterans of America sells the donated items to small companies to raise funds for their programs.

Volunteers picking up furniture donations from a delivery van

Pickupmydonation.Com

PickupMyDonation.com isn’t a charitable organization, it’s more of a service that links you with local organizations that will pick up your donations. This service is a wonderful choice for delivering heavy items like furniture, with the required vehicles for delivery, such as pickup trucks or trailers.

Additionally, PickupMyDonation helps nonprofit thrift stores in your region, so the charities you may support are limited by what’s available.

To donate furniture to charity, go to their website and enter your zip code to begin a donation request that includes a list of the items you wish to give. PickupMyDonation service then notifies nearby organizations of the availability of your contribution.

Donation Town

Donation Town, like PickUpMyDonation, is a service that connects you with local organizations that provide free pickup. So, if you have a huge piece of furniture to donate, you won’t have to stress about getting it there.

Being a connectivity service, Donation Town links you with organizations that accept a wider range of items, such as home goods and electronics, thus making it a smart choice if you have lots of items and furniture for donation pickup or you lack transportation or time.

Enter your zip code on Visit Donation Town’s website to ensure you’re matched with a list of nearby organizations that provide free pickup. Choose a furniture collection charity from the list and contact them to arrange for a pickup of your furniture at a time that suits you.

How to Schedule Your Donation Pick Up

  • Determine What’s Worth Donating

While it’s unfortunate to have to throw away or recycle an item that someone else may find useful, all of the organizations mentioned above emphasize that donations must be in excellent shape. This doesn’t imply that items must be brand new, but they should be clean, usable, and devoid of significant defects unless otherwise specified.

If you encounter damaged items, seek environmentally friendly disposal solutions that may not be as easy as a pick-up but keep goods out of landfills. Textile recycling bins, for example, may transform unwearable clothing, shoes, and bedding into items like insulation and car seat filling. In addition, your local animal shelter would most likely take old linens and towels with a few stains or rips.

  • Research First Before Choosing a Charity

All of the charities listed above do good things with your donations, but each in its own way. Instead of picking the first option on the list, look over an organization’s website to see whether their ideas and practices align with yours, while also ensuring they’re available in your region.

To find the nearest branch, go online or phone one of the organizations listed above. Check to see whether these companies provide free home pickup for donations.

Before donating any objects, crates, or furniture, ensure to sanitize and disinfect them first. This extra precaution safeguards the safety of your organization’s employees and receivers of your goodwill.

Two people bubble wrapping a chair up for charity donation
  • Ensure the Organization Accepts What You’re Donating

Each charity that accepts old furniture donations may have various criteria for what they accept and what they don’t. In most circumstances, a ripped, filthy, discolored, or otherwise damaged item will not be accepted. 

GoGreenDrop has created a donation guideline that may be utilized by other businesses. However, we recommend contacting the group that will be accepting your furniture for free to ensure your items’ eligibility.

  • Arrange a Day for the Pick-Up

After you’ve decided on a company to help you declutter, pick an hour and a day that works for both parties. Because availability varies depending on the day of the week, if you can fit the activity into weekdays, you’re likely to have more options. Lots of decluttering and relocation activities take place on weekends, which raises demand and perhaps wait periods.

When choosing a day, consider the weather. A warm or cloudy day is ideal for such activities. Avoid moving on wet or windy days, since these conditions may jeopardize moving safety and can damage donated furniture.

To ensure that your appointment is added to the organization’s calendar, plan the pick-up at least two weeks before moving day.

  • Prepare Your Items Ahead of Time

Your donation may be subject to particular requests from the organization that is picking you up. Even if nothing is mentioned, conduct some independent research. 

Cleaning any clothing, furniture, or housewares you intend to donate, as well as carefully packing and/or bagging items for delivery, are all part of the process.

How to Decide What You Should Keep, Donate, or Trash

Donating furniture to charity isn’t a way to get rid of furniture that needs to be sent to the dump. Only usable furniture, which can be utilized immediately or sold for a profit, should be donated to charity.

Before you contact a charity to have a furniture piece picked up, ask yourself, “Would anybody want to purchase this?” It’s one thing if there are a few stains on your chair cushions. It’s a different story if the furniture is in such bad shape that it’s unlikely to be useful to anyone.

Conclusion

Isn’t it satisfying to help others? Donating to pick-up organizations is a wonderful way to get rid of unwanted goods, especially large ones that are difficult to handle on your own. Don’t just trash your possessions the next time you’re ready to downsize. 

Instead, arrange for a charity pickup and give your unwanted belongings a new lease of life. Just ensure that everything you’re donating is in a new or gently used condition, or else it won’t be accepted. If you have any doubts about whether a particular item will be accepted, phone the charity ahead of time to find out.

This article was sponsored by Clear Home Design — Your one-stop for lucite and acrylic furniture.

Your Donation Can Change Lives

If you cannot donate furniture to charity but still want to impact lives, consider making a monetary donation to Food for Life Global. This non-profit hunger relief entity, since its institution, has provided over 7 billion vegan meals to the underprivileged. Our projects also include eco-farming, animal rescue, and schooling. If you’d like to tap into our vision, your journey starts HERE

Leave a comment

How To Make An Impact

donate

Help People

Crypto Currency

Donate Crypto

Animal

Help Animals

fundraise

Fundraise

Projects

Volunteer Opportunities
Become an advocate
start your own project
EMERGENCY RELIEF

VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Become an
Advocate

Start Your
Own Project

EMERGENCY
RELIEF

Recent Posts