税收计算

立法者提议扩大慈善捐赠的税收减免

有传言说,一组新的两党立法者将提出一项新法案。 新法案将扩大对慈善捐款的税收减免,以帮助在这一困难时期增加对非营利组织的捐款。

新法案已由D-Del。的Chris Coons和R-Okla的James Lankford提出。 它被命名为 普及大流行应对法,其目的是允许未逐项列出的纳税人获得慈善捐款减免。

预计减税额将是2019年和2020年标准减税额的三分之一。想要捐赠的个人将获得4,000美元和8,000美元的已婚夫妇减税优惠。 这将使更多的捐赠资金用于慈善事业。

希望这项新法案将激励更多公司和个人 捐赠 在这个动荡的时刻 COVID-19停止了许多筹款活动,并挤压了人们的财务状况,这意味着慈善机构在4-5个月中经历了一段艰难的时期。

新法案增加了2.2万亿美元 法案 该法案已于今年300月底生效。 《 CARES法案》规定了最高XNUMX美元的慈善扣除额,这些人不希望在年底前逐项列出索赔。

今年,那些在15月2019日申请截止日期之前捐款的人将能够在其2019年纳税申报表上根据新法案要求扣除这些费用。 如果他们已经提交了XNUMX年的纳税申报表,则可以申请修订以从最新更改中受益。

该法案是对在冠状病毒大流行期间捐款大幅下降的慈善组织的一种可喜的救济。 许多慈善机构一直在挣扎求生,这项法案可能会帮助他们更快地反弹。

2020年的慈善捐款可扣除吗?

手用一块面包

个人通常可以通过慈善捐款扣除调整后总收入的60%。 但是,根据您的捐款类型和捐款的组织,它们可​​能会限制在20%到50%之间。

公司最多可以捐赠应税收入的25%。

以下是下限:

  • 私人基金会
  • 退伍军人组织
  • 异族社会
  • 公墓组织

所给的限额适用于您全年进行的所有捐赠。 不同组织的数量不是必需的,而仅仅是数字。

在接下来的五年中,超出限制的任何供款通常都可以从您的纳税申报表中扣除。 或直到它被抹去,这称为结转。

在2020年,您无需扣除任何项目,最多可以扣除$ 300的现金捐款。 即将出台的新的两党法案旨在扩大这种税收减免。

我可以在2020年注销慈善捐款吗?

您可以将金钱或财产的慈善捐款扣除给教堂或各种慈善机构等宗教或服务组织。

他们通常需要IRS 501(c)3免税地位 去做这个。 通常,您的慈善捐款限额为总收入的60%。 但是,这将取决于捐赠的类型和慈善类型。

合格的组织可以扣除其捐款的100%,但前提是捐款专门用于慈善目的。 您可以在下面找到公司的资格列表 守则170(c)(1)出版物526.

新税法如何影响慈善捐款?

拟议中的法案将允许公司和个人对其慈善捐赠减税。 这有助于通过节省税款来降低慈善捐赠的成本。

对于个人和慈善机构来说,这是个好消息。 它应该激励更多的人向自己喜欢的慈善机构捐款,并帮助个人在2020年全年就每笔捐赠所缴纳的税款收回更多的税款。

我可以在未经审核的情况下索取多少慈善捐款?

非洲的孩子们

如果要求进行慈善捐赠,则只能用于现金捐赠,不能用于财产捐赠。 该现金金额必须少于$ 250。 如果没有收据,任何超过此金额的捐赠都可以由IRS进行随机审核。

没有收据,国税局将提取大量资金,并且没有收据,从技术上讲就是欺诈。 您必须提供银行记录或薪资扣除记录才能申请减税。 对于超过250美元的现金捐赠或非现金捐赠(例如财产),您还需要收据和任何其他证明。

如果现金捐款超过500美元,则IRS要求披露。 对于非现金捐赠,您可以在以下位置找到确定捐赠财产价值的完整详细信息: 出版物561.

我如何在纳税申报单上申索可抵税的捐款?

说到纳税时间,最好逐项列出纳税申报单。 每年提交纳税申报表时,您需要逐项列出减税额。 这样一来,您就可以合法要求免税的捐赠。

您需要填写 安排一个 以及其余的纳税申报单。 在2020年,您可以在300英镑以下索取税收捐款,而无需逐项列出。 但是希望新法案能将其扩大到调整后总收入的三分之一。

逐项列出税款既不容易也不快捷。 仅采用标准的税收抵免可能会更容易。 确保您的标准减税额小于您的逐项扣除额之和。 否则,可能不值得。

关于免税捐赠的重要事项

要正确索取可抵税的捐款,您必须满足特定要求。 否则,您将无法收回现金。

  1. 记住要捐赠给合格的组织。 您的捐款必须交给免税组织。 这在本节中定义 国内税收法典501(c)(3).
  2. 并非所有组织都需要501(c)(3)身份才能被视为非营利组织。 捐款前请仔细检查。
  3. 使用 国税局豁免组织工具 首先检查慈善机构。 这是一种快速检查慈善机构是否可抵税的简便方法。
  4. 进行捐赠之前,请务必与慈善机构核对捐赠的多少可以抵税。
  5. 跟踪您的贡献。 无论您捐赠多少,都要跟踪每笔捐赠,慈善机构的详细信息,金额,日期和免税额。 保留所有合格文件和捐赠证据,包括收据。
  6. 超过250美元的任何捐赠都需要在年底获得慈善机构的确认信,作为IRS的证明。
  7. 您还可以从志愿服务中扣除您的时间和费用。 不要错过这些税收减免。 只要您的费用与您的费用直接相关 志愿者工作 且之前未报销,您有资格获得扣除额。
  8. 您还可以申领用于开展慈善活动或筹款活动的里程。 在2020年,用于慈善组织或活动的里程为每英里14美分。

最后的思考

旨在扩大对慈善捐款的税收减免的新法案对美国的慈善机构和个人是积极的。 它应有助于激励人们在有需要时捐赠更多,并帮助这些人通过节省税款来降低慈善捐赠的成本。

我们欢迎即将提出的新法案,希望本文能帮助您在2020年向您最喜欢的慈善机构(包括FFL)做出更好的捐款。当前世界处于混乱之中,这些慈善机构和组织需要您的支持在经济衰退和大流行的情况下继续出色的工作。

在此先感谢您对FFL和我们的勤奋团队提供的任何支持。

你可以帮忙!

https://ffl.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

支持Food for Life Global 的重要工作,服务其遍布200个国家/地区的60多家分支机构的国际网络。
Food for Life Global 是501(c)(3)慈善组织,EIN 36-4887167。 在没有适用于特定纳税人的可抵扣性限制的前提下,所有捐赠均被视为可抵扣税收;没有提供任何商品或服务来交换您的捐助。

Food For Life Global主要的任务是通过自由分发以爱心意愿准备的纯植物性餐食,实现世界和平与繁荣。

发表评论

Tax Calculation

Expanding Tax Break for Charitable Giving Proposed by Lawmakers

There is talk of a new bill that is set to be introduced by a group of bipartisan lawmakers. The new bill would expand a tax break for charitable donations to help boost donations for nonprofits during this difficult time.

The new bill has been introduced by Sens. Chris Coons, D-Del., and James Lankford, R-Okla. It has been named the Universal Giving Pandemic Response Act, and it aims to allow taxpayers who don’t itemize to get a charitable contribution deduction.

The tax deduction is expected to be one-third of the standard tax deduction for 2019 and 2020. Individuals that want to donate will benefit from a tax deduction of $4,000 and $8,000 for married couples. This will allow more of the donated money to go to charity.

Hopefully, this new bill will incentivize more companies and individuals to donate during this turbulent time. COVID-19 stopped a lot of fundraising events and squeezed people’s finances meaning charities have had a rough time over the 4-5 months.

The new bill adds to the $2.2 trillion CARES Act that was brought into effect at the end of March this year. The CARES Act included a max $300 charitable deduction who do not wish to itemize their claim at the end of the year. 

This year, those who make donations before the July 15 filing deadline will be able to claim those deductions under the new bill on their 2019 tax return. If they have already filed their tax return for 2019, they can request an amendment to benefit from the latest changes.

The bill is a welcome relief to charitable organizations that have seen a significant drop in donations during the coronavirus pandemic. Many charities have been left struggling to survive, and this bill may help them bounce back much quicker. 

Are charitable contributions deductible in 2020?

Hand with Piece of bread

Individuals can usually deduct up to 60% of their adjusted gross income via charitable donations. However, they may be limited to 20-50% depending on the type of contribution you make and the organization the donation is made to. 

Corporations are able to donate up to 25% of it’s taxable income.  

The following have a lower limit:

  • Private foundations
  • Veterans organizations
  • Fraternal societies
  • Cemetery organizations

The limit given applies to all donations that you make throughout the year. The amount of different organizations is not essential, it’s purely about the figure. 

Any contributions that exceed the limit are often able to be deducted on your tax returns over the next five years. Or until it is wiped off, this is called carryover.  

For 2020, you can deduct up to $300 of cash donations without having to itemize. The new bipartisan bill being introduced will aim to expand this tax deduction.

Can I write off charitable donations in 2020?

You can deduct your charitable contributions of either money or property to religious or service organizations, like churches and various charities.

They usually will need IRS 501(c)3 tax-exempt status to do this. Typically, your charitable donations limit is 60% of your gross income. But this will vary depending on the type of donation and type of charity. 

A qualified organization is able to deduct 100% of their donations, but only if the donations are used specifically for charitable purposes. You can find a list of the qualifications for corporations under code 170(c)(1) or on Publication 526.

How does the new tax law affect charitable donations?

The proposed bill being introduced will allow companies and individuals to get a tax break on their charitable giving. This helps lower the cost of charitable donations by the amount of taxes saved.

This is excellent news for individuals and charities. It should incentivize more people to give to their favorite charities and help individuals reclaim more tax on what was paid on each donation throughout 2020.

How much can I claim for charitable donations without getting audited?

Kids in Africa

If a charitable donation is claimed, it can only be for a cash donation and not a property donation. That cash amount must be less than $250. Any donation over this amount without a receipt may get picked up on a random audit by the IRS.

Without a receipt, vast sums of money will get picked up by the IRS and, without a receipt, is technically committing fraud. You must provide a bank record or a payroll-deduction record to claim the tax deduction. You will also need a receipt and any other proof for cash donations over $250 or non-cash donations (like property).

The IRS requires disclosure if there is a cash contribution of more than $500. For non-cash donations, you can find full details of determining the value of the donated property on Publication 561.

How do I claim tax-deductible donations on my tax return?

When it comes to tax time, you are best itemizing your tax return. When you file your tax return each year, you will need to itemize your tax deductions. This will allow you to claim tax-deductible donations legally.

You will need to fill out Schedule A along with the rest of your tax return. In 2020, you can claim tax donations under £300 without having to itemize. But hopefully, the new bill will expand this to up to one-third of your adjusted gross income. 

Itemizing your tax isn’t easy or quick. It might be easier to just take the standard tax deduction. Make sure your standard tax deduction is less than the sum of your itemized deductions. Otherwise, it may not be worth it.

Essential Things to Remember About Tax-Deductible Donations

To rightly claim for tax-deductible donations, you must meet the specific requirements. Failure to do so will stop you from reclaiming the cash. 

  1. Remember to donate to a qualifying organization. Your donation must go to a tax-exempt organization. This is defined in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.
  2. Not all organizations need 501(c)(3) status to be deemed a nonprofit organization. Double-check before you donate.
  3. Use the IRS Exempt Organizations Tool to check the charity first. This is an easy way to quickly check that your charity is tax-deductible.
  4. Always check with the charity how much of your donation will be tax-deductible before making the donation.
  5. Keep track of your contributions. No matter how much you donate, keep track of each donation, the details of the charity, the amount, the date, and tax-deductible. Keep hold of any qualifying documents and evidence of the donation, including receipt. 
  6. Any donation above $250 will need a letter of acknowledgment from the charity for proof for the IRS at the end of the year.
  7. You can also deduct your time and expenses from volunteering. Don’t miss out on these tax deductions. As long as your expenses are directly linked to your volunteer work and not previously reimbursed you can qualify for deductions.
  8. You can also claim mileage used to drive to charitable events or fundraisers. In 2020, mileage is 14 cents per mile when used in the service of charitable organizations or events.

Final Thoughts

The new bill that seeks to expand the tax break for charitable donations is positive for charities and individuals in the USA. It should help to incentivize people to give more at this time of need and help those individuals lower the cost of charitable giving by the amount of taxes saved.

We welcome the new bill that is set to be introduced, and we hope this article will help you make better donations to your favorite charities (including FFL) in 2020. The world is in chaos right now, and those charities and organizations need your support to continue their excellent work despite the economic downturn and pandemic.

Thank you in advance for any support you can give to FFL and our hardworking team.

You Can Help!

https://secureservercdn.net/198.71.233.109/4hr.f77.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/6Billionmeals-2.jpg

Support the important work of Food for Life Global to serve its international network of over 200 affiliates in 60 countries.
Food for Life Global is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization, EIN 36-4887167. All donations are deemed tax-deductible absent any limitations on deductibility applicable to a particular taxpayer. No goods or services were provided in exchange for your contribution.

Food For Life Global’s primary mission is to bring about peace and prosperity in the world through the liberal distribution of pure plant-based meals prepared with loving intention.

Write a comment